Quantcast

PUBLIC OPINION > No Pizza Hut Proposals, Please

Living 2012/02/13 14:00:00
A little over a year ago, McDonald's started offering wedding packages in Hong Kong, and it saw a suprising amount of success. It never caught on with American chains, but it may have been the inspiration behind Pizza Hut's Ultimate Valentine’s Day Proposal in a Box. The deal includes a $10 Dinner Box (medium one-topping pizza, breadsticks, cinnamon sticks, dipping sauces), as well as a professional videographer, a bouquet of flowers, limo service, and even a ruby engagement ring -- all for the low, low price of $10,010. How could anyone turn down a deal like that? We're predicting 100% in favor, but we asked SodaHeads for their opinions anyway.

Proposing at Pizza Hut: Sweet or... Cheesy?


75% Think It's a Cheesy Idea (And They Don't Mean It in a Good Way)

Seriously? You're not all jumping up and down at the chance to blow $10K on a trip to Pizza Hut? Huh. Actually, we're a little surprised it got as much support as it did. One in four people think it's a good idea, and the Top Opinion, with 15 raves, was a big thumbs up. One commenter made this case: "Suppose the couple met there? Suppose they know each other to be the kind of silly types who love some ironic thing? ... Then it's absolutely appropriate and might be THE ultimate most perfect time and place." Hey, you never know. If McDonald's can break the wedding business...



Men Are More Hesitant

You might assume men were the bigger supporters here, but there is one important factor in the gender category: the price. Men were 6% less likely to encourage the offer, and we suspect the price tag may have done them in a little. There are probably plenty of guys out there who would prefer to chow down while they propose... but not for 10 grand! Plus, you wouldn't want to offend that special someone.

Less Appetizing With Age

Naturally, older voters were less inclined to go with the Pizza Hut proposal. Maybe they take the event more seriously, or maybe the idea of spending $10,010 on a proposal is a little too real. Or maybe their arteries just can't handle the cheesy, greasy goodness of a medium one-topping pizza. Oddly, there was a spike in support for the 55-64 group (45%) and the retired (37%).

Athletes Are Opposed

Respondents who try to keep in shape would hardly touch the issue. Even if you could write the idea off as silly and fun, it's still Pizza Hut -- not an excellent choice in terms of nutrition. Conversely, respondents with "love handles" were more likely to embrace the idea than most.

If you'd like to vote on this question, dig deeper into the demographics, or engage in existing discussion about the topic, visit our original poll about the Pizza Hut Proposal Box. We'd love to hear from you!
You!
Add Photos & Videos

Top Opinion

Sort By
  • Most Raves
  • Least Raves
  • Oldest
  • Newest
Opinions

  • roycelerwick 2012/03/09 18:46:41
    roycelerwick
    Pizza Hut is for people who don't like pizza.
  • rph3636 2012/02/19 05:11:02
    rph3636
    I think McDonalds should merge with the " Heart Attack Grill'.
  • 2585661 2012/02/14 21:14:17
    2585661
    Gross. I'd say No to the guy because of that. hahaah
  • mae 2012/02/14 18:40:44
    mae
    Nope. Not a good idea.
  • Anna E 2012/02/14 17:49:21
    Anna E
    Dunkin Donuts anyone?
    At the hotdog stand at the circus?
    How about when your future hubby just caught a fish?
    Or how about when he just finished changing the oil in his car?
    Superbowl party with his buddies?
    lmao
  • Sandman366 2012/02/14 17:11:59 (edited)
    Sandman366
    Good pizza? Yeah, sure.


    Good place to propose?
    *crickets*
    ...*cough* I actually have to say the obvious no?



