Quantcast

PUBLIC OPINION > Women, Liberals and Young People Say They Have 'Cute Aggression'

Living 2013/02/01 00:00:00
Related Topics: Cute Aggression
Have you ever caught yourself saying "That baby is so cute, I can hardly take it," or found yourself overwhelmed by an almost uncontrollable urge to squeeze a tiny prancing puppy? Earlier this week, we learned that these inappropriate expressions and feelings are part of a phenomenon researchers are labeling "cute aggression," and AdriHead wanted to know who experiences it and who doesn't.

It turns out that while the vote was extremely close, a very small majority of people (51%) don't suffer from it. That being said, certain demographics definitely go crazy for cute. Read on to get the scoop!



LADIES LOVE CUTE... A LITTLE TOO MUCH

Only 35% of men fessed up to suffering from cute aggression. Conversely, 56% of women admitted to wanting to "squeeze adorable things so, so hard." We suspect that some of the men weren't being completely truthful, since it is more socially acceptable for women to fawn over cute things, but it makes sense that females would have more of an issue with this. Maybe it's their maternal side kicking in.

A GENERATIONAL DIVIDE

Surprisingly, the biggest demographic split over cute aggression was between the age groups. The majority of SodaHeads aged 13-17 and 18-24 (55% and 62% respectively) suffer from it, while over 70% of the 35-44, 45-54 and 55-64 age groups don't. Maybe over time you become desensitized to cuteness?

PARENTING KILLS CUTE AGGRESSION

Another interesting divide was between people with kids and people without. 70% of parents wondered if cute aggression was a real thing, while 58% of people who want children someday know all about it. Could this be because parents deal with the less cute side of children and baby animals (tantrums and potty training) more often? How quickly we forget...

If you'd like to vote on this question, dig deeper into the demographics, or engage in existing discussion about the topic, visit our original poll about cute aggression. We'd love to hear from you!
You!
Add Photos & Videos

Top Opinion

  • Gerald 2013/02/01 01:03:40 (edited)
    Gerald
    +16
    "Cute aggression"? WTF is cute aggression? Beating somebody senseless with a stuffed animal.....or maybe getting eaten alive by kittens....or perhaps being smothered to death by baby rabbits? Those are some things that come to mind, when I think of "cute aggression". =D

Sort By
  • Most Raves
  • Least Raves
  • Oldest
  • Newest
Opinions

  • Jesferkicks 2013/02/09 10:41:31
    Jesferkicks
    What the hey is 'cute aggression'?
  • chucky 2013/02/05 19:12:06
    chucky
    +1
    Now cute aggression next we'll have cute wars where the to Armies will play hide and seek.
  • harley oldman 2013/02/05 16:48:37
    harley oldman
    +1
    Of ALL the Stupid crap they have asked on SH. This may be the Winner.
  • DizziNY 2013/02/05 11:25:47 (edited)
    DizziNY
    +1
    Cute aggression? Wtf? LOL Ok that's just a stupid term.
  • Johann 2013/02/05 07:27:24
    Johann
    +1
    Never heard of this.
  • malcom.tent.5 2013/02/05 07:19:44
  • ALL_BAND_FAN 2013/02/05 00:33:03
  • Samantha Lewis 2013/02/03 19:33:50
    Samantha Lewis
    +5
    Well lately the kind of aggression I've been getting from Liberals is anything but cute!
    The rest I agree with.
    screaming
  • the Supreme 2013/02/03 18:33:36
    the Supreme
    Im one of those numbers supporting this poll I guess we really do have cute aggression
  • Dee Zyn 2013/02/03 15:28:31
    Dee Zyn
    +1
    I just hope they don't harm them.
  • Nicole 2013/02/03 02:53:11
    Nicole
    +1
    I have cute aggression I also suffer from beauty aggression the urge to point out places, people and things that are beautiful, pretty or gorgeous.
  • ALL_BAN... Nicole 2013/02/05 00:36:26
    ALL_BAND_FAN
    that's good. keep it up. lol.
  • jumpboots 187th PIR 2013/02/03 02:10:47
  • meshell 2013/02/03 01:42:30
    meshell
    oh crap cause its real, I have 2 grown sons and a hundred adopted babies(OP's kids i love to pieces) and over the years had all sorts of cute cuddly animals, and acute aggression hits me everytime i see a baby animal or little people(babies/tots). I want to squeeze them sooo hard n not let go. Its not even aggression. Its pure and simple, its love, adoration, for the little things that take our hearts..
  • COMALite J 2013/02/03 01:24:27
    COMALite J
    This term seems to mean the opposite of what it should. I’d think that it should mean aggression towards and antipathy for that which is cute. J. Michael Straczynski, creator and main writer of the 1990s SF TV series “Babylon 5,” was well known for this and incorporated it into several episodes (including the incident that led to a pseudo-crossover with the Nickelodeon children’s SF TV series “Space Cases” involving a teddy bear).
  • ysosa96 2013/02/02 21:58:46
    ysosa96
    I don't really have cute aggression an maybe it's cuz I'm a tomboy. I do think some things are cute but don't feel the need to act on it. I also don't like people trying to hug me all the time when they see me often...unless the person shares my bed, i'm not that touchy feely kinda person
  • FanOreilly 2013/02/02 20:00:57
    FanOreilly
    +2
    What a bunch of perverts.
  • Crische FanOreilly 2013/02/02 21:45:57
    Crische
    +3
    perverts?!?
    .. or people with hearts.
  • FanOreilly Crische 2013/02/03 00:20:39
    FanOreilly
    Perverts.

