Quantcast

PUBLIC OPINION > Most People Couldn't Handle a Year in Space

Living 2012/11/27 19:00:00
Scott Kelly and Mikhail Korniyenko better get along, because they're going to be spending a lot of time together. Kelly, a NASA veteran, and Korniyenko, a Russian cosmonaut, will spend one whole year on the International Space Station together. We asked the public if they thought they could handle a year-long stay like that.



While it would be great to get the chance to go into outer space, most people agreed that a year is too much for them to handle. The Top Opinion read, "I think you'd have to be really dedicated to space to do that!" Though, actually, 40% of respondents thought they could handle it. That's a lot of people! Granted, some of the reasons given had less to do with space and more to do with gripes about humanity, but hey. Whatever gets you off the ground.

Women Will Pass, Thanks

Females were easily one of the least interested demographics. They were about 30% less likely than men to say they could handle a year-long stay in outer space. Could it be that women are less interested in the cosmos? Not likely. It probably has more to do with personal space. It could also be that their expectations are a little more realistic.

Mid-Life Crisis

We were surprised to see that teens were mostly unwilling to try. Maybe if we'd specified that iPods are allowed, there would have been more traction. But people in or near their 50s were much more likely. The 55-64 group was the only group with more than 50% saying they could handle it. Any older than that, and solid ground reclaims its appeal.

Moonshine Medicine

Perhaps less surprising was the drinking demographic. People who drink were almost twice as likely to say they could handle it than nondrinkers. This could be attributed to a few things: a) the option of using alcohol to distract them from the boredom b) an innate desire to isolate, or c) delusions of grandeur.

If you'd like to vote on this question, dig deeper into the demographics, or engage in existing discussion about the topic, visit our poll about the International Space Station. We'd love to hear from you!
You!
Add Photos & Videos

Top Opinion

  • Ginge 2012/12/01 16:25:42
    Ginge
    +14
    i would love 2 go out 2 space i would be able 2 float and maybe meet aliens and i could get to fly in a spaceship . before i saw in the Guinness world records someone had a wedding in space and they had it up side down because of the gravity. also when im older i want 2 work with NASA

Sort By
  • Most Raves
  • Least Raves
  • Oldest
  • Newest
Opinions

  • The Andoxico 2012/12/13 19:56:39
    The Andoxico
    I think i could handle a year in space, comming back to earth would be a problem though. Everything in space is practically weightless and you know the saying about your muscles, "If you don't use them, you lose them." Some people who come back after that long can't even walk because all their muscle tissue degrated.
  • jesus.blanco.7792 2012/12/08 15:53:57
    jesus.blanco.7792
    +1
    yeah sure considering that after that they will try ti get rid of the human race how about that? that does not not sound like a good idea to me if u go 2 outer space for an entire year
  • Grant Davison 2012/12/03 06:04:06
    Grant Davison
    +1
    I would be 100% up for it! I'm a big fan of isolation ^_^ Bring on the enterprise!
  • sglmom 2012/12/03 00:41:25
    sglmom
    +2
    IF you've ever raised your own children ..
    dealt with their 'teen angst' ..
    then you know that a year in space would be a BREEZE to endure ..
    compared to the antics of teens in High School years!
  • Cleaver62 2012/12/02 11:44:02
    Cleaver62
    +1
    I don't know how long I could make it but I would love to chance to try it.
  • THE BEACH 2012/12/01 19:49:07 (edited)
    THE BEACH
    +1
    No thank you,I enjoy gravity,plenty of space,nature and sunshine!!
  • Ginge 2012/12/01 16:25:42
    Ginge
    +14
    i would love 2 go out 2 space i would be able 2 float and maybe meet aliens and i could get to fly in a spaceship . before i saw in the Guinness world records someone had a wedding in space and they had it up side down because of the gravity. also when im older i want 2 work with NASA
  • Cal 2012/12/01 14:42:35
    Cal
    +2
    I don't think I could. I would be way to claustrophobic.
  • jesus.b... Cal 2012/12/08 15:55:10
    jesus.blanco.7792
    +1
    about what? hmm?
  • Cal jesus.b... 2012/12/08 16:28:09
    Cal
    +1
    ...the topic?
  • Kunschner 2012/11/30 23:52:00
    Kunschner
    +2
    Let's hope there's simulated gravity, can't go having your bone density like jello.
  • alex 2012/11/30 19:42:09
    alex
    +2
    a year in space sounds amazing. where was I when they polled this XD
  • Ron Hanforth 2012/11/30 15:46:33
    Ron Hanforth
    +2
    Considering this planet is breeding morons faster than rats. I could happily spend a couple of years in space.
  • jesus.b... Ron Han... 2012/12/08 15:55:54
    jesus.blanco.7792
    +1
    yeah sure u will (not)
  • Ron Han... jesus.b... 2012/12/10 22:02:43
    Ron Hanforth
    dont get your panties in a knot..
  • Flamingolady 2012/11/30 13:56:00
    Flamingolady
    +2
    I wouldn't want to.
  • jesus.b... Flaming... 2012/12/08 15:56:07
  • Swordfish 2012/11/30 02:38:00
    Swordfish
    +2
    I might be able to handle it because the idea of being isolated in a tight space never scared me too much.

