Quantcast

PUBLIC OPINION > $60K Is Too Much for Custody of a Pet

SodaHead Living 2012/05/17 16:00:00
Some people really, really love their pets. They treat them like a member of the family, take them on vacations, spend money on medication, and knit them sweaters. But Craig Dershowitz is playing in a completely different dog park. The 36-year-old art gallery worker spent $60,000 out-of-pocket trying to get his puggle back from an ex-girlfriend. Unfortunately for him, it wasn't enough, and now he's asking the public for support. (His ex says the dog's just fine, and claims he's using the battle for publicity.) We wanted to know how many people would be willing to go to those lengths to get their beloved pet back.

dog custody

As much as we might love our pets, there are limits. And most people would set that limit well below $60,000. It's not like the dog is dying, either. If that were the case, there might be more sympathy. But the dog seems to be in good hands. There's a reason his $60,000 hasn't regained custody. The Top Opinion put it in perspective: "I'm struggling mightily to raise $42,000 to bring to public awareness a painless cancer treatment ... Of course, he has raised more money so far than I have. Human beings sure are funny."

Only If It's Out of Reach

We noticed an interesting phenomenon when we checked out the income breakdown: The voters who were most likely to be able to afford $60,000 in legal fees were least likely to say they'd actually do it. And the pattern carried through every bracket -- the less someone makes, the more likely they are to say they'd spend that much. So, realistically, even fewer people would go to those lengths. It's only appealing if it's unrealistic.

Marriage Puts a Damper on It

You know what they say... Divorce is cheaper than marriage. Given the income demographic, obviously age has something to do with the breakdown. But it was more interesting to see how relationship status affected responses. Singles were most likely to spend the money -- they have fewer financial obligations and more need for a pet. Married respondents? Not a friggin' chance.

Women Would Be More Willing

Once again, the female vote came out a little more sympathetic and nurturing. Women were about 8% more likely to spend that much money for custody of a pet. Although, based on comments, it could also just be that women are glad to see a guy spending money on something besides video games and car parts.

If you'd like to vote on this question, dig deeper into the demographics, or engage in existing discussion about the topic, visit our poll about pet custody. We'd love to hear from you!
You!
Add Photos & Videos

Top Opinion

  • CREW grand 2012/05/17 21:10:52
    CREW grand
    +5
    The wealthier people are, the stingier they become.
    If you're collecting for a charity, you should stand outside Walmart, not Bloomingdales.

    wealthy

    Don

Sort By
  • Most Raves
  • Least Raves
  • Oldest
  • Newest
Opinions

  • HiddenDVS1027 2012/05/18 20:26:14
    HiddenDVS1027
    I would do anything for my dogs. I love them dearly. :)
  • Godsgirlisreal 2012/05/18 19:34:12
  • Marie 2012/05/18 14:22:52
    Marie
    Money earned should be spent anyway you wish!
  • Charlotte 2012/05/18 14:14:27
    Charlotte
    +1
    If, I had the money I would.
  • Eva (: 2012/05/18 14:14:19
    Eva (:
    +1
    Awwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww how cute :))))))))
  • Wulfdane 2012/05/18 13:39:35 (edited)
    Wulfdane
    I would spend only what I could reasonably afford in relation to my income. But I would not sacrifice the welfare of my son and his future to do it, my son is my first priority.
  • MissingTheO.C. 2012/05/18 12:46:30
    MissingTheO.C.
    for my pet i would.
  • hasher 2012/05/18 11:24:03
    hasher
    i know i couldnt afford it. its too bad they couldnt share custody of the dog. why wont she let him have it for a few days and then she gets back kind of like sharing custody of kids.
  • S.Lewis 2012/05/18 10:48:14
    S.Lewis
    I love my cat Tiger. If I were rich I probably would too.
    I know it's ridiculous but he is my baby. Why doesn't he just try & get visitation rights.
  • wiskkers 2012/05/18 10:41:05
  • Persephone 2012/05/18 07:54:36
    Persephone
    I would stop at nothing to have my pets back. So if I had to spend all that money, I most definitely would.
  • Vitalani 2012/05/18 07:06:41
    Vitalani
    66% of people polled do not deserve pets.
  • hasher Vitalani 2012/05/18 11:25:09
    hasher
    and how do you know that??? do you know any of these people personally??
  • dandieselonian 2012/05/18 06:38:16
    dandieselonian
    hell I dont know I like those little doggys they are loving and sweet
  • Inquisitve Kat 2012/05/18 05:49:29
    Inquisitve Kat
    +1
    My pets are like my children. I'd spent it on my kids, if I had them, so why not my pets?
  • Bibliophilic 2012/05/18 05:44:32 (edited)
    Bibliophilic
    I don't even have 60k. I will someday. I love my cat, but she does not have a monetary value.
  • sherie 2012/05/18 04:29:12
    sherie
    Crazy!
  • Waiting in the Wings 2012/05/18 02:06:19
    Waiting in the Wings
    +1
    Getting a dog as a couple is just asking for trouble. My Dantes is mine. I picked him out and I've taken care of him since he was five weeks old. If a future boyfriend wants to help take care of him, fine, but he's mine and mine alone.
  • ♌βļąƈʞƦơșƐ3033♌ 2012/05/18 01:46:30
  • BEVERLY ANN CLARK 2012/05/18 00:35:51
    BEVERLY ANN CLARK
    yes i will.
  • Tentimesinfinity 2012/05/17 23:42:47
    Tentimesinfinity
    +1
    having a pet is like....i cant even explain what i would do to keep my pet happy. I'd give them the world, because the love they give me is worth more than anything i could think of.
  • Dolly 2012/05/17 23:20:19
    Dolly
    I figure if someone wants my pets and give it a better home than I can then let them try.
  • Dagon 2012/05/17 22:59:30
  • Marz 2012/05/17 21:59:25
    Marz
    I would never allow anyone to take my dog/cat away, considering you're are their pet guardian and have adopted them. It seems people like to confuse living creatures with objects. You would do what ever it takes to win your kid back and you would never be like "well there are a lot of kids up for adoption and I can always have another one." Some people make me sick :-/
  • Jdogg 2012/05/17 21:17:37
    Jdogg
    +1
    If I broke up with a person and they took my dog, I would let them have it, I would just get another pet, The shelters are full of pets that need good homes now.
  • CREW grand 2012/05/17 21:10:52
    CREW grand
    +5
    The wealthier people are, the stingier they become.
    If you're collecting for a charity, you should stand outside Walmart, not Bloomingdales.

