Quantcast

PUBLIC OPINION > Being Super Skinny Isn't All That

Living 2012/06/08 22:00:00
"American Idol" original Kelly Clarkson proudly announced that she had absolutely no desire to be "super-skinny," echoing statements Adele made last year. Clarkson said, "I do cardio. I run. I strength-train using my own body weight. [But] really, what I try to instill in my fans is to be healthy and happy. I have no desire to be super-skinny." We wanted to know if other people have that desire.



We suspect many people want to be thin, or thinner, but "stick thin" indicates an extreme. So it shouldn't come as a surprise that most people claim they're free from that desire. In other words, they have healthy expectations. One commenter even wrote, "I'd rather be called fat than anorexic." But, as Clarkson said, the key is to stay happy and healthy. A desire to be stick thin can never be healthy.

Weight Affects Women

Women obviously have more societal expectations to deal with, and that was abundantly clear in the results. Women were more than twice as likely as men to say they'd felt the desire to be "stick thin." Nearly half of women had struggled with that feeling, compared to just one in five guys.

Skinny Struggles Too

We expected there to be a difference in response correlating to weight class, but we definitely didn't expect the slimmest voters to struggle the most. Skinny voters were 8% more likely than overweight voters to say they'd felt the desire to be super-skinny. Overweight people would likely be content just to lose some weight, but for some it's never enough.

Old-Timers Are Content

The desire to be attractive or accepted is timeless, but older generations were far less likely to have felt the desire to be super-skinny, even though they have decades on the younger voters. And because the question asked if voters have "ever" wanted to be stick thin, we have to assume it's a relatively new issue.

If you'd like to vote on this question, dig deeper into the demographics, or engage in existing discussion about the topic, visit our poll about being super-skinny. We'd love to hear from you!
You!
Add Photos & Videos

Top Opinion

  • Jay Victoria 2012/06/08 22:31:58
    Jay Victoria
    +18
    I'm sorry, but I personally am getting sick and tired of this. If you don't think being "super skinny" is all that, then so be it. Maybe it wasn't meant for you, or in street terms, "You ain't about that life..." Have I ever felt the need to be stick thin? NOPE! Because I'm naturally stick thin. I get criticized for my size a lot, but at the end of the day there still are thousands of girls who practically kill themselves to be as thin as me. And if you DO want to be skinny, do it the healthy way. Eat well, work out, and don't over-do anything.

