Quantcast

PUBLIC OPINION > Divorce Rings Are Just Creepy

Living 2012/04/06 19:21:30
French jewelry designer Gisele Ganne is known for creating morbid items symbolizing death and mourning. One of the most popular and... well, disturbing items in the designer's repertoire are divorce rings -- and it's exactly what it sounds like. But Gisele's divorce rings are more elaborate than your traditional engagement or wedding ring. These things are decked out with bird skulls and daggers, and many of them are more like brass knuckles than rings. We asked the public if the idea is cool or creepy.



What, divorce isn't cool? Yeah, most people gave this idea a big thumbs down. We probably don't need to give much of an explanation for why people are against them ("Why does anyone need to be reminded of their divorce?"), but some of the comments in favor of the rings are worth noting: "This is better than my 'I just dumped the whore' t-shirt idea..." "Can you get one even if you've never been married?" Actually, a lot of the "Cool" voters noted they didn't like the divorce part of it; they just like the ring.

Too Morbid If You're Married

Not surprisingly, married voters were unenthusiastic about the idea. The divorced sample base was on the small side, but singles and divorcees were about three times more likely to think the rings are cool. Although, neither were as interested as the voters in "complicated" relationships.

Atheists Are Amused

Thought Christians were more interested than married voters, the sanctity of marriage kept their "cool" level down to a mere 17%. Atheists, on the other hand, were very amused. Half of them thought the idea was pretty cool. Agnostics weren't quite as amused, but still nearly twice as much as Christians.

Teens Think They Look Awesome

We noticed a lot of comments from teens and young adults referred directly to the ring designs, not the idea of a "divorce ring," per se. We also noticed approval ratings for age groups over 35 were abysmal, indicating it's probably not an adult-friendly design. Maybe Gisele could sell some brass knock-offs online as "breakup rings."

If you'd like to vote on this question, dig deeper into the demographics, or engage in existing discussion about the topic, visit our poll about divorce rings. We'd love to hear from you!
You!
Add Photos & Videos

Top Opinion

Sort By
  • Most Raves
  • Least Raves
  • Oldest
  • Newest
Opinions

  • Paul 2012/04/15 07:49:10
    Paul
    Why would you spend money on something like this. If you live in California, you get screwed so hard that you get a permanent ring around your a$$hole after divorce!
  • Melanie 2012/04/11 02:17:11
    Melanie
    .............no.
  • studiobrat PWCM AFCL 2012/04/10 20:57:27
    studiobrat  PWCM AFCL
    Creepy and a rip-off!
  • Cole 2012/04/10 14:14:37
    Cole
    Very very creepy!!!!
  • The_Cat 2012/04/10 02:30:39
    The_Cat
    Such a waste of money....
  • cassie 2012/04/09 23:43:03
    cassie
    those are awesome I want one!
  • Fred 2012/04/09 18:24:38
    Fred
    Only creeping thing about it is that someone would buy one
  • BRIDGET 2012/04/09 17:08:55
    BRIDGET
    WHY ADVERTISE?
  • DeborahLakeHelen 2012/04/09 17:03:53
    DeborahLakeHelen
    They're as moronic as getting a bull ring the size of a door knocker put through your nose.

    ring through nose
  • Fred Deborah... 2012/04/09 18:25:06
    Fred
    +1
    Now this is creepy
  • Deborah... Fred 2012/04/09 20:25:14
    DeborahLakeHelen
    I wonder what would happen if that ring got caught on a seatbelt as it was snapping back into place after being unbuckled, or a dog's leash somehow made it into that ring......at the same moment the dog saw a cat flip him off.....

    cat mocking dog
  • YOMOMMA 2012/04/09 16:51:48
    YOMOMMA
    CREEPY!!
  • Margaret Jacobson 2012/04/09 16:44:57
    Margaret Jacobson
    Can you imagine the so called celebs that have been married 6 or more times??? NOT ENOUGH FINGERS!!! then what ???
  • MartiniJean 2012/04/09 16:42:55
    MartiniJean
    I think THAT ring in itself is really cool. The thought of a divorce ring is kind of morbid. 'Woo, don't marry me, I've failed 6 times!'
  • Lucy Sparkles :3 2012/04/09 16:08:44
  • AngelArs 2012/04/09 16:08:31
    AngelArs
    +3
    Divorce rings.... because you want to advertise that you failed..
  • MentalCabbage 2012/04/09 15:20:35
  • tammy roof 2012/04/09 14:40:51
    tammy roof
    Creepy
  • katguard 2012/04/09 13:44:13
    katguard
    I like them turned my wedding band set into a ring like this 20 years ago. They will never go out of style.
  • Sandman366 2012/04/09 12:14:39
    Sandman366
    The cats are hiding from this.
    In the toilet.

