Quantcast

PUBLIC OPINION > American Apparel's Transgender Model Is Great

Living 2012/06/19 22:29:32
In honor of LGBT Pride Month, American Apparel debuted its first-ever transgender model, former "America's Next Top Model" contestant Isis King. The Gay & Lesbian Alliance Against Defamation praised the clothing company for its decision to include King, and hopes that it will help promote the phrase "Gay is OK." We wanted to know if the public thinks the campaign is a great idea, or just a gimmick.



Naturally, this is a controversial issue. We'll leave politics alone in the demographics this time, because it's clearly a determining factor, but in the end most people feel American Apparel's decision to use a transgender model was a good thing. Some respondents were uncomfortable with it, but others saw it as a step forward. One commenter wrote, "People need to not care what someone else's preference is, and worry about something worth while."

The Straight Stats

Homosexual voters were all for the use of a transgender model, as would be expected, but how did straight voters respond? Filtering out the LGBT vote, we found that straight voters were less than thrilled about the ads. It was still close, but 53% of the straight vote suggested American Apparel's use of King was just a gimmick.

Females Are Fine With It

Gender was almost as divisive as sexuality. While men were largely unimpressed with the ad, female voters strongly supported it, with more than two-thirds of the vote in favor. In the past, our polls have shown that women are typically much more comfortable with homosexuality, while men sometimes tend to be grossed out by it.

Older Voters Are Against It

Usually, when there's a stark difference between younger and older voters, the shift occurs somewhere around 45. However, in this case, the age difference was a little bit young. The vast majority of people over 35 voted against the ad, while a large number of voters under 35 were impressed. The difference was enormous -- approximately 43%.

If you'd like to vote on this question, dig deeper into the demographics, or engage in existing discussion about the topic, visit our poll about Isis King. We'd love to hear from you!
You!
Add Photos & Videos

Top Opinion

  • Chris 2012/06/19 23:24:10 (edited)
    Chris
    +11
    trangender gay i son model

    My only issue with this is they were trying to tie homosexuality to transgendered people, not all gay people want to be the opposite sex, that's absurd... most gay people are perfectly happy as nature made them.... transgender is a totally separate issue from sexuality. I don't think someone's sexual preference makes them suddenly want to have their genitals surgically altered. I'm against sex changes, I think people should accept their natural sex... but despite my stance, of course we should accept them as human beings. Similarly, I may not agree with smokers smoking tobacco, but they are still people and deserve respect.

Sort By
  • Most Raves
  • Least Raves
  • Oldest
  • Newest
Opinions

  • CAPISCE Skye 2012/06/24 01:44:31
    CAPISCE
    Me too, the whole Gay, transgendered thing bores me to no end.
    One dimensional boring people who know only one way to get attention
  • MikeWon 2012/06/20 03:01:47
  • ♩♪♥Vict... MikeWon 2012/06/20 14:45:27
    ♩♪♥Victoria♥♪♫
    +3
    Being Gay is NOTHING like war, disease, poverty, corruption, fraud, murder, theft, prevarication, molestation, rape, mismanagement & apathy!!!!
  • Skye ♩♪♥Vict... 2012/06/20 18:21:14
    Skye
    +1
    I know I cracked up when they said that. Though let them be stupid and think that.
  • CAPISCE ♩♪♥Vict... 2012/06/20 20:45:09
    CAPISCE
    +1
    Being Gay is a choice, a choice simply to get attention for at least 50% of all Homosexuals
  • ♩♪♥Vict... CAPISCE 2012/06/20 23:53:54
    ♩♪♥Victoria♥♪♫
    +2
    BEING GAY IS NOT A CHOICE YOU BASTARD.
  • CAPISCE ♩♪♥Vict... 2012/06/23 02:15:43
    CAPISCE
    2 type Homsexual people---1-Choice and 2-Those with a Chromosome birth defect
  • RawRsaurus CAPISCE 2012/06/21 02:50:39 (edited)
    RawRsaurus
    +1


