Quantcast

PUBLIC OPINION > Shared Backyards Are a Bad Idea

Living 2012/06/18 19:31:54
"Communal backyards" are becoming more commonplace, according to The Wall Street Journal. More and more people are tearing down their fences to create more room for their pets to roam free, or even to build a tennis court or pool. It's a touching sentiment -- neighbors living in harmony for a common cause -- but it also sounds like a recipe for potential disaster. We asked the public if it sounds like a good idea.



It's definitely not a popular practice, but it got more support than we expected. Nearly a third of respondents think it's a brilliant idea. But there are obviously a lot of factors to consider here. First of all, as one commenter wrote, "It only works if you have great neighbors." And even if you do, that could quickly change. This dynamic context left a lot of people... on the fence.

Men Might Give It a Try

Men typically aren't as sociable as women, but when it comes to attaining a bigger back yard, they're a little more willing to sacrifice their privacy. If sharing the backyard means room for a pool, room for a game of football, you name it, they'll consider it. Still not a majority, but not as opposed as the women.

High Schoolers Hate the Idea

The age breakdown wasn't extremely consistent, but when we broke it down by education the correlation became clearer. The higher a person's level of education, the more likely they were to consider shared backyards a good idea. High schoolers were probably concerned about their privacy, but college grads were over it.

Tall Neighbors Tear Walls

We couldn't help thinking of Wilson from "Home Improvement" when we saw the height breakdown. The taller the voter, the more likely they were to approve of shared backyards. They can see over the fence anyway, so it's not like the fence matters all that much. But it will make hiding their faces a little more difficult.

If you'd like to vote on this question, dig deeper into the demographics, or engage in existing discussion about the topic, visit our poll about shared backyards. We'd love to hear from you!
You!
Add Photos & Videos

