Quantcast

PUBLIC OPINION > Most People Consider Themselves Happy

Living 2012/04/19 22:00:00
A recent study conducted at Harvard found that happiness is actually good for your health. It cuts the risk of a heart attack in half, and is strongly associated with improved blood pressure, low cholesterol, healthy sleep patterns -- basically, there's a whole list of positive correlations. Honestly, the findings were a little bit obvious. But we wanted to know how many people actually consider themselves "happy."



Happy days are here at last! Life has its ups and downs, but for the most part, the human race appears to be in great shape. And most people think it's all about perspective. You know, is the glass half empty? If so, flip it over! Wait, no. Don't do that. But you get the point. One commenter wrote, "Happiness comes from the inside. You are responsible for being happy, so get to work!" You heard the man. Get happy!

Crushing Complications

The highest percentage of unhappy people, by far, was found in the relationship category. It wasn't singles. They were just 9% less happy than those in relationships and 15% less than married voters. The real downers were those in "complicated" relationships. Like George Washington said, "It's better to be alone than in bad company."

One Thing Money Can Buy

Mama always said you can't buy happiness... but approximately 16% of respondents did just that. Granted it's not a huge gap, and it might take a certain type of person to put in the work to get there, but higher incomes did in fact correlate with happiness. You win again, MasterCard.

Atheists Are Unhappy

Personal beliefs are complex and often get bogged down by apologetics and proof, but there's more to it than that. Christians often claim they feel a greater sense of belonging or comfort than those who don't believe in God, and the results support that claim. However, agnostics were much happier than atheists, and we didn't have an option for Tarvuism.

If you'd like to vote on this question, dig deeper into the demographics, or engage in existing discussion about the topic, visit our poll about happiness. We'd love to hear from you!
You!
Add Photos & Videos

Top Opinion

  • AttilaTheHun 2012/04/19 22:44:33
    AttilaTheHun
    +7
    I'm an atheist and I'm happy as a clam. Can't vouch for the rest of your survey, but this part doesn't make sense to me.

Sort By
  • Most Raves
  • Least Raves
  • Oldest
  • Newest
Opinions

  • Mark Howard 2012/04/22 15:56:30
    Mark Howard
    LIFE'S A BITCH YOU MARRY ONE THAN YOU DIE
  • Larissa Haig 2012/04/21 23:36:40
    Larissa Haig
    nice i consider myself happy
  • BeautifulSoul 2012/04/21 23:28:07
    BeautifulSoul
    I don't really know how to reply to this.
  • budgerigar42 2012/04/21 23:08:53
    budgerigar42
    +1
    Christians are happier than atheists because ignorance is bliss.
  • ★misfit★ 2012/04/21 20:01:41
    ★misfit★
    +3
    I wish I didn't have to say this, but in general, the dumber you are the happier you are. The world is just too full of pain to be happy if you are aware of what's going on around you. On the brighter side, this can be contrasted to joy, which is a fairly constant state of being rather than an emotion. You can have joy in spite of the human condition.
  • Eric ★misfit★ 2012/04/21 21:00:29
    Eric
    +1
    “... the use of our intelligence quite properly gives us pleasure. In this respect the brain is like a muscle. When we think well, we feel good. Understanding is a kind of ecstasy.”

    Carl Sagan

    "Sisyphus as personifying the absurdity of human life, but Camus concludes "one must imagine Sisyphus happy" as "The struggle itself towards the heights is enough to fill a man's heart."

    Sisyphus.

    Intelligent people are happy because they understand the absurdity of life. When one understands it is a joke, there is happiness.
  • ★misfit★ Eric 2012/04/21 21:09:52
    ★misfit★
    +1
    To me, the idea that life is a joke brings despair. I suppose everyone is different.
  • Mike 2012/04/21 16:55:24
    Mike
    +1
    I'm happy and than I'm not happy. Reality tells me we can't be happy all the time. Thats life.
  • harley oldman 2012/04/21 13:04:06
    harley oldman
    YEP.........99% of the time.
  • memebev1 2012/04/21 11:12:01
    memebev1
    +2
    I'am a very happy person, then I wonder, what the heck is wrong with me?
  • Jim Lewis 2012/04/21 05:21:36
    Jim Lewis
    i make under 75k a year, an am in an its complicated deal, and im amost alwas happy, sometimes im not but tahts only 2% of my day
  • POWERSHAKER 2012/04/21 04:11:17
  • LADY LIBERTY SILLY WORDSMITH 2012/04/21 00:10:05 (edited)
    LADY LIBERTY SILLY WORDSMITH
    To me, Working is the key of happiness. Will you be mad when you help friends

    to find jobs and they tell you, "No, I won't do that kind of job." Meaning they are too

    good for the job. I did all kinds of jobs when I came to the states.

