Quantcast

PUBLIC OPINION > Flip-Flops Are the Best Shoes for Summer

Living 2012/06/28 22:00:00
During the summer, it's important to have shoes that allow you to brave the heat and relax at a moment's notice. Need some natural air-conditioning for your feet? Flip-flops or sandals should do the trick. Do you prefer to go barefoot? Now's your time to shine. Don't care one way or the other? Your everyday sneakers will do. We asked the public what their favorite summer footwear is.



Ah, flip-flops. Not the most comfortable shoe if you have to walk far, but unless you go hiking, they'll do for most of the season. Just enough material to keep the soles of your feet safe from hot pavement, honeybees, and broken glass. But overall, it was a pretty even spread. Sandals got a lot of love, and there was even a healthy percent who go barefoot. Let's find out who, shall we?

Guys Prefer Sneakers

Though flip-flops took a strong lead, demographic prefences varied greatly. Gender is a good example. While only 12% of women prefer to wear sneakers during the summer, a 29% majority of guys prefer them. Conversely, only 16% of men preferred flip-flops compared to a 36% majority of women. Sandal percentages were actually pretty close, though.

Apathetic Feet

We were especially curious to find out what demographics were most likely to go barefoot. The only demographic that actually preferred going barefoot was people who are apathetic about politics (36%). Similarly, agnostics had a relatively large percent of barefoot voters (24%). In the Zodiac breakdown, Sagittarius are most likely to cast aside their shoes (29%), which is surprisingly appropriate.

Teens Don't Like Sandals

Can your feet reveal your age? Maybe. If you're wearing sandals, chances are you're closer to 40 than 14. Teens were absolutely against wearing sandals (5%), but support increased to a maximum of 42% at the 35-44 age group before dropping again. But whatever your age, if you do decide to wear sandals, for the love of Pete don't wear socks!

If you'd like to vote on this question, dig deeper into the demographics, or engage in existing discussion about the topic, visit our poll on summer shoes. We'd love to hear from you!
You!
Add Photos & Videos

Top Opinion

  • Bibliophilic 2012/06/28 23:21:17 (edited)
    Bibliophilic
    +8
    Flip flops are for the shower and the pool, in my opinion. Proper footwear is important for me (it's good for the arch), and flipflops are also unprofessional. I will not be caught in ill-fitting clothing, tacky colors or flip flops. I am a shoe snob.

Sort By
  • Most Raves
  • Least Raves
  • Oldest
  • Newest
Opinions

  • AngelArs 2012/07/10 16:05:36
    AngelArs
    Flip flops look down right discusting. They are OK for around the house but NOT in public. I could never take anyone seriously or respect them if they wore flip flops in public.
  • s2k 2012/07/08 14:55:24
    s2k
    Men's feet are ugly - they should stick with sneakers or closed-toe sandals. Women, if they take care of their feet, look great in flip flops or sandals - barefoot indoors, beach, pool, park.
  • CサïCサï xχx 2012/07/03 18:01:17
  • BIG BAD JOHN R. 2012/07/02 19:34:05
    BIG BAD JOHN R.
    I'll take my Merrel hiking shoes, they let my foot breath enough Merrel hiking shoes
  • concerned dude 2012/07/02 11:49:53
    concerned dude
    Flops rule. Whoever invented them should get another raise. http://blog.timesunion.com/su...
  • Munster 2012/07/02 04:13:25
    Munster
    I would love to wear flip flops but can't outside the house. I'm severely allergic to ants so if I wear open toe shoes outside, I'm screwed.
  • Icon 2012/07/01 02:37:01
    Icon
    Barefoot is great option for me.
  • beach bum 2012/06/30 12:33:40
    beach bum
    yes
  • eagle8 2012/06/30 03:47:43
    eagle8
    let me see those feet
  • phinz 2012/06/30 01:31:38
    phinz
    +2
    Flip flops or barefoot all year round.
  • Sailor Jerry [Proud Liberta... 2012/06/29 22:11:18
    Sailor Jerry [Proud Libertarian]
    i'll sometimes wear socks with sandals just to see people's reactions, but i mostly stick to my combat boots.
  • ♥##**AWESOME♥B****##**♥ 2012/06/29 21:03:52
    ♥##**AWESOME♥B****##**♥
    Sneakers i prefer
  • Tennessee3501 2012/06/29 20:26:07
    Tennessee3501
    I still prefer beautiful women in bare feet!
  • pops 2012/06/29 20:13:41
    pops
    I wore some pretty cool sandals back in my hippie days,not so much now.
  • Chair Arms 2012/06/29 19:28:43
    Chair Arms
    I will make this point clear, because it's something I am sincerely passionate about: NO MAN SHOULD WALK WITH EXPOSED FEET.
    Men's feet are disgusting as SHIITE. Gross, hairy, and ugly stank buckets of trash. Girls, no problem at all; given minor exceptions of old-woman feet, fat and sloppy feet with the nail-to-big-toe ratio being at about pinky-to-fist, and generally unkept feet. I would prefer a nice set of painted toe nails, but a simple pedicure is just fine. And to the assumees, it's not at all a foot fetish, only a continuation of the nice legs aha. You know what? Let's just call females the fetish.
  • Ayushee 2012/06/29 19:04:44
    Ayushee
    +1
    Fancy colorful flip-flops are really good for going somewhere where one can dress in a casual manner,it's not fit for offices or weddings,it can be wore for outings with frnds in afternoons,evenings or pool parties or even shopping!
    I absolutely luv them!!!
  • windwolf14 2012/06/29 19:00:54
    windwolf14
    I dont like flip flops not enough suport in the heel. disater area for sprains
  • Gahnzo 2012/06/29 18:53:51
    Gahnzo
    +1
    Ok I know that women LOVE, love, love L O V E.. to wear flip flops in the summertime.. but I swear.. flip flops must breed in the darkness of the closet.. I can open my daughters closet and they fall out like Tribbles on the Enterprise..... (for those that don't know what a Tribble is... look it up on YouTube)....it's very close to what happens to tupperware under the counter.. the containers breed and multiply, but the tops dont... why is that?
  • JayLynx 2012/06/29 18:20:13
    JayLynx
    I love them all the time!
  • Allie 2012/06/29 17:37:55
    Allie
    if i could go barefoot i would but i love wearing my flip flops. i wear them all year long
  • selena costa 2012/06/29 16:21:57
    selena costa
    i hate the tan lines!!!!!!!! flip flop tan lines flip flop tan lines flip flop tan lines
  • JayLynx selena ... 2012/06/29 18:19:18
    JayLynx
    +1
    it is one more ornament !
  • <3 :D live fast, die young 2012/06/29 15:46:13
    <3 :D  live fast, die young
    +1
    Yes cause you feel so free in them perfect for the beach

