Quantcast

Public Opinion Suggests an App Parental Rating System

SodaHead Infographics 2012/11/06 19:00:00
Thanks to mobile devices like the iPhone, apps have become an integral part of everyday life for many people. There are apps that help you find the best route through traffic, apps to keep track of your sleep cycles, apps for gaming and all manner of social media. We asked hundred of people how they feel about this quickly evolving medium, and compiled their responses into this week's infographic.

app evolution
You!
Add Photos & Videos

Top Opinion

Sort By
  • Most Raves
  • Least Raves
  • Oldest
  • Newest
Opinions

  • Not A Crybaby Richard <3Fre... 2013/01/23 17:17:24
  • Michael 2013/01/13 22:45:51
    Michael
    +1
    A "Rating" is not censorship. In fact, more apps may be chosen because now you know what your downloading beforehand.
  • Mary Mary 2013/01/11 10:52:11
    Mary Mary
    Do your TV shows and movies have recommended classification
  • mountainman 2013/01/07 13:23:10
    mountainman
    You can just keep your apps off my phone. I am not a techie so I dont really use apps that much. Navagation and text is about the only ones I have on my phone. However, enough is enough. Take responsibility for the actions of your kids, don't turn that over to the Government too. There are too many deadbeat dads that have turned the financing of the raising of their kids over to the taxpayer, don't turn over the censorship as well. We are loosing too many freedoms anyway.
  • monkeyking908 2013/01/03 04:53:50
    monkeyking908
    +1
    what is the point kids will find ways around it no mater what and besides what is so bad about apps i never heard of an app that causes kids harm except to there wallet and that would be a good lesson on how to spend money wisely
  • TattooedSailor 2013/01/02 18:07:14
    TattooedSailor
    This just shows how lazy, stupid & un-involved people are. Are people so lazy they cant check their kids' phones & ipads a couple times a week? Do you really need a group of paid douche bags deciding what is ok for your kids?? Try setting up rules for a change. tell them they cant download anything unless they run it by you first. If they do it behind your back, take their precious gadget away! If anything put a password or something on their phone so no matter what they have to go through you before downloading a boobie flicking or zombie killing app.
  • Amber Fredrick 2013/01/02 16:56:43
    Amber Fredrick
    +1
    How exactly would the app store enforce a parental rating system without hurting their profits?
  • Y.B. 2012/12/27 05:55:04
  • Lucifer 2012/12/25 11:57:10
    Lucifer
    +5
    No, I do not think apps should be restricted to age, Thats just utter bs. Plus its a waste of time and will never happen. And how exactly do you know a granny wont want to play an fps game on her phone?
  • Runaway ✩ 2012/12/23 04:20:35
  • Tattooe... Runaway ✩ 2013/01/02 18:09:51
    TattooedSailor
    Thats pretty much what I said..
  • clark.bennett 2012/12/15 21:44:24
    clark.bennett
    No person who isn't financially responsible for their phone should be allowed to download for pay apps. If an app is intended for mature audiences such as cruising apps then no one under the age of consent should be able to download it.
  • rbeas 2012/12/06 12:54:51
    rbeas
    +1
    The only app these kids need is to APPly for one when they can pay for their phone when they get out of high school
  • Nucky 2012/12/03 23:22:50
    Nucky
    +1
    Yes, but only for extreme graphic violence and pornographic material. Ratings and censorship has gotten to be excessive. Does anyone SERIOUSLY think that kids never hear swear words or crude humor? Come on.
  • ocean tamer 2012/12/01 20:23:39
    ocean tamer
    +2
    I think its a good idea, I for one would love it because I have downloaded apps on my ipod and not knowing what they were, realised they were for 18+ whilst playing it.
  • Nickolie 2012/11/30 18:41:38
    Nickolie
    +3
    You can't judge maturity by age alone.
  • Tattooe... Nickolie 2013/01/02 18:16:12
    TattooedSailor
    Something else people don't get.. My kids love horror flicks! They have since they were little. They understand that it's actors & make-up & fiction. My sisters kids on the other hand have nightmares & aren't allowed to watch them. We've all had that moment when the scene in a movie comes on & we have to boot our kids out of the room for the rest of the flick! Are they going to do that for us too???
