Quantcast

Public Opinion Says Excessive Cell Phone Use Is a Dating Disaster [INFOGRAPHIC]

SodaHead Infographics 2012/05/07 15:00:00
When we asked the public what kinds of things turn them on or off on a first date, we got a lot of different responses. But the one thing everyone can take away from this little survey is this: Keep the cell phone at bay! It's one thing to pick up if your mom calls, but if you're texting your best friend for advice through the whole thing, don't be too surprised when that second date never comes. However, there are a couple of broad demographics that are (slightly) more receptive to it, and on the bright side, we've got the key to a good date, as well. Let's dive!

good date bad date infographic
You!
Add Photos & Videos

Top Opinion

  • MissGates 2012/05/09 19:16:12
    MissGates
    +5
    I don't care if he has his cellphone on the table so he can see who's calling when the cellphone lights up, but don't use it unless it's an emergency!!!!!!! I HATE when my boyfriend spends the whole meal texting in my face.. Why don't you go on a date with your cellphone if you love it so much? -.-"

Sort By
  • Most Raves
  • Least Raves
  • Oldest
  • Newest
Opinions

  • Christopher Kirchen 2012/05/08 14:41:22
    Christopher Kirchen
    +2
    It's just rude; if you're on a date, your attention should be on your date, not some third party.
  • Παναγιώτης 2012/05/08 05:01:41
    Παναγιώτης
    +1
    so according these i am the perfect boyfriend? and then why the hell it never works out anything.?!
  • Elaine ... Παναγιώτης 2012/05/09 01:32:09
    Elaine Magliacane
    +2
    Bathe often, and use deodorant..just a guess based on the young men I see out and about these days.
  • Παναγιώτης Elaine ... 2012/05/09 12:34:54
    Παναγιώτης
    is that so?
  • Jack Deltr Elaine ... 2012/05/15 22:03:27
    Jack Deltr
    And leave the cell in the car
  • sockpuppet 2012/05/08 04:56:16
    sockpuppet
    +3
    I say, if you're always on the telephone... do it on the first date, as well. Give the other person a chance to see what he/she will be dealing with if they're dumb enough to actually hook up with you.
  • Jack Deltr sockpuppet 2012/05/15 22:02:24
    Jack Deltr
    Be a lonely sad life long term
  • sockpuppet Jack Deltr 2012/05/15 22:10:07
    sockpuppet
    But at least you're not making somebody else miserable. Besides the person on the other end of the phone, I mean. :O)
  • Booッ 2012/05/08 03:33:10
    Booッ
    +2
    When I do go on my first date I'll keep my phone on silent and not on vibrate.
  • Whyputaname 2012/05/08 02:28:44
    Whyputaname
    +3
    Well, if you go out on a date and you spend most of your time on the Cell Phone then maybe you should've stayed home.......

    How rude!!!!!!!!

    Unless it is someone who you don't want to be around and they won't leave you alone....Then that explains it...
  • MissJo Whyputa... 2012/05/08 03:21:32
    MissJo
    +4
    Yeah, I'd personally see that as the person had no interest in me at all, regardless if they did or didn't.
  • Tadeu MissJo 2012/05/08 12:31:08
    Tadeu
    I saw ur cat and i thought it was someone i know here on sodahead hehe. They are the same breed.
  • MissJo Tadeu 2012/05/08 21:19:43
    MissJo
    +1
    Yeah? Haha, Siamese are great breeds (:
  • Tadeu Whyputa... 2012/05/08 12:40:40
    Tadeu
    +1
    Indeed. I dont understand how someone can go on a date and be there using the phone all the time.
    The focus there should be the girl and theres no excuse to be using the phone while both are there to have a good moment together.
  • Nuzz 2012/05/08 00:46:41
    Nuzz
    Generally, I'll check my phone, but I won't answer it unless it's seriously important. So long as they aren't like, ON THE PHONE ALL THE TIME, I'm pretty okay with it.
  • Recruit 2012/05/07 22:59:07
    Recruit
    +1
    I never have a problem with my dates answering the calls or messages on their phones..it could be important and it gives me a chance to check out their hooters
  • addie Recruit 2012/05/08 18:06:52
  • matty 2012/05/07 22:48:35
    matty
    +1
    If u wana be with me then be without ur phone and keep it away till u get home!!
  • TKramar 2012/05/07 22:01:15
    TKramar
    Gee, using a cell phone never entered into my head. of COURSE it's a no-no, you're there to converse with the person you're with, not every other person in America!