    flip flops on the beach

    flip flops on the beach
  • TKramar 2012/06/29 15:19:58
    TKramar
    I prefer work boots, preferably with a steel toe.
  • Smokey 2012/06/29 15:11:51
    Smokey
    +2
    Ladies, as long as your FEET look great in them.

    pretty feet in flip flops
  • Stypayhorlikson♥ 2012/06/29 15:06:40
    Stypayhorlikson♥
    i love flip flops i have 17 pairs!
  • lurx: the soda jerk 2012/06/29 15:04:39 (edited)
  • skip 2012/06/29 14:58:13
    skip
    +1
    best shoe for romney it would show the real mit
  • kelly 2012/06/29 14:50:41
    kelly
    The only time I ever wear flip flops are at the pool showers. I prefer to wear shoes that won't Make me flat footed.
  • william 2012/06/29 14:21:43
    william
    +2
    those things are ugly to me, and when a man wears them.......somethings wrong..
  • capt.walker 2012/06/29 14:20:06
    capt.walker
    +3
    I like to see flip flops on women but men please don't especially when not groomed.
  • seasmoke70 2012/06/29 13:40:22
    seasmoke70
    +1
    For me, they are just plain uncomfortable. I can't wear them for long without getting cramps in my arches because they provide absolutely no support. Besides, I don't like the slappity-slap sound they make. I do keep a pair by the door though, for quick trips outside...getting the mail, taking out the garbage, moving the sprinklers, etc.
  • Forest Volo 2012/06/29 12:39:55
    Forest Volo
    I hate sandals. Sometimes I like sneakers, and sometimes I like flip flops. It depends where I am.
  • Jiorgia 2012/06/29 12:39:21
    Jiorgia
    +1
    I only wear thongs in summer, (in Australia flip flops are called thongs, get over it), except to work or if I have to dress up.

    I actually have 6 different pairs of thongs, black thin strap, Aussie flag (only for Australia day), white thin strap, blue thick strap, rainbow, and black normal strap.

    I buy them from a company that makes them with arch support (so that they dont hurt my feet) and gives $2 from every purchase into helping fund 'little nippers' which is a childrens surf life saving club run nation wide.
  • msteresa87 2012/06/29 11:30:30
    msteresa87
    i love wearing flip-flops...don't know why. I need more of 'em. However, there are some that just hurt my feet like hell!!
  • Crime Time 2012/06/29 06:05:31
  • hi imjaredleto 2012/06/29 06:03:46
    hi imjaredleto
    +1
    I like tacos
  • patchulie 2012/06/29 05:38:14
    patchulie
    Yup
  • mark 2012/06/29 04:55:48
    mark
    Flip-flops can cause foot and leg pain because they change the way you walk.
  • Quinni 2012/06/29 04:42:15
    Quinni
    I can't wear them. Most people I know can't.

See Votes by State

The map above displays the winning answer by region.

Living

2014/12/22 02:09:31

Hot Questions on SodaHead
More Hot Questions

More Community More Originals