Quantcast

Self harm: Your opinion?

Elmo~WAWU~Bn-2~ 2012/06/06 05:46:31
Related Topics: Opinion
You!
Add Photos & Videos

Top Opinion

  • Scream 2012/06/06 05:54:21 (edited)
    Scream
    +10
    Is the result of a problem, not the root problem itself. If someone is depressed and cutting, it's no good to just tell them to stop cutting. Instead you need to find the cause of their depression and stop that, or find a way around it. Because if you stop cutting, but your reason for cutting is still there, you've not really solved the problem and you're still going to try and find other ways to get the same effect that cutting gives you.

Sort By
  • Most Raves
  • Least Raves
  • Oldest
  • Newest
Opinions

  • Elaine Dong 2012/10/26 01:30:34
  • Me 2012/07/02 03:33:37
    Me
    +1
    not good
  • Hope 2012/07/01 20:59:15
    Hope
    +1
    i did it a couple times its not good but its w/e.
  • Harley Squiggles the God \(... 2012/07/01 19:08:30
    Harley Squiggles the God \(#o#)/
    +1
    Is very dangerous...but it feels great.
  • Elmo~WA... Harley ... 2012/07/03 20:55:54
    Elmo~WAWU~Bn-2~
    +1
    It's ridiculous, but it actually does.
  • Missile 2012/07/01 15:19:48
    Missile
    +1
    I think if someone can cause themselves pain, then they are in an extreme emotional place and it is real and it needs professional advice and help, find someone you trust and ask for help.
  • Sister Jean 2012/07/01 15:11:24
    Sister Jean
    +2
    illness
  • Elmo~WA... Sister ... 2012/07/03 21:01:54
    Elmo~WAWU~Bn-2~
    +1
    And people with an illness need some love and help, right Sister Jean?
  • Sister ... Elmo~WA... 2012/07/03 22:34:53
    Sister Jean
    +1
    if they go for it
  • Elmo~WA... Sister ... 2012/07/04 07:11:07
    Elmo~WAWU~Bn-2~
    If not?
  • Jack's Pearl 2012/07/01 14:02:04
    Jack's Pearl
    +2
    Sad of course. It's sad when someone is hurting so much that they want to hurt themselves to escape.
  • retrograve 2012/07/01 06:42:17
  • FencerCat 2012/07/01 02:20:19
    FencerCat
    +2
    Well, obviously it's not a good thing. I believe it stems from emotional pain. The physical pain helps to blunt the emotional pain. At least, when I was 10 and was blaming myself for something that was absolutely not my fault, I started injuring myself (I didn't actually cut), without really realizing what I was doing. But the realization of physical pain took me away from the emotional pain for a while. Fortunately, I realized waht I was doing before it became habitual, and made myself stop.
  • The Potato Princess 2012/06/12 15:25:37
    The Potato Princess
    +2
    It's bad? Umm... People should be more informed about it.
  • SlaveWaterNymph 2012/06/08 21:16:56
    SlaveWaterNymph
    +1
    hm, well i think most who do this really wants attention. I have known most who did this all because they lacked attention in their lives and i would and still do cuss their asses out.

    I was a cutter, but it was for things going on in my life that i couldnt deal with but relieved it through this way. My family didnt want to help me, i had no one in my life, so what else did i have? Nothing but that. But, i did get help from my Daddy/fiancee and have stopped it. I have urges but i dont go through that route at all. And i think the rest of the people who are not doing it for attention have problems really bad ones, that they feel like its their fault, or they cant get it out, do it in this way.

    Or like others have said, they dont want to deal with it and just keep going with it. It really depends on the person and what has happened in their lives.
  • Link 2012/06/07 12:56:45
    Link
    +1
    What each person's definition of "self-harm" is can be too subjective... Cutting is self-harm to most... getting a tattoo is self-harm to others...

    But, I am a firm believer that what you do to and with your own body is entirely up to you...

