Quantcast

PUBLIC OPINION > It's Still Harder to Be a Woman

Living 2012/07/17 21:00:00
Women recently outscored men in IQ testing research for the first time in a century, but that doesn't necessarily mean life is easier on them. Women have made a lot of social, political and financial progress during that time... But is it still harder to be a woman? Hahajk.com asked the public.



The short answer is yes, most people think it is still harder to be a woman. However, the original question had two separate responses for each answer. The most popular answer overall was "Yes, but it's getting better." So despite the discouraging result, there's quite a bit of optimism out there. The most popular "No" response was that everyone gets "a fair shake."

Men Call It Even


Gender was, not surprisingly, the most divisive demographic. In fact, men were the only major demographic that gave "No" a majority vote, and it was by quite a bit. Only 35% of them think it's tougher to be a woman. Voters cited scholarships, maternity leave, the draft, and custody battles as a few reasons why men can also have it rough.

Teens Say It's Tough to Be a Woman

Age wasn't as significant as gender, but there was certainly a correlation. Teens, on average, were about 20% more likely than older respondents to claim it's still tougher to be a women, though it fluctuated a bit. Maybe it's a matter of perspective. For older voters, it might be that women seem to have it easier relative to the past.

Money Doesn't Discriminate

One reason some feel women still have it rough is that they typically make less than men. Based on the income demographic, people who make more more than $50,000 are more likely to say that men and women have a fair shake. It could be that there are more men making over $50,000, or it could be that women who make over $50,000 don't feel as much pressure.

If you'd like to vote on this question, dig deeper into the demographics, or engage in existing discussion about the topic, visit the original poll about being a woman. We'd love to hear from you!
You!
Add Photos & Videos

Top Opinion

  • saturdayschild 2012/07/17 22:37:56
    saturdayschild
    +13
    Many think it's harder to be a woman because the politically correct thing is to think all burdens rest on females, but women are more intelligent, men are bad, women are good, and the list goes on.

    I noticed many Sodahead males readily agree that women are more intelligent and men get all the lucky breaks. What a crock! I cannot fathom why so many of us think that women have no advantages. They want to be our equals, but I still feel the pressure of thinking it's "ladies first." To hell with that! Saying "ladies first" is saying that women are superior. There is absolutely no reason why we should continue the practice of ladies first.

    BTW: When my uncle was a boy in the Sixties, he said that boys would get physically punished for the slightest thing. Girls were always respected, and nobody ever, ever thought of physically punishing a female. A male gym teacher humiliated boys and flirted with girls. Many other male teachers followed suit. So girls had it harder???

    Western women have become self-righteous, narcissistic, bitches who often have no respect for males. No woman gets my respect until I see that it's going to be reciprocated.

Sort By
  • Most Raves
  • Least Raves
  • Oldest
  • Newest
Opinions

  • Merhabi... sockpuppet 2012/07/19 13:01:41
    Merhabi Daham
    Women do not have limited physical strength any more than men do. Women and men alike can work out to increase their physical strength.
  • sockpuppet Merhabi... 2012/07/19 14:22:56
    sockpuppet
    +2
    Oh... ok. Anyway, you're wrong. They don't have nearly the strength that a man does to accomplish physically demanding tasks on the job. That's why they're held to dumbed-down standards in occupations that require fitness evaluations like the military and the police. They have to maintain two separate standards, based on gender.

