Quantcast

PUBLIC OPINION > Hot Dog Stuffed Crust Pizza Is a Gross Idea

Living 2012/04/12 22:01:19
We can see the logic behind stuffed crust pizza. You're basically just adding more of an ingredient that's already on the pizza (cheese) to ease the blandness of the crust. But "hot dog stuffed crust"? Where did that come from? Pizza Hut launched the idea in its UK branches this month, and we're really not sure how to handle it. Is it genius? Is it absurd? Is it literally the worst idea in pizza history? We took it to the public.



Just as we suspected. Hot dog stuffed crust will attract some adventurous eaters, but overall it just sounds terrible. "Gross" voters called the innovation "disgusting," "revolting," "absolutely nasty," and our personal favorite: "EEWWEWWWWWEWWW." The third of respondents who found it appealing called the idea, "wonderful," "delicious," "beyond belief," and "not great, but not gross either." (But hardly anyone was OK with that free "mustard drizzle" offer.)

Men Want More Meat

The first demographic breakdown we noticed was male versus female. Men were more likely to try the hot dog stuffed crust pizza, but even they were split. It does seem like a "manly" product, in that it's loaded with phallic meat and a little bit impractical.


Atheists Believe in Dog

One of the only demographics to side strongly with Pizza Hut's grand idea was atheists. We're going to have to defer to Freud on this one, and suggest that perhaps the semantic resemblance of "dog" to "God" is a way for the unconscious mind to unveil repressed intentions... Just kidding.

It's A-OK in the UK

We found it a bit odd that Pizza Hut was marketing hot dog stuffed crust pizza in the UK, and not in America. After all, the origin of the term "hot dog" is American, Pizza Hut is American, and grotesquely unhealthy fast food is American. So why the UK? Well... because UK voters actually like the idea. Case closed.

If you'd like to vote on this question, dig deeper into the demographics, or engage in existing discussion about the topic, visit our poll about Pizza Hut's hot dog stuffed crust pizza. We'd love to hear from you!
You!
Add Photos & Videos

Top Opinion

Sort By
  • Most Raves
  • Least Raves
  • Oldest
  • Newest
Opinions

  • stl.sha... Bibliop... 2012/04/15 01:56:31
    stl.shamrock
    Pink "meat" that looks like soft serve ice cream?! Looks tasty!
  • Miss Sissa 2012/04/13 20:15:07
    Miss Sissa
    *Shrugs* I'd try it
  • BIG BAD JOHN R. 2012/04/13 20:11:05
    BIG BAD JOHN R.
    +1
    I give it a try as long as the hot dogs were Oscar Myers
  • HelmetGirl 2012/04/13 20:02:40
    HelmetGirl
    That is so gross.
  • ronbo 2012/04/13 19:38:51
    ronbo
    I,d have to try it before I knock it.
  • ProVega 2012/04/13 19:27:38 (edited)
    ProVega
    +2
    Great Idea but with only the best quality kosher hot dogs or Italian sausage used. Yum.
  • Corsair 2012/04/13 19:16:52
    Corsair
    It would be worth a try.
  • Bill 2012/04/13 19:15:31
    Bill
    There you see! This is why there are no English cook books! I'm surprised they haven't boiled pizza, they boil everything else !
  • ticlo7 Bill 2012/04/14 14:18:15
    ticlo7
    +1
    Actually we prefer to fry everything, thank you.
    Besides, it's not just the English. The Scottish deep-fried Pizza and Mars Bars. Compared to that Hot Dog Stuffed Pizza Crust is looking pretty damn good right now.
  • Bill ticlo7 2012/04/14 16:15:41
    Bill
    Being of Irish extraction, I know the people of the all the British Isles can't cook. A seven course Irish Dinner is a six pack and a boiled potatoe.
    There are subtle differences between European Heaven and Hell. European Heaven , the Germans are the engineers, French are the Chefs, Italians are vintners, British are police.
    In Hell the Germans are chefs, French are engineers,The Brits are the vintners and the Italians are the police
  • ticlo7 Bill 2012/04/15 12:29:43
    ticlo7
    True. At least Britain has black pudding, thought I'm not sure what the rest of the world would prefer; black pudding or a boiled potato. We have scones though...
    I learnt it as In Hell the British are Chefs, the Germans are the police, the French are engineers, the Swiss lovers and the bankers Italian. Either way, never let the French be engineers.
  • Bill ticlo7 2012/04/15 14:44:48
    Bill
    Black pudding woof. What are the French really good at?
  • ticlo7 Bill 2012/04/16 16:26:07
    ticlo7
    +1
    The French? Err...they make good...cheese? I feel bad because the first thing that came to my head was 'surrendering'.
  • Bill ticlo7 2012/04/16 16:59:43
    Bill
    In the "Short Books Dept.", French War Hero's
    The cheese is ok, just make sure to pronounce it properly or they get all miffed and pissy.
  • ☂cinderella.dress.in.yellow☂ 2012/04/13 18:36:49
    ☂cinderella.dress.in.yellow☂
    not my style
  • Carlee_4_Nee_Huh 2012/04/13 18:22:03
  • Carlee_... Carlee_... 2012/04/13 18:26:44
    Carlee_4_Nee_Huh
    I'm so jealous of uk, they get to try this. I just want to try once !
  • ♥ Amy ♥ Is Home♥ 2012/04/13 17:27:00
    ♥ Amy ♥ Is Home♥
    +1
    Thats just sick and wrong... i might try to make one with bacon stuffed crust though,
    cant go wrong with bacon =)
  • ☥☽✪☾DAW ☽✪☾ 2012/04/13 17:19:13
    ☥☽✪☾DAW ☽✪☾
    +2
    I think the Pizza Gods just Screamed NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO
    WTF HotDogs you humans are so Stupid Add more Cheese and Pepperoni not hot dogs