    wealthy

    Don
  • Zachary Smith 2012/05/17 20:58:58 (edited)
    Zachary Smith
    +2
    Money, money, money
    Must be funny
    In the rich dog's world
    Money, money, money
    Always sunny
    In the rich dog's world

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?...

    rich dogs world money money money sunny rich dogs world
  • Emo Princess Kayla 2012/05/17 20:34:22
    Emo Princess Kayla
    HELL YA THATS TOOO MUCH FOR ME TO NOW WANT A NEW DOG IF THEY WANT THAT MUCH FOR IT!!!! TOO MUCH LOWER THE PRICE PEOPLE!!!
  • lori 2012/05/17 20:13:53
    lori
    +1
    No but she shouldn't have custody either, i read about this story and her family has lots of money to fight this and he doesn't. He paid all the vet bill and paid for him and was the one to take care of him. this is only temporary anyway.
  • Hula girl - Friends not Fol... 2012/05/17 20:04:43
    Hula girl - Friends not Followers
    +1
    A pet can be like your child and what is the price of love. Pets to some are just that...pets. Pets to others of us are family....and what price is too high for that?
  • hat man Hula gi... 2012/05/17 20:40:50
    hat man
    A price you can't afford I guess.
  • Hula gi... hat man 2012/05/17 20:58:13 (edited)
    Hula girl - Friends not Followers
    +1
    I can easily. I have 7 spoiled furry kids. I didn't have to pay for their college....just classes. They are well cared for. I cook their dinner every night before ours.
  • hat man Hula gi... 2012/05/18 06:54:40
    hat man
    +1
    I wasn't talking about you personally. I was just making an example. If you don't have $60000 you can't afford the price.
  • Hula gi... hat man 2012/05/18 16:28:53
    Hula girl - Friends not Followers
    The point is though if you love something enough you'll find the money or come up with ways to have others help you...just like he's doing.
  • hat man Hula gi... 2012/05/18 17:08:37
    hat man
    +1
    Naturally.
  • jackie 2012/05/17 19:37:14
    jackie
    I think the reason why they were fighting so hard is not because of the pet, its because they wanted to win. to take something they both liked away from each other. for me I love my dog, but as long as my dog get a good home. I'll get another dog.
  • Margaret Jacobson 2012/05/17 18:25:02
    Margaret Jacobson
    who hasd $60, 000............NOT ME !!!
  • lm1b2 2012/05/17 18:08:12
    lm1b2
    You miss the Point,they are family,and we would spend any amount if we have it to spend!
  • Jess lm1b2 2012/05/17 18:14:13 (edited)
    Jess
    +1
    I think you missed the point. The question and poll is misleading regarding this particular case. There isn't enough information to decide who should have the dog. Even the judge hasn't decided yet. The guy could just be rich and an attention whore who doesn't care about the dog but cares about media attention.
    It's also easier and said than done. Not many people have an unlimited source of money.
  • Hula gi... Jess 2012/05/17 20:06:38
    Hula girl - Friends not Followers
    +1
    Wrong, you can see how much he loves his dog and he says he's like his son. That's not attention getting.

    I know my other half would do the same.

See Votes by State

The map above displays the winning answer by region.

Living

2014/04/18 15:58:58

Hot Questions on SodaHead
More Hot Questions

More Community More Originals