Quantcast

PUBLIC OPINION > Don't Ban Sexy Dresses From Prom

Living 2012/04/04 17:00:00
We never saw a follow-up to that Mike Stone story -- you know, the guy who was going to take a porn star to prom until his school banned her. We wonder if the school changed its mind. Probably not, because some schools are taking things a step further to prevent sexual activity. Schools all over the country are banning certain styles of dress deemed too sexy. Excess cleavage, thigh-high slits, rib cage cutouts, and anything more than three inches above the knee are forbidden at one school or another. An Oklahoma City high school is even telling guys not to take their shirts off, no matter how ripped they think they are. We asked the public if these kinds of bans are appropriate.



There were some strong opinions on this one, but in the end sexy prom dresses won out. One argument in favor of allowing them was that a ban would be an unnecessary infringement on personal choice. It's not that everyone who voted "Yes" thinks wearing a low-cut dress to prom is a good idea, they just don't see the point in forcing it. Besides, as the Top Opinion quipped, "They're just gonna be taking them off at the end of the night anyway." Those who supported the ban generally promoted a "better safe than sorry" sentiment. Plus, most schools already have dress codes on campus.

High Schoolers Want Their Sexy Back

First, let's go with the most obvious demographic. High schools were, not surprisingly, all for sexy dresses. However, quite a few high schoolers posted pictures of classy prom dresses similar to the ones they wore, or were planning to wear. They just don't care much if other girls want to dress "sexy." (They generally used a different word.)

Conservatives Crack Down

Conservatives were the strongest supporters of the ban -- a good 20% stronger than Christians. Interestingly, libertarians were the least supportive, emphasizing one of the key differences between the conservative right and the libertarian right. Conservatives are more concerned about family values, while libertarians are more concerned about personal choice.

The Unmarried Are OK With It

The age breakdown was a little bit uneven, but marriage was a clean cut. Every relationship demographic except married -- single, in a relationship, divorced, complicated -- averaged about 25%, while married voters averaged 47%. Engaged voters came close, but the sample size was too small to register when we combined all of the unmarried votes.

If you'd like to vote on this question, dig deeper into the demographics, or engage in existing discussion about the topic, visit our poll about sexy prom dresses. We'd love to hear from you!
You!
Add Photos & Videos

Top Opinion

Sort By
  • Most Raves
  • Least Raves
  • Oldest
  • Newest
Opinions

  • umapathy Krishnamurthy 2012/04/05 10:42:09
    umapathy Krishnamurthy
    Yes please it should not be banned it should stay
  • peter.g.mackie 2012/04/05 10:31:01
    peter.g.mackie
    +1
    If this is going to lead to more and more prudery, I would consider that dangerous. Young people shouldn't be ashamed of their bodies.
  • David (oYo) 2012/04/05 09:44:00
  • dandieselonian 2012/04/05 05:17:06
    dandieselonian
    YHoung women mahust test their sehext skahills so lets dahooit at schahool
  • martin28 dandies... 2012/04/05 05:34:59
    martin28
    why so many H's?
  • dandies... martin28 2012/04/05 05:41:19
    dandieselonian
    +1
    well its the wee hours and Im hairy hornie and not humble.......no I watched a crazy porno movie where all the actors have severe speech impediments. Its called jahony does lahiverpool . Its kinda like a monty python porno flick its hilarius
  • TWILIGH... dandies... 2012/04/05 14:50:23
    TWILIGHT!!!!LUVER!!!!
    +3
    u shouldtnt worry bout prom cuz u arent graduating with that kind of english
  • Rdtourist TWILIGH... 2012/04/05 15:31:23
    Rdtourist
    Why not? many graduates can not effectively read enough to fill out a McD's job application.
  • Pilot337 TWILIGH... 2012/04/05 17:17:59
    Pilot337
    If you are going to criticize, you should do it correctly. No capitalization, no punctuation, misspelled words and "word shortcuts" undermine your credibility. Lead by example.
  • dandies... TWILIGH... 2012/04/06 12:22:15
    dandieselonian
    On prom night in 1971 me and another guy borrowed a cessna 180 and flew around till dawn while we were doing some LSD. But of course I had already graduated the year before and on july 4th of that same year we did a halo jump form 13,000 feet . halo jump
  • JOHN CRAIN 2012/04/05 03:08:32
    JOHN CRAIN
    +2
    Everyone has seen the tiny skirts and underwear the cheer squad girls flash at a whole crowd of adoring guys in the stands. Does anybody think, a low cut, short prom dress is anywhere as revealing?? Quit the hypocrisy; let the girls enjoy flashing it. Let their dates salivate.
  • Red_Horse JOHN CRAIN 2012/04/05 03:33:27
  • David (... Red_Horse 2012/04/05 09:58:31
  • OneLast... David (... 2012/04/05 14:46:21 (edited)
    OneLastWord
    In the U.S. you’d be called "Dirty Old Man". Prevert is too strong.

