Quantcast

Are we a Democracy or a Republic ? Whats your opinion ?

Tudie BN 2012/05/05 22:09:55
Democracy
Republic
Other
Undecided
None of the above
You!
Add Photos & Videos
Welcome Friends to Tudies Questions ! Thanks for your reply ! : )

Add a comment above

Top Opinion

  • SEA Jay 2012/05/05 22:30:52
    None of the above
    SEA Jay
    +9
    Plutocracy (from Ancient Greek ploutos, meaning "wealth", and kratos, meaning "power, rule") is rule by the wealthy, or power provided by wealth. The combination of both plutocracy and oligarchy is called plutarchy

Sort By
  • Most Raves
  • Least Raves
  • Oldest
  • Newest
Opinions

  • David L... Beautif... 2012/05/06 06:56:50
    David Lindner
    +1
    well, its misinformation. the peoples democratic republic of china's preamble is below.
  • David L... Beautif... 2012/05/06 06:53:47
  • Beautif... David L... 2012/05/06 06:56:39
    BeautifulSoul
    +1
    Thanks!
  • David L... Beautif... 2012/05/06 07:02:58
    David Lindner
    +1
    interesting tid bit: so is north korea.

    http://www.thefreedictionary....
  • Mark Mercer 2012/05/06 06:20:07
    Other
    Mark Mercer
    we are similar to one and definitely not the other, Opinions on this are of little consequence. Look up the definitions, make your decisions, and keep them to yourself. otherwise you can fight about Nothing.
  • Stoney Mark Me... 2012/05/06 06:41:22
    Stoney
    just your opinion......we have ours
  • Mark Me... Stoney 2012/05/06 06:50:57
    Mark Mercer
    as I said...yet I will defend your right....I simply remember what I have read.
  • Stoney Stoney 2012/05/06 07:22:59
    Stoney
    to mark me
    ...............since it looks as if you blocked me because I can not reply to your post...........just your opinion .....we have ours..... is still true, and if and when children can not accept something different, they have to go off and pout.....poor baby!
  • BlackwinterG36C 2012/05/06 06:06:22
    Republic
    BlackwinterG36C
    +2
    America is a Constitutional Republic. In a democracy the will of the majority would always win. And the minority would never benefit or win.
  • David L... Blackwi... 2012/05/07 13:37:21
    David Lindner
    +1
    exactly. in a DEMOCRATIC REPUBLIC, the omnipotent always makes the rules. IE: peoples democratic republic of china, or peoples democratic republic of korea(N. Korea)
  • KarenInKenoshaWisconsin 2012/05/06 06:06:01
    None of the above
    KarenInKenoshaWisconsin
    +1
    The U.S. is a democratic republic. It's not an either / or false dilemma.
  • Stoney KarenIn... 2012/05/06 06:43:04
    Stoney
    +1
    A pure democracy is not just 'a false dilemma'....it is pure mob rule & not for me by choice.
  • KarenIn... Stoney 2012/05/06 14:34:58
    KarenInKenoshaWisconsin
    The United States of America is a democracy that employs representative democracy, specifically. From http://dictionary.reference.com, "a state having such a form of government: The United States and Canada are democracies." That the United States of America is a democracy is taught in U.S. schools and is a widely available fact that can be found in a wealth of credible sources which are readily available to you.

    The United States of America is also a republic. Refer to standard dictionaries. Also see Article IV of the Constitution of the United States that "guarantee[s] to every State in this Union a Republican form of Government." You can read the text for yourself in the following link. http://www.archives.gov/exhib...

    Republican definition: Adjective:
    (of a form of government, constitution, etc.) Belonging to or characteristic of a republic.

    The U.S. is a democratic republic.

    Although it has become fashionable to present democracy and republics in a false dilemma manner (e.g. we're either a democracy or a republic), we live in a democratic republic.

    There many sites that explain this rather eloquently. The following is one of the more erudite ones that just about anyone who should be able to comprehend.

    http://www.williampmeyers.org...
    The United States of America is a democracy that employs representative democracy, specifically. From http://dictionary.reference.com, "a state having such a form of government: The United States and Canada are democracies." That the United States of America is a democracy is taught in U.S. schools and is a widely available fact that can be found in a wealth of credible sources which are readily available to you.

    The United States of America is also a republic. Refer to standard dictionaries. Also see Article IV of the Constitution of the United States that "guarantee[s] to every State in this Union a Republican form of Government." You can read the text for yourself in the following link. http://www.archives.gov/exhib...

    Republican definition: Adjective:
    (of a form of government, constitution, etc.) Belonging to or characteristic of a republic.

    The U.S. is a democratic republic.

    Although it has become fashionable to present democracy and republics in a false dilemma manner (e.g. we're either a democracy or a republic), we live in a democratic republic.

