Quantcast

PUBLIC OPINION > Posing Nude While Pregnant Is Played Out

Living 2012/04/26 22:00:00
You don't have to be a Victoria's Secret model (we're looking at you, Alessandra Ambrosio) for an excuse to take nude photos when you're pregnant. You might see a nude-preggo pic hanging on a friend's wall, or better yet, on Awkward Family Photos. Moms-to-be want to remember what their bodies looked like during the most transformative time in their lives, so it's become acceptable and commonplace. But recently, it's become so commonplace it's almost cliche. We asked the public if it's still sexy.



Sorry moms, but the naked-and-pregnant look just isn't in anymore. Not that these kinds of pictures are necessarily supposed to be "sexy" -- but "beautiful," certainly. Maybe Ambrosio looks sexy pregnant, but she is a Victoria's Secret model, after all. One commenter wrote, "Sick of it! Moms to be need a new hobby." Like, waking up in the middle of the night to figure out why their kid is crying. That sounds like a fun little hobby. But others disagree. Another commenter noted, "As much as people might not like to hear it, portraying fertility in art is a really important part of our history as humans."

Men Are More Turned On

We actually expected women to be the ones to find it sexy. It is mostly women who are doing it, after all. And, Alan Harper aside, we didn't think the visual embodiment of ultimate commitment would be that appealing to men. Maybe we're wrong. Maybe those extra curves really are appealing. Or maybe most of the guys were responding specifically to the Ambrosio photo.

Parents Are Put Off

Another shocker: Parents don't like it! People who wanted to have kids someday were far more likely to find it sexy, which is less surprising, but this is especially interesting paired with the gender breakdown, because this means it might not be fathers who are into pregnant women, which would have made more sense. It must be that obscure object of desire.

Bisexuals Think It's Sexy

Bisexual voters don't often stand out this much, but they were by far the most likely to call nude pregnant pictures "sexy." They were nearly twice as likely as straight voters. It could be that they're simply more open-minded about sex in general. Obviously they are in terms of gender, so why not in this case, too?

If you'd like to vote on this question, dig deeper into the demographics, or engage in existing discussion about the topic, visit our poll about nude pregnant pictures. We'd love to hear from you!
You!
Add Photos & Videos

Top Opinion

  • ☠ Live Free Or Die ☠ 2012/04/28 15:46:41
    ☠ Live Free Or Die ☠
    +10
    I don't think it's "sexy" but I do think some of the nude pregnant pics (especially that one) are beautiful. Pregnant women seem to just... glow. The same way the father does when the baby is actually born. :) Also, nudity isn't always bad. These photos express the raw, natural beauty of pregnancy, and parenthood.
    Pregnant woman

Sort By
  • Most Raves
  • Least Raves
  • Oldest
  • Newest
Opinions

  • SunnyDr... Spider20 2012/04/27 06:15:09
    SunnyDragon
    +2
    Why, I thought you guys said pregnancy is beautiful, hmmm
  • Spider20 SunnyDr... 2012/04/27 09:21:19 (edited)
    Spider20
    +2
    Let's just say it's a little strange in this case....
  • arenels 2012/04/27 02:28:07
    arenels
    +2
    Enough already!
  • Jennifer 2012/04/27 02:24:36
    Jennifer
    +5
    Posing naked anytime is just plane stupid. IT'S PRACTICALLY PORN!!!
  • Bill 2012/04/27 02:05:45
    Bill
    +3
    I never thought of it as sexy. I've always thought it was very beautiful.
  • Purebread#1 2012/04/27 01:40:24
    Purebread#1
    +4
    Soooooo played out! Enough!
  • Lorelei Lee 2012/04/27 01:28:54
    Lorelei Lee
    +4
    I would do it, but I would keep it private. I don't want to share something that intimate to the WHOLE world.
  • dv Lorelei... 2012/04/27 04:50:53
    dv
    +4
    I agree do it for your husband or personal album not for the world to see
  • Fashionable60s 2012/04/27 01:18:21
    Fashionable60s
    +2
    Since Demi Moore started the trend more than 20 years ago, everyone from Brittany Spears, Jessica Simpson etc., etc.,had done it, so boring, so played out. Enough already. Cover up, please.
  • locoheaven 2012/04/27 01:15:23
    locoheaven
    +2
    Cute but seriously it is soooo played out
  • harasnicole 2012/04/27 01:14:29
    harasnicole
    +1
    So long as it's not on the cover of a magazine, I have no problem with it.
  • Bob DiN harasni... 2012/04/29 00:32:05
    Bob DiN
    However it usually is.
  • queenalyss 2012/04/27 00:44:37
    queenalyss
    +2
    Lol the study on Bisexuals and the poll is written almost offensively...oh well.
    Women are always beautiful, and sharing the essence of a child's beauty is even more heart striking beautiful pregnant
  • Your friendly neighborhood ... 2012/04/27 00:36:51
    Your friendly neighborhood stalker
    +5
    All nudes are played out.
  • Inquisitve Kat 2012/04/27 00:25:21
    Inquisitve Kat
    +4
    I wasn't aware that women were doing this to be 'sexy'... why does beauty always have to be tied to sex appeal?
  • Jennifer Inquisi... 2012/04/27 02:26:09
    Jennifer
    +3
    Now days it seems it does. It's so sad.
  • Max Power Inquisi... 2012/04/27 02:51:01
    Max Power
    +1
    If you're posing topless in a magazine,