    It's nice to think we're all equal in every way, but we're not.
  • Bulanov... sockpuppet 2012/07/19 20:51:54 (edited)
    Bulanova (Team Hargitay)
    +2
    I'm a woman and I agree. Facts are facts. Testosterone, which we have less of, helps men build more muscle than in women. There's nothing inherently wrong with that, either. I don't know why people insist on shutting out the truth. It never helps. Being physically weaker does not imply weakness like so many people seem to think.
  • sockpuppet Bulanov... 2012/07/19 21:10:29
    sockpuppet
    +2
    Very true. We have different strengths and unique abilities, and it's only sensible to recognize these things. Judging one gender or the other as inferior or superior is like comparing apples to oranges.
  • Merhabi... sockpuppet 2012/07/20 16:44:21
    Merhabi Daham
    +1
    That's unfair because Red-delicious apples are superior to any orange.
  • sockpuppet Merhabi... 2012/07/20 16:56:12
    sockpuppet
    Oh, the Dept. of Idioms is gonna hear about this!
  • Merhabi... Bulanov... 2012/07/29 17:49:09
    Merhabi Daham
    +1
    Psht. You just need more willpower. Willpower solves everything. Except cancer. Maybe.
  • Chris D 2012/07/17 22:05:46
    Chris D
    +4
    being an attractive woman is easy - everything is paid for, security is guaranteed. Being an unattractive woman..much harder...
    attractive women success
  • Bibliop... Chris D 2012/07/18 00:59:15
    Bibliophilic
    +4
    Yeah, except for all of the men who force themselves on attractive women (random comments from drunk men, getting yelled at walking around) and those who only 'appreciate' her for her looks (trophy wife). I could tell instantly that what you wrote came out of the mouth of a bitter man and not a woman. A woman who is not traditionally attractive, but has a brain will go far in life. Why is everyone full of stereotypes today on Sodahead? Also, sometimes attractive women are perceived to be less intelligent by men and other women.
  • Fef 2012/07/17 22:02:26
    Fef
    "Voters cited scholarships, maternity leave, the draft, and custody battles as a few reasons why men can also have it rough."
    -- Well, now Leftists feminists want women to suffer those same challenges.

    Women should reject so-called feminism from Leftist radicals
  • Mallory Fef 2012/07/18 00:16:35
    Mallory
    The law protects dads nowadays.
  • Sybil Mallory 2012/07/18 04:15:57
    Sybil
    +1
    Yes and it is getting better, finally!
  • Mallory Fef 2012/08/17 16:58:18
    Mallory
    Dads should have maternity leave too, to spend time with their newborn!
  • tobe 2012/07/17 22:01:12
    tobe
    they often get paid less for the same job and they have a whole slew or health stuff. mammograms, gyn, child birthing, menopause.
  • Just Jenn for Now 2012/07/17 22:00:41
    Just Jenn for Now
    +2
    Unsurprisingly, majority of men voted differently. It's expected though, since they can never find out for themselves, just like women can never know what it's like to be men.
  • Maxine 2012/07/17 21:53:45
    Maxine
    No one can really judge this as you can't experience both genders... not separately anyway.
  • Margaret Jacobson 2012/07/17 21:50:34
    Margaret Jacobson
    +1
    I only have experience at being a woman !! But I remember when girls weren't excpected to excel in mathematics, science !! When girls were "expected" to marry, have millions of babies and take care of a "man" !! THOSE DAYS I HOPE ARE GONE !! FOREVER !!.............................. YES
  • Tee Quake 2012/07/17 21:38:37
    Tee Quake
    Unless you're a man.
  • Sister Jean 2012/07/17 21:36:01
    Sister Jean
    +4
    undecided never been a man
  • Juan O'Mara 2012/07/17 21:34:41
    Juan O'Mara
    een Juan kuntry female stay een keetchen and make food or she do laundry rike real wimins should
  • Lizzeh Juan O'... 2012/07/17 23:06:39
    Lizzeh
    Go back to school.
  • Juan O'... Lizzeh 2012/07/18 12:42:41
    Juan O'Mara
    +1
    Juan heems already graduate from automotive school but donkeh anyway
  • Mallory Juan O'... 2012/07/18 00:17:36
    Mallory
    Well your wife has it bad.
  • Bibliop... Juan O'... 2012/07/18 01:00:05
  • Juan O'... Bibliop... 2012/07/18 12:43:12
    Juan O'Mara
    Juan can not twoll eef he ist no twoll

See Votes by State

The map above displays the winning answer by region.

Living

2014/12/21 06:13:19

Hot Questions on SodaHead
More Hot Questions

More Community More Originals