    no just no lolcat
  • GwEN 2012/04/09 10:48:10
    GwEN
    i think it is frikken cool
  • Rai Moreason 2012/04/09 04:26:24
    Rai Moreason
    +3
    This one looks to much like Ridley to me...
    [IMG]http://i1209.photobucket...
  • Just Jenn for Now 2012/04/09 03:03:08
    Just Jenn for Now
    I love them! As I said in the question though, change the meaning behind them; I want one just for the appearance!

    Wouldn't it make more sense for the stone in a divorce ring to be BLACK anyway? Since a WEDDING ring has a WHITE diamond??

    Where did the idea for a bird skull come from? :\
  • Apache 2012/04/09 01:44:31
  • Old Nel... Apache 2012/04/09 02:39:03
    Old Nellie Bones
    Definitely. Stay away
  • Louisa - Enemy of the State 2012/04/09 00:41:38
    Louisa - Enemy of the State
    I actually like the ring.........but did this instead.

    X man
  • TheNigh... Louisa ... 2012/04/09 14:21:41
    TheNightFly
    What does all that mean?
  • Louisa ... TheNigh... 2012/04/09 14:23:19
    Louisa - Enemy of the State
    It's self explainable.
  • TheNigh... Louisa ... 2012/04/09 14:28:56
    TheNightFly
    Let's see... you killed a flaming homosexual... and now you're staring in the next three stooges movie?
  • Artisan Rose ☽✪☾☥ 2012/04/08 22:38:43 (edited)
    Artisan Rose ☽✪☾☥
    "Teens Think They Look Awesome"
    This teen thinks they're horrible.
  • Bureauc 0Bamao 2012/04/08 20:48:13
    Bureauc 0Bamao
    That would be like leaving an obama bumper sticker on your car. Provided you were dumb enough to buy his BS to begin with.
  • reiana 2012/04/08 19:12:18
    reiana
    +2
    this just keeps hate alive. If you devolve your marriage. Than do what you need to do to move forward. I find it crazy to have a reminder of a painful time starring you in the face.
    Things like this make people bitter and go mad!
  • Deborah 2012/04/08 18:52:14
    Deborah
    It's a little gross.
  • MrsJJS 2012/04/08 15:16:24
  • Purple Pinto ~PWCM~JLA 2012/04/08 14:04:40
    Purple Pinto ~PWCM~JLA
    Creepy.

    Shopping therapy is a common phenomenon. You buy something nice for yourself to fill a void. Some make a habit out of it, in fact.

    A 'divorce present' to oneself is something that fills that deep void but it's usually a car, trip to the Bahamas, or a nice piece of jewelry that doesn't necessarily remind you of the 'event'.

    Divorce isn't something you celebrate or symbolize for commemorative purposes. It's something that you weather and survive. It is an ugly, heart wrenching, gut wrenching, destructive act that unfortunately is sometimes necessary. Sometimes it's people just being selfish and flighty rather than working through issues, but other times it's a necessary liberation from a toxic partner. Addiction, adultery, abuse, or a combination thereof.

    Celebrate it? Commemmorate it? That's simply evil.
  • bettyboop 2012/04/08 13:07:47
    bettyboop
    Let it go, if you have gold rings left over, go make some moola off them.
  • strange_armour 2012/04/08 11:56:35
    strange_armour
    I see no valid reason to buy yet more jewellery for someone who is probably straddling her lawyer. Marriage is already enough of a great investment for women. It would be a real time saver of they just told blokes how much they charge.
  • zomgitsyoulol 2012/04/08 09:14:52
    zomgitsyoulol
    I like the design, I'd wear it just because of the ring, though I would prefer silver over gold
  • Nickolie 2012/04/08 08:11:38
    Nickolie
    +1
    Where do you put your finger?
  • kay29 2012/04/08 06:33:50 (edited)
    kay29
    +1
    Just a tad creepy...
    divorce ring
    Though very shiny...

See Votes by State

The map above displays the winning answer by region.

Living

2014/07/25 09:04:45

Hot Questions on SodaHead
More Hot Questions

More Community More Originals