Quantcast

PUBLIC OPINION > Aniston's Engagement Ring Is Better Than Jolie's

SodaHead Living 2012/04/18 16:00:00
We finally got an up-close look at Angelina Jolie's engagement ring, and it's beyond impressive. The 10-carat piece is estimated at close to $1 million, cut from the finest quality diamond. But the rock instantly drew comparisons to the last ring Pitt unleashed -- on Jennifer Aniston in 1999. That one was only worth $500,000 (probably closer to $650,000 after adjusting for inflation), but the spiral design was more visually striking. We asked the public to pick the better ring.

jolie aniston rings sodahead

Evidently, money isn't everything when it comes to engagement rings. Despite a huge gap in price, Aniston's ring (the cheaper one) came out on top by a wide margin. Some voters said Jolie's ring looked too much like a charm bracelet because of its rectangular shape, while others went for Aniston's ring based solely on the fact that it was Aniston, and Aniston is gorgeous. Beyond that, it was just a matter of taste. Jen's ring was called "classy," "sophisticated," and "pretty." Jolie's got "simple," "mature," and "modern."

Men Are More Into Jolie's

Typically, it doesn't matter much what the men think about the engagement ring. The only person it has to please is the woman wearing it. Of course, it's always nice if her girlfriends admire it, too. In that case, Jen's ring is even more appropriate.


Jen's Appeals to the Youth

We were particularly struck by commenters' use of the word "mature" to describe Jolie's cut, because it also happened to correlate strongly with age. The older a voter was, the more likely they were to pick Jolie's ring. Jen's, on the other hand, appealled much more to younger voters.


A Mature Cut for the Married

Naturally, if older voters are going with Jolie's ring, it makes sense that married voters are, too. However, respondents in an unmarried relationship were even less into Jolie's ring than singles. Just 9% of voters in an unmarried relationship prefered Jolie's.


If you'd like to vote on this question, dig deeper into the demographics, or engage in existing discussion about the topic, visit our poll about engagement rings. We'd love to hear from you!
You!
Add Photos & Videos

Top Opinion

Sort By
  • Most Raves
  • Least Raves
  • Oldest
  • Newest
Opinions

  • February Babes 2012/04/21 12:53:01
    February Babes
    Why is everybody still pitting them against each other years on?? I think they've gotten over it, it's time everyone else does.
  • Hanah Tahir 2012/04/20 12:57:38
    Hanah Tahir
    Jennifer's is more cute. but why does this comparison even matter! the issue here is who's going to bed Brad Pitt on their honeymoon of course
  • Muriel 2012/04/19 22:11:51
    Muriel
    Sparkle isn't everything. Those who know, size, cut, clarity are aware Jolie's ring is far more exclusive and beautiful. There is beauty in simplicity.
  • wes 2012/04/19 21:10:32
    wes
    Anything on Jennifer's hand is better..........
  • maria m... wes 2012/10/03 22:16:45
    maria milton
    +3
    that ring was from pitt, why she don't show the one her lattest boyfriend give her, lets compared those!
  • Margaret Jacobson 2012/04/19 19:07:39
    Margaret Jacobson
    I like both!!............But if I had only ONE choice.........Jen's..........
  • maria m... Margare... 2012/10/03 22:21:27
    maria milton
    +2
    you like Pitt's taste?
    both were design by him, only Jolie's is more expensed and simple and classic... I say that Pitt's taste has improved... like his taste in ladies!
  • bbwolf35 2012/04/19 18:57:04
    bbwolf35
    +1
    I like Emerald cut diamonds (classy and classic) and Jolie has much prettier hands. Anniston's ring looks like it was designed my someone who also designs cheap and flashy bling.
  • maria m... bbwolf35 2012/10/03 22:22:12
    maria milton
    +2
    A M E N !!!
  • TimothyBrianFoley 2012/04/19 18:37:55
    TimothyBrianFoley
    +1
    well angelina's ring looks weird i feel safer with jen's ring
  • CG Timothy... 2012/04/19 20:59:33
    CG
    I find it funny that the group who like Jolie's ring is the older group. I thought it looked like something an older lady would wear.
  • maria m... Timothy... 2012/10/03 22:23:38
    maria milton
    +2
    You mind with the one that look from a cracker box?
  • adriana 2012/04/19 16:37:55
    adriana
    I like them both:)
  • nichelle 2012/04/19 15:42:10
    nichelle
    +3
    who cares?
  • Lonna121593 2012/04/19 15:09:31
    Lonna121593
    +4
    to each his own frankly mine is better XD

