Quantcast

PUBLIC OPINION > Women Are More Attracted to Jerks

Living 2012/05/21 13:00:00
You know the old addage, "Nice guys finish last." Well, the converse is also said to be true... "Jerks finish first." Especially when it comes to love. (Or at least illusory love.) We don't need to present you with "recent studies" to convince you that jerks often come out ahead with the ladies. From imaginary a-holes (James Bond, Don Draper) to real-life reprobates (Charlie Sheen, Jesse James), it seems like the odds are stacked in their favor. We asked the public if it was true.



Unfortunately for you sweethearts out there, most people feel that women are, in fact, attracted to a-holes. Why is that? There could be a variety of reasons. Some suggested it's the result of a woman's relationship with her father; some point to low self-esteem. Others pointed out that guys who are physically attractive are naturally more able to get away with it.

Men Are Convinced

Not surprisingly, men were way more likely to think women go for jerks. Many female commenters blamed it on "other women," but one admitted, "I'm attracted to that kind of person, guy or girl actually. But, I wouldn't stay with them. Yeah, it can be exciting to be with them, but in the long run, I normally find their personality disgusting and break it off."

Drinkers Don't Deny It

What do James Bond and Don Draper have in common? A stiff drink, among other things. However, we're not saying alcohol has anything to do with being a jerk. In fact, if drinkers are more likely to think women are attracted to jerks, it might suggest that drinkers are a bit resigned to the idea. Maybe spending time in a bar, as a nice guy or a jerk, it rings more true.

First-Hand Experience

The demographic that was most convinced that women are attracted to jerks was the divorcees. That should be telling. Presumably, most divorcees have come to a significant negative conclusion about someone they were once very fond of. Based on the results of this poll, there's a good chance that conclusion has something to do with the topic at hand.

If you'd like to vote on this question, dig deeper into the demographics, or engage in existing discussion about the topic, visit our poll about jerks. We'd love to hear from you!
You!
Add Photos & Videos

Top Opinion

  • ReindeerWS6 2012/05/22 00:19:52
    ReindeerWS6
    +9
    A lot of good points in the comments section. My definition of a jerk in this case is a man that disrespects a woman... and yes it goes the other way too.

    Self-confidence is sexy... I really don't care so much of what a person looks like as much as their inner qualities and how they carry themselves. People who are happy and successful in life also tend to have a good level of self-confidence and self-esteem. If this is what is considered to be a "jerk", then yes it's not very hard to see why men and women would be attracted to these types. However, self-confidence does NOT mean a big-ego; or a nasty, manipulative, and abusive personality. To me those are the real jerks.

    Also being self confident does not mean that a man can't be "nice" to a woman and sensitive to her feelings. What it DOES mean is that the man sets healthy boundaries for himself and doesn't tolerate someone stepping over those boundaries w/o good reason.

Sort By
  • Most Raves
  • Least Raves
  • Oldest
  • Newest
Opinions

  • Christopher Kirchen 2012/05/22 16:58:43
    Christopher Kirchen
    +3
    They sure seem to be; I know a woman who had a jerk for a husband, then divorced him...but found another jerk. She finally found someone worthy of her(not a jerk). However she broke the pattern I'm glad she did.
  • TheExphinitee42 2012/05/22 15:31:33
  • skaterb... TheExph... 2012/05/25 18:49:37
    skaterbitch
    +2
    Aww, that is so true I'm one of the girls who wants a sweet guy. But is also confident and respects himself. I like you :) you're a nice guy.
  • TheExph... skaterb... 2012/05/26 04:18:41
  • skaterb... TheExph... 2012/05/27 16:39:51
    skaterbitch
    +1
    Thank you :)
  • TheExph... skaterb... 2012/05/27 16:41:00
  • skaterb... TheExph... 2012/05/27 16:45:42
  • Riobhca 2012/05/22 15:17:31
    Riobhca
    +4
    Some women are because they have low self-esteem and no self-respect. If they thought that they deserved better, they would look for something better.
  • Sarah TH Marshall Switcher 2012/05/22 15:02:01
    Sarah TH Marshall Switcher
    +4
    It's 2012, why are we still surprised by this? The correlation between sexual desire for jerks and hormones/ low self esteem and jerks is a fairly well documented issue.
  • Super l... Sarah T... 2012/05/22 18:52:08
  • Sarah T... Super l... 2012/05/22 19:25:07
    Sarah TH Marshall Switcher
    You've run off with all the question marks, I can no longer feel curious about anything.
  • Super l... Sarah T... 2012/05/24 10:52:45
  • _-T3x4S_M4D3-_ 2012/05/22 14:58:27
  • MrFabulous47 2012/05/22 14:52:04
    MrFabulous47
    +2
    False. Little girls are more attracted to jerks; full grown womens love the nice guys. Is it ok to get the conversation out of high school now?
  • skaterb... MrFabul... 2012/05/25 18:51:26
    skaterbitch
    +1
    Not true Im seventeen and I want a nice guy. Just look at my opinion.
  • Krystal 2012/05/22 14:42:08
  • OneLastWord 2012/05/22 14:36:59
    OneLastWord
    +1
    Really, what is a jerk? One thing to some and another thing to others?
  • Cedric 2012/05/22 14:19:26
    Cedric
    +1
    Yes , they don't , for some reason. But you can be gentle and sweet also confident and smart that's all they want I guess . Well I got my girlfriend that way so I don't know about others...
  • Vortex Lord 2012/05/22 12:58:23
    Vortex Lord
    +2
    True story...
  • President Camacho 2012/05/22 10:58:20
    President Camacho
    +1
    Yep...just have to ignore it and still be yourself...but don't be a wuss
  • alanoud39 2012/05/22 09:41:02
    alanoud39
    +1
    Yes , I think so
  • David 2012/05/22 07:52:36
    David
    +3
    girls/women are probably not going to be objective in this case. In fact, it's much difficult for them to be objective because they're the ones doing it. With that said, I'm not saying all women prefer jerks, but a large number do. According to the graph, all groups voted above 50% except for women.
  • pofmaster 2012/05/22 07:28:02
  • Joey 2012/05/22 07:23:00
    Joey
    +1
    The funny thing is this poll it seems that some woman don't even noticed how much girls love that bad guy. I mean dang.. You never see a jerk with out a date . That smart kid in the IT club now that is another story.
  • Ericka 2012/05/22 07:00:35
    Ericka
    +3
    Not this one. I will not tolerate a jerk for any length of time (although I do feel compelled to point out the innuendo in your jerks "finish" first comment...lol - shame on you, SodaHead!)

