Quantcast

PUBLIC OPINION > Most People Eat Red Meat Two to Three Times a Week

Living 2012/03/14 13:00:00
Proud carnivores might be upset to read a new study conducted by the Harvard School of Public Health. After examining the diets of more than 100,000 people for 22 years, they discovered that more red meat lead to a higher risk of death. Depending on the type of meat, the study estimated a 13%-20% increase in risk for each additional daily serving -- meaning three ounces of steak or two slices of bacon. Study authors admitted some red meat in the diet is healthy and natural, but "no more than two or three servings of red meat a week." We asked the public if that sounds about right.



Those researchers can rest easy, because it doesn't sound like most people eat more than a few servings a week in the first place. Only 17% of respondents said they eat red meat most days, with most following the recommended 2-3 per week. Of course, there were plenty of skeptics, regardless of how much they're eating. The Top Opinion wrote, "Did they take into account exercise, occupation and stress levels?" Obviously, there are many factors that affect risk of death. Fortunately, the factors here were relatively small, and only appear to have affected people who ate multiple servings daily.

Men Eat More Red Meat

We kind of suspected it, but here it is. Men do indeed eat more red meat. They're 9% more likely to eat it almost every day, and 26% more likely to eat it more than once a week. Women, on the other hand, are 8% more likely to swear it off completely. It's a stereotype, but apparently a true one.

A Third of Teens Make a Habit of It

The age group most likely to eat red meat on an almost daily basis was teens (32%). We can't help but point a finger at fast food here, but that wouldn't explain why only 7% of college-aged respondents (18-24) eat red meat that often. Incidentally, the 25-34 group is most likely to not eat red meat at all (34%).

Moderates in Moderation

Political moderates stuck to their guns. They were very unlikely to swear off red meat completely (9%) and almost as unlikely to eat it more than a few times a week (16%). Elsewhere on the political spectrum, libertarians were most likely to eat it on an almost daily basis (40%), and progressives were most likely to avoid it (40%).

If you'd like to vote on this question, dig deeper into the demographics, or engage in existing discussion about the topic, visit our original poll about red meat. We'd love to hear from you!
You!
Add Photos & Videos

Top Opinion

Sort By
  • Most Raves
  • Least Raves
  • Oldest
  • Newest
Opinions

  • skinnythia 2012/03/26 19:13:39
    skinnythia
    I think there are too many other factors involved in the mix to say its red meat. Hereditary, environmental, other factors. To say it's red meat is way too limiting.
  • Jordyn ~Nerdfighter~ 2012/03/19 23:06:14
    Jordyn ~Nerdfighter~
    Cowboy country means red meat almost every day- and I think that it's worth it!
  • KATLYN 2012/03/17 13:38:31
    KATLYN
    i do eat it about twice a week but i eat only a small serving
  • Jay Robinson 2012/03/16 08:16:34
    Jay Robinson
    Never, vegiterrain
  • sammanilla 2012/03/15 16:29:29
    sammanilla
    +2
    There's no such thing as a strict vegetarian.

    strict vegetarian
  • Dodgerfan sammanilla 2012/03/15 22:38:13
    Dodgerfan
    +1
    I've been on a plant based diet for two years and my weight went down and I feel much better. Yes, I miss the taste of meat but don't want to give up the benefits of not eating it or consuming dairy products.
  • sammanilla Dodgerfan 2012/03/16 03:13:10
    sammanilla
    Having vegan friends, I also gave it a shot but couldn't keep on it. I began to have vivid nightly dreams of me being a lion, taking down large animals and eating out their belly.
    The dreams were wonderful as opposed to the diet. So I stocked up on steak, chicken and turkey.
  • Dodgerfan sammanilla 2012/04/05 03:54:33
    Dodgerfan
    Too bad. I had colitis my entire adult life and now it is gone so I wouldn't want to take the chance on meat or milk.
  • sammanilla Dodgerfan 2012/04/05 04:19:55
    sammanilla
    Better safe than sorry. I can't have milk; otherwise meat is a must.
  • Aniya 2012/03/15 15:20:42
    Aniya
    Never really tried it, but I'm not a carnivore so I'll get out of here.
  • Groundskeeper Willy 2012/03/15 13:52:28 (edited)
    Groundskeeper Willy
    Beef it's whats for dinner.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?...
  • SimmeringArtist 2012/03/15 13:48:18
    SimmeringArtist
    I don't eat it very much
  • Playerazzi 2012/03/15 09:56:40 (edited)
    Playerazzi
    Um, most AMERICANS eat red meat two or three times a week. . . . .

