Quantcast

PUBLIC OPINION > A 'Hunger Games'-Themed Wedding Is a Hit or Miss

Living 2012/03/19 22:27:58
Themed weddings can be loads of fun, or they can be a little on the strange side. A couple got married on "World of Warcraft" recently. That's on the strange side. In comparison, a "Hunger Games"-themed wedding sounds incredibly tame. Based on the suggestion from Green Wedding Shoes, the idea is simple: incorporate elements from the book into the wedding. No full-on costumes or far-out schemes, just some pine cone flowers, arrows, and symbols. We asked the public if it sounds like a good idea.



For a book-themed wedding, a split decision isn't bad. It helps that the theme is simple and cute, as opposed to, say, an "Avatar"-themed wedding, which would be awkward and... blue. One commenter wrote, "I think it is a fun idea as long as it doesn't take the focus away form the actual event and the couple." And that seemed to be the general consensus among supporters. Among detractors, the theme was something like, "Nerds!"

Teens Are the Top Supporters

There were plenty of marrying-age voters who were intrigued by the idea of a "Hunger Games"-themed wedding, but the biggest supporters were a bit too young. That might also be connected to the fact that unmarried voters were about 15% more interested than married voters.

Women Want It More

Evidently, "The Hunger Games" is more geared toward females. They were 24% more likely to go for the wedding. Then again, weddings in general tend to be more geared toward women, so that could be part of it. If there was a "Don't care" option, it might have attracted a significant portion of the male vote.

Progressives and Pine Cone Flowers

Obviously, a book-themed wedding doesn't scream conservatism, but we were a bit surprised to find that libertarians were even less likely to go for it, showing only 24% support. Christians, however, were only 10% behind atheists, so religion didn't seem to have nearly as much effect on the results.

If you'd like to vote on this question, dig deeper into the demographics, or engage in existing discussion about the topic, visit our poll about "The Hunger Games." We'd love to hear from you!
You!
Add Photos & Videos

Top Opinion

Sort By
  • Most Raves
  • Least Raves
  • Oldest
  • Newest
Opinions

  • samantha 2012/04/13 10:37:39
    samantha
    +1
    Themed weddings are always a little off too me.
  • Nichole 2012/03/21 03:28:10
    Nichole
    Definitely would need pictures before a decision can be made.
  • retrograve 2012/03/20 20:39:57
    retrograve
    I like the colors they used for their attire, regardless....
  • budgerigar42 2012/03/20 19:52:00
    budgerigar42
    I READ THIS BOOK WHEN IT CAME OUT IN 2008!!! I WISH "NEWBIES" THAT ONLY DISCOVERED IT THIS YEAR WOULD STOP RANTING ABOUT HOW GREAT IT IS!! I GET IT!!
  • Dave0626 2012/03/20 19:23:00
    Dave0626
    +1
    ...20 yrs. later and lookin' at the wedding album...what the hell were we thinking??!!!...

    20 yrs lookin wedding album thinking
  • Luna Wren 2012/03/20 18:59:28
    Luna Wren
    I just had a discussion on the new movie that's coming out and frankly, the way they pulled it off looks cute. It was simple and classy, if The Hunger Games wasn't so popular right now, no one would really notice and that's what makes it almost sort of a secret in my mind.
  • hari 2012/03/20 17:53:29
    hari
    depends and time will say it about as too early to comment on
  • Lucy Sparkles :3 2012/03/20 17:28:19
    Lucy Sparkles :3
    that's pretty dumb. i hate theme weddings. >.<
  • Lucy Smith 2012/03/20 15:40:33
    Lucy Smith
    if they want to then happy days x
  • gwen.collignon 2012/03/20 13:52:34
    gwen.collignon
    If people want to do that, then I will say:' Have a happy life together!'
  • KendraTaylor 2012/03/20 13:45:17
    KendraTaylor
    +4
    I'm going to need pictures before I can make a decision
  • The River Rat 2012/03/20 11:47:38
    The River Rat
    Hahaha, how stupid!
  • Beat Magnum True Hero 2012/03/20 10:07:27
    Beat Magnum True Hero
    Not to sound like a nerd (I am somewhat living under a rock right now), but WTF is "Hunger Games" and why do I care?
  • Waiting... Beat Ma... 2012/03/20 13:09:02
    Waiting in the Wings
    It's a very good trilogy that I'm sure they'll screw over in movie-form as the first movie comes out this Friday, but people are making it sound like Twilight (which guy do you want her to end up with- even though in the book it's not really a love triangle in the first book). Read the book, it's great! I'm not sure about the movie.
  • captain... Waiting... 2012/03/20 14:15:43
    captainquiggle
    It's another empty young adult trilogy; I've only read the first book, but it's way better than that Harry potter nonsense, so who knows?
  • Waiting... captain... 2012/03/20 21:58:00
    Waiting in the Wings
    The other books (especially the last one) are much better with the exception of the stupid love triangle which was pointless. If I consider someone my sibling, than I no longer consider him a potential love interest in any way, shape, or form.
  • captain... Waiting... 2012/03/21 21:21:07
    captainquiggle
    I just finished book two and thought it wasn't as good as book one but the third should be decent.
  • Cal 2012/03/20 10:03:04
  • findthelight2000 2012/03/20 08:14:16
    findthelight2000
    Absolutely! My sister had a Dungeons and Dragons themed wedding.
  • dakoda 2012/03/20 05:56:50
    dakoda
    lame
  • ^_^ZombiePrincess^_^ 2012/03/20 02:45:53
    ^_^ZombiePrincess^_^
    Idiots
  • hari 2012/03/20 02:07:24
    hari
    DESIRABLE
  • Waiting in the Wings 2012/03/20 00:33:23
    Waiting in the Wings
    +2
    Maybe bits and pieces, but the whole thing? Sounds really lame. It could be worse though, there are Twilight-themes weddings bits pieces sounds lame twilight-themes weddings
  • Hales Waiting... 2012/03/20 01:20:28
    Hales
    +1
    I get the apple part, but what the HELL are those things clinging onto the cake?! They looks like fungi or bacteria! (O_O)
  • Waiting... Hales 2012/03/20 13:03:30
    Waiting in the Wings
    No clue. It's supposed to be Twilight themed.
  • woodnymph Hales 2012/03/20 20:55:44
    woodnymph
    I'm pretty sure "those things" are branches from a tree.
  • Hales woodnymph 2012/03/21 00:05:46
    Hales
    I mean those colorful things on top of the branches. They remind me of seashells.
  • Hales 2012/03/19 23:30:31
    Hales
    +2
    It could be worse.
    crazy themed wedding
    crazy themed wedding
    crazy themed wedding
  • BattleB... Hales 2012/03/19 23:35:30
    BattleBunnys
    +1
    It's a trap!
  • frank 2012/03/19 23:25:31
    frank
    yes im going to copy lol
  • Drachen 2012/03/19 22:53:16
    Drachen
    I feel kind of offended and disappointed SodaHead.
  • AskingMichelle 2012/03/19 22:47:00
    AskingMichelle
    I want

See Votes by State

The map above displays the winning answer by region.

Living

2014/10/31 12:52:13

Hot Questions on SodaHead
More Hot Questions

More Community More Originals