    My answer when I was young when I was and called Dirty Old Man by older women (who I lusted after) I would say, "Ant Old".
  • David (... OneLast... 2012/04/05 22:13:20
  • Red_Horse David (... 2012/04/05 15:28:21
  • David (... Red_Horse 2012/04/05 22:18:12
  • Red_Horse David (... 2012/04/05 23:58:28
  • David (... Red_Horse 2012/04/06 08:54:55
  • Red_Horse David (... 2012/04/06 16:18:51
  • David (... Red_Horse 2012/04/06 16:20:12
  • Red_Horse David (... 2012/04/06 16:27:55
  • OneLast... Red_Horse 2012/04/05 14:22:27
    OneLastWord
    +1
    Ha,... funny.
  • Red_Horse OneLast... 2012/04/05 15:29:09
  • JOHN CRAIN Red_Horse 2012/07/09 02:31:37
    JOHN CRAIN
    +1
    Agreed!!! It's really just hypocracy to have leering adults in the stands, then put down girls for dressing skimpily for a prom. LOL At least in a prom dress nothing is THAT obvious. And, the prom dates are guys their own age; not 50 year olds getting their kicks.
  • Red_Horse JOHN CRAIN 2012/07/09 02:35:37
  • JOHN CRAIN Red_Horse 2012/07/24 03:52:57
    JOHN CRAIN
    +1
    LOL Too true.
  • David (... JOHN CRAIN 2012/04/05 09:45:03
  • GLaDOS JOHN CRAIN 2012/04/05 20:36:10
    GLaDOS
    +1
    - .- They're not panties, they're briefs, to be worn over the underwear.
  • bob h. 2012/04/05 02:37:42
    bob h.
    +4
    Burkkas for the masses. Can't be too careful.
  • TMan bob h. 2012/04/05 14:05:27
  • peggy 2012/04/05 02:05:27
    peggy
    No as long as its within the limits of the schools codes
  • James 2012/04/05 01:41:59
    James
    +4
    Sexy prom dress shouldn't necessarily be banned but I think parents should do a better job in making sure their daughters are raised to look classy, not slutty in formal situations such as this.
  • Red_Horse James 2012/04/05 15:30:30
  • James Red_Horse 2012/04/06 01:33:26
    James
    +1
    If I don't need my imagination to see your boobs, it's too sexy ;-)
  • Red_Horse James 2012/04/06 02:55:59
  • James Red_Horse 2012/04/06 16:42:31
    James
    +1
    If you were a woman, and you had these relatively large (to a man's) soft packages on your chest. Dork.....

    :-p
  • Red_Horse James 2012/04/06 23:25:44
  • James Red_Horse 2012/04/08 15:24:51
    James
    +1
    lol nah I'm not going to go there.....

    I need a human guinea pig.
  • Red_Horse James 2012/04/08 16:17:08

See Votes by State

The map above displays the winning answer by region.

Living

2014/08/22 06:02:53

Hot Questions on SodaHead
More Hot Questions

More Community More Originals