Quantcast

PUBLIC OPINION > Men Are Less Moral Than Women

Living 2012/06/21 22:00:00
A recent study published in Scientific American suggests that men are more likely than women to bend the rules a bit -- little white lies, omitting facts, cutting corners, that kind of thing. This can come into play in business settings, or in relationships. But we wanted to know how the public perceives gender morality. Does the general public really think men are less moral than women?



We don't need studies to determine that men are less moral -- more than two-thirds of the public already believes it. One commenter noted, "You only have to look at the current congressional male population to see that." It's true, politicians are much more likely to be male. Coincidence? We think not.

Women Are Convinced

We were hoping the gender breakdown would reveal an interesting dynamic, and we weren't disappointed. Men were actually split -- half of them agreed their gender was less moral, while the other half pointed to women. But the female vote was overwhelming. 85% of women think men are the more immoral gender.

Parents Are Even-Handed

Compared to voters who don't have kids, parents were relatively undecided. The majority still picked men, but not by much. It takes a lot of work to raise a child, and it takes two to get through it. Plus, babies have a tendency to soften hearts. So it's no wonder there's a little bit of shared moral responsibility among parents.

Singles Distrust Men

Married couples were also more likely to give men a break, probably for the same reason parents were -- they've had to work together. Singles, on the other hand, hardly gave men a chance. Nearly three-fourths said men are less moral. Interestingly, divorcees were one of the few demographics to vote for women over men.

If you'd like to vote on this question, dig deeper into the demographics, or engage in existing discussion about the topic, visit our poll about gender morality. We'd love to hear from you!
You!
Add Photos & Videos

Top Opinion

Sort By
  • Most Raves
  • Least Raves
  • Oldest
  • Newest
Opinions

  • sunshine 2012/06/24 22:10:48
    sunshine
    +5
    I think that's...right, but...well, i know some highly immoral women, too...we can't all be angels, can we?

    highly immoral women angels
  • jere.chievres 2012/06/24 16:52:56
    jere.chievres
    +2
    I have met (and enjoyed) the company of many immoral women so I suppose I am also.
  • kobidobidog 2012/06/24 15:29:57 (edited)
    kobidobidog
    Immorality is not having sex of any kind or being publicly nude like a bird, bug or tree or anything in nature. Not being like Jesus is who is kind doesn't hold grudges is slow to anger shows mercy. Will not war to save the body saving the soul even as Jesus did in Gethsemane or any time Jesus was threatened with death. A morel human will think of others as being better than they are not saying cruel froward unfriendly insensitive words even when whoever outwardly appears to be different than they are. It is immoral to use names to create rifts between humans like the word Gay, third gender, zoosexual , bestiality, zoosexuality, zoophile, zoophilia or the word furries who have fursonas, furry suits or both. It is immoral to use fear to keep furry suits from showing real or representations of the parts God made to make them even more realistic. That will give the furry joy. To not give joy, and happiness, to not dry tears is being immoral. War is immortal, but humans have made it a good thing to do honoring the humans who died in war. Persecuting, contraception, and abortion is another kind of war. Immoral humans make the things God made out to be bad. Humans who give guilt, and kill humans who just so happen to at times have sex with younger humans, and have photos of the...
    Immorality is not having sex of any kind or being publicly nude like a bird, bug or tree or anything in nature. Not being like Jesus is who is kind doesn't hold grudges is slow to anger shows mercy. Will not war to save the body saving the soul even as Jesus did in Gethsemane or any time Jesus was threatened with death. A morel human will think of others as being better than they are not saying cruel froward unfriendly insensitive words even when whoever outwardly appears to be different than they are. It is immoral to use names to create rifts between humans like the word Gay, third gender, zoosexual , bestiality, zoosexuality, zoophile, zoophilia or the word furries who have fursonas, furry suits or both. It is immoral to use fear to keep furry suits from showing real or representations of the parts God made to make them even more realistic. That will give the furry joy. To not give joy, and happiness, to not dry tears is being immoral. War is immortal, but humans have made it a good thing to do honoring the humans who died in war. Persecuting, contraception, and abortion is another kind of war. Immoral humans make the things God made out to be bad. Humans who give guilt, and kill humans who just so happen to at times have sex with younger humans, and have photos of them without a man made thing on them are immoral. What has been taught as being immoral, and what is moral has been contorted, turned Topsy Turvy skewed in the minds of humans of humans being the paradigm shift the oxymoron opposite to what the religions, and legal system has taught you tying the human mind in knots. Humans end up taking on on the character of the devil not the character of Jesus.
    (more)
  • saturdayschild 2012/06/24 14:57:02
    saturdayschild
    +2
    Since the destructive feminist movement, too many women have become narcissistic. They think that they're superior to men in every way. That's we we have such a moral breakdown in our culture, and families are no longer the same.
  • shaltov72 saturda... 2012/06/25 23:43:06
    shaltov72
    +1
    The feminist movement was pushed by marxists and socialists during the 60's, it is to destroy the family as well as the push of gay marriage (and I'm not saying that gay people are bad),
    whether we like it or not there are those in subversive groups who want to destroy this country, I bellieve that those who are against GOD and whatever HE has created! commies have for years have wanted to destroy this nation, they know that they cannot destroy America by war but they can destroy it by destroying what American used to value. Curtis Bowers "Agenda grinding down America"
  • saturda... shaltov72 2012/06/29 23:12:59
    saturdayschild
    Unfortunately, this country is in a sad state. Let's hope that we regain more common sense values again.
  • ticker 2012/06/24 13:37:41
    ticker
    +3
    85% of women say men are more immoral huh, the guilty always try to throw the blame don't they?
  • y so serious 2012/06/24 11:46:29
    y so serious
    +3
    Photobucket

