Quantcast

PUBLIC OPINION > Dogs Are Better Than Cats

Living 2012/06/26 21:03:31
There's always a little bit of a rivalry between dog people and cat people, so we wanted to find out a little bit about what makes them tick with a simple poll. Just to be clear, when we say "dog people" and "cat people," we're not talking about humanoid creatures with dog-heads and cat-heads, although that would be pretty awesome. We're talking about people who prefer dogs or cats, okay? Glad we cleared that up.



Sorry, cat people, but you were outnumbered nearly two-to-one. Cats may have some good qualities of their own, but they're no match for man's best friend. Cats are mostly good for aesthetic purposes. They slink about the room like stealthy ninjas, provide villains with something sinister to pet, and occasionally can haz cheezburger. But dogs provide entertainment, protection, affection, and loyalty.

On Ur Internets, Ousting Ur Dogz

We're not sure if cats are becoming more popular because of the Internet, or if today's teens just tend to like cats more. We remember the days when kids asked for puppies, so we're inclined to believe the Internet is indeed responsible for this shift in preference. The great LOLcat invasion of 2007 was not in vain.

Parents Prefer Puppies

Though dogs are a little more to take care of -- taking them for walks, teaching them tricks, caring if they come back -- parents still strongly preferred them over cats. So, even though kids prefer cats, they're better off asking for a puppy. (And though the gender difference wasn't enough to do a section on, dad is probably your best bet.)

Atheists Don't Believe in Dog

Oddly enough, it seems natural that atheists prefer cats. There's something defiant about the way cats carry themselves. Unless they're looking for food or attention, they don't seem to answer to anyone else's whims. Perhaps that attitude can be frustrating for those who believe in hierarchy and higher powers.

If you'd like to vote on this question, dig deeper into the demographics, or engage in existing discussion about the topic, visit our poll about dogs and cats. We'd love to hear from you!
You!
Add Photos & Videos

Top Opinion

Sort By
  • Most Raves
  • Least Raves
  • Oldest
  • Newest
Opinions

  • lauren 2013/03/28 15:24:40
    lauren
    +2
    I'm an animal person in general and have had both cats and dogs. However I much prefer dogs as have had them around me ever since birth. Growing up around 8 huskies really does do something. My parents trusted me aroound them and now I have full trust in every dog. Both cat and dog have bad streaks and can be unpredictable. I do have to say if I had to save one it would be my dogs, they are loyal and protective. I would feel safer as well with a dog protecting me. Plus they help us, guide dogs, bomb dogs, drugs dogs and prison dogs. With out them life could be proven difficult. So on this dogs are a much better pet and friend but each to there own.
  • Jo 2012/11/12 23:21:55
    Jo
    +3
    Cats ;3 mow
  • ~Kutie~ 2012/08/03 07:58:22 (edited)
    ~Kutie~
    Nuff said.
  • DizziNY 2012/07/23 12:52:32 (edited)
    DizziNY
    cats rule




    cats rule





    cats rule



    cats rule

    Seriously, I love both cats and dogs. I just prefer cats over dogs.
  • ConfidentialDede 2012/07/02 19:06:42
    ConfidentialDede
    I perfer dogs ' I believe cats are honestly bi-polar and they scratch no ' ill kick a cat .
  • DizziNY Confide... 2012/07/23 12:53:11
    DizziNY
    And when you abuse an animal, I hope you get charged and arrested you jackass.
  • beach bum 2012/06/30 12:37:38
    beach bum
    i like dogs
  • Ayami 2012/06/29 22:48:33
    Ayami
    Dogs 4 ever! But still, i'm way more of a fennec fox person more than anything.
  • DizziNY Ayami 2012/07/23 12:59:52 (edited)
    DizziNY
    I love Fennec foxes too!!

    fennec fox

    Lol, he's so cute!!
  • Claybern 2012/06/28 22:06:49
    Claybern
    Dogs.
  • jennifer.wales.104 2012/06/28 19:45:46
    jennifer.wales.104
    dogs are better than cats cause they don't stink up your whole house! however dogs don't make you work for their love like cats do.
  • DizziNY jennife... 2012/07/23 12:56:15 (edited)
    DizziNY
    Actually dogs do smell gross unless you bathe them. Cats, on the other hand, don't smell. It's the lazy humans who don't clean the litterbox that makes the house smell. My cats make me work for love? No, more like they love unconditionally. You obviously know nothing about cats and animals in general.

