Quantcast

Public Opinion Approves Sexy Prom Dresses [INFOGRAPHIC]

SodaHead Infographics 2012/04/10 16:00:00
School dress codes have been in place for ages, but following recent trends, schools have been cracking down on prom dresses, as well -- much to the chagrin of high schoolers and the joy of parents. The logic behind the bans is pretty obvious, but that doesn't necessarily mean it's justified. Should teen girls be able to wear what they want on their big night, or are some dresses just too dangerous to dangle in front of teen boys? We asked the public if sexy dresses should be banned, then broke it down so you can see how parents, teens, girls, and guys voted. We also included some insight into the brain of an average teen boy. Let's dive!

sodahead prom dress
You!
Add Photos & Videos

Top Opinion

  • tweet_tweet 2012/04/10 21:57:09 (edited)
    tweet_tweet
    +6
    I saw the survey....there was a major problem, and that was the wording of the question. The question asked if sexy prom dresses should be banned. It failed to define sexy. Some people were not voting against sexy dresses; they were voting against bikni top dresses. Sexy dresses are great, but some dresses, like below, are insane, and I see why schools ban them. dress prom dress

Sort By
  • Most Raves
  • Least Raves
  • Oldest
  • Newest
Opinions

  • Blood&Chocolate</3 2012/05/25 14:46:22
    Blood&Chocolate</3
    +2
    I personally think we should be able to wear what they want. Especially because guys can do stupid things at prom like streak through the dance and not even really get in trouble but girls can't wear a dress that shows a little clevage? That's insane! It's not like it's us girls' fault that guys are horny 9 out of 10 times.
  • Professor Wizard 2012/05/15 20:13:25
    Professor Wizard
    I'd be curious to see how those stats pan out North vs South. I perceive the southerners would want the girls to almost wear burkas... while the northerners would be fine with see-through mini skirts, as long as the nipples didn't show and the girls wore panties!

