Quantcast

Are we a Democracy or a Republic ? Whats your opinion ?

Tudie BN 2012/05/05 22:09:55
Democracy
Republic
Other
Undecided
None of the above
You!
Add Photos & Videos
Welcome Friends to Tudies Questions ! Thanks for your reply ! : )

Add a comment above

Top Opinion

  • SEA Jay 2012/05/05 22:30:52
    None of the above
    SEA Jay
    +9
    Plutocracy (from Ancient Greek ploutos, meaning "wealth", and kratos, meaning "power, rule") is rule by the wealthy, or power provided by wealth. The combination of both plutocracy and oligarchy is called plutarchy

Sort By
  • Most Raves
  • Least Raves
  • Oldest
  • Newest
Opinions

  • Joe61 2012/05/31 21:42:29
    Other
    Joe61
    The Democratic Republic of the United States Of America The Democratic Republic of the United States Of America
  • William 2012/05/25 18:28:17
    Republic
    William
    +2
    I said Republic, but I'm beginning to think it's oligarchy.
  • Tudie BN William 2012/05/26 02:08:09
    Tudie BN
    +1
    Thanks William !
  • UrbanHillbilly 2012/05/18 20:27:18
    Other
    UrbanHillbilly
    +2
    As we go from the general term, "democracy" we go to the specific term, "republic." Yeah, I've read the psuedo historical and psuedo political science crap and watched the video this question refers to.
  • Shae 2012/05/16 13:31:31
    Republic
    Shae
    +1
    No country as large as the US could ever be a true democracy.
  • IronOx 2012/05/15 18:51:49
    Republic
    IronOx
    +2
    We are a "Representative Republic" meaning we elect representatives through a democratic process to vote on our behalf.
  • UrbanHi... IronOx 2012/05/18 20:29:49
    UrbanHillbilly
    I think you wrote the wrong word. The term is "representative democracy." There was a pseudo political science BS going around a couple of years ago, disciminated by the John Birtch Society, among others.
  • IronOx UrbanHi... 2012/05/18 20:43:15
    IronOx
    +1
    We are a republic in the strictest of terms. A republic is a country made up of a state or federation of states; hence, the term "Representative Republic". I understand the need by some to have the word "democracy" forced into our form of government, and that's fine, albeit wrong. We do practice democracy in our voting of leaders, but not in our running of government.
  • JCD aka "biz" 2012/05/15 18:29:26
    Other
    JCD aka "biz"
    +1
    Both.
    All democracies are Republics, except less than a dozen which are Constitutional Monarchies, Sweden, Denmark, Norway, The Netherlands, Luxembourg, Belgium, Spain, the UK etc
  • Tudie BN JCD aka... 2012/05/15 18:40:58
    Tudie BN
    +1
    Thanks bizutage01 !
  • Uranos7 2012/05/12 09:21:29
    Republic
    Uranos7
    +2
    We are a republic headed to being a socialist authoritarian state.
  • Tudie BN Uranos7 2012/05/12 22:54:27
    Tudie BN
    Thanks Barry sheltin !
  • dreamhippy 2012/05/12 08:41:22
    Republic
    dreamhippy
    +1
    Get it?
  • Tudie BN dreamhippy 2012/05/12 22:54:06
    Tudie BN
    +1
    Thanks dreamhippy !
  • u000 2012/05/07 22:54:35
    Other
    u000
    +1
    both i think..
  • Tudie BN u000 2012/05/07 23:32:53
    Tudie BN
    Thanks u000 !
  • Adam 2012/05/07 22:45:26
    Other
    Adam
    +2
    A democratic republic. The genius about how the US was founded was that we were essentially founded by intellectuals who were very familiar with the history of western political thought and tried to design a constitution that would try to take into consideration all the knowledge from Thucydides, Plato and Aristotle to Machiavelli, Hobbes, Locke and Montesquieu.
  • scbluesman13 2012/05/07 21:21:42
    Other
    scbluesman13
    +2
    We are both.
  • Zak Smith 2012/05/07 19:26:45
    Republic
    Zak Smith
    +2
    At least that is what we are supposed to be. Over the generations we have morphed into something else.
  • 3003573 2012/05/07 14:03:11 (edited)
  • Tudie BN 3003573 2012/05/07 15:51:14
    Tudie BN
    Thanks judgian !
  • ProVega 2012/05/07 07:53:47
    Undecided
    ProVega
    +1
    It's a little of both but leans toward a Democracy.
  • Tudie BN ProVega 2012/05/07 08:39:00
    Tudie BN
    Thanks ProVega !
  • niviongo R ☮ P ☮ 12-20 2012/05/07 05:32:04
    Other
    niviongo R ☮ P ☮ 12-20
    +2
    Those options ar passe, out the windoes, finish, caput.
    We better get new phrases to affiliate with.
  • Tudie BN niviong... 2012/05/07 08:39:50
    Tudie BN
    Thanks niviongo ! : ))
  • Rick Armin 2012/05/07 05:26:29
    None of the above
    Rick Armin
    +1
    If anyone really wants to know how I feel about Republic vs. Democracy, I laid it all out here:
    http://phreedomphan-lostliber...
  • Tudie BN Rick Armin 2012/05/07 08:40:09
    Tudie BN
    Thanks Rick Armin !
  • Warren - Novus Ordo Seclorum 2012/05/07 05:08:14
    None of the above
    Warren - Novus Ordo Seclorum
    +2
    A Republic with some representative democracy, but that democracy is becoming a sham because our government has been sold out to the highest bidder.
  • Tudie BN Warren ... 2012/05/07 08:40:28
    Tudie BN
    +1
    Thanks Warren !
  • findthelight2000 2012/05/07 04:29:34
    None of the above
    findthelight2000
    +3
    We are neither and both. We are a Democratic Republic, and America as it is meant to be could not survive without one or the other.
  • Tudie BN findthe... 2012/05/07 08:40:53
    Tudie BN
    +1
    Thanks findthelight2000 ! : )
  • Shae findthe... 2012/05/16 13:51:22
    Shae
    +1
    your comment sounds like something Confucius would say. :)
  • findthe... Shae 2012/05/16 13:53:37
    findthelight2000
    +2
    Thank you.
  • Shae findthe... 2012/05/17 15:05:17
    Shae
    +2
    your welcome
  • Maleficent 2012/05/07 03:22:38
  • Tudie BN Maleficent 2012/05/07 08:41:08 (edited)
    Tudie BN
    Thanks BtittIsBack !
  • richie 2012/05/07 03:18:30
  • Tudie BN richie 2012/05/07 08:41:37
    Tudie BN
    Thanks richie !
  • Rusty 2012/05/07 01:54:46
    Republic
    Rusty
    +3
    A republic, in the sense we can still turn this thing around. The real republic that we need, begin to change when the progressive movement began. 90% of the things we are complaining about. Were created with progressive ideology. Once the government begin to take care of you, then they also control you. Ask the Ukrainians under Stalin. A government that can give you everything, can also take everything you have.

    Progressive liberal socialist democrats the same
  • RICK 2012/05/07 00:40:38
    Republic
    RICK
    +2
    They way I understand it is a true Democracy would vote on every little law that would ever be passed.A Republic is a democratically elected panel of represenatives who make laws and vote in their constituates places.
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 ... 10 Next » Last »

See Votes by State

The map above displays the winning answer by region.

News & Politics

2014/11/23 17:16:06

Hot Questions on SodaHead
More Hot Questions

More Community More Originals