Quantcast

Public Opinion Suggests Internet Addiction Is a Problem

SodaHead Infographics 2012/02/20 14:00:00
Internet addiction has been discussed as a "clinical disorder" since 1996, when Kimberly S. Young wrote a study on it for CyberPsychology and Behavior. Since then, the Internet has become widely available in developed nations, reaching nearly 80 percent of the U.S. population in 2010, according to World Bank records.

Now, thanks to Bill Gates, Steve Jobs, and a handful of other developers, the Internet is on our desks, in our backpacks, in our pockets, and even on our televisions. Naturally, the risk of Internet addiction is up, and some studies have shown it could be as powerful an addiction as substance abuse. We asked the public if they thought they were addicted, and were surprised to see how many respondents admitted to it -- especially young people. To find out who else is at risk, take a dive into our Internet addiction infographic.

addicted to the internet infographic
You!
Add Photos & Videos

Top Opinion

  • Callaway 2012/02/21 14:25:13
    Callaway
    +5
    I really could care less about what public opinion "feels". When the general public starts paying my bills they can have a seat at the table to decide how I should live. Yet another time wasting study.

Sort By
  • Most Raves
  • Least Raves
  • Oldest
  • Newest
Opinions

  • Timu 2012/12/31 16:24:44
    Timu
    Yes, It is a problem to let us socialize less, and do not spend time with our families.
  • Essie 2012/09/03 18:58:53
    Essie
    Yes,sometimes being too much addictive to the internet is harmful but also very good because it gives you too many facilities and chances to see the true world and to meet people
  • rebeccasrevenge 2012/07/14 05:18:45
    rebeccasrevenge
    +1
    Well,we all have to be addicted to something don;t we?
  • EmerhanaEmmanuel 2012/06/06 18:36:10
    EmerhanaEmmanuel
    i want someone to help me get thelazydomainer ebook emerhana_123@yahoo.com my email
  • Diana 2012/05/03 16:49:08
    Diana
    +1
    I am addicted.T.V.is so trashy.I hardly watch it.People don't get a chance to speak their mind and the internet is a good place to vent.
  • Seanna Harrison 2012/04/18 15:25:52
    Seanna Harrison
    +2
    I'm very addicted, and I'm not ashamed of it
  • salvatore.bua 2012/04/12 12:36:47
    salvatore.bua
    hi
  • jackolantyrn356 2012/03/18 16:13:10
    jackolantyrn356
    When ever a thing is let free the Democrats will always have tht accusitory that things are all wrong/ There has got to be an addiction since we do not control the subject matter and have the things we call in Vogue, being the center of attention.
    Which means they do not rule supremre as they have done in the halls of Congress these past 90 years.
    To be fair, those who are LiberL sHUT uP AT WE E TADD.
  • bob h. jackola... 2012/07/16 23:30:09
    bob h.
    What???
  • Zenvis 2012/03/15 03:21:09
    Zenvis
    +1
    Nice. I am not addicted (I think).
  • ♣Tanor Zeta Faux♣ 2012/03/07 18:40:21
    ♣Tanor Zeta Faux♣
    +1
    Heh, I would be ok without the internet. I've gone weeks without it in the past. Actually, when I lived with my mother, my computer there didn't have internet at all. I would spend time playing any games I had, or writing stuff on Word, drawing stuff on Paint, charting stuff on Excel. I just had other things to do, like reading, and other stuff. I guess from what I went through offline, I became a storywriter because of being internet-less.

    Nowadays, I may need the internet to get in contact with any of my awesome friends and all. So I couldn't goo too much time without it, unless I just took a year off from FireFox or Chrome, and just spent time otherwise. I'd still have internet features. But I do take the time to go outside and all, I have a job, I'm responsible now. Got to moderate things and control yourself.
  • EricPWest 2012/03/04 05:24:23
    EricPWest
    +2
    That is like asking if breathing oxygen is an addiction. It's not an addiction. It's a way of life.
  • ♣Tanor ... EricPWest 2012/03/07 18:42:44
    ♣Tanor Zeta Faux♣
    It's a way of life that kills you very slowly ;)
  • jenny.bryan1 2012/03/02 01:52:08
    jenny.bryan1
    Yes I spend day and night on it lol XD XP :P who doesn't though these days seriously lol XD
  • CaliGurl 2012/02/29 02:40:58
    CaliGurl
    I barely use the internet anymore and my computer is mostly for business purposes now. I will download a movie here and there, but in 2008, I was addicted to this site and to the internet. I have grown so much since then and realized that what makes me happy is real life and real people.
  • no one here 2012/02/27 06:32:30
    no one here
    I live way out in the valley of fire (lol) nothing else to do but starve!

