Quantcast

PUBLIC OPINION > 15 Is Old Enough to Wax

Living 2012/07/10 20:00:00
Uni K Wax Centers in Florida and New York recently received criticism for releasing an ad that encourages "all girls 15 and younger" to wax by offering them discounted services. Critics were "disgusted" with the ad, alleging that it was "completely inappropriate" to encourage waxing at such a young age. We asked the public if it's too young to wax.



Most respondents felt that 15-year-old girls were old enough to wax. The Top Opinion put it bluntly: "Is it too old to shave? No? Then it's not too old to wax. What's with the stigma against waxing?" Critics argued that waxing shows an unhealthy concern with body image. Many suggested young girls would be better off spending their time having fun or doing their homework. But technically, doesn't waxing cut down on time spent shaving?

Men Mind the Age

Since many female voters have been faced with the decision themselves, they were quite a bit more sympathetic to young girls who want to try waxing. However, men were nearly split. Reading through the comments, it did seem that some male voters were under the impression that "waxing" is synonymous with "bikini wax," which may have affected the vote somewhat.

Teens Want to Have the Option

Naturally, the age group in question was perfectly fine with allowing themselves to wax. That doesn't necessarily mean they want to wax, just that 15 is old enough to make their own decision. Of course, most teens aren't parents, so they probably don't have the same perspective, but that doesn't make their opinion any less valuable.

Parents Play It Safe

As we suggested above, part of the reason older voters are more reluctant to let 15-year-old girls wax is because many of them are parents. When you're a parent, you're more concerned about the implications of seemingly innocuous things, like waxing or wearing makeup. It's not that waxing is particularly "inappropriate" as it is prematurely superficial.

If you'd like to vote on this question, dig deeper into the demographics, or engage in existing discussion about the topic, visit our poll about teen waxing. We'd love to hear from you!
You!
Add Photos & Videos

Top Opinion

Sort By
  • Most Raves
  • Least Raves
  • Oldest
  • Newest
Opinions

  • YeahISa... frequen... 2012/07/14 03:33:28
    YeahISaidIt
    Waxing just burns. I had my eyebrows waxed before and it burned for hours.
  • frequen... YeahISa... 2012/07/14 03:38:18
    frequent–antagonist
    You must have overly-sensitive skin, then. I've never had that problem.
  • YeahISa... frequen... 2012/07/14 03:42:25 (edited)
    YeahISaidIt
    Yeah I guess so. Shaving is annoying enough with me. Some parts of me are just more sensitive..
  • frequen... YeahISa... 2012/07/14 03:47:20
    frequent–antagonist
    Shaving really is such a pain (theoretically, of course)! I get what you mean, though. I guess I just have tough skin.
  • YeahISa... frequen... 2012/07/14 04:30:53
    YeahISaidIt
    That's not bad when it comes to razor bumps and burn from wax strips :( or even worse: itchy nair.
  • Spider20 2012/07/11 17:45:11
    Spider20
    +4
    Wax on....wax off....
    mr myagi
  • dr blais 2012/07/11 17:33:04
  • mizzSHA... dr blais 2012/07/11 17:42:15
    mizzSHADYgirl
    That's me.
  • Kerymi 2012/07/11 16:53:05
    Kerymi
    +1
    Depends on where...most places, I think it's okay, but I think the girl should be at least 12.
  • Jordan 2012/07/11 16:25:13
    Jordan
    +1
    i have been waxing sence 12!!!
  • Chair Arms Jordan 2012/07/12 04:04:36 (edited)
    Chair Arms
    I love you! Smart age.
  • Rebellion 2012/07/11 16:23:16
    Rebellion
    Actually I'm 14 and I do wax myself since I was 13.
    My mother told me if I wanted and I agreed.
    I believe that if you have a hair growing problem, you should after 12.
  • FatherL... Rebellion 2012/07/11 16:34:51 (edited)
    FatherLiberty
    A hair growing problem? Since when was hair a problem, and men became women?
  • Ashlyn FatherL... 2012/07/11 19:13:42
    Ashlyn
    +3
    ...celia is a girl she doesn't have a dick to tape and it shows an unnecessary display of hatred in your heart to talk like this to a teen girl.
  • FatherL... Ashlyn 2012/07/11 22:56:15 (edited)
    FatherLiberty
    The picture sure looks like a boy... so maybe I was wrong in my assumption.
  • AmberrP... FatherL... 2012/07/11 19:14:06
    AmberrPassion
    +1
    I think all that she means is if your hair grows to thick too quickly. And to be frank, I didn't understand your reply at all, Father.....whatever.
  • FatherL... AmberrP... 2012/07/11 22:58:13
    FatherLiberty
    Obviously I thought it was a boy given the fact her profile pic is a boy.... my bad for making an incorrect assumption.
  • RoseyRhod AmberrP... 2012/07/12 14:33:34
    RoseyRhod
    +1
    I'm sure as hell glad he isn't my father. Creepsville!
  • Shanii FatherL... 2012/07/11 22:31:59
    Shanii
    +2
    That wasn't what she meant you troll. As a girl you don't want your legs to be hairy, you eyebrows to be too bushy, or to have any type of hair on your lip. If you have that, you see it as a problem. She quite obviously didn't mean to offend any cancer patients. Granted, cancer is horrible and they lose their hair but when it grows back, do you think women would want hairy armpits, legs, eyebrows, and a mustache growing? And let me tell you the right answer, MOST DON'T. Get over yourself and think a little deeper. I'm 14, nd I don't wax, but I shave if I even think I feel a little hair growing back where I don't want it.
  • Rebellion FatherL... 2012/07/12 08:09:38
    Rebellion
    +1
    I'm a girl. You could tell by the name, if not by the photo ( which I haven't, that a display photo when you register ). My hair are growing really fast, both body hair, and those on my head. And last but not least, even if I wasn't a girl, it's really rude to ask a dude if he tapes the hair between his legs.
  • RoseyRhod Rebellion 2012/07/12 14:35:14
    RoseyRhod
    I have very thick hair on my head. Unfortunately, this also means I have very thick hair on other places, like my arms and legs. I shave my arms as well as my legs because of this. I can't stand the idea of waxing, ouch! But whatever works for the individual.
  • Rebellion RoseyRhod 2012/07/12 17:06:56
    Rebellion
    Well, I have tried both wax and shaving. Also shaving machines. Wax's the best because it pulls out hair from the root and the next time it grows smaller. Shaving and shaving machines don't take the hair from the root and they grow bigger and faster. I know wax hurts but it's the best.
  • RoseyRhod FatherL... 2012/07/12 14:32:58
    RoseyRhod
    Good...sweet...Lord. Where the hell did you get that pervy idea from what she said?
  • meneope Rebellion 2012/07/13 21:34:20
    meneope
    lol @ "a hair growing problem"
    u r the best
  • Rebellion meneope 2012/07/16 10:34:00
    Rebellion
    +1
    Ha, trying ;)
  • Jadee. <33 2012/07/11 15:20:04
    Jadee. <33
    YES... you can shave?
  • Riobhca 2012/07/11 15:01:53 (edited)
    Riobhca
    +2
    No. It is ridiculous to be obsessed with that. Superficial appearance is the last thing they should be concerned with.
  • Margaret Jacobson 2012/07/11 14:55:59
    Margaret Jacobson
    If not 15 ?? What age ? If they can purchase a kit to take home, WHY NOT A SALON ?? Some persons have more hair than others !! What next we "card" people for "waxing "supplies??
  • BloodlessVeins 2012/07/11 13:48:40
    BloodlessVeins
    I'd hate to have hair down there...some girls have more hairs than others...15 sounds like the right age...
  • Simi Dave 2012/07/11 13:15:10
    Simi Dave
    +2
    Sure, but... Why would you want to?!?! OUCH!!!!
  • ««Ginge... Simi Dave 2012/07/11 23:16:49
    ««Gingey, the Master Debater of Þ|-|Дэ†»»
    +2
    EXTERMINATE!

