Quantcast

PUBLIC OPINION > Shared Backyards Are a Bad Idea

Living 2012/06/18 19:31:54
"Communal backyards" are becoming more commonplace, according to The Wall Street Journal. More and more people are tearing down their fences to create more room for their pets to roam free, or even to build a tennis court or pool. It's a touching sentiment -- neighbors living in harmony for a common cause -- but it also sounds like a recipe for potential disaster. We asked the public if it sounds like a good idea.



It's definitely not a popular practice, but it got more support than we expected. Nearly a third of respondents think it's a brilliant idea. But there are obviously a lot of factors to consider here. First of all, as one commenter wrote, "It only works if you have great neighbors." And even if you do, that could quickly change. This dynamic context left a lot of people... on the fence.

Men Might Give It a Try

Men typically aren't as sociable as women, but when it comes to attaining a bigger back yard, they're a little more willing to sacrifice their privacy. If sharing the backyard means room for a pool, room for a game of football, you name it, they'll consider it. Still not a majority, but not as opposed as the women.

High Schoolers Hate the Idea

The age breakdown wasn't extremely consistent, but when we broke it down by education the correlation became clearer. The higher a person's level of education, the more likely they were to consider shared backyards a good idea. High schoolers were probably concerned about their privacy, but college grads were over it.

Tall Neighbors Tear Walls

We couldn't help thinking of Wilson from "Home Improvement" when we saw the height breakdown. The taller the voter, the more likely they were to approve of shared backyards. They can see over the fence anyway, so it's not like the fence matters all that much. But it will make hiding their faces a little more difficult.

If you'd like to vote on this question, dig deeper into the demographics, or engage in existing discussion about the topic, visit our poll about shared backyards. We'd love to hear from you!
You!
Add Photos & Videos

Top Opinion

Sort By
  • Most Raves
  • Least Raves
  • Oldest
  • Newest
Opinions

  • Anonymo... Saye Saye 2012/06/21 18:32:08
    Anonymouse ~superdoge~
    No, you can have a little private area in ordinary gardens, that only the parents can go in. Have it with a really big communal area for the children and animals, and a little quiet cove for the adults to get away.
  • spencerc143 2012/06/18 20:30:40
    spencerc143
    +2
    Bad idea. I want my privacy
  • Ben 2012/06/18 20:29:23
    Ben
    I'm still for it. It doesn't mean you always have to spend time with your neighbor. But it does mean you get a huge backyard! I would also only agree to this if they didn't have a dog.
  • TasselLady 2012/06/18 20:23:13
    TasselLady
    +2
    A very bad idea.
  • Michelle 2012/06/18 20:21:01
    Michelle
    +2
    If you trust your neighbours and get along with them, it's a neat idea. I've seen many fences between two houses with a gate joining the backyards, before. But as someone who has had more bad neighbours than good ones...
  • Wulfdane 2012/06/18 20:16:13 (edited)
    Wulfdane
    +2
    My fence is there for a reason, to keep your cruddy kids and diseased animals off my property.

    You can keep your garden, you can keep your vegetables and you can certainly keep your ugly Tiki furniture and I'll keep my privacy.
  • Melissa... Wulfdane 2012/06/19 23:32:42
  • TKramar Wulfdane 2012/06/20 07:07:08
    TKramar
    My privacy stems from the fact that NO ONE gets inside my house while I'm living there. I don't care about the backyard, it's the house that I live in.
  • luke 2012/06/18 20:12:15
    luke
    +1
    My back "yard" is shared with all my neighbors, it's also technically a parking lot with soccer goals made form old iron plumbing pipes that were taken out of the building when I moved in.
  • Jdogg 2012/06/18 20:06:21
    Jdogg
    +1
    I wouldn't want it, I may not care for there sense of style,I don't have any neighbors that I like enough to want to do that with.
  • Osaka 2012/06/18 19:58:29
    Osaka
    +1
    Not a bad idea if your neighbors help keep it up.
  • Saye Saye Osaka 2012/06/21 18:35:47
    Saye Saye
    that would be my problem with my current back-yard wierdos. Put up a 7-foot fence to avoid looking at their crap
  • Osaka Saye Saye 2012/06/21 18:52:08 (edited)
    Osaka
    The current backyard I have is a ghastly monster, imagine an un-wanted natural privacy fence. The previous owners left 20 years worth of greenery and including local growing local wild plants. If their yard looks horribly un-kept it could be that they can't control it much and don't have the money to hire people. You might want to try to be a neighbor and maybe offer to help them.
  • pops 2012/06/18 19:56:23
    pops
    +5
    Bad idea,a common fence prevents numerous problems. A good fence makes good neighbors.
  • Saye Saye pops 2012/06/21 18:36:04
    Saye Saye
    yes sir
  • sharonjohnson 2012/06/18 19:48:18
    sharonjohnson
    +1
    It depends with who
  • MJ 2012/06/18 19:42:33
    MJ
    +2
    Yes,Bad Idea
  • kelly 2012/06/18 19:41:37
    kelly
    +1
    I think it all depends on who it is you would be sharing your yard with.
  • LADY LIBERTY SILLY WORDSMITH 2012/06/18 19:41:11
    LADY LIBERTY SILLY WORDSMITH
    +3
    IT'S A BAD IDEA!
  • unaff 2012/06/18 19:41:03
    unaff
    +1
    Tragedy of the commons.
  • The Sane One 2012/06/18 19:37:18 (edited)
    The Sane One
    +2
    As long as they don't mind my nudist lifestyle during the summer months, it's fine.

    EDITED TO ADD:

    /sarcasm
  • Midnite12 The San... 2012/06/18 20:31:49
    Midnite12
    +1
    O...kay.? O_O
  • The San... Midnite12 2012/06/20 19:41:58
    The Sane One
    +1
    Sorry... I should have included the sarcasm tag.
  • Midnite12 The San... 2012/06/20 23:25:08
    Midnite12
    It's all good! X'D
  • BubblyBlonde 2012/06/18 19:35:21
    BubblyBlonde
    +2
    Very bad idea. You loose your privacy.
  • Jay Victoria 2012/06/18 19:33:50
    Jay Victoria
    +1
    I've always lived in condos, so I'll never know the joy of having a backyard of my own.

See Votes by State

The map above displays the winning answer by region.

Living

2014/09/21 12:06:35

Hot Questions on SodaHead
More Hot Questions

More Community More Originals