Quantcast

Public Opinion Says Excessive Cell Phone Use Is a Dating Disaster [INFOGRAPHIC]

SodaHead Infographics 2012/05/07 15:00:00
When we asked the public what kinds of things turn them on or off on a first date, we got a lot of different responses. But the one thing everyone can take away from this little survey is this: Keep the cell phone at bay! It's one thing to pick up if your mom calls, but if you're texting your best friend for advice through the whole thing, don't be too surprised when that second date never comes. However, there are a couple of broad demographics that are (slightly) more receptive to it, and on the bright side, we've got the key to a good date, as well. Let's dive!

good date bad date infographic
You!
Add Photos & Videos

Top Opinion

  • MissGates 2012/05/09 19:16:12
    MissGates
    +5
    I don't care if he has his cellphone on the table so he can see who's calling when the cellphone lights up, but don't use it unless it's an emergency!!!!!!! I HATE when my boyfriend spends the whole meal texting in my face.. Why don't you go on a date with your cellphone if you love it so much? -.-"

Sort By
  • Most Raves
  • Least Raves
  • Oldest
  • Newest
Opinions

  • Lauren.livelovelaugh. 2012/07/03 14:39:36
    Lauren.livelovelaugh.
    +3
    Don't use your phone during a date it is a real turn off because it makes the other person feel there is someone better you would rather give your attention to
  • Margaret Jacobson 2012/05/25 19:18:42
    Margaret Jacobson
    No texting, ONLY EMERGENCY CALLS (DOCTOR??, AMBULANCE CHASER LAWYER?? SICK FAMILY MEMBER ??), just ME to be concerned with for the "date"
  • Trinity 2012/05/19 20:16:04
    Trinity
    I find the pie chart odd. Physical attraction/Can't keep my eyes off you would be 90% of the reason I was on a date. As for the cell phone... If he is paying the bill, I would be diplomatically sweet, but it is my choice to say yes to the second date =>
  • pamsingh 2012/05/18 16:53:21
  • Alex, WolmanXX 2012/05/16 21:52:45
    Alex, WolmanXX
    Truly, I don't go for physical. It burns you in the end.
  • airiq 2012/05/15 21:15:26
    airiq
    This has to be from the millinial generation Us old g's know better
  • sglmom 2012/05/14 08:21:29
    sglmom
    +1
    Bottom line ..

    IF you want to be dating someone .. ask them out to join you ..
    AT LEAST .. AT LEAST ..
    show some interest in your date for evening ..
    STOP with the Cell Phone Use!!!!!
  • Ani 2012/05/14 06:45:27
    Ani
    +2
    it is kind of being rude .... that your right person is sitting infront of you and u just concentration on person..., who is never tried to be with you by messging or calling him or her
  • Josh 2012/05/13 11:52:40
    Josh
    +1
    This all seems kind of obvious
  • meme14 2012/05/11 03:40:10
    meme14
    +1
    If the conversation is painful and awkward..that is the worst - Sometimes good looking people can talk and instantly ruin the attraction...and sometimes average people can be so cool and funny that they become really attractive..the conversation has to be easy.
  • JAKE~PWCM~JLA 2012/05/10 18:13:29 (edited)
    JAKE~PWCM~JLA
    +1
    The only way to bag a classy lady is to ask her to pull your finger at the table, if she does it, marry her... that is all.

