Quantcast

Public Opinion 81% Believe Science Over Religion

Foxhound BN0 2012/07/27 04:40:34
Click the link to see a lightning poll of the results.


Read More: http://www.sodahead.com/living/do-you-believe-in-r...

You!
Add Photos & Videos

Top Opinion

Sort By
  • Most Raves
  • Least Raves
  • Oldest
  • Newest
Opinions

  • Illjwamh 2013/11/17 12:36:44
    Illjwamh
    In an unrelated story, 19% of Americans are found to be functionally retarded.
  • SK-pro impeachment 2012/11/16 01:30:48 (edited)
    SK-pro impeachment
    +1
    So what, many are called but few are chosen. It's not the majority of ppl that will enter into Heaven.
    the poll question is ambiguous as those who have Faith do actually believe in science, just not science fiction fairy tales based on someone's drawings concocted by their wild imagination.
  • Foxhoun... SK-pro ... 2012/11/17 13:59:22
    Foxhound BN0
    Where is your evidence of a heaven? Who are you to say who is chosen and who is not and why?
  • SK-pro ... Foxhoun... 2012/11/17 15:32:30
    SK-pro impeachment
    It's not me saying it, Jesus said it:

    Matt 22
    1 And Jesus answered and spoke to them again by parables and said:
    2 "The kingdom of heaven is like a certain king who arranged a marriage for his son,
    3 and sent out his servants to call those who were invited to the wedding; and they were not willing to come.
    4 Again, he sent out other servants, saying, 'Tell those who are invited, "See, I have prepared my dinner; my oxen and fatted cattle are killed, and all things are ready. Come to the wedding." '
    5 But they made light of it and went their ways, one to his own farm, another to his business.
    6 And the rest seized his servants, treated them spitefully, and killed them.
    7 But when the king heard about it, he was furious. And he sent out his armies, destroyed those murderers, and burned up their city.
    8 Then he said to his servants, 'The wedding is ready, but those who were invited were not worthy.
    9 Therefore go into the highways, and as many as you find, invite to the wedding.'
    10 So those servants went out into the highways and gathered together all whom they found, both bad and good. And the wedding hall was filled with guests.
    11 But when the king came in to see the guests, he saw a man there who did not have on a wedding garment.
    12 So he said to him, 'Friend, how did you come in here wi...

    It's not me saying it, Jesus said it:

    Matt 22
    1 And Jesus answered and spoke to them again by parables and said:
    2 "The kingdom of heaven is like a certain king who arranged a marriage for his son,
    3 and sent out his servants to call those who were invited to the wedding; and they were not willing to come.
    4 Again, he sent out other servants, saying, 'Tell those who are invited, "See, I have prepared my dinner; my oxen and fatted cattle are killed, and all things are ready. Come to the wedding." '
    5 But they made light of it and went their ways, one to his own farm, another to his business.
    6 And the rest seized his servants, treated them spitefully, and killed them.
    7 But when the king heard about it, he was furious. And he sent out his armies, destroyed those murderers, and burned up their city.
    8 Then he said to his servants, 'The wedding is ready, but those who were invited were not worthy.
    9 Therefore go into the highways, and as many as you find, invite to the wedding.'
    10 So those servants went out into the highways and gathered together all whom they found, both bad and good. And the wedding hall was filled with guests.
    11 But when the king came in to see the guests, he saw a man there who did not have on a wedding garment.
    12 So he said to him, 'Friend, how did you come in here without a wedding garment?' And he was speechless.
    13 Then the king said to the servants, 'Bind him hand and foot, take him away, and cast him into outer darkness; there will be weeping and gnashing of teeth.'
    14 For many are called, but few are chosen."
    (more)
  • Foxhoun... SK-pro ... 2012/11/17 19:54:44
    Foxhound BN0
    Why should we care what Jesus said?
  • SK-pro ... Foxhoun... 2012/11/17 19:58:19
    SK-pro impeachment
    You should, your eternal destiny depends on it.
  • Foxhoun... SK-pro ... 2012/11/17 20:25:23
    Foxhound BN0
    Not.
  • SK-pro ... Foxhoun... 2012/11/17 21:10:02
    SK-pro impeachment
    Okay, find out the hard way. You'll never be able to say, "but God, no one told me."
  • Foxhoun... SK-pro ... 2012/11/18 04:25:28
    Foxhound BN0
    +1
    and you'll never be able to say, wow, wtf was i thinking? because you'll be dead.
  • SK-pro ... Foxhoun... 2012/11/18 04:31:12
    SK-pro impeachment
    Nope we live for ever it's our bodies that die but the soul goes on.
  • Foxhoun... SK-pro ... 2012/11/18 04:50:50
    Foxhound BN0
    lol right
  • SK-pro ... Foxhoun... 2012/11/18 04:59:16
    SK-pro impeachment
    Okay we'll just sit back and see.
  • Foxhoun... SK-pro ... 2012/11/18 05:08:43
    Foxhound BN0
    +1
    While you are sitting and waiting I am going to go live my life. lol
  • SK-pro ... Foxhoun... 2012/11/18 05:18:17
    SK-pro impeachment
    Me too. If i'm right i'm safe if i'm wrong i had nothing to lose. It's always best to error on the side of caution, though.
  • Foxhoun... SK-pro ... 2012/11/18 05:36:56
    Foxhound BN0
    +1
    No it's not. if it were up to people like you we'd still be in the dark ages.
  • SK-pro ... Foxhoun... 2012/11/18 05:48:21
    SK-pro impeachment
    You're blind and living in the dark right now if you are not born again.

