Quantcast

PUBLIC OPINION > Muscle Men Tend to Be Sexist Toward Women

Living 2012/06/27 13:00:00
According to LiveScience, recent studies have shown that guys who bulk up at the gym are more likely to be sexist. A University of Westminster researcher explained, "We think men who hold oppressive beliefs about women and gender equality are also more likely to endorse traditional stereotypes of masculinity, which includes the muscular physique." We wanted to know if the public agrees with that statement.



Sadly, it appears to be true. Based on public opinion, muscle-bound men are more likely to be sexist toward women. Many suggested the reason for this isn't particularly because they "endorse stereotypes," but because they're too self-absorbed, which leads to insensitivity. On the other hand, some suggested the question itself borders on sexism, because it generalizes a group. Obviously, not all macho men are sexist. But most people are going to be skeptical.

Women Warn Against Them

It's kind of hard to take a man's word for it since guys are observing these muscle men second-hand -- or are those muscle men themselves, in which case the opinion is probably skewed. But many women have first-hand experience with macho men, either through dating them or being approached by them, and women are even more convinced that buff guys are sexist.

Not a Problem in Your 30s

The age breakdown was a little odd on this one. The highest (18-24) and lowest (25-34) voting percentages were adjacent to each other, even though most of the breakdown seemed to follow a pattern. The real break was in the 25-34 group, where voters were far less likely to assume bodybuilders were sexist. Could be a fluke, or it could mean that people in that age range are more intrigued by the physique.

Slender and Suspicious

Unfortunately, the sample size for body builders was too small to draw from, though the result was predictably dismissive. The rest of the body types voted similarly -- about split -- except for the skinniest demographic, which was about 10% more likely to believe muscle men are sexist.

If you'd like to vote on this question, dig deeper into the demographics, or engage in existing discussion about the topic, visit our poll about muscle men. We'd love to hear from you!
You!
Add Photos & Videos

Top Opinion

Sort By
  • Most Raves
  • Least Raves
  • Oldest
  • Newest
Opinions

  • verra lancaster 2012/10/20 10:32:31
    verra lancaster
    of course they are because they are usualy poo punchers
  • mac9 2012/09/07 15:51:52
    mac9
    Disagree.....
  • yuddandi siva Subramanyam 2012/07/08 15:03:00
    yuddandi siva Subramanyam
    muscle men prefer their muscles more than any thing. they have feeling that any stimulation may effect their body.
  • Cora 2012/07/04 05:08:56
    Cora
    Yes, they do because they must continually feed their image. Little do they realize that someday they will be old and disabled and WOMEN will have to take care of them and they will probably will need their DIAPERS changed. All those muscles will eventually turn into flabs.
  • gary Cora 2012/07/10 05:58:41
    gary
    just like female breast will drag on the floor when their up there in age.
  • Cora gary 2012/07/22 18:48:11
    Cora
    With age comes gravity and then it all goes south.
  • ConfidentialDede 2012/07/02 19:03:31
    ConfidentialDede
    I think all , just want a guy that offers to look good just for you , and noone else .
  • beach bum 2012/06/30 12:36:54
    beach bum
    nah
  • zardoz oz 2012/06/29 02:02:55
    zardoz oz
    Opinion is like anus, everybody has one.
  • AngryGabby 2012/06/28 18:13:39
    AngryGabby
    All the guys that I know that work out are the ones that say that girls shouldn't be allowed to play basketball.

    These are also the guys that only won one game, if you're wondering, awhile we went to state.

    Apes...
    apes
  • Sterling 2012/06/28 17:20:02
    Sterling
    +2
    Who cares what other people think? Isn't sexism just stereotyping, and isn't this poll just asking people to stereotype?
  • Sarah TH Marshall Switcher 2012/06/28 16:06:26
    Sarah TH Marshall Switcher
    Higher levels of testosterone tend to lead to baser behavior, same way that higher levels of estrogen do.
  • ★misfit★ 2012/06/28 16:03:13
    ★misfit★
    +1
    In my experience, men who are very into themselves tend to be sexist, among many other unpleasant traits. Bodybuilders probably tend to be more into themselves since, well, they spend so much time on their bodies. But of course there are exceptions to every rule, and I don't think it's fair to say all or even most muscular men are sexist.
  • thє вluє wαndєrєr 2012/06/28 15:53:28
  • Yuki ~ ♦Lion King of PHÆT♦ 2012/06/28 15:40:47 (edited)
    Yuki ~ ♦Lion King of PHÆT♦
    +2
    Just because the public agrees doesn't make it more or less true.

