Quantcast

Are we a Democracy or a Republic ? Whats your opinion ?

Tudie BN 2012/05/05 22:09:55
Democracy
Republic
Other
Undecided
None of the above
You!
Add Photos & Videos
Welcome Friends to Tudies Questions ! Thanks for your reply ! : )

Add a comment above

Top Opinion

  • SEA Jay 2012/05/05 22:30:52
    None of the above
    SEA Jay
    +9
    Plutocracy (from Ancient Greek ploutos, meaning "wealth", and kratos, meaning "power, rule") is rule by the wealthy, or power provided by wealth. The combination of both plutocracy and oligarchy is called plutarchy

Sort By
  • Most Raves
  • Least Raves
  • Oldest
  • Newest
Opinions

  • dallas David L... 2012/05/07 00:49:24
  • David L... dallas 2012/05/07 00:56:54 (edited)
    David Lindner
    its good to have minimum wage but how the USA is set up is the guarantee of the pursuit of happiness. who wants to spend their lives at a minimum wage job? those are teenage jobs. Its called a DREAM and PURSUING it.
  • David L... dallas 2012/05/07 00:54:05
    David Lindner
    republican socialism is an imaginary concept fed by the indoctrination by the left, while they put in place socialism at the cost of those who earn it. the truth is most business owners WORK for it and have a DREAM and PURSUE their dreams without GIVING UP. what TRUE socialists like obama do is TAKE money from the RICH that BELONGS to them and REWARDS those who GIVE UP on their DREAMS and SIT on their ASS.
  • JT For ... dallas 2012/05/07 02:48:04
    JT For Political Reform
    There is no such thing as Republican Socialism LMAO. This is the picture of Democratic socialism socialist Obama
  • chaoskitty123 2012/05/06 08:47:54
    Other
    chaoskitty123
    +1
    Our government is both.

    Our nation began under a different Constitution called the Articles of Confederation and Perpetual Union. The people who wanted Washington to be king didn't stop with his refusal as they had wanted to be a titled aristocracy like the one they had just won independence from. Eleven years after it was written, Ben Franklin and a number of elected leaders met in secret to revise the Articles but instead ripped them up and created the Constitution we have now only eleven years after the Articles had been created.

    But to get the states to accept it, they had to agree to create a Bill of Rights that protected the rights of the states and individual citizens. This set in motion events that resulted in the US Civil War as opposing the Federalists were the Anti Federalists who supported states rights and the ideals of the original Articles of Confederation. It is said that the Articles were too weak and that many leaders didn't even show up in the nations capital... lol, they still didn't show up on a regular basis afterward and even to this day many don't show up.

    The truth is the Federalists literally seized power through deception agreeing to create the Bill of Rights intending to eliminate it at some future point and although they wouldn't succeed, they d...













































    Our government is both.

    Our nation began under a different Constitution called the Articles of Confederation and Perpetual Union. The people who wanted Washington to be king didn't stop with his refusal as they had wanted to be a titled aristocracy like the one they had just won independence from. Eleven years after it was written, Ben Franklin and a number of elected leaders met in secret to revise the Articles but instead ripped them up and created the Constitution we have now only eleven years after the Articles had been created.

    But to get the states to accept it, they had to agree to create a Bill of Rights that protected the rights of the states and individual citizens. This set in motion events that resulted in the US Civil War as opposing the Federalists were the Anti Federalists who supported states rights and the ideals of the original Articles of Confederation. It is said that the Articles were too weak and that many leaders didn't even show up in the nations capital... lol, they still didn't show up on a regular basis afterward and even to this day many don't show up.

    The truth is the Federalists literally seized power through deception agreeing to create the Bill of Rights intending to eliminate it at some future point and although they wouldn't succeed, they did succeed in convincing Americans that the Bill of Rights are only the first ten articles of a process to amend the Constitution which isn't true.

    We are told that the US Civil War was fought over the issue of slavery... this too is false. The northern industrial economy was always in a state of collapse with panics, crashes, recessions and depressions practically every other year. Very few banks survived beyond five years which was the real reason for a central bank so that the money put in banks could be better protected. This is how the FDIC came into being as individual banks even now collapse and the US government is there to back up every dime you lost up to a certain agreed to amount... or completely. Until this developed, when a bank crashed... you lost everything and had to start over or face your maker committing suicide because you became overwhelmed by the enormity of what you lost thinking your life was over.

