Quantcast

PUBLIC OPINION > Tech Guys and Progressives Are Most Supportive of a Facebook Face Lift

Living 2013/03/05 22:00:00
Facebook is known for causing a frenzy among its billions of users anytime a change is underway. Well, another Facebook face lift is coming -- and the public has no idea how to feel about it. After Facebook announced that it would be unveiling a new look for its "News Feed" at a press event this Thursday March 7, AdriHead wanted to know if the public was enthusiastic about it. Turns out, people are pretty split on the issue, with 52% voting for "no more changes" and 48% voting for a makeover. So, let's find out who wants change and who wants to keep their News Feed the way it is!



THE TECH INDUSTRY WANTS FACEBOOK TO SWITCH IT UP

One of the most interesting statistics we noticed on this question was that, out of every career industry that voted, the "information technology" demographic was the most supportive of Facebook getting a new face, with 71% voting for an FB makeover. Maybe all those tech guys just get bored with interfaces a lot quicker than the general public... As for the career industry that was least enthusiastic about a Facebook change? The military, with only 27% voting in favor of a site makeover. We're pretty sure the military has more important things to do than log onto Facebook, so maybe that's the reason for the lack of enthusiasm.

PROGRESSIVES PROMOTE CHANGE

We weren't really expecting a firm political divide on this question, but one interesting detail did emerge while looking at the stats. With 62% in favor of a makeover, Progressives were the most adamant about Facebook getting a facelift. Progressives are known for making moves and preventing policies from getting stale, so maybe we should have seen it coming. Liberals and Conservatives stuck closer to the middle on this, with 48% of Liberals and 51% of Conservatives supporting a Facebook makeover.

MEN WANT FRESH FACES A LITTLE MORE

How do the sexes fare on this Facebook issue? Turns out, men were 10% more likely to green-light a Facebook makeover than women were. 52% of men voted in favor of a makeover for the social networking site, while just 43% of women wanted a different look for the site. Perhaps males like to switch things up more often than females? Or maybe women are just less enthusiastic about getting used to yet another layout. Whatever the case, the sexes have spoken.

If you'd like to vote on this question, dig deeper into the demographics, or engage in existing discussion about the topic, visit our poll about the Facebook facelift. We'd love to hear from you!
You!
Add Photos & Videos

Top Opinion

  • Sterling 2013/03/06 00:11:59 (edited)
    Sterling
    +7
    They need a face lift but they need to actually scale it back just a little bit. Their newest change was a catastrophe, the first one I didn't like and STILL don't like... although it could be worse... they could be these guys:



    youtube

Sort By
  • Most Raves
  • Least Raves
  • Oldest
  • Newest
Opinions

  • Always lonely 2013/03/25 15:57:40
    Always lonely
    Its good to have some change :)
    But they have to care for that the fans should b happy with the change. And there should an option to go back to your previous look also.
  • TiffanyBelle 2013/03/08 17:03:54
    TiffanyBelle
    considering FB is a FREE service, they can do whatever they want w/ it.
    I for one like FB and utilize it to keep in touch w/ my long distance friends and family as well as promote my music.
    i could care less about what they do to change the face or FB as long as the functionality doesn't change AND they don't start charging money for their service!!!
    i don t care
  • SUPREME COSMIC POWER, (SCOPO) 2013/03/08 12:07:55
    SUPREME COSMIC POWER, (SCOPO)
    I've forgotten Facebook due to their anti-user friendly actions. I think in a few yrs, Sodahead will become a better Facebook! LOL!
  • Ashley 2013/03/08 03:14:46
    Ashley
    I get mad about Facebook changing, buuut i really dont mind. you get use to it
  • kateisgod 2013/03/08 00:32:06
    kateisgod
    +1
    maybe. As long as I don't have to pay for it, because facebook isn't worth it.
  • Lisa 2013/03/07 23:32:21
    Lisa
    +4
    Doesn't matter if we want a change or not though does it? lol
  • Sister Jean 2013/03/07 21:04:53
    Sister Jean
    +1
    I hate change
  • Kathulhu 2013/03/07 19:55:23
    Kathulhu
    +1
    If they change the visuals, then Stylish will take a couple days to update, and my basement-dwelling eyes will be burned by the white and blue.
  • ღ♥ღ ℒea ღ♥ღ 2013/03/07 19:44:55
    ღ♥ღ ℒea ღ♥ღ
    +2
    I hate it when they mess with Facebook. It's equivalent to going to the grocery store right after they have reorganized every aisle you were accustomed to.
  • Michael 2013/03/07 17:43:51
    Michael
    +2
    They need to stop changing facebook around. They have changed it more then Myspace changed their site.
  • Tella6 2013/03/07 15:32:48 (edited)
    Tella6
    +4
    As soon as a person gets used to the new changes it changes again.... Its dumb. I'm not a fan of that timeline thing though. And people seeing that you liked a status/photo/whether you just breathed, crapped, or farted.... Lol It screws with everyone's newsfeeds too. It was fine before the last change.

