Quantcast

PUBLIC OPINION > Monokinis Are In

SodaHead Living 2012/04/17 13:00:00
Monokinis, sometimes referred to as cut-out one-piece swimsuits, aren't always in fashion, but this season they seem to be piquing interest. They've been spotted on everyone from "Modern Family" star Sarah Hyland to nothing star Kim Kardashian, Paris Hilton and Snooki. But not everyone is down with the design. Some critics are calling them "fugly" and faux pas. They walk a fine line between provocative and prudish. We asked the public if it's sexy enough for the summer of 2012.

monokini sodahead

Drop that bikini, the year of the monokini is upon us! We're not sure how the semi-one-piece spectacle would have fared in other years, but for the time being it's striking up the public's fancy -- two thirds of respondents said the look is sexy. Of course, as is the case with any revealing fashion statement, most voters noted that it depends entirely on the wearer. One commenter wrote, "Does it really matter what a person with a hot body wears? If it is tight and/or shows skin it will look good because they do." A popular argument against them was wonky tan lines.

Singles Find It Sexy

There weren't a whole lot of demographic differences, but one of the biggest gaps was between singles and voters in unmarried relationships. Singles were actually much more into the monokini, while those in relationships were iffy. It could be that guys don't want their girlfriends skimping on skin, but there was no gender difference, so it's a little ambiguous.

Conservatives Could Do Without

Believe it or not, liberals were more into the monokini than conservatives. The reason we find that surprising is that the vast majority of votes against it were pro-bikini, meaning people generally wanted to see more skin. There were, of course, those who preferred the modesty of the one-piece, but they were few and far between.

Smokers Think They're Smokin'

We did catch a couple of James Bond references, and though we couldn't track down any pictures of Bond girls in monokinis, the impression that the look is something out of a '70s or '80s Bond film makes sense. It's the same impression that might appeal to smokers more than non-smokers. There's something retro about it, without going off the prudish deep-end.

If you'd like to vote on this question, dig deeper into the demographics, or engage in existing discussion about the topic, visit our poll about the monokini. We'd love to hear from you!
You!
Add Photos & Videos

