Quantcast

PUBLIC OPINION > Relationship Contracts Are Kind of Sketchy

Living 2012/05/30 21:00:00
Apparently, Mark Zuckerberg made some kind of "relationship contract" with his wife, 27-year-old Priscilla Chan. We're not sure if it's an actual paper-and-ink contract or just a verbal agreement, but it bound him to spend at least one date and 100 minutes of private time with Chan each week, as well as a yearly two-week vacation. Now, that doesn't sound unreasonable, but the term "relationship contract" could be enough to scare some people off. We asked the public if they would agree to one.



Most people wouldn't, but it was far from unanimous. A good 41% of respondents said they would be comfortable with one -- provided the terms were reasonable, of course. Especially if you're, say, Mark Zuckerberg. It's easy to see why Chan might have wanted to ensure that she got to spend time with the founder of the largest social network on the planet. He has a lot on his plate, and it's probably very easy to get sucked into his job. Maybe that's the type of grounding he needs. But most people aren't Zuckerberg. One commenter wrote, "If he wants to make time, he will make time on his own."

Singles Resist

You've got to be in a relationship to agree to a relationship contract (unless you have a very unique case of split personality), and respondents in an unmarried relationship were actually 18% more likely than singles to agree to one. Oddly enough, married couples were not as likely, coming in at 42% -- which is interesting because, as many commenters pointed out, marriage is literally a relationship contract.

Midlife Contract

Younger people and older people were not very likely to agree, but there was a pronounced spike between the ages of 25 and 45. That actually correlates pretty well to the relationship status demographic, assuming young people are often single, middle-aged people are often in relationships, and older people are often married. It also suggests that younger married couples might be more willing to agree.

Drinkers Don't Mind

We suspected drinkers and smokers might be less willing to agree to a contract on the assumption that drinking and smoking could very well be prohibited by such a contract, but the opposite was true. But obviously, no one would happily agree to something they weren't OK with, so maybe the extra 12% of drinkers who would agree are actually eager to quit.

If you'd like to vote on this question, dig deeper into the demographics, or engage in existing discussion about the topic, visit our poll about relationship contracts. We'd love to hear from you!
You!
Add Photos & Videos

Top Opinion

  • HProcks12345 2012/05/30 22:31:52
    HProcks12345
    +6
    those actually exist?!?!?! WTF?!?! I thought they were only real in the strange tv shows that i watch!!!

Sort By
  • Most Raves
  • Least Raves
  • Oldest
  • Newest
Opinions

  • patchulie TKramar 2012/06/20 19:34:46
    patchulie
    By staying home, are you saying, your wife DOES NOT work
  • TKramar patchulie 2012/06/20 20:14:12
    TKramar
    She works as a homemaker. And it isn't easy.
  • donna191 2012/05/31 01:28:12
    donna191
    +1
    trust is the main thing in any relationship, why ask 4 a contract if u trust em?
  • Jay Calderone 2012/05/31 01:17:07
  • patchulie Jay Cal... 2012/06/14 00:29:04
    patchulie
    I love him too... Bazinga, no really, I do;-)
  • Jay Cal... patchulie 2012/06/14 03:26:54
    Jay Calderone
    Lol, high five!!!
    he's probably the only person who could get away with a relationship contract XD
  • patchulie Jay Cal... 2012/06/28 03:38:01
    patchulie
    +1
    But he would call it "the roommate agreement"
    Oh bazinga... A new term for marriage;-)
  • Jay Cal... patchulie 2012/06/29 15:06:19
    Jay Calderone
    LOL that's very true.
  • Miko Mikomiko 2012/05/31 01:07:53
    Miko Mikomiko
    +2
    No, because there's no romance just like a work contract the so called "relationship" has turned into an obligation.
    living in a cage
    Too many rules, agreements, policies, contracts but one misdemeanor and you lose your job that's their logic. It's like living in a freaking cage
  • TKramar Miko Mi... 2012/05/31 11:20:44
    TKramar
    +1
    that's true of any marriage...not just the ones protected by some sort of contract.

    Hell, that's true of any relationship. Displease her just one time, and she CAN and WILL make your life a living hell.
  • Nabael 2012/05/31 01:05:06
    Nabael
    No, because if I want to get into a contract with someone I would marry them. The lovely thing with relationships, is that if it ends, it can be agreed upon at the time what gets divided and is much easier to process legally.
  • VICTORIA Nabael 2012/05/31 03:06:37
    VICTORIA
    They ARE married.
  • swimmingswan 2012/05/31 00:12:37
    swimmingswan
    NO , I DONT AGREE WITH A RELATIONSHIP CONTRACT IT MORE LIKE A MARRIAGE CERTIFICATE.
  • VICTORIA swimmin... 2012/05/31 03:06:48
    VICTORIA
    +1
    They ARE married.
  • CrazyTexan 2012/05/30 23:35:55
    CrazyTexan
    Wow....what alternate universe is this? Fringe alert!
  • ReindeerWS6 2012/05/30 23:26:16
    ReindeerWS6
    Well, I would say that unless the relationship is more along the lines of a common-law marriage or the couple are both attorneys (since they love that sort of thing), the idea of a binding contract is... well... stupid. Agreements, yes... compromises yes... but if the relationship needs a written contract I would say that it's already in trouble!

    Let's face it... if the BF or GF isn't willing to spend at least an hour and a half (100 minutes) each week with their partner, there are already problems with the relationship that no contract in the world is going to fix! LOL!
  • VICTORIA Reindee... 2012/05/31 03:06:58
    VICTORIA
    They ARE married.
  • MissJo 2012/05/30 23:20:37
  • rightside 2012/05/30 22:54:17
    rightside
    Now days with people posting their sex pics and tell-alls about their love affairs, I guess I would say that for some, its a good thing.
  • PsychoxAngel 2012/05/30 22:52:00
    PsychoxAngel
    +2
    that kinda wired if your married to someone you don't meed a contract you should have faith in them
  • HProcks12345 2012/05/30 22:31:52
    HProcks12345
    +6
    those actually exist?!?!?! WTF?!?! I thought they were only real in the strange tv shows that i watch!!!
  • Amina Kolenc 2012/05/30 22:02:09
    Amina Kolenc
    No.
  • rendonmarlina 2012/05/30 22:01:01
    rendonmarlina
    +1
    Isn't that called marriage? In that case of course I would.
  • VICTORIA rendonm... 2012/05/31 03:07:24
    VICTORIA
    They ARE married.
  • TKramar rendonm... 2012/05/31 11:18:31
    TKramar
    actually, the terms of the particular contract are something the standard marriage contract doesn't cover. Like, he could spend 140 hours a week working/commuting a week, and 28 hours sleeping, and not spend any time with you. He doesn't have to, by law, take you on a foreign vacation twice a year (or was that two weeks a year?). He doesn't have to, by law, even have to go so far as to take you to Denny's twice a year.

    She's making demands on him of his TIME, which you aren't guaranteed by a marriage certificate.
  • GLaDOS rendonm... 2012/05/31 18:23:10
    GLaDOS
    It's basically a prenuptial agreement, except it seems like it isn't quite as formal, as a prenup usually covers things like cheating, splitting of assets upon dissolution, etc.

See Votes by State

The map above displays the winning answer by region.

Living

2014/12/22 21:26:25

Hot Questions on SodaHead
More Hot Questions

More Community More Originals