    Sorry, I saw your pic and I absolutely had to.
  • Simi Dave ««Ginge... 2012/07/13 14:26:22
    Simi Dave
    +1
    EX-TER-MI-NATE a bikini line? :-)
  • kawaiigurl1234 2012/07/11 12:39:20
    kawaiigurl1234
    Yes what's wrong with that.
  • Isabella 2012/07/11 12:20:23 (edited)
    Isabella
    +2
    NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO... :( children shouldn't have to worry about that yet... I'm tired of young girls becoming sex objects! :'(
  • Bloodle... Isabella 2012/07/11 13:49:33
    BloodlessVeins
    +3
    But what if they just want to go swimming...and they are too embarrassed to because they have extra hair...
  • sherie Bloodle... 2012/07/11 23:08:04
    sherie
    +1
    Point taken
  • YeahISa... Isabella 2012/07/11 18:02:37
    YeahISaidIt
    I think 15 is a good age for that. Especially since they all want to run around in daisy dukes.
  • Kae Kam Isabella 2012/07/12 22:34:37
    Kae Kam
    +1
    I'm curious how waxing armpits/legs/eyebrows/etc. is sexual.
  • Angela Chambers 2012/07/11 12:10:34
    Angela Chambers
    Why not?
  • Jules 2012/07/11 12:04:03
    Jules
    +10
    Honestly, HOW did waxing get mushed into the pile of 'I do this because I want to have sex with guys'? That is NOT what waxing means, and neither does shaving mean that. When a girl shaves or waxes, it is simply because they don't like having leg-hair, and especially DON'T want to show it off when wearing shorts or a bathing suit over the summer. I mean, even a parent has to admit that they don't want to see their daughter showing off her hairy legs in public! Basically, when you get a wax when you're a teenager, it's either for your legs, face or underarms, NOT FOR YOUR OTHER AREA. I don't understand why people would think that a young 11 year old girl would want to get a bikini, or a brazillian wax when most of them don't even know what either of them are. Sure, maybe 15 and older you'll want to get one, but that's because that's the age you start thinking about sex. Sorry to say that, but it's true. So waxing for most young girls isn't the equivalent of having sex, or wanting to look good for guys, it's more about looking good to yourself and that your legs honestly just feel a hell of a lot better when theirs no hair on them.

    So...yea, that's my rant on waxing for the day.

See Votes by State

The map above displays the winning answer by region.

Living

2014/07/25 11:30:28

Hot Questions on SodaHead
More Hot Questions

More Community More Originals