    so I said #1 no-no is discussing politics, religion, or money.
  • Elaine ... TKramar 2012/05/09 01:36:10
    Elaine Magliacane
    Absolutely discuss politics AND religion, you should know up front if you some how ended up with a weak minded squishy LIBERAL and you might want to know if they worship the earth at the church of GloBull warming... or are Christian.. those are important things to know.
  • TKramar Elaine ... 2012/05/09 06:09:23
    TKramar
    not really.
  • L1 2012/05/07 21:54:58
    L1
    +1
    Good points, but just being considerate and patient attention to one's date can prevent mishaps.
  • LolasMechanic 2012/05/07 20:54:55
    LolasMechanic
    +1
    More than once, I've noticed a gal getting that 'tuned out' expression when her boyfriend keeps answering his phone! It kind of makes a girl wonder if he's really interested?
  • ...Kat... 2012/05/07 20:40:25
    ...Kat...
    +2
    I hate when my bf is on his phone. Friends too... If you wanna hang out, our you wanna be with me, best way to show it is to be there with me mentally. Not just physically...
  • TasselLady 2012/05/07 20:36:09
    TasselLady
    +2
    It would be nice if people would talk to each other face to face. I definitely prefer that when dating!!!
  • CREW grand 2012/05/07 20:33:33
    CREW grand
    +2
    Excessive?
    Any cell phone use is a dating disaster unless someone or something is bleeding or on fire.

    Don
  • TKramar CREW grand 2012/05/07 22:02:47
    TKramar
    And if they are, they should be calling an ambulance, not me.
  • addie TKramar 2012/05/08 22:05:15 (edited)
    addie
    Right! I was a medic for years, the person should still call 911.
  • addie CREW grand 2012/05/08 18:11:10
    addie
    There is no one I know I would help if they were bleeding to death or were on fire, so I could keep my phone off. What a good date. B)
  • cents-less 2012/05/07 19:09:48
    cents-less
    +1
    We needed a survey or study to tell us that our dates would rather have us pay more attention to them than our phones?
  • Brian cents-less 2012/05/07 20:05:39
    Brian
    +1
    Clearly, some people do.
  • Ben 2012/05/07 19:01:39
    Ben
    +4
    Unless you are texting "You are so F**king hot" to your date.
  • TKramar Ben 2012/05/07 22:04:11
    TKramar
    When you meet someone over the Internet, shouldn't your first date be at a cyber cafe so you can instant message each other back and forth?
  • Ben TKramar 2012/05/08 13:34:36
    Ben
    Yes! Just to break the ice, of course. Hahah.
  • TKramar Ben 2012/05/08 18:32:51
    TKramar
    I was just thinking, it's the mode of communication that they're both used to.
  • Elaine ... TKramar 2012/05/09 01:38:13
    Elaine Magliacane
    ha ha ha.... met my husband on the internet... we met for coffee and conversation for our first in person meeting.
  • S and S 2012/05/07 18:45:15
  • SweetLo... S and S 2012/05/09 03:32:36
    SweetLoveGifts
    +1
    lol! When I got my first hearing aids, the doctor told me, "Don't worry, you really haven't missed anything. Most people don't talk about anything any way. You'll probably have to force yourself to keep your hearing aids on."
  • Gregaj7 2012/05/07 17:52:29 (edited)
    Gregaj7
    +2
    Yep!
    Leave the phone at home, or don't get into the car with me!
  • addie Gregaj7 2012/05/08 22:09:13
    addie
    +1
    This will sound pathetic, but I am perfectly happy to have the phone off, but not having it with me, would drive me nuts!

See Votes by State

The map above displays the winning answer by region.

Living

2014/09/02 01:50:13

Hot Questions on SodaHead
More Hot Questions

More Community More Originals