Quantcast

PUBLIC OPINION > Most People Feel Like They're Hooked on the Internet

Living 2012/02/08 14:00:00
There's no going back now. The Internet is now an integral part of contemporary society. Even Wikipedia's blackout, a single website for a single day, created headlines for a week. We depend on the Internet to tell us what the capital of Sri Lanka is, to connect with our friends, to book flights, and -- perhaps most importantly -- to pair pictures with silly phrases and use them in as many contexts as possible. Researchers with the Chicago University's Booth Business School claim it's become so prominent that the urge to check your e-mail might be harder to resist than nicotine and alcohol. We asked SodaHeads if they felt they were addicted to the Internet.

Are You Addicted to the Internet?


63% Are Permanently Plugged In

There was a wide spread of responses, and what one person considered to be an addiction, others were content to dismiss. Does a few hours a day mean you're hooked if you could easily go without it? Some people admit they only check their e-mail, but they feel so compelled it might very well be an addiction of sorts. Whatever you want to call it, most people were comfortable calling it an addiction. Now, whether or not that's a bad thing is still up for debate. Some people seem content to be hooked; others have a problem with it. One respondent wrote, "I really can't get over it. I'm on the swim team and I can't go because I want to stay home and go on Twitter, Facebook, and YouTube. It's becoming a bad problem."



Women Feel More Addicted

There have been all kinds of studies attempting to show how men and women use the Internet differently. Some suggest men use the Internet more, but women form "deeper connections" with other people. We couldn't tell you if that's true or not, but we can tell you that, according to these results, women are more likely to feel addicted to the web.

Youth Addiction

Naturally, the addiction runs deeper with young people. Much deeper. Teen respondents were 37% more likely to feel addicted than voters over 45. We suspect that might have something to do with the fact that young people grew up with the Internet, and have it in their pockets at all times.

Smokers Aren't as Concerned

What good would this recap be without a relevant comparison? The research that spawned this question suggested the Internet was as addictive as cigarettes and alcohol, so we wanted to know how smokers and drinkers felt about it. They were less likely to say they felt addicted to the Internet, but a majority of both still admitted that they were.

If you'd like to vote on this question, dig deeper into the demographics, or engage in existing discussion about the topic, visit our original poll about Internet addiction. We'd love to hear from you!
You!
Add Photos & Videos

Top Opinion

Sort By
  • Most Raves
  • Least Raves
  • Oldest
  • Newest
Opinions

  • LCisme 2012/02/14 07:52:15
    LCisme
    its the best way to stay connected to absolutely everything.
  • M and Emma 2012/02/13 07:12:50
    M and Emma
    Not addicted, but it certainly is helpful...
  • Jorge Enriquez 2012/02/12 10:20:00
    Jorge Enriquez
    and every day it`s worst....
  • Leonardo Da Firenze 2012/02/11 23:30:23
    Leonardo Da Firenze
    Haha, addicted to the internet. Oh yeah...
  • Rich Luna 2012/02/11 19:24:01
    Rich Luna
    Addicted is probably not the term but rather integrated. It is immersed into modern lifestyle so it cannot be ignored.
  • Missydynamite 2012/02/11 18:59:08
    Missydynamite
    I dont, but i admit that i would miss it a lot :-)
  • Patreco 2012/02/10 16:59:18
    Patreco
    To tell the truth, I'm i kind os slave from internet...
    Don't know how to life without.
  • Emily_Amnesia 2012/02/09 18:58:18
    Emily_Amnesia
    yes.
  • HAITHEM 2012/02/09 18:03:40
    HAITHEM
    I smoke cigarettes, and I know how the bad habit controls someone, so I'm not going to be a slave for other habit, I use internet only when I need it, but I prefer reading a book befor I sleep while I'm lying on my bed instead of getting back pain because of sitting for long time infront of PC monitor.
  • ★misfit★ 2012/02/09 15:51:12 (edited)
    ★misfit★
    I LIKE the internet. But I am not addicted. How do I know? Because I used to be addicted to it and know how that feels in comparison to how I feel about it now. I used to want to be on it all the time, and I'd turn down opportunities to do other activities in favor of being online. Now it's just my favorite pass-time when I have nothing else to do. Okay, well, except college homework. I'd rather be on the internet than do homework. But who wouldn't rather do just about ANYTHING other than homework? lol
    So I must say I do wonder how many people are actually addicted and how many just like it. We throw the word "addiction" around awfully freely these days.
  • Scott 2012/02/09 12:57:00
    Scott
    It can be hard to tear yourself away from it some days.
  • MinaM8 2012/02/09 09:55:12
    MinaM8
    Yeah. But I can totally go off any time.

