Quantcast

PUBLIC OPINION > American Apparel's Transgender Model Is Great

Living 2012/06/19 22:29:32
In honor of LGBT Pride Month, American Apparel debuted its first-ever transgender model, former "America's Next Top Model" contestant Isis King. The Gay & Lesbian Alliance Against Defamation praised the clothing company for its decision to include King, and hopes that it will help promote the phrase "Gay is OK." We wanted to know if the public thinks the campaign is a great idea, or just a gimmick.



Naturally, this is a controversial issue. We'll leave politics alone in the demographics this time, because it's clearly a determining factor, but in the end most people feel American Apparel's decision to use a transgender model was a good thing. Some respondents were uncomfortable with it, but others saw it as a step forward. One commenter wrote, "People need to not care what someone else's preference is, and worry about something worth while."

The Straight Stats

Homosexual voters were all for the use of a transgender model, as would be expected, but how did straight voters respond? Filtering out the LGBT vote, we found that straight voters were less than thrilled about the ads. It was still close, but 53% of the straight vote suggested American Apparel's use of King was just a gimmick.

Females Are Fine With It

Gender was almost as divisive as sexuality. While men were largely unimpressed with the ad, female voters strongly supported it, with more than two-thirds of the vote in favor. In the past, our polls have shown that women are typically much more comfortable with homosexuality, while men sometimes tend to be grossed out by it.

Older Voters Are Against It

Usually, when there's a stark difference between younger and older voters, the shift occurs somewhere around 45. However, in this case, the age difference was a little bit young. The vast majority of people over 35 voted against the ad, while a large number of voters under 35 were impressed. The difference was enormous -- approximately 43%.

If you'd like to vote on this question, dig deeper into the demographics, or engage in existing discussion about the topic, visit our poll about Isis King. We'd love to hear from you!
You!
Add Photos & Videos

Top Opinion

  • Chris 2012/06/19 23:24:10 (edited)
    Chris
    +11
    trangender gay i son model

    My only issue with this is they were trying to tie homosexuality to transgendered people, not all gay people want to be the opposite sex, that's absurd... most gay people are perfectly happy as nature made them.... transgender is a totally separate issue from sexuality. I don't think someone's sexual preference makes them suddenly want to have their genitals surgically altered. I'm against sex changes, I think people should accept their natural sex... but despite my stance, of course we should accept them as human beings. Similarly, I may not agree with smokers smoking tobacco, but they are still people and deserve respect.