    my ring
  • LiLBeezer 2012/04/19 14:50:48
    LiLBeezer
    +2
    Who care's, they both have different tastes !!!!
  • FJ 2012/04/19 13:45:08
    FJ
    +1
    And here is where we lose hope... when Sodahead itself starts posting stupid questions lol...
  • Elz 2012/04/19 13:28:12
    Elz
    i don't want neither.
  • Emii Boo <3 2012/04/19 13:09:25
    Emii Boo <3
    Ok here is more on my comment. I don't think that it matters whose is prettier. Honestly can you not just be happy for the BOTH of them!!! I mean damn for real. Dude it's good that they are engaged. But does it matter on which one is prettier???
  • Flamingolady 2012/04/19 12:55:41
    Flamingolady
    +1
    As a former jewelry designer and jewelry appraiser, let's just say this: The type of rough stones that Angelina's ring is cut from is much more rare, her stones MUST be of highest clarity for the shape of the stones, I believe they are all Emerald cut or baguettes, and the highest appraisal I ever did was on a ring similar to this one. Quality is usually so perfect on this type of ring. So, from my eye's view, I would choose Angelina's.
  • Stacie 2012/04/19 12:03:28
    Stacie
    ...... Jennifer is as well.
  • P. Sturm 2012/04/19 10:49:29
    P. Sturm
    Yep, but you should get your money's worth. 10 carat, Emerald shaped, fine cut, VVS1 or 2, & color about G to J. Probably 750 to 850 kiloBucks. You got ripped off, Brad!!
  • Fariborz-Zak 2012/04/19 07:15:52
    Fariborz-Zak
    +2
    no they r the same
  • Nica24 2012/04/19 06:12:25
    Nica24
    Aniston. Jolie's is very ugly and no taste.
  • maria m... Nica24 2012/10/03 22:29:52
    maria milton
    +2
    Remember who's give those rings to those women... same man!
  • Andrew 2012/04/19 05:21:04
    Andrew
    +1
    Jennifer's hands down!
  • Dzeeng 2012/04/19 04:37:38
    Dzeeng
    Aniston charming
  • Kar 2012/04/19 04:16:24
    Kar
    so many jolie's haters!
  • maria m... Kar 2012/10/03 22:31:11
    maria milton
    +2
    Not me, always for Jolie side!
  • Juliet 2012/04/19 04:08:29
    Juliet
    load of crap. people have no taste.
  • ☂~WaterBabŸ~☂ 2012/04/19 03:54:43
    ☂~WaterBabŸ~☂
    +2
    Really???.... :P

    nocare
  • DebraJMSmith 2012/04/19 03:42:33
    DebraJMSmith
    +1
    I think both rings are rather ugly. --But most people simply like Jennifer better than "that other woman!"

    :o)
  • maria m... DebraJM... 2012/10/03 22:33:14
    maria milton
    +3
    Did Jen also became "the other women"?
  • Allie 2012/04/19 01:50:24
    Allie
    +2
    i love jens waaaay more
  • jules 2012/04/19 01:33:44
    jules
    +2
    Jen's.
  • Medulla Oblongata 2012/04/19 00:34:04
    Medulla Oblongata
    +1
    I doubt Jennifer cares about the ring. She's happy for the couple and with her own relationship. She just wants to live her life without constantly being compared to Angelina Jolie.

    But with that said, I'd have chosen Jennifer's ring, too. I like the spiral.
  • Jimmy Lucky 2012/04/19 00:28:06
    Jimmy Lucky
    both rings are beyond art itself...
  • BILL 2012/04/18 23:35:32
    BILL
    +3
    I want to join the WHO CARES CLUB
    WHO
  • maria m... BILL 2012/10/03 22:34:53
    maria milton
    COUNT ME IN!!!!!
  • Melanie 2012/04/18 23:12:34
    Melanie
    I'd tap that ;) oh...awkward. Not the girls, the rings....

See Votes by State

The map above displays the winning answer by region.

Living

2014/04/21 07:23:11

Hot Questions on SodaHead
More Hot Questions

More Community More Originals