  • billanator 2012/02/26 14:56:32
    billanator
    +1
    Not addicted to the internet, per say, but rather to the contents on the internet. Got enough Vocaloid music on iTunes and on YouTube to sink the Titanic...again.
  • billanator billanator 2012/02/26 14:57:03
    billanator
    That, and Angry Birds, especially now that it's on Facebook.
  • Gloria 2012/02/25 00:35:18
    Gloria
    +1
    Just playing catch up?
    Days of wine   roses
  • Reach130 2012/02/24 16:06:43
    Reach130
    I do NOT go on the internet five hours a day... mainly because of school, but also, I do have a life...
    But people call me addicted, but I don't think I am, the only reason I go on the internet because I have nothing better to do... :) If you gave me something to do, I wouldn't go on the internet...
  • Alley Cat Reach130 2012/02/26 06:24:26
    Alley Cat
    What about giving yourself something else to do? Would it be the same?
  • Reach130 Alley Cat 2012/02/26 06:51:50
    Reach130
    The problem is, I can't think of anything else to do... My life is so boring... :)
  • Alley Cat Reach130 2012/03/01 03:54:31
    Alley Cat
    If you sit around waiting on ours to make it interesting, you'll wait forever. So do something yourself
  • Reach130 Alley Cat 2012/03/01 17:31:24
    Reach130
    I do do stuff but sometimes there is nothing to do so I go on my laptop...
  • Liberty Blade 2012/02/24 03:49:41 (edited)
    Liberty Blade
    +1
    Everything in moderation.
  • Flickdraw 2012/02/24 02:59:27
    Flickdraw
    "Teens reported less, as they were probably too busy texting."

    Oh snap!
  • lee 2012/02/24 01:58:52
    lee
    +1
    its where all the kool kids are.
  • BILL 2012/02/24 01:38:16
    BILL
    How people spend their time is their own business, but I bet If that Traitor OHBOBO gets reelected, He is going to screw up every single liberty that we have left, all I want is Faster Internet Speeds
  • Mr. Wonderful 2012/02/24 00:54:40
    Mr. Wonderful
    I'm on a 12 step program. I'm never more than 12 steps from Internet access. That doesn't mean addiction, right?
  • msbaltimore 2012/02/23 23:48:35
    msbaltimore
    +2
    Do we really have a choice about whether we want to Internet or not?
  • mgk-:{ 2012/02/23 18:49:41
    mgk-:{
    +1
    id ont care i just want ponits rave me
  • Allilias 2012/02/23 17:03:11
    Allilias
    +1
    the only thing i have to say is...



    you dont say meme
  • Get Bashed 2012/02/23 16:39:41
    Get Bashed
    Ha! I'm only on for....about......25 HOURS a day!
  • harley oldman 2012/02/23 15:39:29
    harley oldman
    Possibly......But, I have noticed some SH users suffer from Terminal Ignorance...!
  • strawberry 2012/02/23 10:13:27
    strawberry
    +1
    I enjoy the internet very much but not addicted. I like working on computers always did.
  • Playerazzi 2012/02/23 10:10:10
    Playerazzi
    +2
    Ummmmmm. . . . . and this is asked where?

    Right.

    On the Internet.
  • rootbeer29 2012/02/23 07:24:58
    rootbeer29
    +1
    "We are all just prisoners here of our own device." - The Eagles
  • Silent Bob 2012/02/23 05:07:44
    Silent Bob
    +2
    To be 100% honest I had a mini heart-attack when my computer wouldn't work...pathetic, I know.
  • TMan 2012/02/22 23:05:58
  • addie 2012/02/22 22:53:38
    addie
    +2
    Am I missing ther point? What is wrong with a an addiction to the internet?? lol

See Votes by State

The map above displays the winning answer by region.

Living

2014/10/31 21:29:50

Hot Questions on SodaHead
More Hot Questions

More Community More Originals