Top Opinion

Sort By
  • Most Raves
  • Least Raves
  • Oldest
  • Newest
Opinions

  • M Mostayen Billah Al Faysal 2012/05/05 02:42:11
    M Mostayen Billah Al Faysal
    sexy
  • Kenneth Huang 2012/04/23 18:07:27
    Kenneth Huang
    Ugh, these just look so dumb. Just wear a bikini. Or better yet, nothing at all.
  • dog 2012/04/21 14:01:09
    dog
    Sure
  • Kira 2012/04/18 20:06:15
    Kira
    i think its a trendy idea :)
  • jacktown kid 2012/04/18 15:05:50
    jacktown kid
    They look mighty fine monokini
  • Medulla Oblongata 2012/04/18 14:54:49
    Medulla Oblongata
    I said this in the original question, but I'd definitely wear one if I had the body for it. As it is, I avoid all swimsuits like the plague.
  • thailandtravelcompany 2012/04/18 10:42:59
  • Arianne 2012/04/18 08:38:57
    Arianne
    I think it looks sexy its just ugh..the TAN LINES. I tan easily enough as it is, which means I get shirt and sandal tans no matter what I do.
  • diane RN 2012/04/18 06:12:36
    diane RN
    If you have a good body a bikini, monokini, trikini or what ever..........its gonna look amazing to a man:)
  • sean 2012/04/18 04:01:33
    sean
    Yes
  • diane RN sean 2012/04/18 06:19:07
    diane RN
    case closed
  • J-DUB 2012/04/18 01:49:03
    J-DUB
    Love anything that shows off all that skin. You go girl.
  • Allie 2012/04/18 01:35:02
    Allie
    i def like them. if they look good, there are ugly ones out there though
  • no1badboy56 2012/04/18 00:48:20
    no1badboy56
    I'm more of sting thong type, not to wear you goof that would be just nasty, to look at. If she has the body for it.
  • Anna 2012/04/17 23:53:02
    Anna
    Sure they look great, but not enough that I would consider getting one. They've got all the hassle of a one piece when it comes to using the restroom, and none of the coverage that makes people tend to choose a one piece. I'll stick to bikini's, thank you. They look good and are low hassle.
  • boatnectar 2012/04/17 23:51:41
  • dannielle.hartnett76 2012/04/17 23:33:21
    dannielle.hartnett76
    +1
    I think if your over 21, and you have the body for it, do it! Some people should never wear these...
  • diane RN danniel... 2012/04/18 06:20:04
    diane RN
    Once you are over 21 the cellulite kicks in
  • ALL_BAND_FAN 2012/04/17 23:19:16
  • annie 2012/04/17 22:49:53
    annie
    They look cool but if ur tall and long waisted. Many times they don't fit well.
  • blissful 2012/04/17 22:12:20
    blissful
    To each-its-own. Some like it Hot! And some like-it Not!
  • Bigbrowneyes 2012/04/17 22:02:07
    Bigbrowneyes
    +1
    Sexy look. For all those worried about tan lines...Why don't you just wear sunscreen like you're advised to?
  • Erin Innocent 2012/04/17 21:54:08
    Erin Innocent
    i like them.
    ma fave kind of swim suit, actually :3
  • imiejdoggydog 2012/04/17 21:45:26 (edited)
    imiejdoggydog
    monokinis sooooo sexy.....looks beautiful
  • Rubyking 2012/04/17 21:33:32
    Rubyking
    eww, just stick to bare chested
  • 2585661 2012/04/17 21:33:13
    2585661
    SOOOOOOOOOO stupid looking! lol
  • GG 2012/04/17 21:15:11
    GG
    +4
    Always liked the monokinis better than the 2-piece.
    monokini
  • Bethany Jansen 2012/04/17 21:07:32 (edited)
    Bethany Jansen
    I love them, I plan on getting one this summer! I think they're really great for women who have had children and are insecure about their stomach. it helps hide the stretch marks.
  • :)SuperGirl(: 2012/04/17 20:57:36 (edited)
    :)SuperGirl(:
    I'd wear it.
  • CREW grand 2012/04/17 20:50:17
    CREW grand
    People, you make me sad.
    I'm still going to point and laugh every time I see one.

    Don
  • ♥ Amy ♥ Is Home ♥ 2012/04/17 20:47:37
    ♥ Amy ♥ Is Home ♥
    +5
    I still like my 2 piece
    american flag bikini

    not like this, Id hate these tan lines!! Even with my SPF 50!!
    american flag bikini
  • Foxylady ♥ Amy ♥... 2012/04/17 23:42:10
    Foxylady
    Nice me too...
  • Margaret Jacobson 2012/04/17 20:36:20
    Margaret Jacobson
    +1
    LOVE IT!!!!
  • musicman95 2012/04/17 20:08:59
    musicman95
    +1
    hell ya!!!
  • Foxylady 2012/04/17 19:59:35 (edited)
    Foxylady
    +2
    Not for me I wouldn't want those tan lines...
  • ♥ Amy ♥... Foxylady 2012/04/17 20:43:11
    ♥ Amy ♥ Is Home ♥
    +1
    Bonus Rave =)
  • Foxylady ♥ Amy ♥... 2012/04/17 23:41:27
    Foxylady
    +1
    LOL Thanks Amy ;))
  • Sonia the Stoner!i!i ♥ 2012/04/17 18:57:09
    Sonia the Stoner!i!i ♥
    Ew..
  • hari 2012/04/17 18:43:01
    hari
    not really and not popular too
  • ordman 2012/04/17 18:25:04
    ordman
    Less is always more!

See Votes by State

The map above displays the winning answer by region.

Living

2014/04/16 07:38:50

Hot Questions on SodaHead
More Hot Questions

More Community More Originals