    The reason the South was so opposed to tariffs and taxes was because the southern economy was stable and the main reason for this is they did not invest in speculation which was rampant elsewhere. When the northern economy collapsed, higher taxes on the South followed. The North also used their taxes to build the infrastructure of the northern economic base making state by state dependent on federal government resources... in other words, taking from the states which still supported the ideals of the Articles of Confederation to support the formation of a single national government which suppressed state rights under a Perpetual Union.

    Makes a little more sense now where the two sides got their names doesn't it... and just 88 years after the US gained independence, a second war erupted for the same reasons stated for the first, taxation! Even the CSA Constitution was superior to the federal one as the CSA leaders had learned the weaknesses of the US Constitution allowing lobbyist influence, pork barrel politics and essentially "correcting" what most leaders in the north also agreed was abuse of power. The Anti Federalists thus became reborn in the CSA and the Federalists were in charge over the USA.

    How can I say the war wasn't over slavery?

    Slavery was simply a means to establish the southern economy and in the North, many industrial leaders fought to make slavery legal again in their states because if they had slaves they wouldn't need to pay salaried employees... much as todays industrial leaders ship out production to foreign nations paying their workers as little as 15 cents an hour. There were five slave states in the Union... explain that? Abraham Lincoln never supported using federal power to force an end to slavery as he supported states rights on this matter and it was only two years into the war that he issued the Emancipation Proclamation thinking it would cause a slave uprising across the South forcing the South to sue for peace on the Unions terms... but the idiot had personally ordered the cutting down of all telegraph wires in the South and destroying the trains tracks so word never got to most slaves that he had set them free. Lincoln was not the great man we have fictionalized as he had to form the National Union Party just to be re elected because his own party turned against him calling him totally incompetent. The people in the North largely hated Lincoln and blamed him for the heavy suffering they endured as Confederate soldiers might have been outgunned, but they wouldn't be outfought until Sherman waged his war on civilian targets.

    After the war, Republicans in Washington DC and across the nation openly admitted their intention to eliminate the Bill of Rights and end the pretense of supporting it... this in turn led even northern states to turn against them eventually leading to a century of Democrat control across the United States because of the backlash.

    The US Civil War was only the result of the ongoing war between the States rights originally created under the Articles of Confederation and the rights of the federal government to impose itself over the states. In fact, the economic problems that actually caused the war were not addressed at all until the Great Depression suffering from one collapse after another with brief periods of prosperity caused following World Wars as the industrial base finally had a means to generate vast wealth from wartime economies to invest into further economic growth.

    While we can agree to disagree about the issue of illegal immigration, you see the war once again revealing itself because the federal government does very little to stop illegal immigration and even interferes with state efforts to try stopping illegal immigration on their own. If people come her from a foreign country outside the America's, they have to have a passport to be here or risk deportation. However, Latin Americans come here without passports or any legal right to be here at all and the federal government forces states to allow it claiming federal authority supercedes states rights on this matter... so why do they treat illegals from Europe or Asia different than illegals from Latin America?

    If Arizona wants to close it's border with Mexico, let them do it... if California wants to let them in, let them do so. There is absolutely no reason why the states should not have the right to protect their sovereign territory from foreign invasion. Maybe the border belongs to the federal government... but when they cross that line they are officially on Arizona soil and that's where the federal governments authority should end except to protect the rights of the illegals against mistreatment when they are sent back across the line.

    Thus, we are both a Democracy and a Republic because the Founding Fathers were not the geniuses we make them out to be... wise men yes, I would agree to that but they did not possess the genius we give them. They didn't address the issue of slavery when the industrial base wasn't formed so that the north became dependent on Southern wealth and economic stability. In fact, some states like New York had abolished slavery then made it legal again several times before the US Civil War because industrial leaders wanted slave labor no different than agriculture leaders wanted it.

    Simply pay attention as states and individuals are both claiming they want states rights and individual rights with each side choosing when to claim they want those rights... the left wants individual rights and so does the right... the left wants control over state government to stand against federal government when the right has control just as the right wants control over states rights when they view that the left has control over federal government. It's a broad mix as each side claims control of state and federal government when it suits them... and that leads to chaos and anarchy.

    We have reached a point of decay and collapse where very few Americans even care if the leaders they support are qualified to lead at all... just beat the other side and keep them from winning to impose their rule over us and our rights.

