Quantcast

PUBLIC OPINION > Flip-Flops Are the Best Shoes for Summer

SodaHead Living 2012/06/28 22:00:00
During the summer, it's important to have shoes that allow you to brave the heat and relax at a moment's notice. Need some natural air-conditioning for your feet? Flip-flops or sandals should do the trick. Do you prefer to go barefoot? Now's your time to shine. Don't care one way or the other? Your everyday sneakers will do. We asked the public what their favorite summer footwear is.

sodahead summer shoes

Ah, flip-flops. Not the most comfortable shoe if you have to walk far, but unless you go hiking, they'll do for most of the season. Just enough material to keep the soles of your feet safe from hot pavement, honeybees, and broken glass. But overall, it was a pretty even spread. Sandals got a lot of love, and there was even a healthy percent who go barefoot. Let's find out who, shall we?

Guys Prefer Sneakers

Though flip-flops took a strong lead, demographic prefences varied greatly. Gender is a good example. While only 12% of women prefer to wear sneakers during the summer, a 29% majority of guys prefer them. Conversely, only 16% of men preferred flip-flops compared to a 36% majority of women. Sandal percentages were actually pretty close, though.

Apathetic Feet

We were especially curious to find out what demographics were most likely to go barefoot. The only demographic that actually preferred going barefoot was people who are apathetic about politics (36%). Similarly, agnostics had a relatively large percent of barefoot voters (24%). In the Zodiac breakdown, Sagittarius are most likely to cast aside their shoes (29%), which is surprisingly appropriate.

Teens Don't Like Sandals

Can your feet reveal your age? Maybe. If you're wearing sandals, chances are you're closer to 40 than 14. Teens were absolutely against wearing sandals (5%), but support increased to a maximum of 42% at the 35-44 age group before dropping again. But whatever your age, if you do decide to wear sandals, for the love of Pete don't wear socks!

If you'd like to vote on this question, dig deeper into the demographics, or engage in existing discussion about the topic, visit our poll on summer shoes. We'd love to hear from you!
You!
Add Photos & Videos

Top Opinion

  • Bibliophilic 2012/06/28 23:21:17 (edited)
    Bibliophilic
    +8
    Flip flops are for the shower and the pool, in my opinion. Proper footwear is important for me (it's good for the arch), and flipflops are also unprofessional. I will not be caught in ill-fitting clothing, tacky colors or flip flops. I am a shoe snob.

Sort By
  • Most Raves
  • Least Raves
  • Oldest
  • Newest
Opinions

  • Gwen 2012/06/29 03:00:22
    Gwen
    I would like to know, when did we stop calling them thongs and start calling them flip-flops? Sorry, I will always call them thongs.
  • Quinni Gwen 2012/06/29 04:44:31 (edited)
    Quinni
    i thought thongs were underwear... and a style of bathing suit.. anything that had floss going where it shouldn't. Never heard flip-flops called it.
  • Gwen Quinni 2012/06/29 04:51:08
    Gwen
    no, thongs are not underwear. Where did you hear that?
  • Quinni Gwen 2012/06/29 05:16:45
    Quinni
    Every clothing store, etc.