    pull my finger
  • meho 2012/05/10 17:05:48
    meho
    +1
    I think its just wrong to look at you phone unless its your kids then I think its ok and your date will too.
  • MJ 2012/05/10 15:30:58
    MJ
    +2
    Turn the damn phone off!
  • MR. 2012/05/09 20:41:37 (edited)
    MR.
    Ooops! I gotta remember that next time to bring more dimes, for the payphone, or maybe not? (Operator? Never mind operator, click!)
  • Manster 2012/05/09 20:05:29
    Manster
    +3
    The person you're on the date with should be the sole center of your attention while you are out with them. If one is constantly texting, or taking phone calls while they are on a date, it is the epitome of rudeness that will guarantee that there won't be a second date.
  • MissGates 2012/05/09 19:16:12
    MissGates
    +5
    I don't care if he has his cellphone on the table so he can see who's calling when the cellphone lights up, but don't use it unless it's an emergency!!!!!!! I HATE when my boyfriend spends the whole meal texting in my face.. Why don't you go on a date with your cellphone if you love it so much? -.-"
  • Manster MissGates 2012/05/09 20:15:30
    Manster
    +5
    I can understand if the person is on call for their employer,but if that or a medical emergency isn't a part of the reason, turn the bleeping thing off, at least until the date is complete.
  • MissGates Manster 2012/05/09 20:39:04
    MissGates
    +2
    Exactly!
  • Manster MissGates 2012/05/09 22:47:31
    Manster
    +2
    I've been in that situation,where I was on call for my company,but fortunately, pagers were the corporate "tether" at that time.. I'd set it to vibrate, and if I received a page, I'd excuse myself to go and call in to find out what the problam was. Offer the caller a resolution option,and then return to my date!
  • MissGates Manster 2012/05/10 00:25:11
    MissGates
    +2
    At least you'd excuse yourself first and you wouldn't spend the whole night talking to someone else :P
  • Manster MissGates 2012/05/10 12:51:06
    Manster
    +2
    Common courtesy doesn't cost a dime,and I think it's the best way to get someone to be willing to want to see them again! ;-)
  • MissGates Manster 2012/05/10 17:25:33
    MissGates
    +1
    That's what I think too :P
  • Manster MissGates 2012/05/10 17:41:54
    Manster
    +1
    I can only agree with you on that,Miss Gates!What has happened to commoon courtesy and respect for others? If someone trats their date in such a callous manner,I'd advise them that they have two options.Going to the Bunny Moonlight Ranch outside of Vegas,or buying a copy of Penthouse or Playboy and a bottle of Jerkins lotion along with a box of Kleenex! LOL
  • MissGates Manster 2012/05/11 17:48:02
    MissGates
    +1
    Hahaha :P
  • Manster MissGates 2012/05/11 18:33:22
    Manster
    Thanks for enjoying my totally warped sense of humor! rotflmao
  • MissGates Manster 2012/05/12 14:42:39
    MissGates
    +1
    Haha no problem :P
  • Manster MissGates 2012/05/12 19:58:40
    Manster
    +1
    It never ceases to amaze me when I observe this sort of behavior going on when I'm out having dinner at a restaurant, and I look over to see someone who is completely ignoring the person they're dining with because they're engaged in a cell phone conversation!
  • MissGates Manster 2012/05/13 03:07:08
    MissGates
    +1
    Yeah I can't believe people do that...
  • Manster MissGates 2012/05/13 16:45:58
    Manster
    I guess it gives them some crazy sense of "self- importance", like," Hey look at me. I'm so special ,people HAVE to keep in touch with me!"
  • MissGates Manster 2012/05/13 21:21:13
    MissGates
    +1
    Yeah i know some people like that.... It's so annoying... You're not THAT important, they can wait, they won't die if you don't answer within the next two minutes -.-"
  • Manster MissGates 2012/05/14 01:33:39 (edited)
    Manster
    Miss Gates, maybe you should pull that stunt on them when you're out with them. Pick up your cell phone and answer it say a few words of medical jargon like you're an obstetrician on call,and you have to rush off to deliver a baby, and leave them stuck with the tab for something! hahahaha! That'll fix 'em! ;-)))
  • MissGates Manster 2012/05/14 17:11:01
    MissGates
    +1
    Hahahahaha XD Maybe :P
  • Chukroast 2012/05/09 08:11:21
    Chukroast
    Obviously not a scientific poll.
  • fcombs 2012/05/09 05:35:38
    fcombs
    +4
    cell phone use, poor conversationalist, no sense of humor, bad manners in general - all a bad sign.
  • BRIDGET 2012/05/09 04:37:04
    BRIDGET
    +2
    SHUT OFF THE CELL PHONE AND DON'T USE IT! IT'S RUDE WHEN YOUR OUT, UNLESS YOU HAVE TGO CALL 911 ON SOME NUTJOB
  • Flyingbug 2012/05/09 02:37:33
    Flyingbug
    +3
    If it's not a dire emergency, put the thing on vibrate or let the calls go to voicemail.
  • addie 2012/05/08 18:04:54 (edited)
    addie
    +4
    For this they needed to do a study?

    If someone spent time on their cell, I would, politely, excuse my self and go home.

    I am too old to truck that kind of disrespect.
  • Inez 2012/05/08 15:55:40
  • stef 2012/05/08 15:54:55
    stef
    now i know what to do when im asked out next time =P
  • Margaret Jacobson 2012/05/08 15:23:55
    Margaret Jacobson
    +2
    Talking on cell phones, taljking with full mouthfull of food, burping, AND FARTING, poor tips and OVER TIPPING IN EXCESS, licking fingers and picking up the bones to chew on them,grabbing food like you are ABSOLUTELY starving, ALSO nothing to say in a conversation, being really late (more than 15 minutes), complaining ABOUT THE PRICES OF FOOD IN RESAURANT, not paying attention to me (looking around), aljmost forgot........Chewing with an open mouth, Taking food out o0f mo0uth AND placing in view on table or plate (in napkin, PLEASE)

See Votes by State

The map above displays the winning answer by region.

Living

2014/10/20 13:02:43

Hot Questions on SodaHead
More Hot Questions

More Community More Originals