    I'm old - - in my prom days, the girls wore dresses like they were going to a Kings Ball - Sexy, but fully covered!
  • Mxyzzy 2012/05/06 09:28:37 (edited)
    Mxyzzy
    +1
    I think you should be able to wear whatever you want, as long as it's legal and not dangerous. If girls want to dress like a slut, then that's whatever. It's one of the few chances we have to dress up. Let us wear what we want!
  • Fariborz-Zak 2012/04/23 05:12:11
    Fariborz-Zak
    BAN them
  • Maurice Tillman 2012/04/22 06:08:32
    Maurice Tillman
    +1
    Looking like trash is bad. However, let's be straight up...most people who had a date on prom night "experimented" for the first time after the prom was over...
  • RoseyRhod 2012/04/20 22:33:25
    RoseyRhod
    It depends on how sexy. A dress can be construed as sexy without being too revealing or too tight. If someone is dressing like a prostitute or their boobs are falling out of it when they bend over, that's probably "too sexy."
  • fcombs 2012/04/19 02:11:31
    fcombs
    +3
    I'm old school. I like to see young girls looking pretty and sweet. I cannot stand to see a really young girl dressed and made up like a hooker. Unfortunately, I see it often.
  • Michelle Warren 2012/04/15 01:15:01
    Michelle Warren
    +3
    Oh i had to re-read that i thought it it said sleazy not sexy. You don't have to be naked to be sexy & sleazy is not sexy.
  • Jian Qi 2012/04/13 08:47:37
    Jian Qi
    +1
    um more detail please.... define and give more info on what ur asking....it ranges from mind to mind so more specifics are needed.
  • Mocha_Cupcake 2012/04/12 20:13:12 (edited)
    Mocha_Cupcake
    let people wear what ever the hell they want, as long as they arnt slutty.
  • Maurice... Mocha_C... 2012/04/22 06:03:22
    Maurice Tillman
    "As long as they are slutty"...My thoughts, exactly! Bring'em on ;-)
  • Mocha_C... Maurice... 2012/04/22 16:09:33
    Mocha_Cupcake
    *arnt lol
  • MrFabulous47 2012/04/12 17:21:48
    MrFabulous47
    +3
    Sexy , not slutty. I believe everyone knows the difference when they see it.
  • Vivi Lopez 2012/04/11 19:10:17
    Vivi Lopez
    +4
    their fine just dont look like this bitch paris hilton
  • fgjdsfweg Vivi Lopez 2012/04/12 00:48:56
  • RoseyRhod Vivi Lopez 2012/04/20 22:34:40
    RoseyRhod
    +1
    To me, that looks trashy.
  • Vivi Lopez RoseyRhod 2012/04/20 23:50:20
    Vivi Lopez
    thats what im trying to say
  • Maurice... Vivi Lopez 2012/04/22 06:05:04
  • HOLLY 2012/04/11 18:46:51
    HOLLY
    +2
    I wore an elegant yet sexy dress to my prom. These girls are 17, 18 years old. They can decide what kinda dress they want to wear.
  • Keith 2012/04/11 17:35:00
    Keith
    +3
    A dress code for prom dresses is a good idea.
  • cherrys 2012/04/11 02:31:46
    cherrys
    +2
    There fine but I look sexy with out a dress on I'm good in bed too sooooooooooooooooooooooooo yah I'm just stating a fact
  • Michell... cherrys 2012/04/15 01:10:26
    Michelle Warren
    +3
    lol oh shesh!
  • cherrys Michell... 2012/04/15 01:11:54
    cherrys
    Yah
  • RoseyRhod cherrys 2012/04/20 22:35:06
    RoseyRhod
    And we care because....????
  • Nintaku 2012/04/10 23:15:48
    Nintaku
    +2
    38% of people don't like seeing hot girls or boys within the individual's appropriate sex group.
    Quick! Everyone! Point at them and laugh until they go away!
  • tweet_tweet 2012/04/10 21:57:09 (edited)
    tweet_tweet
    +6
    I saw the survey....there was a major problem, and that was the wording of the question. The question asked if sexy prom dresses should be banned. It failed to define sexy. Some people were not voting against sexy dresses; they were voting against bikni top dresses. Sexy dresses are great, but some dresses, like below, are insane, and I see why schools ban them. dress prom dress
  • Nintaku tweet_t... 2012/04/11 21:24:18
  • tweet_t... Nintaku 2012/04/11 21:46:03
    tweet_tweet
    +2
    Like it or not, most work places have a dress code, as do most formal occasions. Go to them dressed how you want. Have fun with that.
  • Nintaku tweet_t... 2012/04/12 04:17:43
    Nintaku
    +1
    I start my own social occasions.
    High School doesn't pay me to go to it, I have to go by law.
    Indie companies all the way, the dress code is to not be naked.
  • tweet_t... Nintaku 2012/04/12 21:12:10
    tweet_tweet
    More power to you!
  • RoseyRhod tweet_t... 2012/04/20 22:35:49
    RoseyRhod
    +3
    Any parent that would allow their daughter to leave the house wearing those, especially the red one, should be horse whipped.
  • Rory 2012/04/10 21:52:50
    Rory
    Wear what you want It's a four hour dance, and most of the time girls wear short-shorts to school shorter than prom dresses and aren't discouraged. Generally the people going to prom's are at least 16 not to mention 17 and 18 year old's who are old enough to make their own decision anyway.
  • Sylmkael 2012/04/10 03:19:59
    Sylmkael
    +2
    I think the dresses should be sexy without 'too revealing'. I am old school
  • Rubyking 2012/04/09 22:24:32
    Rubyking
    hrm
  • Just Jenn for Now 2012/04/09 20:39:04
    Just Jenn for Now
    +5
    ... this is a bit confusing, isn't it??

    The title says public approves, yet the graphics say otherwise..

    dafuq gif
  • A Pigeon. 2012/04/09 20:21:40
    A Pigeon.
    Wait, someone help me out here, it says the Public APPROVES the sexy dresses, yet it says that 62% of people want the dresses banned?
  • Margari... A Pigeon. 2012/04/11 20:56:09
    Margarita Valdés Rabí
    yeah, that's what it says, contradictory, right?
  • DanC 2012/04/09 19:55:18
  • Ginger 2012/04/09 19:53:38
    Ginger
    +2
    A girl or a woman should wear what she want if men cant restrain and jump on a girl or swear this girl because she wears it , the problem arent what wear girls but how act boys .
  • Margari... Ginger 2012/04/11 20:56:54
    Margarita Valdés Rabí
    +1
    I agree with u

See Votes by State

The map above displays the winning answer by region.

Living

2014/07/25 20:54:13

Hot Questions on SodaHead
More Hot Questions

More Community More Originals