Quantcast

PUBLIC OPINION > Being Super Skinny Isn't All That

Living 2012/06/08 22:00:00
"American Idol" original Kelly Clarkson proudly announced that she had absolutely no desire to be "super-skinny," echoing statements Adele made last year. Clarkson said, "I do cardio. I run. I strength-train using my own body weight. [But] really, what I try to instill in my fans is to be healthy and happy. I have no desire to be super-skinny." We wanted to know if other people have that desire.



We suspect many people want to be thin, or thinner, but "stick thin" indicates an extreme. So it shouldn't come as a surprise that most people claim they're free from that desire. In other words, they have healthy expectations. One commenter even wrote, "I'd rather be called fat than anorexic." But, as Clarkson said, the key is to stay happy and healthy. A desire to be stick thin can never be healthy.

Weight Affects Women

Women obviously have more societal expectations to deal with, and that was abundantly clear in the results. Women were more than twice as likely as men to say they'd felt the desire to be "stick thin." Nearly half of women had struggled with that feeling, compared to just one in five guys.

Skinny Struggles Too

We expected there to be a difference in response correlating to weight class, but we definitely didn't expect the slimmest voters to struggle the most. Skinny voters were 8% more likely than overweight voters to say they'd felt the desire to be super-skinny. Overweight people would likely be content just to lose some weight, but for some it's never enough.

Old-Timers Are Content

The desire to be attractive or accepted is timeless, but older generations were far less likely to have felt the desire to be super-skinny, even though they have decades on the younger voters. And because the question asked if voters have "ever" wanted to be stick thin, we have to assume it's a relatively new issue.

If you'd like to vote on this question, dig deeper into the demographics, or engage in existing discussion about the topic, visit our poll about being super-skinny. We'd love to hear from you!
You!
Add Photos & Videos

Top Opinion

  • Jay Victoria 2012/06/08 22:31:58
    Jay Victoria
    +18
    I'm sorry, but I personally am getting sick and tired of this. If you don't think being "super skinny" is all that, then so be it. Maybe it wasn't meant for you, or in street terms, "You ain't about that life..." Have I ever felt the need to be stick thin? NOPE! Because I'm naturally stick thin. I get criticized for my size a lot, but at the end of the day there still are thousands of girls who practically kill themselves to be as thin as me. And if you DO want to be skinny, do it the healthy way. Eat well, work out, and don't over-do anything.

Sort By
  • Most Raves
  • Least Raves
  • Oldest
  • Newest
Opinions

  • Nick 2013/09/01 19:56:57
  • Matthew Schafer 2013/08/25 10:54:30
    Matthew Schafer
    thats disgusting way too thin wemon are supposed to have curves
  • dog 2012/12/11 14:28:17
    dog
    I guess it's better than big a fat ass
  • Soviet Revolution 2012/07/02 18:10:30
    Soviet Revolution
    Good super skinny is like super fqt extremely un attractive.
  • LunarRain 2012/06/30 08:57:47
    LunarRain
    All body types are lovely personally i like how I'm curvey but I don't have a problem with super skinny girls I just prefer when people dress for their body types.
  • Frumshus. 2012/06/13 23:43:51
    Frumshus.
    +2
    Hm...So it's okay to be a little overweight, but it's not okay to be underweight? How unfair is that? Why do we always have to defend overweight people? Sometimes you can't help being super skinny. Just because you're naturally super skinny doesn't mean your ugly.
  • janet 2012/06/12 15:52:42
    janet
    +1
    To each their own.
  • kal98 2012/06/12 15:22:31
    kal98
    ugh she too thin looks sickly if a person does not have enough flesh to protect during times of illness probable expire
  • ~HopelessRomanticM17~ 2012/06/12 15:17:24
    ~HopelessRomanticM17~
    No, i think it's gross
  • stevegtexas@aol.com 2012/06/12 14:30:35
  • queenalyss 2012/06/12 06:20:36
    queenalyss
    Aha fatties
  • zakkirah queenalyss 2012/06/25 13:48:02
    zakkirah
    what are you mAD BECAUSe ur fat
  • queenalyss zakkirah 2012/06/27 05:17:36
    queenalyss
    LOL I weigh 90 pounds, go yell at somebody else.
  • LunarRain queenalyss 2012/06/30 08:57:29
    LunarRain
    Then are you jealous because your really thin. Not saying I have a problem with your body type just that your attacking another for no reason. She also isn't fat she looks a healthy weight.
  • queenalyss LunarRain 2012/07/04 05:29:35
    queenalyss
    Lol who are you even talking about?
  • LunarRain queenalyss 2012/07/04 05:32:14
    LunarRain
    I thought you were commenting on the picture above but you weren't
  • queenalyss LunarRain 2012/07/04 05:33:59
    queenalyss
    alright
  • queenalyss zakkirah 2012/06/27 05:17:59
    queenalyss
    And learn how to type correctly please.
  • Pat 2012/06/12 05:07:13
    Pat
    I don't think that being super thin is attractive or healthy. Your body needs some fat, not a lot but some in order to function properly. A bony body is very unattractive.
  • vinone 2012/06/12 03:23:11
    vinone
    +1
    Not important to me, but I'm really close to being super attracted to that girl in this post.
  • Cameron 2012/06/12 02:06:53
    Cameron
    +1
    being too anything is highly unattracitve in my opinion
  • JoeM~PWCM~JLA 2012/06/11 23:03:41
    JoeM~PWCM~JLA
    super thin is as sexy as super fat. both make me look away.
  • Ann 2012/06/11 22:12:47
    Ann
    +1
    Stick thin never. This girl looks anorexia not attractive with ribs sticking out; she needs to gain 15 pounds. I have the desire to be a healthy weight for my height and shape. I also have a desire not to be influenced by the media, magazines, fashion designers and cosmetics companies, the overall Trends are not trendy or desirable. Too much stressing over looks, over priced products. Who wouldn’t want to make $200.00 for a pair of Jeans that should cost $30.00 tops! If you are foolish to buy a $40.00, lipstick or $1,000 dollar skin creams that do not work any better the drug store brands. Like organic cosmetics, there are quite a few good skin creams and makeup in these lines for a lot less without high toxicities. If you focus on nutrition, your skin will not only glow, but you will lose weight by eating healthy foods that are free of bad fat, cholesterol and unhealthy additives. You need fat but the good kind, like olive oil etc. Food can cure, make healthy choices. Be confident it all that you do and who you are make wise educated choices. Be original no two snowflakes are alike.
  • marcus ... Ann 2012/06/18 18:39:43
    marcus armijo
    I like the way you put that. I try to preach to all my friends.
  • AngelaDuke 2012/06/11 20:48:02
    AngelaDuke
    There are just as many health risks being too skinny as there are being to fat but I'd still rather be too skinny then weigh 300 pounds.
  • dandieselonian 2012/06/11 20:12:53
    dandieselonian
    +3
    Some years ago I lost 60 pound during my divorce , everyone including women told me I looked great but I didnt feel great . skinny man
  • marcus armijo 2012/06/11 19:20:51
    marcus armijo
    Super skinny is fn disgusting. Eat something already.
  • tragic silence 2012/06/11 18:39:01
    tragic silence
    +3
    Slender is one thing. People need to stop bashing other because their hips don't flare out as much or they aren't C cups. This whole "curvy women are superior" thing is crap. Unless your ribs are clearly visible and you're underweight, you're fine as you are.