    cat human snuggle
  • Kurbdog 2012/06/28 18:19:22
    Kurbdog
    I am an ANIMAL person ,everything from mice to elephants. Dogs and cats both have their own positives and negatives. My "favorite" animals are not liked by very many people. red tailed boa tegu
  • Laura Lyon 2012/06/28 18:02:12
    Laura Lyon
    +1
    I think cats are better.
  • Jim Barnes 2012/06/28 17:35:13
    Jim Barnes
    +3
    Very simple. Dogs are sweet animals who show nothing but unconditional love and affection to their owners, there fun and sociable. Cats are tempermental antisocial unpredictable little bastards who will go from purring on your lap to scratching the piss outta you in 2 seconds flat. There pretty much house trained rodents. And what do we do with rodents? EXTERMINATE!
  • DizziNY Jim Barnes 2012/07/23 13:00:50
    DizziNY
    You need help because you sound mentally unstable.
  • Sarah TH Marshall Switcher 2012/06/28 16:04:51
    Sarah TH Marshall Switcher
    This is like the 5th time since I've been here that Sodahead has done the exact same poll, and the answer changes every time >_<
  • Brad # 2486547 2012/06/28 13:32:19
    Brad # 2486547
    I have had dogs all my life, but recently we got a cat and he is great. However, I still think dogs are best...for now...
  • kay29 2012/06/28 11:02:25 (edited)
    kay29
    Preferably dogs, though I've met some beautiful natured cats before.



    black groodle puppy hd wallpaper
    golden retriever adult dog hd wallpaper
    beautiful black cat hd wallpaper
    beautiful kitten hd wallpaper
  • DizziNY kay29 2012/07/23 13:02:43 (edited)
    DizziNY
    +1
    All animals are innocent, imo. I play with, hug, pet, talk to, and kiss my cats all the time. Everyone who meets them always says that I have such nice cats.
  • jerry.alan.carroll 2012/06/28 08:47:11
  • BIG BAD JOHN R. 2012/06/28 02:10:57
    BIG BAD JOHN R.
    +3
    i LIKE THEM BOTH DOG AND CAYS
  • relic 2012/06/28 01:04:14
    relic
    Cats are EVUL.
    cat eating dog
    cat eating dog
    cats evul
  • DizziNY relic 2012/07/23 13:03:49
    DizziNY
    +1
    Go kittay!

    cats rule
  • brittneylalaa 2012/06/28 00:27:58
    brittneylalaa
    +1
    I have both but I really don't like my cat. Most of the time when I come near him he runs in the other direction. Then I wonder why I even have him.
  • RJeffreySavlov 2012/06/28 00:11:19
    RJeffreySavlov
    +2
    Cats are more selfish and self centered.
  • Brad # ... RJeffre... 2012/06/28 13:33:04
    Brad # 2486547
    like liberals
  • RJeffre... Brad # ... 2012/06/29 14:49:09
    RJeffreySavlov
    +1
    BRAVO!!!
  • DizziNY Brad # ... 2012/07/23 13:04:28 (edited)
    DizziNY
    Sorry cats are not liberals. They are independent unlike liberalss who want to spong off everyone else. If anything dogs are liberals because they depend on humans to do everything for them. Either way, I love them both but I prefer cats.

    cats

    big small cats
  • Brad # ... DizziNY 2012/07/23 13:05:51
    Brad # 2486547
    OK I can see that.
  • DizziNY RJeffre... 2012/07/23 13:05:26
    DizziNY
    I don't know where you get that from because every cat I have met has been very lovable. My cats are very lovable and un-selfish. I think you may be speaking about yourself.
  • Michelle 2012/06/28 00:08:34
    Michelle
    +1
    I have both a cat and a dog and I'd never be able to chose between them!
  • Maja Milanovic 2012/06/27 23:47:50
    Maja Milanovic
    +4
    I love cats love cats
  • Kurbdog Maja Mi... 2012/06/28 18:06:44
  • lexi 2012/06/27 22:17:22
    lexi
    I like dogs more cats are mean sometimes
  • DizziNY lexi 2012/07/23 13:09:16
    DizziNY
    And dogs can't be mean sometimes? You can't be serious.
  • Lycanthrope101 2012/06/27 21:55:38
    Lycanthrope101
    +1
    Oh come on! A cat can amuse and entertain you for hours with the help of a laser pointer, kill flies and spiders, catches it's own dinner and cleans itself. A dog poos, needs constant attention, needs bathing and is very noisy. Sorry dogs, kittehs all the way!
  • ♥##**AWESOME♥B****##**♥ 2012/06/27 21:03:13
    ♥##**AWESOME♥B****##**♥
    +1
    DOGS ARE AWESOME BUT THEY POO ALOT
  • *Mississippi Girl* 2012/06/27 20:44:14
    *Mississippi Girl*
    +1
    I love my two cats to death. But I also love my dog. My oldest cat is 9 years old and the youngests is 4 months old. My dog is 5 years old. But the love of my life is my rabbit who is 6 years old.
  • Sandman366 2012/06/27 20:14:14
    Sandman366
    +2
    A dog can be your best friend...
    ...but a cat can be your favorite amusement.


    Neither can win. It must tie.

See Votes by State

The map above displays the winning answer by region.

Living

2014/08/01 03:48:03

Hot Questions on SodaHead
More Hot Questions

More Community More Originals