    Sorry but other side of that coin, I've seen and been the recipient of girls hurting/using guys along with several of my friends who thankfully have mostly found other people who are worth their time.

    Woman can be just as crass, just as petty minded, just as thoughtless, just as selfish, and just as needlessly cruel and cowardly.

    They get less of a bad wrap for it, but its true. Guys are imperfect and ass holes, women are also imperfect and ass holes, as is life.

    Other side of the coin being that there are extraordinary women out there who are outstanding in everyway and should be treated and respected as such, same going for men. There ARE good men out there, same as I know that there are Good women out there.

    stop generalizing a fault of humanity to a gender, its imbecilic
  • Love_is_Supernatural 2012/06/24 08:25:57
    Love_is_Supernatural
    +2
    Shocker....
  • Sonny 2012/06/24 06:42:40
    Sonny
    +2
    anyone who things that is sexist. it goes both ways, women get off the hook a lot for it because they pretend to be innocent, Do you know what your girlfriend or spouse is doing at home while your at work?........... Maybe you should call "CHEATERS TV show if you feel secrets are kept
  • KrSpo 2012/06/24 02:58:52
    KrSpo
    +2
    Absolutely not. Women as just as likely to be immoral than men, just as Christians are just as likely to be as an atheist. For every immoral man you point out, we can point out a street walker just as easily. Find a guy taking drugs and there are plenty of gals doing it too. so please, find a real topic.
  • Liv 2012/06/23 23:41:32
    Liv
    +1
    Depends on the person, not really the gender
  • Apache 2012/06/23 23:38:11
  • Muriel 2012/06/23 21:57:13
    Muriel
    +2
    I believe men have been perceived as l ess moral than women,however since the advent of birth control women appear to be making up for lost time. Sad but true.
  • Jessica 2012/06/23 19:33:23
    Jessica
    +1
    It's even because each person has a choice whether to be moral or not. Then of course you have different morals to sort out. And as for the first paragraph in this article "little white lies, omitting facts, etc.." xD Women do that a lot too!
  • POWERSHAKER 2012/06/23 17:34:30
  • Platinum Fangs 2012/06/23 17:20:06
    Platinum Fangs
    Everybody's definition of morality is different. Who can say who is more moral?
    This can be a poll in of itself. Does Buddha possess more morality than Jesus? Was Gandhi more moral than Martin Luther King Jr.? Was Jack the Ripper more of a saint than Charles Manson?

    Moral to one person is reprehensible to another. What is moral for whom and under what contexts and circumstances are always changing
  • Eyes See Wide North 2012/06/23 16:27:40
    Eyes See Wide North
    +1
    MY OPINION > PUBLIC OPINION IS WRONG
    THE FACT > PUBLIC OPINION IS WRONG
    THE TRUTH > MORALS ARE AN INDIVIDUAL TRAIT
  • rr lyrae Eyes Se... 2012/06/24 17:38:23
    rr lyrae
    more specificly,
    ethics is individual trait.
    morality is collective value and can be measured.
  • pepper5419 2012/06/23 13:59:20
    pepper5419
    Duh.
  • Fariborz-Zak 2012/06/23 05:46:55
    Fariborz-Zak
    no
  • JAA 2012/06/23 03:57:38
    JAA
    I don't think one group is any worse than the other when it comes to immoral choices & behaviors. They each have their own immoral idiosyncrasies. Men "tend" to lean more toward sexual degeneracy & women toward gossiping, maligning & backstabbing. Both are injurious to self, loved ones, & society at large.
  • mr echo 2012/06/23 03:49:17
    mr echo
    Bs
    That's is all
  • fortycal_sig 2012/06/23 03:27:00
  • 8bitgonemad 2012/06/23 01:19:04
    8bitgonemad
    +1
    Its hilarious when you see 85% of the women saying men are less moral and 15% of women saying women are less moral. Then you 50% of the men saying women are less moral, and the the other 50% saying men are less moral.. LOL
  • JJ 2012/06/22 22:42:51
    JJ
    +1
    Looking at our scociety today, I'd have to say both are becoming quit guilty in the morality book of no, no's.
  • stevegtexas@aol.com 2012/06/22 22:01:02
  • Sailor Jerry [Proud Liberta... 2012/06/22 21:58:16
    Sailor Jerry [Proud Libertarian]
    most virtues i've found to be overrated.
  • relic 2012/06/22 21:33:10
    relic
    +1
    Nonsense! We men are the epitomy of virtue.
  • Bibliophilic 2012/06/22 21:21:50
    Bibliophilic
    +3
    I tend to think that both are immoral, but I must ask- who commits most rapes and murders?
  • Silversnake 2012/06/22 19:26:16
  • Twinky Silvers... 2012/06/22 19:31:41 (edited)
    Twinky
    +2
    women rise through the criminal justice system FASTER than men. Not the other way around. It's the double deviancy effect.

