Quantcast

PUBLIC OPINION > Hold Your Breath to Heal the Hiccups

Living 2012/05/14 22:00:00
For many, curing the hiccups is no easy task. There's an abundance of methods out there, and if you ask two different people, chances are you'll get two very different responses. Some methods are straight-forward -- have a friend scare you, breath into a paper bag, swallow a teaspoon of sugar; others are a little more difficult -- drinking water from the wrong side of the glass, balancing something on your nose, jumping out of a plane. A 13-year-old girl even came up with a lollipop that should do the trick. We asked the public which method works the best.



Hold Your Breath

Unfortunately, there is no scientific explanation for why hiccups occur or what the best method of eliminating them is, but it's generally agreed that building up CO2 is an effective method. Holding your breath or breathing into a paper bag is one way of doing that, since we exhale CO2. Holding your breath also inhibits the diaphram, where hiccups occur -- a double whammy.

Drink Water

Drinking water is actually very similar to holding your breath in terms of curing the hiccups. Drinking quickly and for extended periods of time, though more dangerous than holding your breath, simulates an intense, forced version of the same thing. It helps to try and swallow air with the water. Complicating the matter by "drinking out of the wrong side of the glass" could also help, if you can figure out how to do it.

Other Methods

Now for our favorite part. Here's a list of some alternative methods suggested by respondents, starting with the Top Opinion: Eat peanut butter; drink pickle juice; predict your next hiccup; gag yourself; swallow rapidly; smell crushed red pepper; annoy someone until they slap you; leave an unlit matchstick in your hair; think about white horses; do jumping jacks while screaming; or just ride it out. (We can't guarantee that any of these will work, but they are pretty hilarious.)

If you'd like to vote on this question, dig deeper into the demographics, or engage in existing discussion about the topic, visit our poll about curing the hiccups. We'd love to hear from you!
You!
Add Photos & Videos

Top Opinion

Sort By
  • Most Raves
  • Least Raves
  • Oldest
  • Newest
Opinions

  • M Mostayen Billah Al Faysal 2012/05/24 16:06:51
    M Mostayen Billah Al Faysal
    No. Thats bad for your health
  • lilliannanicole 2012/05/21 23:24:03
    lilliannanicole
    try drinking water upside down it is very hard but works..from what i remember
  • chrissy 2012/05/17 00:22:03
    chrissy
    I find holding my breath makes my hiccups worse. But I usually have a friend come up behind me and sort of do the heimleck on me but not as hard and they usually go away. And if that fails, PEANUTBUTTER!
  • Damilola Adesanya 2012/05/16 21:50:31
    Damilola Adesanya
    +2
    Drinking water is more comfortable and safer than holding your breath when you have hiccups. When holding your breath, you can be nervous and as a result of this, the hiccup might still be there but drinking water is a lot better as it relieves the nerves. Or better still if there is no water around, just relax, like I do most times and the hiccups would stop.

    DAMILOLA ADESANYA
    MASS COMMUNICATION
    CALEB UNIVERSITY
    IMOTA, LAGOS
    NIGERIA.
  • maddyflorian 2012/05/16 19:01:18
    maddyflorian
    i'll just ask my grampa for some crazy herb remedy
  • Kabrelle 2012/05/16 18:02:22
    Kabrelle
    Anything that takes the air out of your stomach, for that is what a hiccup is.
  • igbenoba omotola 2012/05/16 10:56:32
    igbenoba omotola
    IT HAS NOT BEING SCIENTICALLY PROVEN AS TO WHY WE GET HICCUPS,I WOULD GO FOR THE WATER REMEDY. TRIED IT FOR YEARS NOW AND ITS STILL WORkING. HODING UR BREATH FOR A WHILE, ALSO DOES THE MAGIC.
    IGBENOBA OMOTOLA. CALEB UNIVERSITY.
  • Johann 2012/05/16 10:05:27
    Johann
    Peanut Butter works, so does holding your breath and drinking water. Tried them in the past.
  • grasshopper 2012/05/16 09:20:01
    grasshopper
    +1
    I have found that I can stop the hiccups by slow deep breathing, works everytime for me. usually only have 1 or 2 then I stop it.
  • LelaJohnson 2012/05/16 04:30:28
    LelaJohnson
    +1
    A tablespoon of peanut butter cures it instantly.
  • kobidobidog 2012/05/16 04:25:51 (edited)
    kobidobidog
    No. When I get them I concentrate on slow, and deliberate in, and out breathes very slowly. It works for me. Doing diaphragmatic breathing like a singer is recommended.
  • it'skrissie!d:) 2012/05/16 03:18:16 (edited)
    it'skrissie!d:)
    That is so strange. I drink water with my head down while walking backwards... lol
  • •Sora•Knightwalker• 2012/05/16 01:54:15
    •Sora•Knightwalker•
    If holding my breath doesn't work than I try chugging a glass of water as fast as I can. Sometimes choking may occur but that also helps!
  • Judy M. 2012/05/16 01:48:00
    Judy M.
    +1
    i actually get rid of my hicups by taking seriously very deep deep breaths. thats me.
  • Dave0626 2012/05/16 00:21:45
    Dave0626
    +1
    Take 3 small swallows of water, rotating the chin up, out, down and in, during each swallow. After the third swallow, hiccups should and often are gone. It's an old Italian home remedy. Works every time.
  • Maleficent 2012/05/15 22:47:49
    Maleficent
    i just either hold my breath or drink some water.
  • ☠Błéêd įt øút☠ 2012/05/15 21:37:55
    ☠Błéêd įt øút☠
    yeah that always works!
  • Janet Jiya 2012/05/15 21:15:06
    Janet Jiya
    +1
    Hiccups is no disease. Scientist hasn’t found out the reason why it comes.
    So many people say drinking water will solve it. To me, holding of breath is not encouraging. For those who can’t hold their breath won’t be able to do the holding of breath. I believe in putting strands of tread on your head. I really don’t know the connection with it but so far, it has been working. And so many people in Nigeria go with the tread idea.