    You'd need some seriously special circumstances to explain that one. Seriously, the pizza with the writing at a party would be better. (Perhaps one of those little stand things that used to go in the middle of the pizza holds the ring?) It's still not a great way to propose, but it'd make an interesting story. ("I bought a engagement package from Pizza Hut for 10 grand" doesn't really make that fascinating of a story. "I wrote 'Marry Me' on a pizza and put the ring in the middle" is better. Not great, but better.)
  • BlackDaisy11247 2012/02/14 16:16:02
    BlackDaisy11247
    I think its adorable! But thats just me.
  • Lonna121593 2012/02/14 16:08:07
    Lonna121593
    my man proposed in my driveway while listening to Dont Matter by Akon. and guess wat?! I LOVED IT!!!!!!! it dont matter how someone proposes so long as it makes you happy. lol
  • jacktown kid 2012/02/14 15:56:28
    jacktown kid
    Pizza Hut very good to me
  • mgk-:{ 2012/02/14 15:06:44
    mgk-:{
    frist pizza hut is a lousy pizza and just a probsal pizza congaltion your now the most hated pizza company in the usa
  • Hannah 2012/02/14 14:24:25
    Hannah
    Getting married should be a private thing, I dont understand peoples logic between VERY public proposals. Its all down to a certain type of person.
  • Racin'Chick225 2012/02/14 12:53:22
    Racin'Chick225
    +3
    Lord no, that's the corniest thing possible.
  • ellencalvo Racin'C... 2012/02/16 19:10:25
    ellencalvo
    IDK I think its pretty funny
  • OhGoshItsHayley 2012/02/14 12:52:44
    OhGoshItsHayley
    Asdfghjkl, Pizza Hut is amazing!
  • harley oldman 2012/02/14 11:16:34
    harley oldman
    Not Interested.........NOW......If they throwed in a Meat Lovers..............mmmmm.....!
  • LCisme 2012/02/14 07:42:02
    LCisme
    everyone will all be wearing the same ruby rings. its be a little club i guess
  • Teh MIghty Pyro 2012/02/14 07:13:31
    Teh MIghty Pyro
    maybe its best to not go to pizza hut at all, like normal people.
  • Th8nos 2012/02/14 06:12:27
    Th8nos
    I think that is the worst pizza on the face of this earth....
  • Aingean 2012/02/14 03:55:55
    Aingean
    Really if a guy proposed over a pizza I would be fighting mad.
  • Gregaj7 2012/02/14 03:52:20
    Gregaj7
    Looks like the "public" actually agrees with me, for once.
  • Waiting in the Wings 2012/02/14 00:13:03
    Waiting in the Wings
    +2
    I'd have to dump the man who proposed to me there. For that kind of scratch we could out a down payment on a giuse, have wicked honeymoon or both. If he's broke, propose at the beach while watching the sunset, at the park during or after a picnic, or while, we're hanging out on the couch , at the zoo, or fair. Put SOME effort into it!
  • hari 2012/02/13 22:40:01
    hari
    yes no pizza hut now
  • Jaiheena Star 2012/02/13 22:34:48
  • cm 2012/02/13 22:14:31
    cm
    +3
    Pizza Hut makes a lousy pizza
  • Bruno Costa 2012/02/13 22:14:24
    Bruno Costa
    I could be pizza for me.
  • naomicolleen 2012/02/13 21:50:32
    naomicolleen
    hhahahah talk about fine dinning. Its really lame, only for the matter that marriage is rather a big deal; us women are giving OUR lives away pretty much to be your bitch, well thats how i see it; and to put that much effort into a proposal it would have been better if you gave her a legit rock rather than a ring, its pathetic and sad how lazy and unromantic life has become, pizza..are you kidding me? Why don't you just buy her two big macs and pop the question then. lol life
  • Ariana Irizarry 2012/02/13 21:10:46
    Ariana Irizarry
    I don't think it's fair to people who wants to get married at pizza hut and they are not allowed I will punch that person in the face if they said that to me
  • marri 2012/02/13 20:34:20
    marri
    i would be mad that he put that on a pizza
  • E J Garrett 2012/02/13 19:56:30
    E J Garrett
    pizza hut? really
  • Fef 2012/02/13 19:33:27
    Fef
    +1
    People who voted "Yes" more than any other group: Overweight people.
  • supreme 2012/02/13 19:15:14 (edited)
    supreme
    Be glad someone thought about you.
  • tayboo 2012/02/13 18:24:51
    tayboo
    AWWWWWW!
  • Ikihi 2012/02/13 18:01:41
    Ikihi
    why not? people make such a big deal out of marriage and end up getting divorced 3 years later anyway
  • Papillon 2012/02/13 17:43:39
  • SundayS... Papillon 2012/02/13 19:07:20
    SundayStoleYourCookieDough
    Huh, really? o-o Not sure what sort of Pizza Hut you have over in America but over here (in England) the stuff's gorgeous. <3 Still I suppose it depends of the chefs
  • Papillon SundayS... 2012/02/13 19:19:27
  • Gloria 2012/02/13 17:20:45
    Gloria
    +1
    What's next - champaign at White Castle?
  • Papillon Gloria 2012/02/13 19:20:16

See Votes by State

The map above displays the winning answer by region.

Living

2014/11/26 15:17:44

Hot Questions on SodaHead
More Hot Questions

More Community More Originals