    Women incarcerated in state prisons were less likely than men to have been convicted of a
    violent offense (35% vs. 53%).
    Women incarcerated in state prisons were more likely than men to have been convicted of aproperty or drug crime (59% vs. 40%).
  • Silvers... Twinky 2012/06/22 19:43:30
  • Twinky Silvers... 2012/06/22 19:53:10 (edited)
    Twinky
    +1
    Doen't the daily mail prove my point? Judges being ask to show more lenience is because they were not showing enough before. And ifeminist is quoting statistcs from nearly 30 years ago, I quoted more recent ones... the times have changes a LOT in the past 30 years in terms of the penal system
    I used to work in the criminal justice system before leaving to study law and social work.
    Girls who enter the CJS jump up the system faster because its unusual for them to come to court and so judges tend to want to "scare them straight" and would give them a tougher sentence than a male counterpart simply with the idea that they won't do it again - whereas the theory would be that boys are "just being boys".
    Double deviancy is the acknowledgement that criminals are "deviants" (they deviate away from social norms), so women are "double deviants" if they end up as criminals because they have devianted away from social norms AND social norms of their 'fairer sex' (trevthick 2007)
  • Silvers... Twinky 2012/06/22 20:06:37
    Silversnake
    What you say would make sense, except that it's not true. People seeing men doing wrong as "just being boys" is actually very harmful, because it means that they are expected to do wrong, meaning from the beginning they're seen as more likely to be criminally inclined

    I get what you're saying about when women deviate from being moral they're seen as strange anomalies, but this also leaves room for many excuses. Instead of it being "he's a guy and he's violent; of course he would attack this person," it turns into "she's a girl and probably not violent; she must have been provoked by childhood abuse, domestic violence, what have you"

    Anyway, the cause of it aside, nothing can excuse the fact that men are 20 times more likely to get the death penalty and 165% more likely to be incarcerated
  • Twinky Silvers... 2012/06/22 20:15:14 (edited)
    Twinky
    +1
    Did I say "just being boys" is a GOOD thing? Not at all, it's a terribly bad thing.

    Saying men are 20x more likely to get the death penalty and 165% more likely to be incarcerated does not take into account the crimes or the violence of the crimes. If read alone ofcourse it'll look terrible, but not taking into account these variables does not make an accurate account of the situation.

    Yes the chivalry theory does happen, ofcourse it does, but just because this one happens, does not negate the other.

    Simply saying I'm wrong because "just being boys" isn't nice, does not make the double deviancy theory wrong
  • Silvers... Twinky 2012/06/22 20:45:26
    Silversnake
    Here's an accurate account of the situation: two criminals, one crime. Woman gets ten years and man gets put to death. ONE CRIME, meaning for the exact same thing. It's in the first article

    Also, the statistics that were taken only compared the same crimes. The numbers are percentages comparing the same felonies, such as the difference in conviction rates in murder, theft, OR assult.

    Also I don't seen where double deviancy applies when continuously and in varying situations women are constanty being coddled and empathized with for their wrongs
    http://www.psmag.com/legal-af...
  • Twinky Silvers... 2012/06/22 23:48:34
    Twinky
    "Also I don't seen where double deviancy applies when continuously and in varying situations women are constanty being coddled and empathized with for their wrongs"

    1) so are you saying empathy is wrong?
    2) because you are solely looking at length of sentence rather than considering other factors (type of crime, first offence etc)
  • Silvers... Twinky 2012/06/23 00:11:44
    Silversnake
    For one thing, I'd rather empathize with the victim, not the murderer. And if the murderer happens to be female, I won't try to excuse her of her crimes

    And I do look at the type of crime. If a woman is jailed for three years for stealing and a man is given a life sentence for killing someone, I'm not going to say that it's sexist because obviously it is not

    But if a woman is given a sentence of six years for murdering her husband, but a man is given twenty years for murdering his wife, then, yeah, that's a big difference

    Also I don't know what kind of factors are more common with women who commit crimes that will affect the length of a sentence to such a profound amount. What makes you think that a woman's offense is much more likely to be a first one than a man's?
  • Twinky Silvers... 2012/06/23 15:43:44
    Twinky
    "What makes you think that a woman's offense is much more likely to be a first one than a man's?"
    Stop making assumptions about what I say. It's getting annoying.

See Votes by State

The map above displays the winning answer by region.

Living

2014/10/23 00:02:18

Hot Questions on SodaHead
More Hot Questions

More Community More Originals