    This is why a third party is now needed to challenge the establishment of both parties because both have become hopelessly lost. Their ideological views are now confused so few really understand what they believe in or what their ideological views even are. Each political party once possessed a true party system of values and views that most subscribed to which is where our identity as right or left comes from as one side represented the left and the right. Today, only the Republican party retains any such order being almost entirely rightwing while Democrats are divided left right and center creating greater chaos and disorder within their political party as the infighting leads to self destructive behavior on a far greater level than among Republicans explaining why Republicans have dominated American politics since the 1980's.

    America is in decline not because of our leaders... but because our people have become intellectually lazy and blindly follow the left and right with no real strength in the center... and that's what made us a super power as the period between FDR and LBJ is regarded by many historians as the Centrist era. True Conservatives established themselves apart from Paleocons possessing at least 30% to 40% leftwing / center views while Liberals set themselves apart from Socialists and Progressives even to the point of authoring much of the Red Scare legislation trying to purge their influence as 30% to 40% of their views were rightwing / center. The two political parties worked together on a much higher level than today and the American people may have had social problems dividing them against one another, but differences were based on an entirely different establishment of political correctness.

    Do Republicans want to lose every dime they have to a greedy pharmaceutical company or corporate owned healthcare? Not they don't anymore than the left does. They simply believe in establishing more personal responsibility to invest in private insurance differing with rightwing Democrats only in that rightwing Democrats want more government regulation and a stronger safety net... but the political right as a whole doesn't want government dependency or a safety net becoming a security blanket. The true left once were of similar mindset before Socialists and Communists joining the Democratic Party calling themselves Liberals and Progressives finally took it's toll.

    The greater problem in America exists within the Democratic Party because it cannot stand truly united, everyone within it views themselves as victims for one reason or another and the left / extreme left wants to give the federal government too much power to a point where it would have the same power as the old Soviet Union... hell, some of them even carry the old Soviet flag while claiming they aren't Socialists or Communists. Observe Germany and Norway which are now considered more Capitalist than the United States even though both claim openly to be Socialist. The difference is they learned what the Soviets and Chinese took much longer to figure out... separating their economy from government control allows it to generate more profit for the governments social programs.

    What the left doesn't understand is that like the Soviets, it's not about wealth... it's about controlling wealth. In private hands, you have to understand economics to achieve wealth and to retain it... if the individual or group of wealthy people fail, that still allows others to succeed in their place. But when government has too much control, the people often elect con men who want power and control making promises of redistributing wealth when they possess no knowledge of economics to understand that unless the economy continues to expand as the population expands... you have less and less to distribute even as inflation eventually raises the cost of living so that even the best and brightest among your peoples are living in relative poverty because they do not receive much for all of their efforts... so where's the incentive to achieve?

    Beginning with the Vietnam War, America's economy depended less and less on post war boomtime economics as military suppliers continued developing weapons during peacetime so that when war did come... there was an ample stockpile of weapons and no job growth coming from wartime economics leading to war creating debt instead. Will we see a dime of the billions we spent in Afghanistan and Iraq or even Libya repaid? That's one thing Obama hasn't even addressed nor has any of our leaders essentially.

    To survive economically, we have become dependent on borrowing because our leaders don't know how to lead and federal government has too much control over private enterprise even as they admit they have no knowledge of economics... a fact revealed during the 2008 Presidential election when John McCain admitted he knew nothing about economics and the media revealed almost none of our leaders have any working knowledge of economics and the few who do, tend to be self centered on their interests showing little or no knowledge of national or state economics.

    That's the price we pay when we stop caring about if our leaders have any real leadership ability.

    Today, we are ruled by the Republicrats and Democans... because we understand there's really no difference between them, we just don't understand that the reason why they seem so much alike is because the establishment is comprised of con men and charlatans whose only ability to lead is the ability to lead you to a ballot box having conned you out of a vote.

    We have two governments which over the decades have become chaotic, self destructive, incompetent and almost every damn one of them are liars who tell us what we want to hear to win our votes... then do whatever the hell they want when they win representing themselves, the people who voted for them or whomever has the most money to buy influence at all levels.