    Also, people that say they should raise the age, I actualy saw a profile of a 8 year old. How do you raise the age? Because you just put in the wrong year of birth and suddenly you're 18. That won't work, even if it was a rule.
  • SUPREME... Tella6 2013/03/08 12:12:01
    SUPREME COSMIC POWER, (SCOPO)
    +1
    There is no number of changes and facelifts that will save Facebook. They are anti-social social networking site and soon, they will implode. Look at Myspace. Myspace did everything right and hundreds of millions of people loved them and enjoyed being there until they began their misguided constant changes and facelifts!
  • Cunning Stunts 2013/03/07 14:21:04
  • Mike 2013/03/07 14:15:49
    Mike
    +2
    People will adust I'm sure....it will be difficult at first I'm sure....but people will adjust....that's what we do....in order to enjoy the things that change....
  • republican 2013/03/07 12:59:22
    republican
    +1
    no, we don't even need facebook. It causes more trouble than its worth.
  • Nonpartisan 2013/03/07 05:49:38
    Nonpartisan
    +1
    I have always found Facebook to be rather useless, quit like Twitter is most of the time.

    I still Prefer the original MySpace, which is where I still have my Campaign page.

    http://www.myspace.com/dwight...
  • Lorelei 2013/03/07 02:32:15
    Lorelei
    +1
    Everytime FB makes a change it screws stuff up or we lose something we really liked. I still hate Timeline which jerks my stuff all over the place. But Facebook could give a crap what we think.

    face
  • FordCrews 2013/03/06 16:09:06
    FordCrews
    +1
    How can the progressive and liberal numbers be different, they are one in the same, and yet another name for socialism and fascism, and all really regressive.
  • TKramar FordCrews 2013/03/07 17:32:09
    TKramar
    +1
    apparently not.
  • Katiana2808 2013/03/06 14:04:15
    Katiana2808
    +1
    I think that facebook should not be allowed for youngsters. A limit age for facebook is 18 years old. Facebook needs a complete change.
  • Avi Rosen 2013/03/06 12:02:54
    Avi Rosen
    +1
    Something very basic should change there
  • captain 2013/03/06 07:24:31
    captain
    +1
    Leave it alone.
  • The rogue nin of the Uchiha... 2013/03/06 05:40:29
  • blissful 2013/03/06 05:04:43
    blissful
    +2
    As long as it doesn't messup my FB page it doesn't matter to me. I just don't need it to be complicated..
  • Scooter Jones 2013/03/06 03:58:32
    Scooter Jones
    +4
    I don't care. I've been on Facebook since 2007 and I'm bored with it. I now have only 17 "friends" and their all family members. I only use Facebook for keeping in touch with family. That's it. I prefer Twitter.
  • happyhappyhappy 2013/03/06 03:48:58
    happyhappyhappy
    +1
    I don't even know because I don't have a Facebook.
  • thefatguy 2013/03/06 02:55:20
    thefatguy
    +1
    What is the distinction between "liberals" and "Progressives"? They're the same thing.
  • Cal 2013/03/06 00:20:57
    Cal
    +2
    Progressives say yes..liberals say no......they're the same freaking group. Seems your poll is rather screwed up this time SH.
  • Jackie ... Cal 2013/03/06 14:12:50 (edited)
    Jackie G - Poker Playing Patriot
    Not ideologically - that is the confusion for youth - they actually think they are the same and the Progressivism means progress - it doesn't, Progressivism is, perhaps, the most regressive ideology there is -- rather like Islamic theocracy in the need for control and complete supplication from its adherents.
  • Sterling 2013/03/06 00:11:59 (edited)
    Sterling
    +7
    They need a face lift but they need to actually scale it back just a little bit. Their newest change was a catastrophe, the first one I didn't like and STILL don't like... although it could be worse... they could be these guys:



    youtube
  • deidara.trueart 2013/03/05 23:03:18
  • Zoe Michele 2013/03/05 22:59:41
    Zoe Michele
    +2
    uhh yeah... i'm so thrilled *sarcasm just dripping off my words*
  • sara & jazzy 2013/03/05 22:43:41
  • Sister Jean 2013/03/05 20:19:52
    Sister Jean
    +4
    They have lost lots of kids...and their stock did not sell well
  • Osk Sister ... 2013/03/05 22:55:39
    Osk
    +3
    I agree and I think SH needs a Facelift too... lots of kids on here as well... SH should raise the age to 16
  • laydeel... Osk 2013/03/05 23:59:02
    laydeelapis
    +4
    Wouldn't stop them from coming on, though.
  • Osk laydeel... 2013/03/06 00:49:43 (edited)
    Osk
    +2
    i know, but one can still catch them though
  • laydeel... Osk 2013/03/06 04:00:03
    laydeelapis
    +1
    Sure, until they come back with another account. There's no way to actually keep them out.
  • Osk laydeel... 2013/03/06 04:08:03
    Osk
    +1
    I know, but I have caught a few actually.
  • laydeel... Osk 2013/03/06 04:08:32
    laydeelapis
    +1
    What do you do?

See Votes by State

The map above displays the winning answer by region.

Living

2014/10/23 15:11:20

Hot Questions on SodaHead
More Hot Questions

More Community More Originals