Sort By
  • Most Raves
  • Least Raves
  • Oldest
  • Newest
Opinions

  • Deb Jay Vic... 2012/06/10 14:31:16
    Deb
    +1
    You stated that extremely well!! :) Same here, I'm thin....didn't like it as a teen, but such is life. I'm happy with the way I look now, and don't give 2 cents to what others think anyway. Better to be thin, instead of worrying about putting on weight and then trying to get it off. :)
  • ALL_BAN... Jay Vic... 2012/06/11 13:08:40
  • Cowgirl 2012/06/08 22:29:52
    Cowgirl
    +2
    Why would you want to be that skinny?
  • Jay Vic... Cowgirl 2012/06/08 22:34:45
    Jay Victoria
    +8
    Why?
    Some people think they'll look better
    Some people think they'll feel better
    Some people think they'll be more accepted by society
    Some people want to look like models
    Some do it to compete with other women
    Some have eating disorders
  • Kaimeso 2012/06/08 22:23:40
    Kaimeso
    +5
    There is a BIG difference between being pleasantly healthy thin and "Super Skinny",... I have NO desire to be "Super Skinny" but I do like being slender.
  • Lili13 2012/06/08 22:23:25
    Lili13
    I am fine the way i am =]
  • riceandradish 2012/06/08 22:22:55
    riceandradish
    I don't want to be skinny, it looks like u can break easily if ure skinny. I'd rather eat my cookies n excercise daily.
  • Poet003 2012/06/08 22:18:58
    Poet003
    No, I was briefly too into yoga for spiritual and recreational small town reasons.I always wanted to have muscular legs etc. I never wanted to be the stick I briefly was. I was never
    bulimic. I fasted too much or my weight adjusted badly for about 6 months or so.
  • Shawna 2012/06/08 22:06:58
    Shawna
    +2
    It's really easy to compare yourself to others and never be happy. When I was a teen I was tall and skinny. Just what everyone thinks they want to be. But I was self conscious and thought I didn't have a very womanly shape. Now I've got one-lol-and I would like to be a stick because I tend to like clothing styles that hang better on sticks. No pleasing me!
  • Buoyant... Shawna 2012/06/08 22:11:16 (edited)
    Buoyant Leadraft
    +2
    Come here you hot momma you... come give daddy a little sugar.
    I SAID SUGAR!..... SWEET JESUS, Nooooooo... NOT VAGINA!
  • Shawna Buoyant... 2012/06/08 22:12:50
  • Buoyant... Shawna 2012/06/09 00:31:22 (edited)
    Buoyant Leadraft
    +1
    wow... well maybe a little bit of vagina would be fine then.
  • Shawna Buoyant... 2012/06/09 02:34:20
    Shawna
    Vagina is less fattening. In case you are worried about your waistline.
  • Buoyant... Shawna 2012/06/09 15:59:37
    Buoyant Leadraft
    Well, i guess it's okay just to have a little.
  • Shawna Buoyant... 2012/06/09 16:48:23
    Shawna
    Justa little?

    alotta fagina
  • Buoyant... Shawna 2012/06/09 16:50:06
    Buoyant Leadraft
    +1
    It's Alotta Fagina!
  • Shawna Buoyant... 2012/06/09 16:51:49
    Shawna
    Why yes it is! Aren't you clever!
  • rhirhi 2012/06/08 22:06:33
    rhirhi
    I want to be thin but so thin its gross i want to be healthy
  • Buoyant... rhirhi 2012/06/08 22:12:41
    Buoyant Leadraft
    I JUST WANT TO HAVE A 28" WAIST AGAIN, LIKE IN HIGH SCHOOL.
  • ~Doll P... Buoyant... 2012/06/10 01:34:44
    ~Doll Princess~
    That's pretty big for a woman.
  • Buoyant... ~Doll P... 2012/06/10 01:45:20
    Buoyant Leadraft
    i was a tooth pick...but i am a guy.
  • ~Doll P... Buoyant... 2012/06/10 04:04:49
    ~Doll Princess~
    XD Alrighty, 28 isn't big for a guy.
  • Osaka rhirhi 2012/06/08 22:26:33 (edited)
    Osaka
    +1
    Not all that have their ribs showing can help it, some are naturally like that. Just ask the guy I almost dated.
  • Buoyant... Osaka 2012/06/09 00:33:18
    Buoyant Leadraft
    the skinny guys i hear have huge doodillies.
  • Osaka Buoyant... 2012/06/09 00:46:03
    Osaka
    Probably, though some are average. [Random boners tell all.]

    Though wouldn't be surprised if it was a long john.
  • ʂıoвнaп ♡ 2012/06/08 21:59:08 (edited)
    ʂıoвнaп ♡
    +1
    I voted that I've never had that desire. I'm perfectly fine with my not-super-skinny self.
  • Sister Jean 2012/06/08 21:54:49
  • Emelya 2012/06/08 21:53:26
    Emelya
    Not super skinny, but skinny enough
  • Buoyant... Emelya 2012/06/09 00:52:12
    Buoyant Leadraft
    They have a intravenous skinny-girl diet, for that extra demanding man who wants everything just right and can't tolerate fatties.
  • Emelya Buoyant... 2012/06/09 12:52:35
    Emelya
    iuss

See Votes by State

The map above displays the winning answer by region.

Living

2014/08/21 20:07:55

Hot Questions on SodaHead
More Hot Questions

More Community More Originals