    Study the term 'perversion' then study 'cute aggression'.

    It's a pathology much like liberalism is a pathology.
  • Queen B Crische 2013/02/03 17:45:43
    Queen B
    +4
    meh...he's just pissed no one thinks he's cute.
  • Crische Queen B 2013/02/03 18:36:12
    Crische
    +2
    Clearly.
  • LindaM 2013/02/02 18:47:51 (edited)
    LindaM
    +1
    What's wrong with cute? I'd rather have cute aggression than ugly aggression.. I love puppies, kitties, babies.. I couldn't hurt them. If that's bad, I'l take it..
  • ClassyJessie 2013/02/02 14:28:49
    ClassyJessie
    +3
    I'm 55, and I personally feel you can't get enough cute!!! Does it make you aggressive? Just to give a hug is not a bad thing...it might brighten your day...people spend too much time trying to impress others...just hug that dog or teddy bear......jeez.....
  • ClassyJ... ClassyJ... 2013/02/02 14:34:53
    ClassyJessie
    +2
    I vote for babies being cute :)
  • Nekosarethebest 2013/02/02 14:06:59
    Nekosarethebest
    +1
    I think I apply to all those groups, but I was the one who didn't have cute aggression. I said something like "Sexy Aggression".
  • Debra Smith 2013/02/02 13:37:01
  • Flipper 2013/02/02 06:51:22 (edited)
  • jon 2013/02/02 06:06:04
    jon
    Sounds logical to me cute is nice, if it comes to you fine give it pat or scritch as seems nominal, take it home? "your what hurts" no way. Well unless it is hurt starving lost or in midst of some calamity......Maybe!!
  • GeminiWolf 2013/02/02 04:48:54
    GeminiWolf
    +8
    I totally thought this was a load of crap, until I stumbled across this picture on my facebook feed. High pitched "awws" and a sudden urge to pick them up and squeeze them quickly followed.

    awwwwww

    I admit defeat.
  • LindaM GeminiWolf 2013/02/02 18:49:27
  • ALL_BAN... LindaM 2013/02/05 00:37:19
    ALL_BAND_FAN
    +1
    it's so cute!!!!!!!
  • Debra S... GeminiWolf 2013/02/02 19:01:17
  • ClassyJ... GeminiWolf 2013/02/04 14:54:56
    ClassyJessie
    Very well said...lol...but I don't think we have "aggression" we just appreciate cute things whereas, men are taught to be "macho" and not to appreciate cute...hey, are there any men out there that appreciate cute???
  • Aloria 2013/02/02 02:00:14
    Aloria
    +2
    Thats why my cheeks got pinched then and now....... coppertone baby
  • Shifting Piece 2013/02/02 01:24:55
    Shifting Piece
    +2
    I don't have cute aggression.
  • Ben 2013/02/01 22:50:16
    Ben
    I personally trying to figure out, what animal is that? A dog, beaver, weasle, or a hampster?
  • kiedisfreak13 2013/02/01 22:18:22 (edited)
    kiedisfreak13
    +1
    Is this like that stupid "I'd cuddle you so hard" stuff? Good god. I understand there are adorable things in life, but I wouldn't say something like "It's so cute I could just strangle it!"

    . . . Meh.
    Also, I'm a young female, as well as part of the LGBT community... And this doesn't apply to me at all.
  • JohnT 2013/02/01 21:47:58
    JohnT
    I fall into the 70% area at 64 who are not impressed with cute.
  • ★misfit★ 2013/02/01 21:09:27
    ★misfit★
    I didn't really know how to answer this question because while I do want to squeeze and cuddle cute animals and babies, I don't want to do it so hard that I would hurt them. I feel no aggression toward cute critters, I just want to feel how soft they are.lol
  • C-ZAR™, Emperor of the PHÆT 2013/02/01 20:46:21
    C-ZAR™, Emperor of the PHÆT
    +4
    Figures, Conservatives are Heartless

See Votes by State

The map above displays the winning answer by region.

Living

2014/10/22 08:17:13

Hot Questions on SodaHead
More Hot Questions

More Community More Originals