    Corruption, greed, misrule and anarchy... gotta love it which is why most Americans don't vote as they don't believe in any of these people which is why they don't think their vote has any value because no matter who you vote for, you still lose.
    (more)
  • Bella chaoski... 2012/05/06 16:09:27
    Bella
    +1
    The southern economy relied 100% on slavery. I was working in the south during the nineties and had the opportunity to haves retired private school teacher as my patient. This was at a time when the south was building on states rights and my favorite, the Northern Agression. Very informative woman. States rights is just a bad case of whining and crying over losing a war, a cry from "The South Will Rise Again" whiners.
  • jeane Bella 2012/05/08 03:34:31
    jeane
    +1
    Amen Bella!
  • Odinsown 2012/05/06 08:39:42
    Other
    Odinsown
    +1
    We are a democratic republic.
  • ruralntex 2012/05/06 07:50:28
    Republic
    ruralntex
    +1
    Every academic in America will tell you that our system of government is a constitutional republic.
  • RogerCoppock 2012/05/06 07:24:03
    Other
    RogerCoppock
    +5
    For the last 4 decades, American has been a "Kleptocracy," a government by thieves.
  • David Hussey 2012/05/06 07:22:04
    Other
    David Hussey
    +2
    Both. The structure of the government is framed as a democratic Republic
  • chaoski... David H... 2012/05/06 09:04:24
    chaoskitty123
    +1
    Actually that's incorrect, we are both a Democracy and a Republic... but separate and apart as the states represent the Democracy created with the Articles of Confederation but the Constitution we possess now declares us a Republic with no mention of us being a Democracy.

    The Articles of Confederation and Perpetual Union... don't those names sound familiar?

    Think US Civil War. From the moment some of our leaders wanted Washington to be king, it was revealed that some within our government wanted to be titled aristocrats and it was under these peoples influence that a group of men met in secret to revise the Articles of Confederation and instead, they ripped them up and replaced it with the Constitution we have now declaring us a federal republic. The only thing that preserves any sense of Democracy is the Bill of Rights and without it, the states would never have ratified the new Constitution because they understood it meant the end of Democracy completely.

    That created two governments which is why we have this endless battle between federal and states rights.

    Simple example.

    The issue brought up by Arizona about illegal immigration. The federal government does possess the right to secure our borders... but would that mean if a state were invaded by an armed force they have no r...

    Actually that's incorrect, we are both a Democracy and a Republic... but separate and apart as the states represent the Democracy created with the Articles of Confederation but the Constitution we possess now declares us a Republic with no mention of us being a Democracy.

    The Articles of Confederation and Perpetual Union... don't those names sound familiar?

    Think US Civil War. From the moment some of our leaders wanted Washington to be king, it was revealed that some within our government wanted to be titled aristocrats and it was under these peoples influence that a group of men met in secret to revise the Articles of Confederation and instead, they ripped them up and replaced it with the Constitution we have now declaring us a federal republic. The only thing that preserves any sense of Democracy is the Bill of Rights and without it, the states would never have ratified the new Constitution because they understood it meant the end of Democracy completely.

    That created two governments which is why we have this endless battle between federal and states rights.

    Simple example.

    The issue brought up by Arizona about illegal immigration. The federal government does possess the right to secure our borders... but would that mean if a state were invaded by an armed force they have no right to defend themselves and stand there being butchered waiting for the US government to send troops? Same principle. The federal government has the right to secure our border... that line in the sand that separates us from Mexico. But when anyone steps across that line onto Arizona soil, the state has a right to secure it's own territory and protect it's people.

    That line in the sand is all the federal government has a right to beyond ensuring that the state of Arizona does not harm anyone in enforcing their own states rights to keep these people from entering their territory illegally no different than if this were an armed invasion... and we have, in fact, proven that members of the Mexican military have crossed the border to protect the coyotes and cartels interests yet our federal government does nothing whether Republicans or Democrats are in control... hell, Bush jr kicked the doors wide open to illegal immigration and the only reason Obama can claim any change is that Mexico's unemployment rate is much less than our own so there are now more jobs in Mexico for the illegals than in the US lol... that's nothing to brag about.
    (more)
  • Bali 2012/05/06 07:07:59
    Republic
    Bali
    +2
    obviously we are SUPPOSED to be a republic
  • James 2012/05/06 06:54:14
    Republic
    James
    +3
    Democracy is anarchy. We have a Constitutional Republic if, in the words of Benjamin Franklin, we can keep it.

