Quantcast

Public Opinion Agrees Women Are Attracted to Jerks

Living 2012/05/29 16:39:39
There's a saying that many of you are probably familiar with: Nice guys finish last. It's a sad statement if it's true, but not everyone believes it. However, a recent study published in the Journal of Personality and Social Psychology suggests that the converse is actually biologically sound -- women are sometimes more attracted to schmucks. We took that finding to the public, and asked if it was true. Are women really more attracted to jerks? Let's dive.


You!
Add Photos & Videos

Top Opinion

Sort By
  • Most Raves
  • Least Raves
  • Oldest
  • Newest
Opinions

  • Osaka Yuki ~ ... 2012/05/29 20:32:42
    Osaka
    Even nice guys fail at chivalry.
  • Yuki ~ ... Osaka 2012/05/29 20:41:22
    Yuki ~ ♦Lion King of PHÆT♦
    Who wants chivalry?
  • GLaDOS Osaka 2012/05/30 03:22:14 (edited)
    GLaDOS
    Chivalry? What does that have to do with women?
  • Osaka GLaDOS 2012/05/30 03:56:36 (edited)
    Osaka
    Some of what woman like in a man is associated with chivalry.
  • GLaDOS Osaka 2012/05/30 04:11:54 (edited)
    GLaDOS
    I don't see what the Code of Chivalry has to do with women. The only parts of it that I know refer to women was to "give succor to widows and orphans," and to "respect the honour of women." Mostly, it's about being a good knight, lord, and church.
  • Osaka GLaDOS 2012/05/30 04:26:27
    Osaka
    Honestly some associated it with how a knight or prince from a fairy tale treat the fair maidens. LOL.
  • GLaDOS Osaka 2012/05/30 17:38:38
    GLaDOS
    Fairy tales? The ones where the married prince raped Sleeping Beauty, then left her in the tower to be woken up by her babies, then have Sleeping Beauty come search out the prince, only to have the prince's wife try to kill them and feed them to him?

    Cinderella's prince wasn't so bad.

    I refer to the treatment of ladies being more a gentlemanliness thing, unless it is referring to Courtly Love, but then there would be no sex, and the woman would be married.
  • Osaka GLaDOS 2012/05/30 18:55:17 (edited)
    Osaka
    The disney-fied ones...
    Also there are other fairy tales that don't have to be disney-fied.
  • GLaDOS Osaka 2012/05/30 20:53:16 (edited)
    GLaDOS
    True. But that's still not proper Chivalry. Gallantry, perhaps.
  • Bulanov... Osaka 2012/05/29 21:26:01
    Bulanova (Team Hargitay)
    Nice guys finish last because they're busy making sure their ladies finish first. :)
  • Bibliop... Yuki ~ ... 2012/05/29 20:44:35 (edited)
    Bibliophilic
    +2
    Agreed. There are a lot of insecure whiners here (and women that aren't ready for a relationship either.)

    Also, women want the opposite of creepy, clingy male friends who want to jump your bones at every opportunity. "But I'm such a nice guy- why can't I have a gf? BAAAAAWWW- I will not state what I really want because i'm oh so nicccce". That's just obnoxious. Men (and women) should make their intentions clear in a respectful manner- that's the key to finding a relationship- not being 'her friend' or hanging around creepily.

    Don't have a relationship? Want one? It's your fault, not hers or his. That's what I think.
  • Osaka Bibliop... 2012/05/29 21:48:57
    Osaka
    Not all of us are insecure.

    I'm just careful. I don't want to date any guys who can't take care of themselves. I don't mind them a bit quirky. My problem is, I'm like most guys. I want, what I can't have.
  • gwts 2012/05/29 18:40:06
    gwts
    I don't know about women in general...but I'm a woman and I have never been attracted to jerks. I like nice and true guys.
  • kateisgod 2012/05/29 18:36:10
    kateisgod
    hm.... Maybe. Sometimes, but only because jerks are the loudest and most likely to be noticed...
    I've got a thing for funny guys with opinions.
    .....yeah.
  • swimmingswan 2012/05/29 18:33:39
    swimmingswan
    yes i believe so and me coming from ireland i see it all thee time.
  • GLaDOS 2012/05/29 18:32:32
    GLaDOS
    +1
    Once again, girls aren't attracted to "jerks" per say,they're attracted to confidence, and, like it or not "nice guys," you don't often scream "self-confidence," and "assertiveness!" Sadly, "jerks" have "aggressiveness" and "douchiness" that women can mistake for the former two. "Passivity," unlike "aggression," will never be mistaken for "assertiveness."

    Of course, physical attraction is part of it, also.

    And, again, it depends on what you call a "jerk." Dr. House, he's a "jerk," but his amazing mind, and the fact that he really does have a heart, makes up for it, the same with Batman.