    There many sites that explain this rather eloquently. The following is one of the more erudite ones that just about anyone who should be able to comprehend.

    http://www.williampmeyers.org...
    (more)
  • David L... KarenIn... 2012/05/06 06:53:38
    David Lindner
    no china is a democratic republic.

    http://english.people.com.cn/...
  • Stoney David L... 2012/05/06 07:23:53
    Stoney
    so?
  • Ramon 2012/05/06 05:53:20
    Republic
    Ramon
    +3
    We are a Constitutional Republic. We don't want to be a pure Democracy. Think about it....in a pure Democracy the majority can overrule the minority in anything. All white people could vote to bring back slavery...or people could vote to deny housing or other services to minorities or disabled people.
  • sjalan 2012/05/06 05:52:41
    Republic
    sjalan
    +1
    The real definition of our form of government is that we are a Representative Constitutional Republic
  • Chokmah 2012/05/06 05:38:07
    Other
    Chokmah
    +3
    We started out at as a Republic but we have ended up as a Kleptocracy:

    "...a government or state in which those in power exploit national resources and steal; rule by a thief or thieves."
  • TuringsChild 2012/05/06 05:35:39
    Republic
    TuringsChild
    +3
    We were given a Republic according to Ben Franklin - IF we can keep it. Democracies only last about 2-3 generations and then fall apart, usually becoming some sort of dictatorship.
  • ladyjane 2012/05/06 05:31:13
    Republic
    ladyjane
    +2
    Republic...
  • themadhare ~IJM 2012/05/06 05:17:56
    Other
    themadhare ~IJM
    +3
    We're a democratic republic. Our founding fathers distrusted direct democracy; they had a historically short lifespan.
  • Tudie BN themadh... 2012/05/06 06:06:25
    Tudie BN
    +1
    Thanks themadhare !
  • templer003 2012/05/06 04:58:25
    Republic
    templer003
    +1
    We started out as a constitutional republic, where as our elected was done by a democratic vote. However our Constitution & the three separate branches of government are meant to ensure that there is not " mob " rule where as the rights and freedoms of a minority is infringed upon by the majority, and that one branch of government can not become so overbearing that it then become a tyranny..
    I pledge allegiance to the flag of The United States of America and to the Republic for which it stands...Nuff said.
  • Tully 2012/05/06 04:52:47
    Other
    Tully
    +2
    We're an indirect democracy and a republic.
  • Stoney Tully 2012/05/06 06:45:17
    Stoney
    what is an indirect democracy any way?
  • David L... Stoney 2012/05/06 06:55:35
    David Lindner
    +1
    an indirect democracy is a process where we elect through popular votes representatives or electoral college votes who are the ones that actually vote for the president.
  • Tully David L... 2012/05/07 12:26:24
    Tully
    +1
    nailed it!
  • David L... Tully 2012/05/07 13:31:46
    David Lindner
    thanks!
  • sbtbill 2012/05/06 04:49:56
    Other
    sbtbill
    +5
    We're a democratic Republic
  • David L... sbtbill 2012/05/06 06:55:50
    David Lindner
    china is a democratic republic.

    http://english.people.com.cn/...
  • Pat 2012/05/06 04:26:47
    Other
    Pat
    +2
    I believe we would be a Democratic Republic. In a true Democracy it's one person, one vote and the majority wins. A Republic is governed by a group of people elected by the people to represent their interests in a Congress or some other governing body. So it's more a combination of the two. I think. I'm just guessing.
  • Jerry 2012/05/06 04:22:20
    Other
    Jerry
    +3
    I know the majority of the posts favor the answer, " Republic " , but I say Both, originally the way Our Constitution was drafted, these traditions, " Democracy " and " Republic " was intended by Our forefathers, however, just about all the traditions that We held dear, so long ago, have been totally trashed by this more modern theme, gimme gimme gimme, and I want, so I will take it, whatever the cost, or else.....We have become such a spoiled Nation.........." it's really sad, what We have become ", especially in this younger generation that has lost respect, for the original forefather precepts...........
  • Rodney 2012/05/06 04:12:19
    Republic
    Rodney
    +5
    We were founded as a Democratic Republic. Not to be confused with a Democracy which is a form of governance by which an Omnipotent Majority rules and the minority has no defense against an oppressive majority.
    A Republic, on the other hand, has a very different purpose and an entirely different form, or system, of government. Its purpose is to control The Majority strictly, as well as all others among the people, primarily to protect The Individual’s God-given, unalienable rights and therefore for the protection of the rights of The Minority, of all minorities, and the liberties of people in general. The definition of a Republic is: a constitutionally limited government of the representative type, created by a written Constitution--adopted by the people and changeable (from its original meaning) by them only by its amendment--with its powers divided between three separate Branches: Executive, Legislative and Judicial. Here the term "the people" means, of course, the electorate.

    If people want a Democracy, then let them emigrate to Cuba, Red China or North Korea. There is no room for them here in these United States.
  • Tudie BN Rodney 2012/05/06 04:20:50
    Tudie BN
    +3
    Thanks Rodney !
  • Rodney Tudie BN 2012/05/06 04:35:07
    Rodney
    +4
    I am just saddened that too many no longer understand and our elected officials seemingly are ignoring our creation as a nation. Could a revolution be in our future? I don't know, but think one might be needed to get us back on track. I am not talking about a left/right thing, I am talking as a whole.
  • jeane Rodney 2012/05/08 03:25:06
  • Rodney jeane 2012/05/08 03:46:47
    Rodney
    +1
    Thanks Jean. I'm surprised I haven't caught more hell from some. hehe
  • jeane Rodney 2012/05/08 04:06:13
    jeane
    +1
    Keep sounding the alarm! You never know who is listening and learning.
  • Rodney jeane 2012/05/08 04:08:19
    Rodney
    +1
    Never stop, least not as long as there is breath in these lungs. hehe
  • jeane Rodney 2012/05/08 04:13:29
    jeane
    +1
    Thank you Bro!

See Votes by State

The map above displays the winning answer by region.

News & Politics

2014/11/26 23:09:30

Hot Questions on SodaHead
More Hot Questions

More Community More Originals