Quantcast

PUBLIC OPINION > Not Everyone Wants to Share a Beer With Obama

Living 2012/08/21 21:00:00
During a three-day Iowa bus tour, President Obama revealed that his bus was stocked with a special White House-brewed beer. The beer reportedly comes in two varieties -- light and dark -- and the President admitted he does drink it. Not much else was said on the subject, but we wanted to know how much of the public would crack a bottle with Obama.



Almost half of respondents would turn down Obama's brew. Obviously, there are going to be some telling demographics on this one, but first let's take a blind peek at some of the responses. A lot of comments suggested the reason they would (or wouldn't) partake is that they do (or don't) like beer. But there were also people who simply refused to associate with Obama. One respondent wrote, "As long as it's free."

Conservative Boycott


The strongest correlation, by far, was political alignment. There was a lot of resistance from the right. Part of it might be due to the way the story has been circulated -- that this is "Obama's beer." But more often than not, it was an opportunity to say that even beer cannot win them over. Conservatives were as willing to turn it down as liberals were to partake.

Drinking Doesn't Change Much

Believe it or not, whether or not people drink didn't have much to do with the results after all. Drinkers were more likely to join the president, but only by about 8%. We were actually surprised to see that 47% of nondrinkers were willing to have a beer with Obama, implying that a "nondrinker" is likely to be someone who will drink on occasion.

Drinking Age

Well, there's some good news and some bad news on the drinking front. The good news is, teens were 20% less likely than the 18-24 crowd to want to share a beer with Obama. And since young people tend to lean left, that's even more significant. It means young people are hesitant to consume alcohol. However, nearly half of teens would still do it.

If you'd like to vote on this question, dig deeper into the demographics, or engage in existing discussion about the topic, visit our poll about White House beer. We'd love to hear from you!
You!
Add Photos & Videos

Top Opinion

Sort By
  • Most Raves
  • Least Raves
  • Oldest
  • Newest
Opinions

  • Big J 2012/10/27 20:57:58
    Big J
    +3
    he didnt build it
  • mark.tanner.3975 2012/10/25 22:25:29
    mark.tanner.3975
    +2
    Have a beer with President Obama? No! Forget it. But I'd let him hang-around to throw can/bottle away.
  • ebitnet 2012/10/23 14:55:42
    ebitnet
    I'd share a beer with anyone regardless of political persuasion. Beer has a remarkable power to lower barriers and get conversations going. Beer is God's sign that he Loves us and wants us to be happy. Perhaps they should serve it in Congress every once in a while. They might actually get something done.
  • Who wants a cupcake? 2012/10/17 01:18:30
    Who wants a cupcake?
    nope
  • Becky 2012/10/08 22:56:12
    Becky
    Sure would.....especially if it is REALLY, REALLY COLD!
  • Drake 2012/10/07 03:13:31
  • Ramón 2012/09/22 20:36:51
    Ramón
    +1
    Shoot, I'd drink with Obama for a honey ale. Mmm. It would wipe the taste of being so near to him out of my mouth.
  • Jorge Enriquez 2012/09/18 02:14:41
    Jorge Enriquez
    I want lol
  • zachary rhodin 2012/09/16 08:48:22
    zachary rhodin
    politians have low humantiy and most are athiest. would not go down well. i'll just take the beer and run like the ***king wind.
  • miss Smarty 2012/08/29 05:02:47
    miss Smarty
    +1
    Noway!
  • MLS 2012/08/27 23:08:50
    MLS
    +3
    NEVER...not even if I were parched, dehydrated and dying of thirst!!!
  • Rust 2012/08/27 18:16:13
  • derek 2012/08/27 17:33:44
    derek
    +2
    I'd take his beer and hand it to someone else who doesn't deserve it. Kinda like he does with our tax money.
  • Bilingual required sucks 2012/08/27 16:58:39
    Bilingual required sucks
    +1
    You mean that is a real beer? White House Honey Ale? You better believe I would have a beer with Obama it would be an honor. But if was just the groundskeeper that was available to have the beer with I would jump at the chance for a taste of that yummy sounding beer.
  • Ozymandias 2012/08/27 15:59:46
  • Bilingu... Ozymandias 2012/08/27 18:41:14
    Bilingual required sucks
    +2
    Lotta nuts down there in Texas huh?
  • Ozymandias Bilingu... 2012/08/27 21:37:37
  • Bilingu... Ozymandias 2012/08/27 21:57:05
    Bilingual required sucks
    +2
    I can't say I blame you one bit. Good luck on a speedy move out of hell on earth.
  • Ozymandias Bilingu... 2012/08/27 21:58:48
  • Bilingu... Ozymandias 2012/08/27 22:20:29 (edited)
    Bilingual required sucks
    +2
    I have been looking at Seattle myself......nice, educated, very liberal city. Even the mayor shows up at their public pot smoke fests, now that is liberal heaven....lol

    http://www.cannabisculture.co...