    Then, there is Tony Stark, who is a complete and utter jerk at the end of the spectrum, along with Ant-Man (notice that the real jerks tend to be in Marvel? Maybe that's why they're more popular).

    Tony Stark is an alcoholic, short-tempered, misogynist who goes through women like they're toilet paper, and Ant-Man... well...
    marvel popular tony stark alcoholic short-tempered misogynist women toilet ant-man
    marvel popular tony stark alcoholic short-tempered misogynist women toilet ant-man
    marvel popular tony stark alcoholic short-tempered misogynist women toilet ant-man
    marvel popular tony stark alcoholic short-tempered misogynist women toilet ant-man
  • GoreGirl 2012/05/29 18:24:54
    GoreGirl
    Gotta say after dating my current (and first) true boyfriend for almost two years...we know each others quirks, and even though we tease each other, it's all in jest and I don't really believe either of us to be jerks. I stay away from people with over-inflated egos in the first place, and as i'm 22 and in a steady relationship for the first time, I'm guessing I'm pretty picky about men. I have however, seen women of all ages go after jackasses because they're so 'mysterious' or 'i can change him'....F-ing A people lol.
  • LeroyRogers 2012/05/29 18:19:05
    LeroyRogers
    +1
    It seems like most of them do go for jerks. Why do you think they're always calling the guys they've dated jerks (or worse)?
  • Ben 2012/05/29 18:18:14
    Ben
    Being from Tennesse, I believe it.
  • shansera 2012/05/29 18:13:17
    shansera
    +2
    Women do fall for jerks for many reasons. One is that only an "Alpha" male can be a jerk and get away with it. Women are always going to be attracted to the most manly man around them-basic biology. But unfortunately many women have self esteem issues that are reinforced by their jerk bf's/husbands and they don't believe they can do better.
  • Alyssa 2012/05/29 17:56:38
  • MistyFay8879 2012/05/29 17:55:02
    MistyFay8879
    +1
    More often than not! It's an self-esteem issue that for some reason a lot of women don't understand that you don't need to be with just "anyone" to be happy...you need to be happy with yourself first. That's why it's called "Self-esteem"
  • shansera MistyFa... 2012/05/29 18:06:10
    shansera
    You are SO right!
  • ctwal 2012/05/29 17:50:39
    ctwal
    +2
    while in search for real they get get hooked by the jerks!
  • Bucky 2012/05/29 17:36:37
    Bucky
    More often than not!
  • Raule Duke 2012/05/29 17:13:39
    Raule Duke
    Screw it - this is what most women are attracted to
    cash
  • Curmudgeon 2012/05/29 17:10:45
    Curmudgeon
    +2
    It's not so much that women are attracted to jerk per say, what most of them like are men that have certain traits that jerks have like self confidence and feel no need to constantly have people like them and what they do.

    As sometimes the cliche saying "be a man about it" is all you need to know. Being sensitive, always thinking of other people's feelings, and always giving your power away is not a way to make a woman attracted to you.
  • nadzzy <3 2012/05/29 17:02:46
    nadzzy <3
    That ain't true.
  • PsychoxAngel 2012/05/29 16:54:40
    PsychoxAngel
    +15
    nice guy girl jerk

    that how I see things
  • Jack th... Psychox... 2012/05/29 21:10:40
    Jack the Dude
    +2
    OMFG!! This is soooooooo true!!!
  • Cal Psychox... 2012/05/29 23:16:32
    Cal
    +2
    Pretty much
  • Farnsworth Psychox... 2012/05/29 23:36:52
    Farnsworth
    +2
    Yep...true, so very true
  • Psychox... Farnsworth 2012/05/29 23:42:07
    PsychoxAngel
    +2
    thanks :p
  • Gracie ... Psychox... 2012/05/30 00:38:59
    Gracie - Proud Conservative
    It's so clear now that you put it like that! LOL!
  • Psychox... Gracie ... 2012/05/30 00:40:35
    PsychoxAngel
    +1
    lol thanks
  • SOUL4REAL Psychox... 2012/05/30 03:52:15 (edited)
    SOUL4REAL
    You got it exactly right! :)) No bones!!
  • Psychox... SOUL4REAL 2012/05/30 20:16:24
    PsychoxAngel
    +1
    thank you :D
  • Meredit... Psychox... 2012/05/30 08:57:15
    Meredith#22
    +2
    And grl thts soooo true.
  • msteresa87 Psychox... 2012/05/30 23:16:21
    msteresa87
    +1
    a guy with a rose is better than a jerk if a woman knows whats good for her
  • Psychox... msteresa87 2012/05/30 23:19:03
    PsychoxAngel
    agreed

See Votes by State

The map above displays the winning answer by region.

Living

2014/11/28 01:37:50

Hot Questions on SodaHead
More Hot Questions

More Community More Originals