Top Opinion

Sort By
  • Most Raves
  • Least Raves
  • Oldest
  • Newest
Opinions

  • Patriot Lady 2012/10/07 04:48:28
    Patriot Lady
    No way would I share a back yard. Good fences make good neighbors. Stay on your own space.
  • Robin B 2012/09/12 23:45:07
    Robin B
    Hate the idea, I don't share well.
  • Mo 2012/09/10 09:48:45
    Mo
    Among a group of neighbors there will always be at least one overbearing family unit that will feel entitled to more. They will usually commandeer the space. If there is more than one family of that mindset, there will be constant tension. It's a microcosm of the world. Not a good idea. Boundaries are useful.
  • ktbates2929 2012/08/14 23:23:22
    ktbates2929
    very bad idea & when you have a small dog & they have young kids it's even worse.
  • Heat Her 2012/06/22 13:44:03
    Heat Her
    +1
    Being that I JUST got my own backyard. (Haven't had one since I was 16 and even then I shared it because I lived in a duplex. I'm 30 now) I LOVE having my OWN space.
  • Saye Saye 2012/06/21 18:11:06
    Saye Saye
    Based on some of my neighbors a huge NO.
  • Maximus 2012/06/20 20:57:07
    Maximus
    Stupid Idea.
  • MorbidCynic 2012/06/20 15:27:36 (edited)
    MorbidCynic
    +1
    People like to own stuff, but if they wanna share backyards that's their choice, though it's a bad idea for those with families since more people sharing stuff all the time will cause conflicts since there won't be much privacy or personal space.
  • HelmetGirl 2012/06/20 13:11:52
    HelmetGirl
    +1
    Bad idea? Yep.
  • Gloria 2012/06/20 08:43:48 (edited)
    Gloria
    +1
    Bad idea. The photos of shared yards appear as if it's some kind of Garden of Eden but it's not too peaceful to be constantly surrounded by other peoples kids, pets, friends, & relatives. Oh & what if they want to get chatty when they drink? What a nightmare.
  • Saye Saye Gloria 2012/06/21 18:11:47
    Saye Saye
    +1
    well stated
  • Charlotte 2012/06/19 19:34:27
    Charlotte
    +1
    We have a shared backyard and we don't use it for that reason
  • TKramar Charlotte 2012/06/20 07:05:01
    TKramar
    +1
    Same here, but I actually don't WANT to use the backyard. And the landlord has it cut, but I'd also not want to have to mow it.
  • Bob DiN 2012/06/19 18:03:12
    Bob DiN
    Bad idea but often it can't be avoided in the big cities.
  • Metaldane 2012/06/19 17:53:47
    Metaldane
    +2
    I have one and I love it we have a nice sized yard but when we took down the old fence between our neighbors we decided to not replace it their kids have more roon to play and my dogs love the running space guess some people just like being in their own bubble I seem to like just popping them lol
  • gabbie 2012/06/19 17:37:29
    gabbie
    +1
    Bad idea!
  • Mandy 2012/06/19 17:31:21
    Mandy
    +1
    Our backyard opens up to several neighboring backyards, and it's pretty fun, actually. We have great neighbors, and our little girl loves chatting with them when we're playing outside. It feels very cozy and homey. Of course, it all depends on what kind of neighbors you have.
  • PokerFace 2012/06/19 15:48:02
    PokerFace
    +2
    bad idea obviously, takes away ur privacy
  • amazinggrace 2012/06/19 15:18:29
    amazinggrace
    +1
    I agree, bad idea
  • merslix. 2012/06/19 15:10:50
    merslix.
    +2
    baaaaaaaad, we all need our bubble.
  • shadow76 2012/06/19 14:31:02
    shadow76
    +2
    Very bad idea! What if someone throws a druggie party in shared back yard!
  • Saye Saye shadow76 2012/06/21 18:12:51
    Saye Saye
    +1
    not a neighbor I would want
  • shadow76 Saye Saye 2012/06/22 01:06:16
    shadow76
    I once got stuck with dealers one beneat me and another next door. Fun i was not!
  • bubbles47 2012/06/19 05:52:01
    bubbles47
    +2
    REAL-REAL-REALY "SUPER-BAD" - IDEA !!!....
  • Raphy 2012/06/19 05:02:44
    Raphy
    +2
    Bad idea....... This your personal space (expanded). You don't want nobody else to tell you what do in your own space. Terrible idea.
  • ready46xwu 2012/06/19 01:52:30
    ready46xwu
    +5
    I need my space!
  • Alphalily 2012/06/19 01:22:45
    Alphalily
    +1
    Bad idea . I can imagine all the things families wold have to disagree on ...
  • Pedalpusher 2012/06/18 23:29:51
    Pedalpusher
    +2
    In most cases bad idea. Plus you may not have the same people living there all the time you do. If they were great, the next ones may be the opposit!
  • Amy.[: 2012/06/18 22:59:16
  • srini 2012/06/18 22:22:14
    srini
    +7
    "Good fences make good neighbours"
  • Saye Saye srini 2012/06/21 18:14:14
    Saye Saye
    I just replace my old with a new 7 footer
  • Eddie_DOMA_is_dead 2012/06/18 22:18:12
  • FatherLiberty 2012/06/18 22:16:53
    FatherLiberty
    +4
    No way in hell. I want my own yard and a fense for a reason... to keep my damn neighbors away from me.
  • Saye Saye FatherL... 2012/06/21 18:15:13
    Saye Saye
    yep as I have unsuitable backyard neighbors hense the 7 foot fence
  • evangelism_vision 2012/06/18 22:13:49
    evangelism_vision
    +3
    HECK NO! It's bad enough having Homeland security flying over taking photos of us. we all need our own space. and a Wall is a Great solution
  • dragon88 2012/06/18 21:57:01
    dragon88
    +1
    Horrible idea.
  • Anonymouse ~superdoge~ 2012/06/18 20:55:23
    Anonymouse ~superdoge~
    +1
    Don't see why not, have a big communal area, then you can have your own flowerbeds and vegetable patch and secret garden...
  • FatherL... Anonymo... 2012/06/18 22:15:53
    FatherLiberty
    How is a communal area going to have a "secret garden"?
  • Anonymo... FatherL... 2012/06/19 12:53:54
    Anonymouse ~superdoge~
    Have a small garden that's reserved for your use...
  • Saye Saye Anonymo... 2012/06/21 18:19:00
    Saye Saye
    doesn't that defeat the purpose? just sayin'

See Votes by State

The map above displays the winning answer by region.

Living

2014/07/24 21:43:38

Hot Questions on SodaHead
More Hot Questions

More Community More Originals