    I do believe that, if you're ready to die, euthanasia should be legal... I personally do not like "cutting" and don't agree with it, and it usually is a sign of deeper issues (my daughter was a cutter).... as an underage person, cutting and such acts are and should be under the control of the parents...
  • Ameera 2012/06/07 05:45:17
    Ameera
    +3
    bad, not good, please dont do it
  • Elmo~WA... Ameera 2012/06/07 07:02:18
    Elmo~WAWU~Bn-2~
    +2
    I won't, don't worry.
  • skye 2012/06/07 05:11:17
    skye
    +1
    People who think that they have issues so severe that they have to resort to self mutilation need serious help,God knows that they have not even faced the issues that they will be faced with when they get out on their own and try to make it in the real world.There are many other ways to deal with the pressures of life other than self mutilation so I say for the sake of yourself and those that really love you and want nothing but the best for you,Get some help,be it from a friend or a professional or even your parents.Talk with people honestly and see that you are not alone in this world,other people have problems too but deal with it in a more useful way.......With that I say good luck and have hope cause people do care and love you..
  • Bob DiN 2012/06/07 04:51:06
    Bob DiN
    +1
    A very serious mental problem.
  • Sister ... Bob DiN 2012/07/01 15:11:58
    Sister Jean
    agree
  • Bob DiN Sister ... 2012/07/02 17:21:08
    Bob DiN
    Agreed!
  • Elmo~WA... Bob DiN 2012/07/02 19:04:02
    Elmo~WAWU~Bn-2~
    Care to elaborate?
  • Bob DiN Elmo~WA... 2012/07/03 11:18:44
    Bob DiN
    Harming yourself is pretty self explainatory.
  • Elmo~WA... Bob DiN 2012/07/03 20:59:52
  • Bob DiN Elmo~WA... 2012/07/04 07:09:29
    Bob DiN
    +1
    Someone who would harm themslves is a very sad situation.
  • Linkums 2012/06/06 16:11:02
    Linkums
    +4
    Self harm is harmful to the self.
  • ruthannhausman 2012/06/06 15:57:09
    ruthannhausman
    +2
    Very sad and hard for me to understand because my mind doesn't work that way. It must be terrible to be in a condition that brings on that behavior. My only opinion, since I know nothing factual or helpful about this condition, is that anyone who engages in self-mutilation get professional help as soon as possible. I am assuming that there is help available, as cutting is not something brand new in the behavioral marketplace.
  • Keith 2012/06/06 15:29:17
    Keith
    +3
    People who do that need professional help. Its very serious.
  • Sadness4ever 2012/06/06 14:57:36
    Sadness4ever
    +5
    Self harm is Not idiotic, stupid, catastrophic, etc...
    People have a reason to do it.
  • Elmo~WA... Sadness... 2012/06/07 07:03:46
    Elmo~WAWU~Bn-2~
    +2
    It is stupid and idiotic. It's something stupid that very scared, very upset people do when they're confused and depressed.
  • CiaoTopaz Elmo~WA... 2012/07/01 15:11:16
    CiaoTopaz
    +2
    Ever here of adrenaline junkies? People that need that rush to feel alive?
    Cutters are the same type of people. They don't want to die,its not attention they are seeking,they are trying to FEEL. Something,anything. They feel dead inside or that something in them is dying...Their trying desperately to breathe, to live.
    One thing,lets turn it around if they could recognize that what is dying in them,within them,is the negative old junk and learn to let it go they will become healthier people.
    Its people with bad attitudes about mental health that stop many from seeking assitance.
  • Elmo~WA... CiaoTopaz 2012/07/01 18:30:23
    Elmo~WAWU~Bn-2~
    +1
    You don't have to tell me that. I cut myself for three years.
  • CiaoTopaz Elmo~WA... 2012/07/02 23:35:46
    CiaoTopaz
    +1
    I really wasn't telling you ,per se, i was basically commenting .I suppose I should have answered the question myself. I pray you're healthier now.Cutting is hard to stop.Especially if somehow something positive comes out of it.
    The thing about cutting that people don't understand is ... with every cut you have control...YOU DO...no one else...and you can breathe...for a moment you feel...you suck in life...
    you are in my prayers!!!
  • Elmo~WA... CiaoTopaz 2012/07/03 21:00:51
    Elmo~WAWU~Bn-2~
    +1
    Pretty much. The last time I cut myself was April, and it's July now.

    Thank you for the advice, and for including me in your prayers. That's very sweet of you :)
  • sd *TROUBLE* 2012/06/06 09:45:08
    sd *TROUBLE*
    +3
    Its a very sad thing to do.
    I wish all those who cut/self harm would find help and different healthy outlets for their emotions.
  • Alice Evie 2012/06/06 08:19:20
    Alice Evie
    +3
    idiotic
  • CiaoTopaz Alice Evie 2012/07/02 23:36:56
    CiaoTopaz
    +1
    You don't understand...please don't judge.
  • Alice Evie CiaoTopaz 2013/01/09 12:22:46
    Alice Evie
    +1
    judge what?
    people like this need phycotherapy.
    its not a bad thing to discuse it with a profesional and it shouldnt be a taboo.
    i would go if i had a problem
  • Elmo~WA... Alice Evie 2013/01/18 00:24:42
    Elmo~WAWU~Bn-2~
    +1
    Most people say that (I would go if I had a problem), but I think it sort of takes a specific kind of person to actually do that to themselves. They've obviously hit the lowest point in their live,s they feel like no one can help them, they're in so much pain, and they're embarrassed and scared about what they've done. It's hardest to get help when you need it the most.

See Votes by State

The map above displays the winning answer by region.

Living

2014/08/27 13:11:35

Hot Questions on SodaHead
More Hot Questions

More Community More Originals