    Do you choose to be a jerk or does it just come naturally?
  • MikeWon ♩♪♥Vict... 2013/02/12 07:15:32
  • Bassinman 2012/06/20 02:34:25
    Bassinman
    +4
    Wouldn't touch this one with a 40 foot pole. Would have to be 50 feet away from the stench of it. If people want to be so 'European' (and I mean that in many ways), why don't they just move to Europe and leave the rest of U.S. alone?
  • truthman Bassinman 2012/06/20 08:39:21
    truthman
    +1
    They are confused people. Why do they think they are special? Im glad im straight and dont have to deal with all that.
  • jsbustaman 2012/06/20 02:26:12
    jsbustaman
    +3
    She is a cute woman! Be proud of who you are!
  • DizziNY jsbustaman 2012/06/20 03:15:30
    DizziNY
    +1
    That isn't a woman, is it?
  • Ant DizziNY 2012/06/20 05:56:34
    Ant
    +1
    Not unless they have the chromosomes of a woman.
  • rylie_love Ant 2012/06/20 21:36:07
    rylie_love
    +1
    not sure why this matters? the point is not be chromosonaly a woman, but to be happy with yourself... for people like Isis and myself, living as female equates happiness... why do you want to take that away from us? We are ok with not being XX, why can't you be?
  • queenalyss DizziNY 2012/06/20 07:17:31
    queenalyss
    +1
    She sure is.
  • Cat 1017 queenalyss 2012/06/20 18:18:43
    Cat 1017
    No it isn't....Male chromosomes, no female organs ...Its a male, dressed as a female ...surgery can't fix that....
  • rylie_love Cat 1017 2012/06/20 21:37:12 (edited)
    rylie_love
    but she is happier now, thats all that matters! why can't you undestand that and let go of this silly chromosonal jargon hoopla
  • Cat 1017 rylie_love 2012/06/20 23:03:46
    Cat 1017
    I hope she is happy...But it isn't a female.....Chromosones and dna is silly?...Oh silly me, They prove you are who you say you are....Simple...
  • rylie_love Cat 1017 2012/06/20 23:12:30
    rylie_love
    +1
    but they have nothing to do with "who" you are, that is a choice
  • Cat 1017 rylie_love 2012/06/20 23:24:16
    Cat 1017
    Neither does claiming to be something you aren't....
  • rylie_love Cat 1017 2012/06/20 23:36:22
    rylie_love
    she isn't claiming to be something she isn't and neither am i... who are you to say what i'm supposed to be? or what Isis is supposed to be in this case? i don't understand how you can judge someone else's life so easily
  • Cat 1017 rylie_love 2012/06/21 02:16:15
    Cat 1017
    I never said what you're supposed to be... I stated what you were created to be..Does she have a uterus, ovaries, female chromosomes or dna?....No?...Then its settled....But she can continue pretending like my 4 year old grandsons....He still isn't superman, but in his heart , my boo is a superhero...She put it out there to be evaluated....
  • Cat 1017 DizziNY 2012/06/20 18:17:30
    Cat 1017
    THank you.....
  • bill sands 2012/06/20 01:57:24
    bill sands
    +1
    i dont care
  • ACE 2012/06/20 01:26:21
    ACE
    gross
  • Wulfdane 2012/06/20 01:08:42 (edited)
    Wulfdane
    +1
    I don't pay attention to such foolishness.
  • Dave0626 2012/06/20 00:42:22
    Dave0626
    +3
    For me, it's just another useless non-issue. Society's got better things to be concerned with.
  • queenalyss Dave0626 2012/06/20 07:18:20
    queenalyss
    +2
    It isn't a non-issue to the people who hurt daily because of prejudice against who they are.
  • truthman queenalyss 2012/06/20 08:42:43
    truthman
    +2
    they dont even know who they are. They are very confused people. If they choose to wear a shirt saying that, then they are setting themselves up.
  • Padding... truthman 2012/06/20 11:53:42
  • rylie_love truthman 2012/06/20 21:40:28
    rylie_love
    +1
    because you know how all of us feel? interesting...
  • truthman rylie_love 2012/06/23 04:00:25
    truthman
    so are you a transgender?
  • rylie_love truthman 2012/06/25 01:31:07
    rylie_love
    sounds like it huh?
  • queenalyss truthman 2012/06/23 01:13:39
    queenalyss
    They are not CONFUSED, although you are uneducated. They know exactly what and who they are.
  • truthman queenalyss 2012/06/23 04:06:30
    truthman
    +1
    really? Because i have a different point of view im uneducated? I do believe they are very confused. Are you gay or transgender?
  • Dave0626 queenalyss 2012/06/20 17:57:34
    Dave0626
    Oh, 'boo-whoo'...here's a crocodile tear and a tiny violin for ya...
    boo-whoo crocodile tear tiny violin ya
  • queenalyss Dave0626 2012/06/23 01:17:59
    queenalyss
    Lovely! What else am I to expect from a 60 yr old, white, conservative man...
    Thats like me telling you that every hurt and every pain you have ever had, emotionally and physically, didnt matter or have value.
    Not that you're listening to me, you probably voted for Bush and supported Dont ask, Dont tell. Wasn't Jesus' main sentiment, "Love all"?
  • Dave0626 queenalyss 2012/06/23 08:18:03
    Dave0626
    +1
    Toughen up, baby doll ...or learn to speak Chinese or North Korean. If it weren't for people like me....you would absolutely have to learn too! Or at the very least be only permitted to speak when you are spoken too.
    Cuz when this country becomes a Nation of nothing but wusses as you would like it to be...say "goodbye" to any and ALL the freedoms you currently do enjoy!
  • Skye queenalyss 2012/06/20 18:23:29
    Skye
    +1
    I agree with you.

See Votes by State

The map above displays the winning answer by region.

Living

2014/11/22 21:27:58

Hot Questions on SodaHead
More Hot Questions

More Community More Originals