Quantcast

PUBLIC OPINION > A Third of People Would Sell Dope If It Was Legal

Living 2012/08/09 20:00:00
"Deliver Us From Evil" director Matthew Cooke just released his latest documentary, "How to Make Money Selling Drugs." The documentary follows drug dealers, celebrities, and law enforcement to get a better understanding of the $400 billion drug industry -- specifically, how and why people get involved in the industry, despite heavy penalties. But we wanted to know how much of the public would sell drugs if they were legal.



Amazingly, a third of respondents admitted they would sell drugs if it were legalized. There were a few reasons people said they would sell dope. Some compared it to the pharmaceutical industry, suggesting there was little-to-no difference between prescription pills and illegal drugs. Others clarified that they would only sell soft drugs, namely marijuana, and avoid the hard stuff. Finally, some said they would only do it if they were in desperate need of money.

Youth Culture

By age, nearly every demographic voted the same, within a few percent of the overall. However, two groups stood out. Voters in the 18-24 group were about 13% more likely than most to say they would sell drugs, whereas the over-65 group was 22% less likely. We were most surprised to see that so many people between the ages of 35 and 65 were willing to sell. They were as likely as teens.

Employment Benefits

Not surprisingly, employment status had a major correlation. Full-time workers were a little less willing than most, while the unemployed were much more likely to sell. As many suggested, and Cooke's movie seems to imply, the idea of selling drugs might be significantly more appealing in desperation. Though, again, there was a good number of employed respondents who said they would.

Gateway Substances

Some say marijuana is a gateway drug, but based on the results it would appear alcohol and tobacco are, too. Smokers were twice as likely to sell drugs as nonsmokers. It could be that some people who listed themselves as "smokers" actually smoke marijuana and not tobacco, but even a good portion of drinkers said they'd consider selling drugs.

If you'd like to vote on this question, dig deeper into the demographics, or engage in existing discussion about the topic, visit our poll about selling dope. We'd love to hear from you!
You!
Add Photos & Videos

Top Opinion

Sort By
  • Most Raves
  • Least Raves
  • Oldest
  • Newest
Opinions

  • kent Adrianna 2012/08/10 20:21:50
    kent
    +2
    Makes you wonder what the poll would have shown if the question was Would you sell dope if you felt pretty sure you wouldn't get caught?........
  • Inquisitve Kat 2012/08/10 18:51:44
    Inquisitve Kat
    +2
    Hmm... alcohol and tobacco are legal. Can you sell those, if you so choose? Not unless you have a license... duh.
  • Lee Kolinsky 2012/08/10 18:07:36
    Lee Kolinsky
    +2
    If pot were legal I would have to sell it or buy it, I would simply grow my own.
  • Michael 2012/08/10 15:50:56
    Michael
    +2
    80% of people arrested are "high". Do I really want to be involved in a transaction with them?
  • DDogbreath 2012/08/10 15:50:27 (edited)
    DDogbreath
    +4
    This is a totally stupid question. 1/3 of the people can not be that stupid.

    Selling drugs while they are ILLEGAL is the only way to make money off them.



    If they "legalize drugs" it removes the black market mark up. Why buy an unknown product from some idiot when Walgreen's has the good stuff?



    That would be like saying 1/3 of the people in our country sell "moonshine".
  • exhon2009 DDogbreath 2012/08/11 02:06:45
    exhon2009
    +1
    There still are moonshiners. Not sure they make money off their business or royalties from the Discovery Channel.
  • DDogbreath exhon2009 2012/08/11 02:27:52
    DDogbreath
    None hanging out on the corners around here or anywhere else I've been looking to get hooked up with some "shine"...
  • exhon2009 DDogbreath 2012/08/11 02:48:55
    exhon2009
    +1
    I've never tried it but White Lightening is supposed to be the gold standard in shine.
  • DDogbreath exhon2009 2012/08/11 02:53:29
    DDogbreath
    +1
    I doubt that it could be as good as my favorite.




    doubt
  • exhon2009 DDogbreath 2012/08/11 02:54:53
    exhon2009
    +1
    I'll drink to that.
  • bob 2012/08/10 15:43:10
    bob
    free Enterprise at it's highest
  • brian.southworth.921 2012/08/10 15:19:54
    brian.southworth.921
    +3
    Well, the taxation on it is projected to pay off our national debt in ten years.
    New crops for farmers to grow.
    God said we could consume any seed bearing plant, which it is.
    Less people getting marginalized by prison sentence.
    Money saved by tax payers for not throwing non violent criminals in jail.
    It's healthier to use compared to alcohol, which is a legal and very addictive drug with withdrawals that kill easier then heroin.
    Prohibition doesn't work. Let them eat cake.
  • Lerro DeHazel 2012/08/10 14:30:04
    Lerro DeHazel
    +1
    I would imagine that twice that amount would even screw their neighbor's daughter if it weren't a sin.
  • C. C. Rider 2012/08/10 14:25:15
    C. C. Rider
    I'm telling you right now I would never sell dope. I refuse to be answering my door at two in the morning. And I know the same thing would happen as it did with AVon...I ended up keeping most of it. lol
  • Magical Mushroom 2012/08/10 14:11:39
    Magical Mushroom
    +2
    I would too and grow my own. Mainly for myself though because it can be a expensive habit. If I grew my own I would assure that I got the best stuff I can possibly get and no pesticides because weed dose not need pesticides.
    love weed
  • C. C. R... Magical... 2012/08/10 14:23:48
    C. C. Rider
    +1
    lol LOVE your avatar.
  • Magical... C. C. R... 2012/08/10 14:26:35
    Magical Mushroom
    +1
    lol thank you. I love it too, I use it every ware. if you look at it closer the green is swirling out.
    shrooms
  • C. C. R... Magical... 2012/08/10 14:31:28
    C. C. Rider
    +1
    You are right. the pic is clear as can me.