    (I don't smoke .....but I certainly support the right for people to ingest a harmless intoxicant if they want to!)
  • Ozymandias Bilingu... 2012/08/27 22:24:13
  • Bilingu... Ozymandias 2012/08/27 22:30:57
    Bilingual required sucks
    +1
    I know...right?
  • Jane Bilingu... 2012/09/11 14:57:53 (edited)
    Jane
    +1
    I'm actually headed up there to check out the area for retirement. We will be there for a couple of weeks.
  • Bilingu... Jane 2012/09/11 15:40:40
    Bilingual required sucks
    +1
    Good deal....enjoy!
  • Jane Ozymandias 2012/09/11 15:00:44
    Jane
    +1
    You are in the same boat my husband and I are in, only we have 3 more years to retirement and we are leaving here next week to go to Seattle to scout out the area. I'm lucky because I have a wonderful cousin that lives there and is going to take us "places".
  • Tom Camfield 2012/08/27 15:45:32
    Tom Camfield
    +3
    Sure I would. I can't, however, visualize having a beer with Romney. But then, I guess he probably doesn't even drink, come to think of it. What I'd really like to do is go back in time and have a snort with Harry S. Truman.
  • Bilingu... Tom Cam... 2012/08/27 17:01:11
    Bilingual required sucks
    +2
    ROFL You're a trip old man!
  • Red 2012/08/27 02:32:23
  • johnnyg 2012/08/27 01:05:15
    johnnyg
    Obama is nothing but a control freak commie pig.
  • Bilingu... johnnyg 2012/08/27 17:02:50
    Bilingual required sucks
    You DARE call Obama a pig with that pot belly you're carrying around?
  • johnnyg Bilingu... 2012/08/29 05:55:13
    johnnyg
    I DARE to call Obama anything I want to call him. At least I earned mine.
  • BlutandEhre 2012/08/27 00:24:12
    BlutandEhre
    +1
    I bet Occubagger drink the DARK bier. LOL. I wouldn't piss in his mouth if he were on fire.

    lolz


    lolz
  • Tom Cam... Blutand... 2012/08/27 15:48:40
    Tom Camfield
    Aren't you the intelligent one though. I imagine all sorts of undecided voters be amazed at your wisdom.
  • Blutand... Tom Cam... 2012/08/27 16:32:37
    BlutandEhre
    +3
    I have more sense than Occubagger.

    lolz
  • Bilingu... Blutand... 2012/08/27 17:04:32
    Bilingual required sucks
    Wow you're racist, and a pervert. You have those fantasys a lot do ya?
  • Blutand... Bilingu... 2012/08/27 17:14:38
  • Bilingu... Blutand... 2012/08/27 17:22:36 (edited)
    Bilingual required sucks
    "I bet Occubagger drink the DARK bier"

    Your words not mine.

    Oh and why do spell beer the way Germans spell it? Plus your avatar and screename? You trying to pass yourself off as a German or what? Get mental help.
  • Blutand... Bilingu... 2012/08/27 17:27:12
    BlutandEhre
    +1
    I am from Aachen, Germany, weirdo. lolzz IDIOTEN!
  • Bilingu... Blutand... 2012/08/27 17:31:01 (edited)
    Bilingual required sucks
    Ahhhhhh, a REAL Neo Nazi puke for brains. Even better....didn't you learn anything from the destruction of the 3rd reich .... Schweinhund?

    And Germans capitalize Bier. It's not written as bier. Go back to school.
  • zbacku 2012/08/26 23:42:34
    zbacku
    +2
    I don't drink beer, and I wouldn't drink a Pepsi with a man that would destroy America for his cause.
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 ... 15 Next » Last »

See Votes by State

The map above displays the winning answer by region.

Living

2014/08/20 20:36:54

Hot Questions on SodaHead
More Hot Questions

More Community More Originals