Quantcast

PUBLIC OPINION > Bra Tops Are Sexy (Sometimes)

Living 2012/04/12 13:00:00
We're already a few weeks into spring, but since Mr. Punxsutawney Phil caught a glimpse of his shadow in February, the cold season has been overstaying its welcome. Now it's finally time to dive into spring fashion, and one of the most noteworthy trends surfacing on the runway (and red carpet) is the "bra top." The tummy-touting trend was worn by Katy Perry and Selena Gomez at the Kids' Choice Awards, and Miuccia Prada showed off a few different styles on the runway this week. We asked the public if the bra top gets a pass.



It's easy to see why Elle took issue with the trend. Bra tops did get a majority vote, but it was a slim win. Nearly everyone noted that it depends who's wearing it, for the same reason you might say a particular bikini would only be sexy on certain people. In other words, they seem better-suited for the young and skinny. But hey, it works on the Prada models!

Men Like It More

It might be useful for potential buyers to note that the look is far more appealing to men. Sometimes women dress to impress their own sex; sometimes they dress for the guys. This is definitely a look that will go over better in the latter case. Women were split. Guys were consistently impressed.

Kids Clash

Some older respondents said they'd wear an outfit like that if they were younger, but the demographic breakdown showed younger voters, particularly teens, were less likely to call the look "Sexy." It could just be that older voters admire bra tops for the youth they exude. Fortunately, voters over 50 began to lose interest.

Godless Tops

Finally, the last major demographic difference was religion. Christian voters were significantly less interested in the tops, for obvious reasons. Atheists, on the other hand, were some of the most interested respondents, with 81% voting in favor of the trend.


If you'd like to vote on this question, dig deeper into the demographics, or engage in existing discussion about the topic, visit our poll about bra tops. We'd love to hear from you!
You!
Add Photos & Videos

Top Opinion

Sort By
  • Most Raves
  • Least Raves
  • Oldest
  • Newest
Opinions

  • Bibliophilic 2013/06/11 20:01:57
    Bibliophilic
    With a high waisted skirt/pant, sure. With low waisted jeans=trashy.
  • RevBH 2013/05/31 03:42:19
    RevBH
    No garment is inherently sexy. Sexiness comes from the wearer and how s/he wears the garment.

    Some people can make coveralls sexy. Some people can't make "special" lingerie sexy.
  • smileyangle:D 2012/04/17 17:05:57
    smileyangle:D
    +1
    not really in front of public but still for fashion i personally think that you can wear bra tops but you can put jacket on outside its looks more cooler :D crop tops
  • Erin Innocent 2012/04/17 13:40:56
    Erin Innocent
    i dont really like them
    but i guess theyre fine
  • Azrael-In GOD we trust 2012/04/16 00:58:06
    Azrael-In GOD we trust
    +1
    If the person has a good body for the bra top-wear it.
  • Tami Dauer 2012/04/16 00:11:19
    Tami Dauer
    hell yeah
  • kayna 2012/04/15 21:49:09 (edited)
    kayna
    +1
    Who cares! If you like it and you think it's sexy go ahead and wear it! Knock yourself out!
  • CA Gal 2012/04/15 19:38:24
    CA Gal
    Yes, bra tops can be sexy when worn in good taste. The same as any other fashion trend.
  • Fashionable60s 2012/04/15 14:50:48
    Fashionable60s
    +2
    Great for the young and the toned. They are not appropriate for office wear but OK for walking around on weekend or if you go to a resort.
  • Roxxi 2012/04/15 13:41:05
    Roxxi
    But there has to be a balance. I wouldn't wear it with tiny shorts, more of something with a long summer skirt, and only for a casual setting.
  • Jan Nel 2012/04/15 13:40:02
    Jan Nel
    But, of course they are.
  • thebarbecuemaster 2012/04/15 06:53:21
    thebarbecuemaster
    +1
    i think they should wear brazillian style bra tops called dental floss either way it will cause an increase in car accidents from men straining to get a peek. thats the downside men will crash into things so maybe the girls should just wear bikinis.
    alan
    http://thebarbecuemaster.net/...
  • buneter 2012/04/13 22:25:20
    buneter
    sexy its not like a bra its like a fashion bra if that makes any sense a bra is very small this is bigger like asports bra
  • Mark 2012/04/13 15:18:02
    Mark
    TMI
  • wikiou 2012/04/13 14:55:52
  • Aubrey Caraballo 2012/04/13 14:04:04
    Aubrey Caraballo
    sexy
  • Grandpa 2012/04/13 12:56:23
    Grandpa
    +2
    Frist they were Halters ,Then mid-riffs Now to sell them they have changed the name to bra-top >>> Just like Rap is the same as cadence we marched to in the military >> Change the name talk about killing then it sells >> And kids waste there money on this crap
  • Jian Qi 2012/04/13 08:06:04
    Jian Qi
    there are times and places, rather in over 20 degrees places, or on a beach. not in downtown new york please ^^
  • El Jefe 2012/04/13 03:56:40
    El Jefe
    What is this the 90's?
  • Junichi 2012/04/13 03:30:32
    Junichi
    +1
    i don't like them at all they look kinda silly lol
  • Catherine-Grace 2012/04/13 02:54:48
    Catherine-Grace
    they are alright but not very awesome!
  • peaches 2012/04/13 02:43:03
    peaches
    Ehh, some look worse than others, I personally don't really like them...
  • ktyxes 2012/04/13 01:46:48
    ktyxes
    i think they are very nice on the right body
  • Tabitha 2012/04/13 01:40:14
    Tabitha
    +1
    It looks stupid to me.
  • ChocolateThunder 2012/04/13 01:23:28
    ChocolateThunder
    +2
    It depends on who's wearing it and how it looks. For example, the second girl should not be modeling anything.