    Want to know what's happening here? Watch "Quo Vadis" and you'll undersatand why our Republic is burning just as the Romans did. Obozo is our Nero. Hubris rules the day.
  • David H... James 2012/05/06 07:23:33
    David Hussey
    +1
    "Obozo" may be fiddling, but it was the neocons who set Rome to burning
  • Xed0 David H... 2012/05/06 08:37:08
    Xed0
    +2
    keeping a match in your pocket is a hell of alot different from dousing the buildings with diesel fuel.
  • Bucky 2012/05/06 06:43:44
    Undecided
    Bucky
    +2
    It's complicated.
  • Stoney 2012/05/06 06:40:22
    Republic
    Stoney
    +2
    We are a Democratic Republic or just plain Republic 'of and by the people/demos'!
  • David L... Stoney 2012/05/06 06:54:17
    David Lindner
    china is a democratic republic.

    http://english.people.com.cn/...
  • Stoney David L... 2012/05/06 07:17:43
  • David L... Stoney 2012/05/06 15:52:24
    David Lindner
    +1
    we are a constitutional republic with an indirect democracy.
  • Stoney David L... 2012/05/07 06:14:19
    Stoney
    agreed...........what do you want.....a pound of flesh?
  • David L... Stoney 2012/05/07 06:21:58
    David Lindner
    i already got one in my pants.
  • Stoney David L... 2012/05/07 06:34:15
    Stoney
    Why don't you grow up
  • David H... David L... 2012/05/06 07:25:03
    David Hussey
    +1
    No its not. You can call something a democratic republic all you wish, but that doesn't make it one.
  • David L... David H... 2012/05/06 15:50:27
    David Lindner
    read the preamble. youre in denial
  • David H... David L... 2012/05/06 17:19:21
    David Hussey
    Most of the repressive dictatorial countries liked to label themselves as democratic. Democratic People's Republic of Korea, German Democratic Republic... etc.

    Read what I said before shooting your stupid mouth off
  • David L... David H... 2012/05/06 17:22:44
    David Lindner
    how about you read the preamble before shooting your mouth off, and see what their charter is.
  • David H... David L... 2012/05/06 17:27:31
    David Hussey
    Tell me genius, who exactly did democratic principles appoint the latest of the hereditary rulers of North Korea? Tell me genius, how did democratic principles select the current leader of China? What is written is meaningless, what is done is what is relevant, and that is all I said on the topic.

    Now, go back and read what I said and understand it before shooting your mouth off again, or just stfu and bother someone else with your nonsense
  • David L... David H... 2012/05/06 17:30:06 (edited)
    David Lindner
    ok first off, dont project the impulsiveness of not reading a comment when I read yours. second before you shoot your disrespectful mouth off at me again, read the preamble. come back when you've grown up.
  • David H... David H... 2012/05/06 17:56:21
    David Hussey
    And another loser blocks. Suck it up buddy, you don't know everything and as long as you remain closed minded to anyone who doesn't agree with you you will never learn... No friggin' wonder America is doing the toilet bowl swirl
  • psiEnergos David L... 2012/05/06 09:04:15
    psiEnergos
    China likes to give the appearance of such by using words to describe its system as democratic, or republic. However if you read the rest you see the obvious contradictions, dictatorship, socialist, etc. China is most definitely NOT a Democratic Republic
  • David L... psiEnergos 2012/05/06 15:51:37
    David Lindner
    its a peoples democratic republic, just like north korea.

    http://www.korea-dpr.com/
  • psiEnergos David L... 2012/05/06 17:17:35
    psiEnergos
    I can pee on your leg and call it rain too dude. What they have is called COMMUNISM stupid. every example you have trolled here is. Get over it dude, you don't know what you're talking about.
  • Inquisitve Kat 2012/05/06 06:40:21
    Undecided
    Inquisitve Kat
    I don't know enough to say for sure.
  • BeautifulSoul 2012/05/06 06:35:50
    Other
    BeautifulSoul
    +1
    We are a Democractic Republic. We vote senators and representatives that help make laws etc.
  • Chokmah Beautif... 2012/05/06 06:50:22
    Chokmah
    +1
    We don't follow our Constitution
  • David L... Chokmah 2012/05/06 06:52:14
    David Lindner
    +3
    most people do. maybe not the extreme left or right.
  • David L... Beautif... 2012/05/06 06:51:50
    David Lindner
    +1
    no, china is a democratic republic. we are a constitutional republic
  • Beautif... David L... 2012/05/06 06:53:17
    BeautifulSoul
    +1
    Oh...my govt teacher is an idiot then haha

See Votes by State

The map above displays the winning answer by region.

News & Politics

2014/11/21 16:30:22

Hot Questions on SodaHead
More Hot Questions

More Community More Originals