Quantcast

Public Opinion Agrees Women Are Attracted to Jerks

Living 2012/05/29 16:39:39
There's a saying that many of you are probably familiar with: Nice guys finish last. It's a sad statement if it's true, but not everyone believes it. However, a recent study published in the Journal of Personality and Social Psychology suggests that the converse is actually biologically sound -- women are sometimes more attracted to schmucks. We took that finding to the public, and asked if it was true. Are women really more attracted to jerks? Let's dive.


You!
Add Photos & Videos

Top Opinion

Sort By
  • Most Raves
  • Least Raves
  • Oldest
  • Newest
Opinions

  • evonblackbeautygoddess 2012/05/30 03:32:36
    evonblackbeautygoddess
    Why would you want date a jerk point blank -_-
  • Manic evonbla... 2012/05/30 05:08:15
    Manic
    Some people have that mindset of wanting attention for the one person that doesn't give it to them. We all like the chase in a sense and we love the feeling of winning a tough challenge. I thankfully have never liked the chase so I generally stay away from jerks
  • Dark Angel AKA Hippiegirl 2012/05/30 03:27:05
    Dark Angel AKA Hippiegirl
    I used to be attracted to only men who were musicians - which is the same thing
  • thecutesttentacle 2012/05/30 03:06:32
    thecutesttentacle
    whoaa.
  • Jackal 2012/05/30 01:59:27 (edited)
    Jackal
    +3
    People got it all wrong...



    Women are not attracted to jerks...

    Women are attracted to assertive men. Men with a backbone. You can be a nice guy, but you have to be an assertive nice guy. You have to be a funny, assertive nice guy. As long as you are not putting her on the pedestal, and acting like a slave, yes man, or puppy dog that seems to follow her around.



    Be a man!

    Act like a man!

    Be strong!

    Yeah I did some serious research on what women want. Also in the pre-production stages on interviewing women to find out what makes a man sexy.
  • GLaDOS Jackal 2012/05/30 03:41:37
    GLaDOS
    Yes!