    However, I think it would get really, really boring. No internet access, no phone. Probably can't bring many personal belongings either (journal, sketchpad, musical instrument).
  • jesus.b... Swordfish 2012/12/08 15:56:56
    jesus.blanco.7792
    +2
    it will be extremely boring to out in space
  • Swordfish jesus.b... 2012/12/08 16:04:32
    Swordfish
    +1
    That's... what I just said... but yes.
  • Jesferkicks 2012/11/29 15:39:40
    Jesferkicks
    +2
    You can do a year standing on your head. I'd go in a heartbeat.
  • macbeth 2012/11/29 15:17:09
    macbeth
    +2
    I doubt if I could handle one hour never mind a year. Too much like being buried alive.
  • jesus.b... macbeth 2012/12/08 15:57:17
  • Chukroast 2012/11/29 08:09:13
    Chukroast
    +3
    No, within the next 10 or 15 years, I'll be in space eternally.
  • ~*~Dena... Chukroast 2012/11/29 09:15:52
    ~*~Denai ~*~
    +2
    Great answer!!!
  • jesus.b... Chukroast 2012/12/08 15:57:39
    jesus.blanco.7792
    +1
    u do have a point.
  • redhorse29 2012/11/29 07:59:34
  • missfit 2012/11/29 04:40:17
    missfit
    +3
    I love watching anything on tv about the Universe,Solar System, Black Holes and anything to do with space and space travel. It is a fascinating subject and I would love to go up and orbit the earth. But to spend a year in space would not be something I would be able to tolerate. The physical problems would just be too great for me to overcome. And as much as I love space, I love the earth more.
  • courtney.epperson.96 2012/11/29 02:51:29
    courtney.epperson.96
    +3
    Yes. With my boyfriend.
  • jesus.b... courtne... 2012/12/08 15:58:17
    jesus.blanco.7792
    +2
    really? really? well good luck with that then.
  • courtne... jesus.b... 2012/12/08 20:59:34
    courtney.epperson.96
    lol
  • Sonny 2012/11/29 00:57:12 (edited)
    Sonny
    +3
    HELL NO, I'D RATHER BE ON EARTH THAN A FISH IN A BOWL
    FISH ASTRONAUT
  • jesus.b... Sonny 2012/12/08 15:58:35
    jesus.blanco.7792
    +1
    very good point
  • Syra Ni... Sonny 2012/12/14 07:26:26
    Syra Nior Enoch
    +1
    lmfao!
  • Syra Nior Enoch 2012/11/28 23:06:36
    Syra Nior Enoch
    +2
    Well... if it saves me from an apocalypse, but on a serious outlook... I'd probably go INSANE!
  • jesus.b... Syra Ni... 2012/12/08 15:58:56
    jesus.blanco.7792
    +2
    that might help for a bit.
  • Shifting Piece 2012/11/28 23:00:24
    Shifting Piece
    +2
    Yeah space doesn't sound too comfy
  • jesus.b... Shiftin... 2012/12/08 15:59:07
    jesus.blanco.7792
    +1
    no it isn't
  • Blueskies 2012/11/28 22:13:19 (edited)
    Blueskies
    +3
    Frankly, it's against my philosophy. Living in 'space' It's only for fools and the hardy.
    In other words those under the age of 30.

    Most do not realize the misery of living in weightless conditions. Just to start a long list, Men wear catheters, women diapers. No showers or baths, you have to do intense physical workouts at least two hours a day and you sweat...no showers. On the other hand your sinus's block and you feel like you have a head cold, so your sense of smell goes away,
  • Syra Ni... Blueskies 2012/11/28 23:04:07
    Syra Nior Enoch
    +2
    Wow how interesting :O.....I think this should be a start of building facilities on the moon..where there is air tight chambers and such...kinda like Mars and DOOM.

See Votes by State

The map above displays the winning answer by region.

Living

2014/12/20 03:44:41

Hot Questions on SodaHead
More Hot Questions

More Community More Originals