    JIYA JANET (CALEB UNIVERSITY IMOTA, LAGOS)
  • Jaiheena Star 2012/05/15 21:13:06
  • Johnnie 2012/05/15 20:29:18
  • viola 2012/05/15 20:11:53
    viola
    hahahaha "think of white horses" wtf? xD
  • Blank 2012/05/15 20:00:30
    Blank
    i try to hold my breath or drink water
  • Nimara 2012/05/15 19:54:44 (edited)
    Nimara
    Nah, drink water.



    O.o However, water can cause hiccups sometimes....eh, "FINISH WHAT YOU STARTED, WATER!!"



    I take about nine to ten sips of water and they go away for me.
  • LADY LIBERTY SILLY WORDSMITH 2012/05/15 19:10:17
    LADY LIBERTY SILLY WORDSMITH
    NOOOOOOOOO! IT DIDN'T WORK for me or members of my family.
  • Walter Harris 2012/05/15 18:34:29
    Walter Harris
    i prefer to hold my breath
  • ∞Hailey∞ 2012/05/15 17:49:27
    ∞Hailey∞
    +2
    I drink water upside down :3
  • BIG BAD JOHN R. 2012/05/15 17:35:55
    BIG BAD JOHN R.
    Didn;t work for me, Maybe he will turn blue blueman
  • Riobhca 2012/05/15 17:30:11 (edited)
    Riobhca
    +1
    I don't think it works as well as taking a couple of teaspoons of vinegar. Vinegar stops hiccups immediately every single time.

    Holding your breath for too long stresses out your heart and doesn't work anyway.
  • alanoud39 2012/05/15 16:18:18
    alanoud39
    No,I would ask some one to scares me or drink some water
  • Anca 2012/05/15 15:55:47
    Anca
    nothing works for me,i have to wait until it stops.sometimes it takes hours.
  • dv 2012/05/15 15:43:03 (edited)
    dv
    I always hold my breath as long as possible then release very slow Super slow even though I wanna take in a huge breath it's worked since I was kid never failed me =)
  • Gunner 2012/05/15 14:29:24
    Gunner
    +1
    Hold your breath for 5 minutes, I guarantee the hiccups will be gone.
  • smitty Gunner 2012/05/15 18:10:28
    smitty
    Have you tried it?
  • Gunner smitty 2012/05/15 19:18:26
    Gunner
    Yes. I had absolutely no oxygen to my brain. But, I survived because I'm a Marine, and the brain is our least vital organ.
  • smitty Gunner 2012/05/15 19:24:49
    smitty
    A good friend of mine is a marine. Was out prior to 9/11 and re enlisted a few years latter.

    "Yes. I had absolutely no oxygen to my brain." Congratulations
  • kobidob... Gunner 2012/05/16 04:38:16
    kobidobidog
    Your soul is the most valuable part of you. I am going to tell the truth that will shock you, but that is what the truth does to humans that have not heard it before. The military shamelessly allows humans to kill their soul by killing humans. A thing Jesus who is God in the flesh never did. He said Father forgive them for they know not what they do. The military teaches terrorists that killing is good being anti Christ.
  • Gunner kobidob... 2012/05/16 10:50:13
    Gunner
    +1
    Gee. Thanks for enlightning me. I'd never have guessed.
  • kobidob... Gunner 2012/05/16 23:05:44
    kobidobidog
    A thankful spirit is in you. That means life is in you.
  • Darlin' 2012/05/15 14:12:35
    Darlin'
    nothing
  • bernadette. 2012/05/15 14:06:25
    bernadette.
    Biting into half a lemon or drinking from the opposite side of the glass.

See Votes by State

The map above displays the winning answer by region.

Living

2014/07/25 13:47:52

Hot Questions on SodaHead
More Hot Questions

More Community More Originals