  • Torchmanner ~PWCM~JLA 2012/05/30 01:54:12
    Torchmanner ~PWCM~JLA
    It's been this way forever.
  • blissful 2012/05/30 01:48:22
    blissful
    +1
    Would perfer to have a nice guy, but always ending-up with the creeps! Lol!-lol! perfer guy ending-up creeps lol-lol
  • Isabella blissful 2012/06/06 00:20:48
    Isabella
    +1
    ha! mee too :$
  • blissful Isabella 2012/06/06 00:33:30
    blissful
    Yep!!
  • lum-the-oni 2012/05/30 01:41:10
  • Psychox... lum-the... 2012/05/30 01:52:02
    PsychoxAngel
    +1
    same here but sadly the nice guys are so hard to find
  • lum-the... Psychox... 2012/05/30 01:55:40
  • Psychox... lum-the... 2012/05/30 02:04:26
    PsychoxAngel
    see I don't mind if they play games as long has they me play or teach me but full out gamers who are like idc i dislike
  • msteresa87 2012/05/30 00:31:02
    msteresa87
    +2
    I want a man who is respectful, acts like a gentleman, honest, easy to talk to....and I have low tolerance for jerky men
  • mac9 msteresa87 2012/05/30 01:17:30
    mac9
    +1
    We need more like you.
  • msteresa87 mac9 2012/05/30 23:11:27
    msteresa87
    +1
    thank you...
  • GLaDOS msteresa87 2012/05/30 03:25:25
    GLaDOS
    Do you prefer them passive?
  • msteresa87 GLaDOS 2012/05/30 23:14:05 (edited)
    msteresa87
    no, i'd like to be with someone who is assertive and it is possible to be an assertive man who is also respectable, polite, sweet guy to other people
  • GLaDOS msteresa87 2012/05/31 02:21:13
    GLaDOS
    Well, therein lies the conundrum... few "sweet" guys are "assertive."
  • Huntclan 2012/05/30 00:13:18
    Huntclan
    +2
    I must be an exception to the rule.
  • Brian 2012/05/30 00:04:52
    Brian
    +1
    From what I have seen I'd say yes women are attracted/fooled by jerks.
  • Miko Mikomiko 2012/05/29 23:46:30 (edited)
    Miko Mikomiko
    +1
    Same reason why men love bitches or?? And this is a radical idea but just here me out okay, we could stop asking these questions ( why men love bitches, why women like jerks) and start accepting that life is just unfair. I mean you win some then you lose some
  • Jack's Pearl 2012/05/29 23:35:59
    Jack's Pearl
    +3
    Then what am I??? Because my husband is nowhere near a jerk. He's the sweetest, most respectful, most handsome/cute man I have ever known!
  • Shawna 2012/05/29 23:34:34
    Shawna
    +3
    I am one of the ones who thinks most women are not attracted to jerks. Remember, this is not a survey of women asking if they are attracted to jerks, this is a survey asking anyone if they think women are attracted to jerks. That means it is a survey influenced by bitter men.
  • S and S 2012/05/29 23:34:07
  • Samantha 2012/05/29 23:29:54
    Samantha
    This is a no brainer! They totally are and always will be. no one wants to get with the ugly scrawny geek when they can choose the jock
  • Bex 2012/05/29 21:38:33
    Bex
    +1
    I think woman like jerks more many of my friends think nice guys are just saddos and everybody wants a rebellious guy don't they??
  • Cognito22 2012/05/29 21:16:54 (edited)
    Cognito22
    +1
    Genetically, how can you explain the continued existence of Liberals otherwise?
  • swimmingswan 2012/05/29 20:55:37
    swimmingswan
    WELL MOSTLY TRUEI HAVE HAD A LOT OF FRIENDS WHO MET JERKS.
  • Just Jenn for Now 2012/05/29 20:51:19
    Just Jenn for Now
    +1
    PROTIP: 9 times out of 10, all the "stereotypes" you hear about are wrong.

    This is one of those 9 times. :P
  • Isabella 2012/05/29 20:50:30
    Isabella
    +1
    Unfortunately -_- thank God I'm not one of them! will someeone tell me why????!????
  • ladyjane Isabella 2012/05/30 02:01:03
    ladyjane
    +1
    Because you're smart! You know the song "Never Make An Ugly Woman Your Wife" in this case "never make a jerk your special one" they are probably not for keeps... The nice guys are almost always going to be there for you...
  • Jessica 2012/05/29 19:47:31
    Jessica
    They are but I think thats dumb I like people that are nice.
  • john doe 2012/05/29 19:44:52
  • gocar 2012/05/29 19:28:25
    gocar
    That's because there are just as many women who are jerks too.
  • Anna E 2012/05/29 19:15:52
    Anna E
    It probably is true for the most part, but not for me. I snagged a good one. :D And I am not sharing. lol
  • Yuki ~ ♦Lion King of PHÆT♦ 2012/05/29 19:07:32
    Yuki ~ ♦Lion King of PHÆT♦
    +6
    This is all wrong.

    Most women want confident, self-assured men who are comfortable with themselves and others. Some people take this to the extreme and become douchey, which is completely different, and is where hearts get broken like boards on a chopping block.
  • Osaka Yuki ~ ... 2012/05/29 19:30:07
    Osaka
    Well jerkishness does give the appearance confidence. Some nice guys may lack self-esteem.

    There is the saying "Nice guys finish last".
  • Yuki ~ ... Osaka 2012/05/29 19:38:56
    Yuki ~ ♦Lion King of PHÆT♦
    +2
    Yeah, that saying's wrong.

    Nice guys sometimes equate that with being doormats, which is their failing.

See Votes by State

The map above displays the winning answer by region.

Living

2014/09/03 05:16:13

Hot Questions on SodaHead
More Hot Questions

More Community More Originals