    Personally, I think it's alright to wear as long as you have the body, it's during the summer on a hot day, and it's a casual event.

    PS
    For anyone calling it 'whorish' or 'slutty'
    then so is this
    people at beach

    Look at those girls!
  • ktyxes Chocola... 2012/04/13 01:48:08
    ktyxes
    are you sure the second one is a girl. thashicra
  • Chocola... ktyxes 2012/04/13 11:39:52
    ChocolateThunder
    I meant just the girls.
  • Bibliop... Chocola... 2013/06/11 20:03:51
    Bibliophilic
    The second girl is hot. You must mean the third from the left because she is not as thin? How sad... unless you picked her out because she is Black.
  • stevmackey 2012/04/13 01:20:37
    stevmackey
    I do not know. Ask an expert. Ask Madonna.
  • Resp 2012/04/13 01:15:29
    Resp
    +1


    Any questions?
  • ★misfit★ 2012/04/13 01:06:15
    ★misfit★
    For the right figure, they are cute. I personally wouldn't wear one because I'm too soft and white, but why criticize those who can?
  • Andjella ObeyYMCMB 2012/04/12 23:58:57
    Andjella  ObeyYMCMB
    If you're a girl with a really good body shape, if you are endowed woman, then sure it looks sexy.It is fail in any other cases..
  • ThewildOne 2012/04/12 22:07:29
    ThewildOne
    +1
    they are sexy but it depends of your body type and how you look in them :)
  • Dan 2012/04/12 22:05:27
    Dan
    +1
    Yes, they are sexier. On the right people.
  • cookie monster 2012/04/12 20:41:07
    cookie monster
    +3
    Seems kinda whoreish.
  • The Inc... cookie ... 2012/04/13 01:08:59
    The Incurable Pessimist
    +1
    Gets raped when she is asking for it, idiots.
  • ktyxes The Inc... 2012/04/13 01:49:34
    ktyxes
    +1
    how is she asking for it. a rapist is gonna rape no matterwhat a person has on.
  • The Inc... ktyxes 2012/04/13 03:00:12
    The Incurable Pessimist
    +2
    Most get triggered by females in flimsy clothing.
    Better keep your bits covered.
  • I Wish ... The Inc... 2012/04/13 09:02:16
    I Wish I Were A Skywalker... ~ In Television I Trust
    +1
    Just because you're wearing a low cut top, doesn't mean you should be raped.
  • ktyxes The Inc... 2012/04/13 13:56:12
    ktyxes
    That's not true

See Votes by State

The map above displays the winning answer by region.

Living

2014/09/20 08:08:44

Hot Questions on SodaHead
More Hot Questions

More Community More Originals