    Just because a man works out and has muscle doesn't mean anything except the fact that he has motivation and discipline. His behavior, as in how he treats the people around him, will speak for itself-- one muscle man could be misogynist while another isn't. The fact that buffed up muscles are in the equation doesn't actually change the outcome of the equation.
  • VintageLys 2012/06/28 15:29:35
    VintageLys
    not shocked
  • Playerazzi 2012/06/28 12:41:04
    Playerazzi
    +1
    The only thing sexist is this question.
  • realist 2012/06/28 07:22:51
    realist
    "It's kind of hard to take a man's word for it since guys are observing these muscle men second-hand"

    Rubbish, muscle bound guys talk to other muscle bound guys far more then girls do, or skinny guys who don't go to gym for that matter. So contrary to your statement muscly guys are the best to provide an opinion on the matter because its clear what someones attitude is like if you spend more time with them.

    If they were egotistical and sexist, the guys I know like that would have NO problem at all saying they are. They think its a joke generally. But to the point these guys are rarely the ones I train with at gym and are normally the ones who hit the pub or prefer to 'watch' sports then actually play it.
  • Not what you think 2012/06/28 06:42:17
  • ~HopelessRomanticM17~ 2012/06/28 05:22:35
    ~HopelessRomanticM17~
    And yet that doesn't stop most women from drooling over them...
  • Fariborz-Zak 2012/06/28 05:00:35
    Fariborz-Zak
    disagree
  • ajracestables1 2012/06/28 04:32:53
    ajracestables1
    I am a muscle woman and I know lots of buff men and it has been my experience that they show me the same respect for my hard work and dedication the same as they show others, men or women. There are a few exceptions as in all areas of life.
  • Rosalie 2012/06/28 04:14:16
    Rosalie
    I personally find Muscle Men to be all brawn and no brains I chose to look at them like eye candy!!
  • lex 2012/06/28 04:07:22
    lex
    +1
    Men with a lot of muscles look like clouds -.-
  • Eyes See Wide North 2012/06/28 03:39:09
    Eyes See Wide North
    Another Sodahead question on something opinion has no say in.

    I am muscular and I take offense in the assumption that I am sexist, but at least Sodahead made me aware of just how ignorant people can be.
  • Azrael-In GOD we trust 2012/06/27 22:38:24
    Azrael-In GOD we trust
    +1
    I've never met one yet who was sexist. All have been gentlemen. Some of them have even helped me move with my heavy appliances.
  • Mark 2012/06/27 22:37:49
    Mark
    And yet, more women prefer those muscle men to a regular man. Then, they try to claim that it's not about looks. lol
  • Lina Blub 2012/06/27 21:11:49
    Lina Blub
    not too much, like bodybuilder muscle is just ew, but those who normally train 3 or twice in a week, omg *-* had dates with a guy who does thai boxing, he had omg such nice arms... and tempting, definitely tempting (i was melting like:omgomgomgomg why so sexy *^*)
  • Muver 2012/06/27 20:55:30
    Muver
    I would agree with this....it seems to me that guys who want to be all muscles might have a different level of testosterone, which may make them think they way they may towards women...and they may be using steroids as well...personally, I think they are just trying to make themselves feel better about their shortcomings in life by thinking muscles make the man....Don't get me wrong, nothing wrong with a healthy, streamlined body, but anything much beyond normal muscle tone, say to me, this guy has a real self esteem problem...
  • Kat ♪ ~ ♪ 2012/06/27 20:42:42
    Kat ♪ ~ ♪
    I thought it was pretty common knowledge, the worst are military muscle men. some of them get a double shot of bad attitude toward women, not all.
  • peaches 2012/06/27 20:02:32
    peaches
    +1
    I find body builders to be disgusting. Muscular men don't hold much more attraction here.
    It's cool to be fit and in shape, but I don't really like bulky guys...
  • Cunning Stunts 2012/06/27 19:42:46
    Cunning Stunts
    +5
    Body builders are self indulged perfectionists.

    body builders indulged perfectionists

    Self improvement is masturbation.
  • Not wha... Cunning... 2012/06/28 06:43:25
  • Cunning... Not wha... 2012/06/30 15:34:43
    Cunning Stunts
    +1
    Thank Fight Club.
  • MorbidCynic 2012/06/27 18:52:02 (edited)
    MorbidCynic
    +2
    The most sexist men I've seen have an average build or less.
  • Soojin 2012/06/27 18:27:10
    Soojin
    +3
    Testosterone is a hell of a drug.
  • Cunning... Soojin 2012/06/28 04:42:02
    Cunningmungus
    +2
    You got that right.. Makes you feel better to like an anti depressant, and gives you wood like Viagra..
  • simi 2012/06/27 17:43:21
    simi
    It's also sexist for the women, don't you think? Probably no. I don't find that amount of muscle sexy. Show some self-restraint, get a gun instead Jk.
  • XRenX 2012/06/27 17:17:15
    XRenX
    +4
    Sometimes muscle meat heads look like some freak sh*t. All you see is meat and veins. I could vomit.
  • phil 2012/06/27 16:58:18
    phil
    Yes laides like it more as long as U R not a jerk

See Votes by State

The map above displays the winning answer by region.

Living

2014/12/21 21:35:48

Hot Questions on SodaHead
More Hot Questions

More Community More Originals