    Serious - if a guy is a jerk, he really needs to keep walking and find someone else. People in relationships should treat Each Other with the highest respect and caring - otherwise, what is the point?
  • Somkey the Hores 2012/05/22 06:16:55
    Somkey the Hores
    +3
    Many GIRLS are jerks. What's your point?
  • Fariborz-Zak 2012/05/22 05:59:55
  • Adam Julian 2012/05/22 05:34:39 (edited)
    Adam Julian
    +3
    It's more than just women who find terrible people as an asset. For example, micheal vick abuses animals, yet he has a huge fanbase of men and women.
  • robbt1 2012/05/22 05:10:00
  • Super l... robbt1 2012/05/22 18:53:23
  • robbt1 Super l... 2012/05/22 19:04:25
    robbt1
    +1
    And society lets 'em.
  • rph3636 2012/05/22 04:39:17
    rph3636
    +5
    Another description of a jerk is, womenizer, a man that his main interest is in having sex with a women, not marrying her but using her and moving on to the next conquest. Sort of a Charlie Sheen type, in other words they want a whore for a girl friend and a church going virgin when they get married, but then I've seen several studies that say a lot of women now days are the same way.
  • Starchild rph3636 2012/05/22 09:30:07
    Starchild
    +2
    It is a shame that so many people are jealous and possessive when it comes to romantic relationships. There's nothing wrong with having sex with lots of people, as long as you treat your partners well. Honesty is good too, but my advice is that if you want honesty, then don't demand monogamy.
  • Heywood... Starchild 2012/05/22 17:58:58
    Heywood Jablomi
    +1
    Starchild wrote: "...if you want honesty, then don't demand monogamy."

    I have nothing to add here. I just thought that statement needed repeating. It really is a choice; either "monogamy" or honesty -- you can't have both (and if you demand monogamy, don't be surprised if you wind up with neither.)
  • rph3636 Starchild 2012/05/24 03:10:23
    rph3636
    There is nothing wrong with romance, but romance and sex are not necessaryly the samething, you can have sex someone you don't even like and a girl that has sex with a lot of different people is very often referred to as a slut, I hope that description doesn't fit you.
  • Starchild rph3636 2012/05/27 09:51:46
    Starchild
    Why would you hope I don't sleep with lots of people? You would rather I restrict my love? I take the term "slut" as a compliment.

    dossie easton
  • rph3636 Starchild 2012/05/31 03:14:57
    rph3636
    You must be brainless.
  • Starchild rph3636 2012/06/07 06:03:16
    Starchild
    That, coming from a person who evidently can't think of anything intelligent to post in response, and can only throw insults?
  • Lydecho Rain (Лидия) 2012/05/22 04:33:45
    Lydecho Rain (Лидия)
    +4
    I love nice guys
  • Gerald 2012/05/22 03:06:23
    Gerald
    +6
    Seems like when most women are younger, haven't cultivated a personalty yet & are still attractive, they want unemployed, cheating, abusive liars. Then when their pushing 40, divorced & single/lonely, 70lbs overweight, & raising several unruly kids,...well that's when they just want a "nice guy" & wonder why they can't find 1.

See Votes by State

The map above displays the winning answer by region.

Living

2014/07/25 09:07:32

Hot Questions on SodaHead
More Hot Questions

More Community More Originals