Sort By
  • Most Raves
  • Least Raves
  • Oldest
  • Newest
Opinions

  • Hedwig13 2013/04/16 09:59:13
    Hedwig13
    I think it's great. I don't care if it's a gimmick. The more people see the LGBT community accepted the more tolerance will grow and homophobia will go down. People need to get used to seeing stuff like this
  • RJS 2012/07/13 01:32:11
    RJS
    +1
    She's cute. I don't really see the problem here.
  • LunarRain 2012/06/30 05:15:33
    LunarRain
    I think its a great idea! They should have also asked Kayla and Kim from ANTM that would be awsome.
  • Rachel Searvogel 2012/06/25 00:59:24
    Rachel Searvogel
    Really people? If you don't find her attractive, then don't date her. That doesn't mean you should be telling people she's "yucky". Are we back in middle school again?
  • Ricky13 2012/06/23 03:21:48
    Ricky13
    legalize gay marriage and the modal looks great
  • Cookielane 2012/06/21 19:46:20
    Cookielane
    She's gorgeous!
  • Moony 2012/06/21 19:25:07
    Moony
    I'm so confused! I thought TG peeps were hetero, just trapped in the wrong [gender] body?~ confused tg peeps hetero trapped wrong gender body
  • RawRsaurus Moony 2012/06/22 00:38:18 (edited)
    RawRsaurus
    +1
    Most of the time. There are, however, cases of transgender men being attracted to men. Same goes for transgender females being attracted to females.
  • Rachel ... Moony 2012/06/25 00:54:49
    Rachel Searvogel
    +1
    Most of the time, that's true. But it's less about being hetero and trapped in the wrong body than gender in specific. Like, if a woman was born with male genitals, it wouldn't matter to her who she preferred in her bed, as long as she could get that damn penis off and grow herself some boobs. Think of it that way.
  • Moony Rachel ... 2012/08/10 22:35:57
    Moony
    I understand your logic. However, if a female is born with male genitalia (or vise-versa) they are 'hermaphrodites'. So if I'm understanding this correctly, TG's are having surgeries to remove the 'wrong' parts as well as the 'right' parts ie; born female with correct anatomy but want to become a male. Did I say this correctly?
  • RJS Moony 2012/07/13 01:34:23
    RJS
    +1
    My trans aunt is a lesbian :)
  • Kaimeso 2012/06/21 17:22:24
    Kaimeso
    +1
    She looks ok to me and I like the hat. Much more femme than some of the heffers we see at the mall or (omg) Walmart shoppers.
  • PapaBC 2012/06/21 15:59:36
    PapaBC
    No! Thanks
  • Ant 2012/06/21 14:04:29
    Ant
    The reason so many older people said gimmick is that it is common for wisdom to come with age. ;-)
  • Stephen 2012/06/21 13:29:52
    Stephen
    Gay ok. Transgender, I think they're nuts. What's next. I don't want to be a man or a women. I want ot be a dog or cat or OH! I got it. I want to be a cow, no a bird. PLEEEAASE !
  • rylie_love Stephen 2012/06/21 14:29:32 (edited)
    rylie_love
    +5
    damn, your onto our plan! first trans people get acceptance, next... we all transition to cats!!! mwhahahaha, world domination!!
  • RJS Stephen 2012/07/13 01:35:14
    RJS
    +1
    I wanna be a bird. Flying would be awesome.
  • RobinStradley 2012/06/21 08:55:09
    RobinStradley
    +3
    i think it's wonderful. transgendered people are beautiful too and they should be celebrated, just like gay people, bisexual people, and everyone else. we are all beautiful in some way and we should celebrate that. every race, religion, and sexuality has something interesting, unique, and beautiful to bring to the table, and it's nice that it's starting to be recognized. if we didn't have all kinds of people the world would be a very boring place.
  • ~HopelessRomanticM17~ 2012/06/21 05:45:12
    ~HopelessRomanticM17~
    +1
    Isis! hahaha I remember her from American's Next Top Model!
  • Kaley Gilbert 2012/06/21 03:40:04
    Kaley Gilbert
    +3
    I remember watching Isis on America's Next Top Model, and I'm glad to hear she accomplished her dream! The only I problem I have is that the ad makes it seem like transgender and gay is the same thing- which it's not. That's a bit misleading.
  • Sam 2012/06/21 03:18:33
    Sam
    +4
    Finally America is starting to grow up... it's about time people start accepting the LGBT community.
  • Ant Sam 2012/06/21 14:08:35
    Ant
    +1
    More like becoming more perverted.
  • America... Ant 2012/06/21 18:05:17
    American☆Atheist
    no, we are not really religious anymore
  • Ant America... 2012/06/22 03:24:51
    Ant
    Unfortunately.
  • America... Ant 2012/06/22 18:28:13
    American☆Atheist
    +1
    No, it's a good thing.
  • American Mercenary 2012/06/20 21:37:36
    American Mercenary
    +2
    Male models should stick to dressing in mens' clothes.
  • Ant America... 2012/06/21 11:24:28
    Ant
    +1
    Unfortunately,there is often a big difference between what people should do and do do. Perhaps I should rephrase that. (-:
  • JS 2012/06/20 21:17:11
    JS
    +3
    Let people be who they really, truly are! I am all for gay marriage and gender changes, why live your life unhappy with who you are, or not be able to openly love the person you do, thats absurd people don't need to judge other people on their personal decisions... Grow up.
  • jimf 2012/06/20 21:11:26
    jimf
    I couldnt care less. They dont have a store in the UK anyway, even if they did who would want to buy anything American?
  • Ant jimf 2012/06/21 11:27:06
    Ant
    +1
    What a stupid question. And people like you have the nerve to say Americans are dumb. Smh
  • Michelle 2012/06/20 21:06:04
    Michelle
    +3
    Looks like I won't be shopping there ever again.
  • Reuben Rennick 2012/06/20 20:55:51
    Reuben Rennick
    +3
    Whatever makes them happy, America is diverse right? happy america diverse
  • Cat 1017 2012/06/20 18:07:22
    Cat 1017
    +2
    Gimmicky!!!
  • schjaz 2012/06/20 16:54:11
    schjaz
    +3
    Disgusting....looks like the Octomom
  • rylie_love schjaz 2012/06/20 21:28:13
    rylie_love
    +5
    don't judge, be nice
  • David rylie_love 2012/06/21 06:15:18 (edited)
    David
    +2
    this site is all about opinions, which means that you have to judge. It's not about being nice or mean.
  • rylie_love David 2012/06/21 14:31:46
    rylie_love
    +1
    true, but "my opinion" is to tell people to be nice about their opinions.... specifically about trans people :)
  • schjaz rylie_love 2012/06/21 16:50:00
    schjaz
    that's not an opinion...its a demand.
  • rylie_love schjaz 2012/06/21 17:18:24
    rylie_love
    +1
    meh, i'm still gonna try and spread love, acceptance, and tolerance over bigotry, hatred, and disgust...

    smileyface!
  • schjaz rylie_love 2012/06/22 17:25:54 (edited)
    schjaz
    excellant! but be honest. this person is atrocious. they have evolved themselves into something base.
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 ... 9 Next » Last »

See Votes by State

The map above displays the winning answer by region.

Living

2014/10/23 12:25:18

Hot Questions on SodaHead
More Hot Questions

More Community More Originals