    (P.S.--by curves, we mean fit curves. It's one thing to be a curvaceous, full bodied woman and another to have, well, rolls and muffin tops. Wrong curves there.)
  • twizzle... tragic ... 2012/06/12 12:44:54
    twizzler265
    interesting curves philosophy
  • Ben 2012/06/11 17:59:31
    Ben
    +3
    And Sodahead's War on Skinny continues...
  • Diana Ben 2012/06/11 19:22:07
    Diana
    +2
    Me thinks they are just jealous.
  • LILY 2012/06/11 17:51:26
    LILY
    +1
    this is disturbing in so many ways. Ughh people need some meat on their bones. we werent made as skeletons we were made with chunkyness and bone.
  • Diana LILY 2012/06/11 19:23:06
    Diana
    +1
    No one is born "chunky". Fat is not healthy by any means. In fact we are the only country that thinks so judging by the obesity rate
  • ☠ Live ... Diana 2012/06/11 21:04:51
    ☠ Live Free Or Die ☠
    +2
    No one is born chunky?
    born chunky
    Fat is not healthy by any means? The brain is made partly of fat, and the neurons cannot work properly without it. Apparently you haven't got enough fat... lol
  • Diana ☠ Live ... 2012/06/13 14:43:40
    Diana
    +1
    Let me rephrase. Excess fat is not healthy, obviously everyone has body fat to an extent some more than others. I have never seen a morbidly obese baby. Baby "fat" is a lot different than what most adults carry on them. The fat that is stored in areas such as your belly, butt, thighs, that is nothing more that excess waste is not healthy. All that means is that you put more in your body that you burn or use. I take care of myself so you can hold your remarks.
  • JoeM~PW... Diana 2012/06/12 00:20:44
    JoeM~PWCM~JLA
    Dear young miss from the northern state, my guess is that you are not skinny, but "average" acording to the BMI calculator. Being that normal for you would be from 104 to 141. There is a lot of room in the normal range. I am a little taller than you and have a BMI in the highish end of the normal range. Interestingly enough, most people think I am "skinny".

    BTW 122 would be your idea weight. (balance of strength, healthy body fat, etc)
  • Diana JoeM~PW... 2012/06/13 14:46:50
    Diana
    +1
    I'm 5'4 and weigh 120 pounds most of that is muscle because I lift weights and do cardio 5 times a week. When most people guess my weight for some odd reason they are off by about 10-15 less than what I usually weigh. I don't support anorexia or starving to be stick thin as much as I don't support obesity. My body is a temple I take special care in what I put in it. I have no desire to be smaller just toned and healthy.
  • JoeM~PW... Diana 2012/06/13 15:59:53
    JoeM~PWCM~JLA
    +1
    The missing letter.... Ideal, not idea.
  • LILY Diana 2012/06/26 17:44:25
    LILY
    maybe i didnt use the correct word but people need some meat on their bones. not just skin and bone thats just disturbing in so many ways.
  • phil 2012/06/11 17:23:04
    phil
    Too thin is not in
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 ... 8 Next » Last »

See Votes by State

The map above displays the winning answer by region.

Living

2014/10/31 06:24:49

Hot Questions on SodaHead
More Hot Questions

More Community More Originals