    pizza god
    and btw yes there really is a Pizza God

    pizza god
  • thebarb... ☥☽✪☾DAW... 2012/04/15 06:18:13
    thebarbecuemaster
    +3
    it looks delicious it should be served for breakfast as an appetizer before your pancakes.
    bigal
    http://www.thebarbecuemaster....
  • Paul Paron ☥☽✪☾DAW... 2014/02/26 13:41:05 (edited)
    Paul Paron
    +3
    You're damn right there really is a Pizza-God, so don't piss him off-(signed) The Pizza-God! (P.S.-you could at least pimp my page if you're going to use my images- http://www.pizza-god.com )
  • Anna 2012/04/13 16:36:21
    Anna
    Uh!! Imagine how fat I'd get!!!!!!
  • SundayS... Anna 2012/04/13 16:51:43
    SundayStoleYourCookieDough
    Also jysk you can't get fat from eating one pizza. :P If you ate it every day (or even every week if you didn't exercise) then yes.
  • Anna SundayS... 2012/04/13 23:04:14
    Anna
    Oh yes you can!!!
  • SundayS... SundayS... 2012/04/14 17:52:40
    SundayStoleYourCookieDough
    Oh and you blocked me for disagreeing with you? Wow, REAL mature.
  • SundayStoleYourCookieDough 2012/04/13 15:57:31
    SundayStoleYourCookieDough
    ....Doesn't sound too bad e.e depends how it's cooked
  • Anna SundayS... 2012/04/13 16:37:07
    Anna
    +1
    Eew!!!!!
  • SundayS... Anna 2012/04/13 16:50:41
    SundayStoleYourCookieDough
    +2
    Look, sweetheart, I understand that you don't like it but you don't have to reply to everyone that does going EW NO STOP IT

    I actually wouldn't eat it myself unless I was REALLY hungry but again imo it's not that bad
  • Miko Mikomiko 2012/04/13 15:43:07
    Miko Mikomiko
    +1
    sausage would be good
  • Anna Miko Mi... 2012/04/13 16:37:26
    Anna
    +1
    A little better but not much.
  • LadyIron 2012/04/13 15:09:49
    LadyIron
    +2
    ugh! not even i would eat that and im a pizza freak!
  • DoseOf Reality 2012/04/13 14:56:21
    DoseOf Reality
    +1
    I wouldn't eat it, to me it just sounds like a junk food overload, and besides that, it just sounds gross.
  • Anna DoseOf ... 2012/04/13 16:37:57
    Anna
    +2
    Exactly!!!!!
  • Aubrey Caraballo 2012/04/13 14:02:33
    Aubrey Caraballo
    +1
    as a vegetarian, all I can say is . ew
  • Anna Aubrey ... 2012/04/13 16:38:15
    Anna
    That too.
  • Scream 2012/04/13 13:06:48
    Scream
    If I wasn't vegetarian I might try it. I guess I could always do a veggie dog-stuffed crust.
  • minaschili 2012/04/13 12:54:35
    minaschili
    I liked it :3
  • Mark 2012/04/13 12:08:07
  • Anna Mark 2012/04/13 16:38:58
    Anna
    Good one!!!!!
  • ♥ Amy ♥... Mark 2012/04/13 17:27:51
    ♥ Amy ♥ Is Home♥
    Bonus Rave =)

See Votes by State

The map above displays the winning answer by region.

Living

2014/10/01 04:17:05

Hot Questions on SodaHead
More Hot Questions

More Community More Originals