    I eat it about once a month or so. It is a treat, but it's not that prevalent where I live and chicken and turkey are fine for me.
  • Bob DiN 2012/03/15 09:21:39
    Bob DiN
    +1
    Where's the BEEF!
  • 7leads 2012/03/15 09:12:50
    7leads
    +2
    This entire article made me hungry...going to go have a steak right now .!!!! Prime Rib will do..
  • Catnip "Guru" ∞ 2012/03/15 08:03:11
    Catnip "Guru" ∞
    +2
    Meat! Meat! And MORE MEAT!!!!! Give me a porter house with a side of sweet sausage. And I'm a happy guy! I'm carnivorous and proud of it!
  • Alfredo.Al.Nava 2012/03/15 07:50:21
    Alfredo.Al.Nava
    +1
    For my fit bod and health, I avoid Beef. Although not a Vegetarian, my diet is about 90% non-meat food. I do eat Fish, Turkey, and/ or Chicken once a week.
  • barby k... Alfredo... 2012/03/15 13:20:59 (edited)
    barby karring
    Touche'
    Hi-5 Baby'
    we are synchronized my dietary intake is twin to yours. I love fresh fruit and berries a lot'
    ;-))
  • Jiorgia 2012/03/15 07:17:59
    Jiorgia
    +1
    oh no, no more 30 gram steaks for me... kidding.

    STEAK!
  • Nessa 2012/03/15 06:16:37
    Nessa
    +1
    i much prefer chicken and fish. i dont eat red meat all that often at all. its kinda gross ><
  • windwolf14 2012/03/15 05:01:23
    windwolf14
    +2
    how much of the red meat had pink slime?
  • topgundy7 2012/03/15 04:47:40
    topgundy7
    +1
    Please....everything in moderation!
  • sammanilla 2012/03/15 04:45:16
    sammanilla
    +1
    Recommended meat stock for one week's consumption for two.

    recommended meat stock weeks consumption
  • Catnip ... sammanilla 2012/03/15 08:03:52
    Catnip "Guru" ∞
    +2
    That's it?
  • sammanilla Catnip ... 2012/03/15 16:24:26
    sammanilla
    +1
    I should have said two average humans, tiger!

    For you that would be daily like my cousin Leo.

    average humans tiger daily cousin leo
  • Rono 2012/03/15 04:31:06
    Rono
    +2
    I don't eat beef!
  • Bob DiN Rono 2012/03/15 09:22:40
    Bob DiN
    +1
    Good more for me.
  • Rave 2012/03/15 04:27:48
    Rave
    I don't much fancy eating the rotting chemical infested body parts of a dead animal...
  • sash 2012/03/15 04:14:11
    sash
    +2
    I would say 2-3 times a week is pretty accurate for me generally. Since I often go out for dinner on Friday and it's Lent, I am probably eating less red meat right now. Iv'e been a pescatarian before and practically am now...steak, lamb and burgers call my name occasionally.
  • Indie 2012/03/15 04:02:41
    Indie
    +2
    I am a vegetarian:)

    lisa simpson vegetarian
  • Pat 2012/03/15 02:24:24
    Pat
    +1
    I don't eat much red meat. I just don't like it very much. I eat mostly chicken, pasta, veggies, fruits and ice cream. I'd be thin but for the ice cream.
  • 7leads Pat 2012/03/15 08:51:39
    7leads
    +1
    My wife worked in a chicken plant for 10 years. If you saw it, and what went through their processing plant (cancer, etc) you wouldn't eat chicken another day in your life...
  • Pat 7leads 2012/03/15 13:44:59
    Pat
    +2
    Ewwww....I wish I didn't hear this. But, what can we eat? There seems to be problems all around. Thanks for the info.
  • 7leads Pat 2012/03/17 01:27:07
    7leads
    +1
    Yes, I know it sucks...I went through her chicken plant a few years ago...I have not touched a chicken since. I started growing my own garden because of the diseases I saw in chicken. Tumors, cancer, unwanted growths...and the inspectors let most of it go through...it's a money game. lol
  • Dirty(oYo) 2012/03/15 01:57:33
  • The Aging Yankee Liberal Do... 2012/03/15 01:12:14
    The Aging Yankee Liberal Douche
    i find chicken tastier than red meat anyway
  • Bibliophilic 2012/03/15 00:11:55
    Bibliophilic
    I eat red meat 0 times a week.
    I eat meat 0 times a week.
    I'm fit and healthy. Though it's only an excess of red meat that is a danger. Eating a few pounds of sugar a day is as just as bad.
  • Jon 2012/03/14 23:41:22 (edited)
    Jon
    +1
    Everything in moderation, everyone has heard that before? And we have seen the guys and gals who consume meat every meal and every day, 365 days, knows what they look like. If you think about it even during these days prior to Easter you not suppose eat any kind of meat at all. Not only is it for religious reasons but it for health reasons as well. Think about we have supposedly should have been do this for this past 2000 years.
    Some of you who read this may not get what I'm saying but go figure. lenten
  • 7leads Jon 2012/03/15 08:53:50
    7leads
    If you wrote it, so it made sense...I think I could understand it....
  • Jon 7leads 2012/03/16 00:45:29 (edited)
    Jon
    Sorry! I made the correction.

See Votes by State

The map above displays the winning answer by region.

Living

2014/11/28 13:34:17

Hot Questions on SodaHead
More Hot Questions

More Community More Originals