    chesire cat on a mushroom
  • Magical... C. C. R... 2012/08/10 14:35:04
  • C. C. R... Magical... 2012/08/10 15:47:01
    C. C. Rider
    +1
    WOW I have no idea how you did that. The pic is fantastic. I think I am high just looking at it.. THANK YOU lol
  • exhon2009 C. C. R... 2012/08/11 02:10:42
    exhon2009
    +1
    One of my sister's old boyfriends made a trip down south looking for shrooms with some buddies. They would go to farmers and tell them they were agricultural students from CSU, (Ft. Collins), doing studies of mushrooms and the farmers directed them to the best cow pastures.
  • C. C. R... exhon2009 2012/08/11 10:10:12
    C. C. Rider
    lol Now that is what I call talent. lol
  • Skinny 2012/08/10 13:40:10
    Skinny
    Its all very surprising ... many do choose to sell. but if the gov decided to sell it why not just make it full legal and tax it themselves!!
  • Skylaris Alanis 2012/08/10 13:18:26
    Skylaris Alanis
    lol
  • KB 2012/08/10 12:36:37
    KB
    More money for me
  • wcpjams 2012/08/10 12:33:47
    wcpjams
    If they were legal there wouldn't be nearly as much profit in selling them. It's because they are illegal and hard to get that the dealers make the kind of money they do.
  • Warfinge 2012/08/10 11:58:50
    Warfinge
    Use Prohibition and the subsequent abolition of it as a model. If you make a prohibited thing legal, you cripple the black market for it. The mystique of contraband evaporates when you can buy it retail. Yes Moonshine is a thriving market but it is microscopic compared to smuggling and bootlegging while booze was forbidden product.
  • kent Warfinge 2012/08/10 20:26:14
    kent
    Using that philosophy, Anheiser Bush must be just about broke and Shmirnoff fiing for stimulus help.
  • David (oYo) 2012/08/10 10:20:23
  • U-Dog 2012/08/10 10:06:01
    U-Dog
    +2
    If drugs were legal there would be no more profit in selling them than selling booze or cigarettes. There would also be a lot less rich gangsters, street violence and need for big paramilitary style police forces so most of the "loving caring" politicians, lawyers, judges along with the prison industrial complex and the police departments that recklessly, needlessly and increasingly ENDANGER the public to enrich themselves thru --guilty until proven innocent-- rights destroying confiscation programs would never support it.
  • jeffrey.p.dickman 2012/08/10 08:12:46
    jeffrey.p.dickman
    +2
    Well since I sold illegally in my teens in the smoking area in high school. I would say yes I have a new doctor here in Arizona I asked what she thought about my usage of medical marijuana with my illness to manage pain she told me to go for it. I am now looking into becoming a caregiver which allows you to supply 5 people. SO YEA LEGALIZE DRUGS JUST DON'T LET THEM DRIVE STONED.
  • Magical... jeffrey... 2012/08/10 14:14:06
    Magical Mushroom
    +2
    I drive better stoned. It calms down my stunt driving behavior.
  • y so serious 2012/08/10 07:33:36
    y so serious
    I bet you a third of people would have sex they shouldn't have if they could, i guess that makes that right too
  • PaulBot415 2012/08/10 06:08:41
    PaulBot415
    Those results do not surprise me at all.
  • Chris 2012/08/10 05:47:40
    Chris
    +1
    Don't call it dope, that is dopy. Call it Cannabis. Be respectful of the plant.
  • bacon.nivison 2012/08/10 04:55:40
    bacon.nivison
    My goodness, I do sell dope, is that not legal?
  • bacon.n... bacon.n... 2012/08/10 04:57:11
    bacon.nivison
    Good grief, if they legalize it I'll lose all my profit!
  • william keegan 2012/08/10 04:47:31
    william keegan
    Alcoholic beverages are legal, there is no widespread street vending going on!
  • Z 2012/08/10 04:42:12
    Z
    +1
    Why is it 1/3rd would sell it? This should actually say 2/3rds are smart enough to realize you couldn't make money selling drugs if it was legal.
  • kent Z 2012/08/10 20:29:40
    kent
    The guy who owns the liquor store says he's making money

See Votes by State

The map above displays the winning answer by region.

Living

2014/10/24 08:47:52

Hot Questions on SodaHead
More Hot Questions

More Community More Originals