    I'll just let that argument tell itself.
  • Inquisi... Max Power 2012/04/27 03:07:16
    Inquisitve Kat
    That argument doesn't necessarily logically follow that you're topless because you're trying to be sexy.
  • Max Power Inquisi... 2012/04/27 03:12:19
    Max Power
    +1
    Not necessarily, sure, but if you're getting paid to pose topless in a magazine where you know a huge portion of people are going to be ogling your naked body, I would wager that sex appeal is probably why you're doing it, especially since there's nothing artistically original about posing nude, pregnant or not.
  • Inquisi... Max Power 2012/04/27 03:14:33
    Inquisitve Kat
    It's not original. I always considered it about embracing the beauty of pregnancy and motherhood. People may ogle anything, but I fully believe most women who pose nude, while pregnant, are not thinking of how sexy they look. It just seems odd that they would imagine their pregnant belly, holding their child, as part of sex appeal.
  • Jessica Inquisi... 2012/04/27 18:18:54
    Jessica
    +1
    AGREED!
  • Christine 2012/04/27 00:21:59
    Christine
    +3
    What a stupid article. To say this is played out is the same as saying taking pictures of your children is played out. The difference is that pictures of posed pregnant women have been popular for less time than naked baby pictures or family pictures. You are only pregnant one time for each baby so why not get a picture out of it. Capture the beauty of your body with the most beautiful experience of life's miracles.
  • Juliet 2012/04/27 00:07:24
    Juliet
    +5
    its beautiful n i m going to do it when i start showing more. doesn't mean others will see it.
  • zootshe... Juliet 2012/04/27 04:54:30
    zootshecfur
    +2
    i think a pregnant women is very sexy and shall pose if she feels like it . im sure ur pics would come out very good. as in ur already beautiful as it is.
  • Juliet zootshe... 2012/04/27 06:39:51
    Juliet
    +2
    thank you zoot :)
  • Suzy 2012/04/26 23:55:37
    Suzy
    +3
    It is a beautiful thing. Of a very intimate nature. I don't wanna see you naked whether you're preggers or not.
  • De-Dee 2012/04/26 23:51:41
    De-Dee
    +3
    :P I think posing nude while pregnant is beautiful. I think they make the most intriguing and elegant nude photographs otherwise I'm like oh look...a naked woman. lols But I do have a weird fascination with pregnancy soo...
  • Hales 2012/04/26 23:42:54
    Hales
    +3
    Parents surprisingly don't find it sexy...?

    Is it because of all the crazy hormones and hours of labor and childbirth that make pregnancy...non-sexy? O.o
  • Christine Hales 2012/04/27 00:26:41
    Christine
    +1
    No way. Even with the pain I found it to be a very sexy happy time of my life. (minus the nurses violating me to measure for dialating)
    Some people included in the poll have to be crazy.
  • MyKinKStar 2012/04/26 23:36:07
    MyKinKStar
    +1
    I liked it when Demi Moore did it years ago for Vanity Fair and saved the magazine. Since then there have been numerous others who have done it, many using the exact same pose. None were are stunning as Demi, because she did it and did it good! I am not saying anyone with a pregnant belly isn't stunning in their own way; with a want or need to show it off, I just don't get why any of them want to copy a pose or an idea for public display over and Over and OVER.
  • Arya 2012/04/26 23:33:02
    Arya
    +2
    Not sexy at all.
  • Glfer65 2012/04/26 23:32:55
    Glfer65
    +4
    It is beautiful and in many eyes ART. Plus people need to be more acceptance of pregnant and of course all art in general. The staunch ones need to loosen up a bit.
  • Nekosarethebest 2012/04/26 23:32:54
    Nekosarethebest
    +1
    Really? Well...
  • Lyssa Clark 2012/04/26 23:32:09
    Lyssa Clark
    +3
    Not so sure it is sexy, but it's a beautiful thing to see. I have personal pictures of my pregnancies, but they are for me and my memories
  • Captain Pikachu ~ CEO of HTFO 2012/04/26 23:24:57
    Captain Pikachu ~ CEO of HTFO
    +4
    Why does sodahead always group people into different categories? Bisexuals, Conservatives, Liberals, etc... you classify everyone by something stupid like that.
  • MyKinKStar Captain... 2012/04/26 23:44:04
  • Kiana 2012/04/26 23:21:48
    Kiana
    +1
    Never having a baby is a beautiful thing. Why not flant it?
  • KittyKat 2012/04/26 23:16:24
    KittyKat
    +10
    Pregnancy is suppose to be a beautiful thing.

    beautiful pregnancy
  • MyKinKStar KittyKat 2012/04/26 23:37:18
    MyKinKStar
    +1
    Truly Lovely.
  • hat man KittyKat 2012/04/27 07:30:41
    hat man
    It is?

See Votes by State

The map above displays the winning answer by region.

Living

2014/10/23 15:12:05

Hot Questions on SodaHead
More Hot Questions

More Community More Originals