  • kenwemt 2012/11/30 02:36:47
    kenwemt
    No this crap is not needed. I have 3 kids. I will never need anything like this crap. If you raise your kids right, you will not need this. Besides if the kids want to see or hear stuff not intended for them, they will.
  • Alex Goldsmith 2012/11/26 01:42:48
    Alex Goldsmith
    if a parent can't take a little time off to raise their children right, they don't have much right to leash their children. that teaches the kids the wrong life lessons, especially when we all used to find ways to break the restrictions or bypass filters with proxy sites
  • DanC 2012/11/19 14:13:47
    DanC
    +5
    Yet another piece of evidence that most people are awfully stupid ("Oh my god, we must 'protect' our kids! Can you imagine what's going to happen if they see a titty?" )
  • rk 2012/11/18 06:53:34
    rk
    I eat apples but have very few apps
  • Todd Parsons 2012/11/14 19:38:04
    Todd Parsons
    Sensor everything. I believe school shouldn't be attended until children understand sex, and politics.
  • C4TSMILEY Todd Pa... 2012/11/15 05:55:05
    C4TSMILEY
    "censor"... I'm really sorry, I'm a complete grammar Nazi and I won't be able to sleep if I don't correct something today...
  • Todd Pa... C4TSMILEY 2012/11/15 13:36:56
    Todd Parsons
    +1
    See what I'm saying??? maybe if we had less lesbian books in school I would have gotten that right!!!
  • C4TSMILEY Todd Pa... 2012/11/15 21:55:52
    C4TSMILEY
    I see exactly what you're saying.
  • Liberty Blade 2012/11/11 06:17:15
    Liberty Blade
    +2
    I have a better idea, why don't parents take time out of their precious schedule to find out what trash is going into their kids' minds?
  • SoLongFairLady 2012/11/10 22:49:10
    SoLongFairLady
    I think thats an absolute, good idea! I would be more at ease with what my child is downloading!
  • Lonzo 2012/11/09 14:01:46
    Lonzo
    Idea is good. As long as the public realizes that the results are suggestions.
  • Avi Rosen 2012/11/08 20:13:28
    Avi Rosen
    Agree
  • kateisgod 2012/11/08 02:56:55
    kateisgod
    why does it matter? They've already got a parent control thing on the iPod if you have a password.
  • Aran Smeallie 2012/11/07 16:33:02
    Aran Smeallie
    kids need there privacy, but...they don't need tons upon tons of apps on their smartphone.
  • C4TSMILEY Aran Sm... 2012/11/15 05:55:36
    C4TSMILEY
    "their"... "there" is a place.
  • Aran Sm... C4TSMILEY 2012/11/19 16:25:21
    Aran Smeallie
    +2
    oh, why thank you brother, nearly tripped up there.
    Heil spellcheck.
    grammar nazi
  • C4TSMILEY Aran Sm... 2012/11/19 21:28:52
    C4TSMILEY
    Are you being a smartass or simply thanking me for pointing out your spelling flaw?
  • Aran Sm... C4TSMILEY 2012/11/20 09:59:23
    Aran Smeallie
    +1
    emm...smartass, yes definitely a smart ass. though i do hate making mistakes like that T_T
  • Torchmanner ~PWCM~JLA 2012/11/07 13:28:51
    Torchmanner ~PWCM~JLA
    Children only need a phone for an emergency only. They can do what they want when they are out on their own and paying for the glam themselves.
  • GeeMichael.!! 2012/11/07 08:24:42
    GeeMichael.!!
    SOUNDS I HEAR SOCIALISTIC ?
  • Torchma... GeeMich... 2012/11/07 13:26:45
    Torchmanner ~PWCM~JLA
    No, it's called 'parental'.
  • GeeMich... Torchma... 2012/11/07 18:43:14
    GeeMichael.!!
    THANKS FOR ?

    THE CORGLEXION !!
  • Dub 2012/11/07 07:06:50
    Dub
    +1
    I think that parents should just monitor what their kids are doing on the phone. Is it that hard to look at your kids phone every so often and look into the apps they are downloading. Or better yet they are the children, no downloading without showing me and getting permission first.

    As far as my children go they will not be having a cellphone until they are old enough to have a job and pay for it themselves including the bill. Even then if they do that the first bill they miss paying I take the phone away, and have it shut off.

See Votes by State

The map above displays the winning answer by region.

Living

2014/11/01 02:55:24

Hot Questions on SodaHead
More Hot Questions

More Community More Originals