    John 1
    1 In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the Word was God.
    2 He was in the beginning with God.
    3 All things were made through Him, and without Him nothing was made that was made.
    4 In Him was life, and the life was the light of men.
    5 And the light shines in the darkness, and the darkness did not comprehend it.
    6 There was a man sent from God, whose name was John.
    7 This man came for a witness, to bear witness of the Light, that all through him might believe.
    8 He was not that Light, but was sent to bear witness of that Light.
    9 That was the true Light which gives light to every man coming into the world.
    10 He was in the world, and the world was made through Him, and the world did not know Him.
    11 He came to His own, and His own did not receive Him.
    12 But as many as received Him, to them He gave the right to become children of God, to those who believe in His name:
    13 who were born, not of blood, nor of the will of the flesh, nor of the will of man, but of God.
  • Foxhoun... SK-pro ... 2012/11/18 05:55:37
    Foxhound BN0
    Zzzzz
  • SK-pro ... Foxhoun... 2012/11/18 06:02:04
    SK-pro impeachment
    Okay well you've said that before. don't be caught sleeping when the Thief comes in the middle of the night.
  • Foxhoun... SK-pro ... 2012/11/19 13:22:17
    Foxhound BN0
    Dying in your sleep does not sound so bad.
  • SK-pro ... Foxhoun... 2012/11/19 15:48:08
    SK-pro impeachment
    I was speaking parabolically.
  • Foxhoun... SK-pro ... 2012/11/20 08:42:46
    Foxhound BN0
    There's even a morbid little children's prayer about it. Death is really not the best subject to bring up before bed each night. They wonder why they have bad dreams.
  • SK-pro ... Foxhoun... 2012/11/20 15:33:08
  • Foxhoun... SK-pro ... 2012/11/20 15:52:58
    Foxhound BN0
    +1
    LOL You have to play this sound with your picture.
  • Roy 2012/11/01 18:32:57
    Roy
    +1
    The duality of humanity is that they will also tell you they believe in a gawd and that faith is very important. They especially love their faith and beliefs when it comes to DOING NOTHING.

    After all. it's way easier to talk up a bunch of crap and "believe in something"
    than actually DOING SOMETHING to change the world in a major positive way...just look around you at the state of things ~ GET USED TO HAVING LESS & LESS AS TIME GOES ON.

    Faith is for the convenience of comfort to do nothing and the acceptance of the reasonably unacceptable. Another way to live and die in ignorance.
  • boots 2012/10/30 13:45:28
    boots
    +3
    Should be 100%.
    At least it lets you know that 19% of the people are retarded.
  • Robert Strobel 2012/10/29 19:45:00
    Robert Strobel
    Okay
  • tootien 2012/10/29 17:11:38
    tootien
    I believe that science and faith can coexist.
  • No One 2012/10/29 02:50:10 (edited)
    No One
    +3
    That is a sad statistic as it means that 19% believe in some form of superstition over science and 19% is still too high even if it is a minority. Of course the actual percent of people who believe in religion is probably higher as I must admit that the poll does make a person look stupid if they vote for religion and so some people who believe in religion might have voted for science.
  • NarcolepticGoat 2012/07/28 17:10:02
    NarcolepticGoat
    +2
    Was that believe science over religion or believe science over a literal interpretation of the bible? There's a difference.
  • Foxhoun... Narcole... 2012/07/29 01:36:42
  • Dave Sawyer ♥ Child of God ♥ 2012/07/28 13:57:45
    Dave Sawyer ♥ Child of God ♥
    Not a very scientific poll.
  • socokid 2012/07/27 17:41:57
    socokid
    +2
    But then...

    http://www.gallup.com/poll/15...

    Belief in non-deity assisted evolution has actually dropped from 16% to 15%, while belief in 100% magical poofing went up 6%...

    Boo-urns. It is hard to find this much detraction from science in other 1st world, Western nations. This poll is obviously just for America.
  • bricklyn socokid 2012/07/30 01:14:54
    bricklyn
    +2
    Please do not include Canada in that poll. We are part of America. You are the USA.
  • socokid bricklyn 2012/08/03 13:27:51
    socokid
    I didn't. Just the good 'ol USofA. ;-)
  • Prime Time Lime 2012/07/27 17:29:01 (edited)
    Prime Time Lime
    +6
    I think it comes down critcal thinking and objective reasoning,things that do not seem to be taught in schools anymore.There needs to be courses in all schools,and just like math,science and other subjects, critical thinking should be a mandetory course.We need more people that are able to think for themselves and reason for themselves.
    I can remember a simple example from elementary school.The teacher went to the front of each row and told each student a short story.They were to tell the one behind them,and each one to repeat the story until the student in the back.By then the original story was barely recognizable.
  • Prime T... 2012/10/26 17:48:37
    +4
    that explains what could happen to a story (whether true or not) passed down from generation to generation throughout thousands of years. it all falls down to human behavior and its flaws.
  • ehrhornp 2012/07/27 17:26:06
    ehrhornp
    +2
    Shame this poll is probably not a representative sample of the general population.
  • findthelight2000 2012/07/27 14:53:59
    findthelight2000
    +4
    Lets hope that trend keeps gaining ground. Maybe then we can get to work at saving the Earth from man's destruction.
  • findthe... 2012/10/26 17:51:13
    +4
    and THAT is what is most important now and also within our grasp, albeit, the hard teamwork involved and all.
  • Lady Whitewolf 2012/07/27 14:51:44
    Lady Whitewolf
    +4
    No surprise there!

See Votes by State

The map above displays the winning answer by region.

Living

2014/10/25 00:57:35

Hot Questions on SodaHead
More Hot Questions

More Community More Originals