Quantcast

PUBLIC OPINION > Stop Dyeing Baby Chicks!

Living 2012/04/04 21:21:11
Dyeing eggs has been a tradition across different cultures for millenia, but dyeing the baby chicks that hatch from the eggs for Easter is a relatively new practice -- and animal rights activists are deeply concerned. It's generally agreed that the dyeing process is not harmful, but humane societies report large numbers of colored chicks being turned over or neglected because people tend to think of the animals as "toys" and not living creatures. We asked the public if the practice is acceptable.



They might be cute, but responses opposed to dyeing baby chicks were passionate and overwhelming. "Cruel," "unnatural," "horrible" and "evil" were a few words used to describe it, and that's just on the first page of comments. A lot of responses seemed to be gut reactions, but there was some legitimate debate on the issue, as well. Supporters emphasized the fact that it's not demonstrably harmful to the chicks, but others argued that the real danger is in treating them as a novelty. One commenter wrote, "In the end many of these will die, never to reach the time they shed their fluff and grow out their normal feathers."

Men Are More Likely to Say OK

The first demographic we noticed was gender. In the past, Gallup polls have shown that women are more likely to go for animal rights than men, and these results support that finding. Men were nearly twice as likely to support the practice, with one out of three voting "OK."


Dyeing Relationships

Relationship status showed an unexpected correlation. Most groups in that category showed about the same levels of opposition, but voters who were in an unmarried relationship were a good deal more likely to back the dyeing of chicks. Support from married voters was also relatively high.

Support From Smokers

Smokers and drinkers were also more likely to shrug it off, with smokers voting about as high as men at 32% and drinkers coming in at 25%. We could kind of see why a few drinks would make the idea a little more attractive. Without smokers or drinkers, the overall vote in favor of dyeing chicks would have been closer to 17%.

If you'd like to vote on this question, dig deeper into the demographics, or engage in existing discussion about the topic, visit our poll about dyeing baby chicks. We'd love to hear from you!
You!
Add Photos & Videos

Top Opinion

  • The Gov-Here to help BN362 2012/04/04 21:39:17
    The Gov-Here to help BN362
    +12
    Animal activists.. lmfao. More concerned with baby chicks being treated as novelties as opposed to the thousands of unborn children murdered everyday.. Seems the priorities are a bit fu**** up.









    “What irony that a society confronted with plastic bags filled with the remains of aborted babies should be more concerned about the problem of recycling the plastic.” ..



    [...]