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/...
  • Jiorgia Quinni 2012/06/29 12:33:58
    Jiorgia
    the thong underwear is named after the thong footwear (for having the same type shape), not the other way around.
  • Quinni Jiorgia 2012/06/29 16:01:13
    Quinni
    ahhh... see I was never into fashion so that would explain my confusion. I only remember learning about thongs (underwear) when I was in my 30s and got a cold a** after a boyfriend insisted I try them... but I remember flip flops since I was a kid.
  • Jiorgia Gwen 2012/06/29 12:33:15
    Jiorgia
    We still call them thongs in Australia, America changed it to flip flops when the underwear 'thong' took off, as people would get confused.
    In Australia we call the underwear 'thong' a G-string or V-string (depending on coverage).
  • samuel silva 2012/06/29 02:30:35
    samuel silva
    +1
    I wear flip flops all year round
  • Gregory... samuel ... 2012/06/29 05:29:31
    Gregory Pasquier
    weirdo
  • MlssCue =Go Blue= 2012/06/29 02:09:38
    MlssCue =Go Blue=
    +1
    Tennis shoes for me.
  • RevBH 2012/06/29 02:00:19
    RevBH
    +3
    Flip flops are ugly and uncomfortable.
  • mklprc 2012/06/29 01:33:48
    mklprc
    +1
    Neither. I prefer proper sandals or hurachis. Flip flops flap off and cause skin abrasions.
  • sandra.hemmes 2012/06/29 00:54:00
    sandra.hemmes
    +3
    Flip-flops are dangerous to walk in, feet dry up and get crusty in these things, if ther is anything wet and one walks through it you will slip and break your foot, leg, tailbone, hand, wrist, arm, the dangers are endless.
  • GrumpyCat 2012/06/29 00:22:30
    GrumpyCat
    +4
    Ever walked through the city with flip flops on? Your feet get disgusting. Wear flats or Sperry's.
  • Cazza 2012/06/29 00:09:42
    Cazza
    +2
    I lived on Thursday Island for a year once upon a time. It's a hot, tropical place to the north of the tip of Australia. I had two pairs of shoes the whole year - my "at home" every day thongs and my "going out with a bit of bling" thongs. Heaven!!
  • Barefoot Peace and Love∞ijm... 2012/06/28 23:38:53
    Barefoot Peace and Love∞ijm♥☮♥∞
    +3
    barefoot girl gif
    Barefoot for me......;)
    flip flops are good too...
  • Tenness... Barefoo... 2012/06/29 20:33:56
    Tennessee3501
    +1
    Please do not put your beautiful bare feet on a dashboard! They will get sunburned. Hang them out the window to share them with the whole world. Put on sun screen and do not drive through any neighborhoods inhabited by cannibals who may be hungry!
  • Barefoo... Tenness... 2012/06/30 01:50:32
  • Bibliophilic 2012/06/28 23:21:17 (edited)
    Bibliophilic
    +8
    Flip flops are for the shower and the pool, in my opinion. Proper footwear is important for me (it's good for the arch), and flipflops are also unprofessional. I will not be caught in ill-fitting clothing, tacky colors or flip flops. I am a shoe snob.
  • Cimoc Feiler Naitsabes 2012/06/28 23:19:05
    Cimoc Feiler Naitsabes
    +1
    not for me. i rarely wear them
  • Redneck 2012/06/28 23:18:04
    Redneck
    +3
    flip flops are the leading cause of fall among young adults. they offer no support of the arches, cause excessive hyperextension force against the anterior cruciate ligament in the knees, and provide no support to the heels, which contribute to increased falls. flip flops are bad and you really can't do anything in them. can't run or work in them. they're shoes for lazy people.
  • Mendelevium 2012/06/28 23:14:17
    Mendelevium
    I wear flip-flops in the summer because I'm too lazy to put on shoes. Plus I don't like wearing shoes without socks, and wearing shorts with socks on just looks.. bad. So flip-flops it is. lol
  • MarinerFH 2012/06/28 23:05:03
  • Rubyking 2012/06/28 22:59:54
    Rubyking
    PSYCH, SNEAKERS FTW
  • Cory Mann 2012/06/28 22:37:28
    Cory Mann
    Sneakers always there so Comfy :)
  • ben 2012/06/28 22:36:44
    ben
    Even though they have their advantages... I don't wear them.... I was never a sandal type guy so therefore not a flip flop guy either... but popular?... yes.And will I probably see some.. yeah... :-))
  • opa62 2012/06/28 22:33:41
    opa62
    sandals are better than flip flops or slides. they're safer.
  • ♥•judy•♥ 2012/06/28 22:31:38
    ♥•judy•♥
    +1
    yeah if your toes dont wanna get sweaty in 100 degree weather IM A TEEN AND I WILL WALK ALL OVER YOU WITH SANDLES lol just kidding :P
  • Quiet-is-feared 2012/06/28 22:26:51
    Quiet-is-feared
    no, i don't like them myself. They have no support and i end up with flat feet. I stick with sneakers during the summer and fall, they're more ideal, supportive and way more comfortable then flip flops
  • ScottyG - Faqueue 2012/06/28 22:16:37
    ScottyG - Faqueue
    I wear 'em all year.
  • EmoKiss:3 2012/06/28 22:14:35
    EmoKiss:3
    heck yeah!
  • ✿Britt ❤'s Steven Tyler✿ 2012/06/28 22:14:00
    ✿Britt ❤'s Steven Tyler✿
    i usually don't even wear shoes. lol.
  • VERYwiseguy 2012/06/28 21:50:51
    VERYwiseguy
    +2
    Great for stubbing toes and if you walk fast they're useless.
  • veronica 2012/06/28 21:26:03
    veronica
    no I dont think they are
  • The Elitist Libtard SodaJerk 2012/06/28 21:18:50
    The Elitist Libtard SodaJerk
    +1
    I've tried to wear them but that constant Klop, Klop, Klop, got on my nerves. I don't feel right not wearing socks and, I'm always afraid of stubbing my toe.
  • Sister Jean 2012/06/28 21:08:13
    Sister Jean
    +2
    not for me

See Votes by State

The map above displays the winning answer by region.

Living

2014/04/23 09:12:37

Hot Questions on SodaHead
More Hot Questions

More Community More Originals