    No job is bad, only bad workers.
  • brutusin~ Proud Apetheist 2012/04/20 23:12:46
    brutusin~ Proud Apetheist
    +1
    The Happiness of the Katakuris

  • brutusi... brutusi... 2012/04/20 23:14:25
    brutusin~ Proud Apetheist
    Is it sad I recognized that.
  • lorenab. 2012/04/20 21:36:40
    lorenab.
    +1
    most people consider themselves happy. but the most popular lie that people use everyday is "I'm fine" so... just sayin:D
  • Jack the Dude 2012/04/20 19:54:51 (edited)
    Jack the Dude
    +1
    Im REALLY NOT happy in my current situation!! I was happy before March 28th.



    But today and tomorrow Im going to be happy :D ;)
  • Nish 2012/04/20 18:23:03
    Nish
    +1
    Try to keep my happiness all time. but sometime it is hard...
  • Rie~ 2012/04/20 18:20:19
    Rie~
    +1
    im happy whatever happens to me just because i have a boyfriend that cheers me up in whatever way =D so hell yeah :D im HAPPYYYYYY
    happy gif
  • Flamingolady 2012/04/20 18:00:33
    Flamingolady
    +1
    Yes I am happy. Any time I am not, I listen to Jimmy Buffett. He always puts a smile on my face!! And tomorrow morning tickets for his concert in Atlanta go on sale!
  • Mungu 2012/04/20 16:59:52
  • hasher 2012/04/20 16:40:25
    hasher
    +1
    i am very happy.because comes from within not from outside sources
  • chandreekagroodoyal 2012/04/20 16:12:34
    chandreekagroodoyal
    +1
    yes i'm happy person
  • pammy choudhary 2012/04/20 15:50:26
  • JayLynx 2012/04/20 13:43:07
    JayLynx
    +1
    People keep hope!
  • thє вluє wαndєrєr 2012/04/20 11:32:04
  • hasher thє вlu... 2012/04/20 16:45:30
    hasher
    i find just the opposite to be true the more positive i am the bettermy lifeis. i worry less and stress less. in fact it takes alot to get me down or worry whats the point?? worrying isnt going to make my problem go away. i turn to prayer and faith when i have a problem. and it surehelps. its the choice we make in life to be positive or negative and i choose optimism and positive energy and it comes back to me. what goes around comes around good karma or whatever you want to call it.
  • Rave 2012/04/20 09:54:36
    Rave
    +1
    A few studies have also shown that intelligent people and high IQed people tend to be unhappy. Just thought I'd state that.
  • thє вlu... Rave 2012/04/20 11:42:18
  • Wizard 2012/04/20 05:48:30 (edited)
    Wizard
    +1
    I could be happy...but right now I am mostly melancholy, because I am still busy settling things after mom, my last parent, passed away...and still trying to settle in with an autistic sister who hates change. Maybe after everything is stable...I can begin to relax. So far...until Things change...I have been happier.
  • beach bum 2012/04/20 04:20:36
    beach bum
    +1
    be happy
  • DeborahLakeHelen 2012/04/20 02:35:10
    DeborahLakeHelen
    +1
    I have never been happier in my life than I am now.
  • Sterling 2012/04/20 02:27:14
    Sterling
    +1
    You may not be happy in every situation, but you can be content in every situation, and it seems like contentedness leads to happiness (at least for me).
  • thє вlu... Sterling 2012/04/20 11:46:19
  • Sterling thє вlu... 2012/04/20 17:05:33
    Sterling
    That's totally unrelated so I'm just going to completely ignore the stupidity.
  • thє вlu... Sterling 2012/04/21 11:07:59 (edited)
  • Metaldane 2012/04/20 02:15:57
    Metaldane
    +2
    Well I wasn't surprised atheist were the least happy statistically they face more prejudice then anyone else
  • MorbidC... Metaldane 2012/04/20 03:43:09 (edited)
    MorbidCynic
    American Christians nowadays face a lot of prejudice.
  • Metaldane MorbidC... 2012/04/20 03:49:34
    Metaldane
    +1
    Not really the majority of the population is Christian so even if every non Christian was prejudice against them which they are not they still wouldn't be under as much prejudice as atheists face prejudice from all the judeo/Christian religions.
  • MorbidC... Metaldane 2012/04/20 03:51:35
    MorbidCynic
    Atheists don't face much prejudice, from what I've seen most atheists are prejudiced against others, not because they're atheists but because most atheists are liberals.

See Votes by State

The map above displays the winning answer by region.

Living

2014/09/16 17:40:19

Hot Questions on SodaHead
More Hot Questions

More Community More Originals