Sort By
  • Most Raves
  • Least Raves
  • Oldest
  • Newest
Opinions

  • GrumpyCat Juliet 2012/04/06 01:41:11
    GrumpyCat
    This is gross. The fact that you are proud of this makes you worse than an animal.
  • Juliet GrumpyCat 2012/04/06 03:21:06 (edited)
    Juliet
    proud of what?
    i never mentioned pride at all. i'm telling it how it is
  • GrumpyCat Juliet 2012/04/06 03:57:08
    GrumpyCat
    +1
    You are pimping that picture like it matters. It's disgusting and you are shaming your own argument.
  • Juliet GrumpyCat 2012/04/06 04:33:26
    Juliet
    well i only put that because i couldn't find a better picture. all the other ones had zombies in it like this one food chain human
  • Georgia50 ««Ginge... 2012/04/04 23:31:46
    Georgia50
    +2
    Says we who eat them. We raise them, horde them, grow them...precisely so we can kill them and eat them...one bloody morsel at a time. We actually kill them more humanely and utilize them more completely than they do when eating their own. Also the Word of God establishes mankind above all other animals, authorizing the consumption of animals by mankind.
  • ««Ginge... Georgia50 2012/04/05 02:29:02
    ««Gingey, the Master Debater of Þ|-|Дэ†»»
    +3
    Word of god? Which one?
  • Georgia50 ««Ginge... 2012/04/05 21:14:24
    Georgia50
    +1
    I guess that would be the one that established humans as being above animals and entitled to consume them.
  • Juliet Georgia50 2012/04/06 00:34:52
    Juliet
    genesis 1:26-28 :)
  • Juliet ««Ginge... 2012/04/06 00:34:21
    Juliet
    Genesis 1:26-28
    And God said, Let us make man in our image, after our likeness: and let them have dominion over the fish of the sea, and over the fowl of the air, and over the cattle, and over all the earth, and over every creeping thing that creepeth upon the earth. So God created man in his own image, in the image of God created he him; male and female created he them. And God blessed them, and God said unto them, Be fruitful, and multiply, and replenish the earth, and subdue it: and have dominion over the fish of the sea, and over the fowl of the air, and over every living thing that moveth upon the earth.
  • ««Ginge... Juliet 2012/04/06 00:43:37
    ««Gingey, the Master Debater of Þ|-|Дэ†»»
    +1
    You do realize that there are more religions than Christianity, including ones that preach vegetarianism, like Hinduism and Buddhism?
  • Juliet ««Ginge... 2012/04/06 00:44:39
    Juliet
    i don't live under a rock. you asked "Word of god? Which one?" and i answered it.
  • ««Ginge... Juliet 2012/04/06 00:47:34
    ««Gingey, the Master Debater of Þ|-|Дэ†»»
    +1
    As in, which god?
  • Juliet ««Ginge... 2012/04/06 00:55:26
    Juliet
    the only god.
  • ««Ginge... Juliet 2012/04/06 00:57:12
    ««Gingey, the Master Debater of Þ|-|Дэ†»»
    +1
    Lol, okay.
  • Ikihi Juliet 2012/04/18 15:30:43 (edited)
    Ikihi
    Instead of acknowledging other gods, Christians and Jews simply believe their God is the only one and all others are false. Makes it way easier that way to explain why other gods ancient civilizations worshiped for 1000s of years were all not real..
  • Georgia50 ««Ginge... 2012/04/07 21:47:34
    Georgia50
    How would a veggie religion work out for the Eskimos? All they have is critters.
  • ««Ginge... Georgia50 2012/04/08 03:40:26
    ««Gingey, the Master Debater of Þ|-|Дэ†»»
    What is your point?
  • Georgia50 ««Ginge... 2012/04/08 13:43:50
    Georgia50
    IMHO, a belief system ought to have universality as part and parcel of its claim to legitimacy.
  • ««Ginge... Georgia50 2012/04/08 17:13:05
  • haShe Juliet 2012/04/06 15:35:11
    haShe
    Dominion http://www.merriam-webster.co... and the role of humans http://www.youtube.com/watch?... this subject is debated even in Christianity. Please go to your clergy and ask them to explain this passage, many see it differently. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/... If we are to look at the Bible literally then it would be okay to murder, sacrifice, abuse.....thank goodness for free will.
  • Juliet haShe 2012/04/07 00:47:50
    Juliet
    i don't sacrifice and abuse animals. I take this passage that we are to look after them and it might not say it here but eat them. most of the murdering sacrificing and abusing came from the old testament I believe, I haven't read the bible in a while so i cant be sure. but thank you for writing this to me in the way you did.
  • Ikihi Juliet 2012/04/18 15:29:15 (edited)
    Ikihi
    you do realize the bible was written 60-200~ years after Jesus died right? and the church chose which parts to keep and which parts to throw out.
  • laydeel... Georgia50 2012/04/05 22:23:23
    laydeelapis
    The problem is, a lot of people and places DON'T kill them humanely. An animal will kill its prey immediately. It doesn't make it suffer the way we do. And the word of god argument doesn't work with all people.
  • Sterling ««Ginge... 2012/04/05 00:49:54
    Sterling
    If you honestly don't believe you are above an animal then you lack exactly that which puts us above the animals: Intelligence.
  • ««Ginge... Sterling 2012/04/05 02:28:13
    ««Gingey, the Master Debater of Þ|-|Дэ†»»
    +2
    Humans are animals. If you didn't know this then by god, you're lacking intelligence as well.
  • Juliet ««Ginge... 2012/04/05 10:25:34
    Juliet
    we are animals yes but we are intelligent. its why it's bad to kill dolphins and sad to kill elephants. they show signs of intelligence elephant painting
  • ««Ginge... Juliet 2012/04/05 13:53:48
    ««Gingey, the Master Debater of Þ|-|Дэ†»»
    +1
    So our worth is determined by our intelligence? So what of mentally retarded people? I bet you think we should just kill them.
  • Juliet ««Ginge... 2012/04/05 14:58:34
    Juliet
    well i'm not talking about going around slaughtering animals. I would only kill something i was going to eat.. so killing the mentally retarded people wouldn't work... since i don't eat human.. my argument was that we are above animals because of our intelligence. not that i go around n kill everything that isn't as smart as a human. like i have said, all animals that are going to be eaten deserves to die in a painless stress free environment and for them to feel as comfortable as possible. i'm not some monster who doesn't believe in animal rights, but i eat meat and that is what animals are for. that is just my personal opinion. i don't know where the retarded people came into the conversation. that was all you.
  • haShe Juliet 2012/04/06 15:39:45
    haShe
    Just because animals don't show intelligence we can understand does not mean it is not there, same as languages. The elephant paints, we paint, therefore we recognize something in the elephant which is in us. Many humans go their whole lives not being human but being a product of their parents or society. Try to let go of this programming.
  • Osaka ««Ginge... 2012/04/06 08:57:23
    Osaka
    Anybody who works as vet and at the Zoo.
  • The Gov... ««Ginge... 2012/04/07 18:44:11
    The Gov-Here to help BN362
    Uhhhh, think about it sunshine.
  • ★misfit★ The Gov... 2012/04/05 02:41:49
    ★misfit★
    +1
    Nice job overlooking the death penalty and war. Those both are dealing with human life.
  • The Gov... ★misfit★ 2012/04/07 18:46:17
    The Gov-Here to help BN362
    Who said I favor those things? But whatever suits your argument despite actual facts.. Have at it....
  • ★misfit★ The Gov... 2012/04/07 21:47:21 (edited)
    ★misfit★
    I didn't. Just pointing that out because you failed to address that part of the question. And who said I had an argument?
  • GrumpyCat The Gov... 2012/04/06 01:40:35
    GrumpyCat
    +1
    YOU my dear are not above any animal.
  • The Gov... GrumpyCat 2012/04/07 18:49:34
    The Gov-Here to help BN362
    Yessssss, man is intended to be a good steward of the earth and all things in it. If you are just a beast than why even bother to strive to be civilized? Apparently some people do not grasp the connection between rising above the animalistic tendencies of humans and respect for human life. Might as well wallow in your own feces and copulate with whatever will have you. Kill who you want and take their belongings for yourself. Think a little deeper once in awhile. K? thanks.
  • GrumpyCat The Gov... 2012/04/07 19:15:32
    GrumpyCat
    Lol what a pathetic attempt to save a failing argument.
  • GrumpyCat The Gov... 2012/04/06 01:44:45
    GrumpyCat
    +1
    Haha, aww look at you thinking so high and mighty of yourself. You haven't displayed any characteristic that would make you above any other species of animal. So why don't you work on improving yourself first before flapping those bloated lips of yours and babbling on about how great you are just because you happen to be born human.
  • The Gov... GrumpyCat 2012/04/07 18:51:20
  • GrumpyCat The Gov... 2012/04/07 19:17:16

See Votes by State

The map above displays the winning answer by region.

Living

2014/11/24 04:01:59

Hot Questions on SodaHead
More Hot Questions

More Community More Originals