    I'm actually going to go off right now, i need to study.
    After I answer my emails, go on youtube, check out my facebook, and scroll on Tumblr for a bit...
  • HAlex1972 2012/02/09 08:30:39
    HAlex1972
    Totally hooked.
  • thє вluє wαndєrєr 2012/02/09 06:35:27
  • naomicolleen 2012/02/09 05:58:37
    naomicolleen
    i agree on it right now
  • DebraJMSmith 2012/02/09 04:25:49
    DebraJMSmith
    It is true that it would be weird to go back.
  • Aeronut 2012/02/09 03:56:30
    Aeronut
    I.. can't... resist.. answering question... on SH... Must do work... and pay bills... but I.. can't... pull myself... away from... internet.
  • Jewellery Gal 2012/02/09 02:36:39
    Jewellery Gal
    Yes I am
  • Mayla_xo 2012/02/09 02:00:16
    Mayla_xo
    sadly I am
  • Paul Adam 2012/02/09 01:32:00
    Paul Adam
    People like to be hooked up to anything. They fear to be free individuals.
  • Shannon ♥ 2012/02/09 01:13:45
    Shannon ♥
    Naw.
  • LAAD Gunner - USMC 2012/02/09 00:38:11
    LAAD Gunner - USMC
    I go through phases lol, but not usually. Right now I'm sorta hooked to the internet because I just started getting on sodahead again recently to get caught up on politics so I've kind of been addicted to this site recently...

    but overall no I'm not hooked to the internet, though I think a lot of people are.
  • Red_Horse 2012/02/09 00:13:55
  • Stan Kapusta 2012/02/08 23:59:26
    Stan Kapusta
    I think the computer has become an appliance. Like using the phone or the TV. The internet is just part of it.
  • Robtbal 2012/02/08 23:54:16
    Robtbal
    The internet is the reason so many people are fat...its not the food...its the laziness of Americans today.....
  • The Elitist Libtard SodaJerk 2012/02/08 23:20:26
  • Jessica 2012/02/08 22:01:10
    Jessica
    I could live without if I had an endless supply of music and a magic mail box that sent me everything I wanted to read. Unfortunately, neither of those are likely without using the internet. I have been better about it, but I like all the info too much to give it up forever.
  • ♥NinjaKittenLovesYou♥ 2012/02/08 22:00:51
    ♥NinjaKittenLovesYou♥
    +2
    I AM NOT OK? :O
    internet addiction
  • Arjuna 2012/02/08 21:49:15
    Arjuna
    +1
    While I have access to it, I use it like crazy. When I remove myself from it (5 days of a the month) I am just fine.
  • Bear 2012/02/08 21:38:42
    Bear
    No, I use it frequently but will sometimes go a week or more without logging on
  • Erin Innocent 2012/02/08 21:09:27
    Erin Innocent
    i know i am >.>
  • Sister Jean 2012/02/08 20:58:34
    Sister Jean
    better than twindling thumbs or complaining about aches and pains
  • Ghostie Of the Night 2012/02/08 20:46:56
    Ghostie Of the Night
    +2
    I am unfortunately :(
  • Sister ... Ghostie... 2012/02/08 20:59:20
    Sister Jean
    +1
    why unfortunate
  • Ghostie... Sister ... 2012/02/08 21:08:51
    Ghostie Of the Night
    +2
    I am too much on the internet and many times I ignore my homework and so my progress at school is not the best. And I think I become more anti-social. I really want to be less time on here though it's that urge that tells me 'come on! surf on the net just for a while' and finally I am on the net for hours, ignoring my homework... :(
  • Sister ... Ghostie... 2012/02/08 21:10:52
    Sister Jean
    +1
    I am retired
  • Ghostie... Sister ... 2012/02/08 21:15:37
    Ghostie Of the Night
    +1
    At least I'm sure you have more free time than me! :)
    Today I had to write three compositions for school and went on tutorial schools from 5-9... I am tired. That's what happens every day.
  • 2226693 2012/02/08 20:37:31
  • Radical Ed 2012/02/08 20:07:30
    Radical Ed
    there be a problem?
  • Sintwa 2012/02/08 20:06:44
    Sintwa
    +3
    I do feel addicted but I don't view it as a bad thing.....

See Votes by State

The map above displays the winning answer by region.

Living

2014/09/02 01:56:15

Hot Questions on SodaHead
More Hot Questions

More Community More Originals