Quantcast

PUBLIC OPINION > 15 Is Old Enough to Wax

Living 2012/07/10 20:00:00
Uni K Wax Centers in Florida and New York recently received criticism for releasing an ad that encourages "all girls 15 and younger" to wax by offering them discounted services. Critics were "disgusted" with the ad, alleging that it was "completely inappropriate" to encourage waxing at such a young age. We asked the public if it's too young to wax.



Most respondents felt that 15-year-old girls were old enough to wax. The Top Opinion put it bluntly: "Is it too old to shave? No? Then it's not too old to wax. What's with the stigma against waxing?" Critics argued that waxing shows an unhealthy concern with body image. Many suggested young girls would be better off spending their time having fun or doing their homework. But technically, doesn't waxing cut down on time spent shaving?

Men Mind the Age

Since many female voters have been faced with the decision themselves, they were quite a bit more sympathetic to young girls who want to try waxing. However, men were nearly split. Reading through the comments, it did seem that some male voters were under the impression that "waxing" is synonymous with "bikini wax," which may have affected the vote somewhat.

Teens Want to Have the Option

Naturally, the age group in question was perfectly fine with allowing themselves to wax. That doesn't necessarily mean they want to wax, just that 15 is old enough to make their own decision. Of course, most teens aren't parents, so they probably don't have the same perspective, but that doesn't make their opinion any less valuable.

Parents Play It Safe

As we suggested above, part of the reason older voters are more reluctant to let 15-year-old girls wax is because many of them are parents. When you're a parent, you're more concerned about the implications of seemingly innocuous things, like waxing or wearing makeup. It's not that waxing is particularly "inappropriate" as it is prematurely superficial.

If you'd like to vote on this question, dig deeper into the demographics, or engage in existing discussion about the topic, visit our poll about teen waxing. We'd love to hear from you!
You!
Add Photos & Videos

Top Opinion

Sort By
  • Most Raves
  • Least Raves
  • Oldest
  • Newest
Opinions

  • zachary rhodin 2012/08/09 06:35:11
    zachary rhodin
    no way. let kids be kids. ofr goodness sake your only young once.
  • Veritas 2012/08/07 04:14:48
    Veritas
    I absolutely think it is okay. They're going to shave anyway. At least they won't have to go around with razor cuts, etc. that goes with the territory of a newbie. If they can afford it, I say let them do it. Hopefully they earn the money themselves. My daughter is stuck with the razor for now!
  • Vijay Pawar 2012/08/07 04:08:44
    Vijay Pawar
    How the girls bear it man !
  • Vijay Pawar 2012/08/07 04:06:55
    Vijay Pawar
    No way.....!
  • malikasecrets 2012/07/31 03:31:25
    malikasecrets
    I think it all depends on the circumstances. I know a young girl who had a serious uni-brow. Very pretty girl. Her mom got her eye brow waxed. Generally, no they shouldn't start waxing so early.
  • donna.robinson.102 2012/07/30 16:59:43
    donna.robinson.102
    +2
    The ages are getting younger and younger upon where females are doing uneccesary things to their bodies before their bodies have a chance to fully mature into what they are truly going to be before making any changes, and the parents paying for these changes need to stop, they are making themselves older before their time, even getting breast enhancements as well as plastic surgery, and all of these things have an impact on their bodies as they mature.
  • bye 2012/07/30 16:46:56
    bye
    Surely there is a age too young but some kids will torment a girl with too much hair in middle school so I'm on board with this
  • xcide13 bye 2012/07/30 18:56:16
    xcide13
    Too much hair? Yes, lets let Hollywood tell us how our kids should be raised. Disgusting.
  • bye xcide13 2012/09/01 01:14:34
    bye
    yeah so you want a girl getting teased about a mustache? And at 15 all the other girls are doing it so hair legs well they will get teased and with cell phones teasing takes on a whole new level!
  • xcide13 bye 2012/09/07 04:33:45
    xcide13
    If a girl has a mustache at 15 then i think that there is a larger problem...like doping.
  • bye xcide13 2012/09/07 21:41:58
    bye
    Some girls are naturally more hairy then others! Gee my friend had an issue like that gee.
  • xcide13 bye 2012/09/08 06:15:08
    xcide13
    So get over it...i had a friend with a unibrow...he got over it...GEE!
  • bye xcide13 2012/09/08 15:08:26
    bye
    Ah Caterpillar syndrome
  • dog 2012/07/26 13:19:13
    dog
    Yes
  • bill.fife.3 2012/07/23 15:52:50
    bill.fife.3
    +1
    What is waxing?
  • bye bill.fi... 2012/09/07 21:42:42
    bye
    Um they use Turtle wax on your car when teaching Kung Fu. Wax on Wax off and look at the shine!
  • Lina Al-alami 2012/07/22 00:46:08
    Lina Al-alami
    +3
    yeaah..sure
  • wallygator64 2012/07/20 14:14:34
    wallygator64
    +2
    Way to young.I would not allow my 15 yr old daughter to do this.
  • Veritas wallyga... 2012/08/07 04:18:01
    Veritas
    Does your daughter shave her legs or go hairy among her peer group? I'm over forty with a tween that shaves her legs. If I could afford it, I'd let her wax. She has very sensitive skin and the razor leaves bumps that she inevitably scratches and results in bleeding.

    I remember going to a pool party when I was in the sixth grade and all of us girls went into the bathroom all using the same razor (my friend's sister's). It felt like we were breaking the law. That was the first time I shaved my legs.

    I want my daughter to make her own decisions (within reason) and waxing her legs beats tattoo's and piercing's any day.
  • wallyga... Veritas 2012/08/07 22:05:24
    wallygator64
    +1
    True...very true.My daughter is in modeling back in Florida,so she keeps her legs shaved.
  • Veritas wallyga... 2012/08/08 11:33:24
    Veritas
    Have you noticed the young Female gymnasts in the Olympics. They must be waxing. The camera catches everything. It's crazy. Not that I'm checking them out for that, but you would notice if they were hairy!
  • Random 2012/07/19 04:20:49
    Random
    I thought they already were. You can buy it in any store, no age limit over here.
  • Vonnell Adams 2012/07/18 18:14:21
    Vonnell Adams
    A 15 YEAR OLD CAN'T EVEN BUY WAX, UNLESS THEIR DUMB ASS PARENTS GIVE THEM THE MONEY TO DO SO. ITS ALREADY HARD ENOUGH TO KEEP THEIR LITTLE GROWN ASSES IN HIGH SCHOOL. A PARENT THAT ALLOWS THEM TO MAKE ADULT DECISIONS WHEN THEY ARE STILL RESPOSIBLE FOR THEIR WELL BEING SHOULD HAVE THE HAIR ON THE HEADS EXAMINE.
  • lm1b2 2012/07/16 19:05:09
    lm1b2
    yes
  • ComaAlpha15 2012/07/16 14:18:31
    ComaAlpha15
    +3
    You know why children are growing faster these days? 'CAUSE IT'S SIMPLE EVOLUTION! We are EVOLVING! The age of puberty in both girls and boys are getting younger and younger with each generation that passes.

    And it's not a 'sex' matter. It's a 'self-image' matter. It's all about feeling comfortable in your own body. Is 15 too young for a chubby girl to start running on a treadmill if she wishes to?
  • xcide13 ComaAlp... 2012/07/30 18:58:27
    xcide13
    You just compared running to having pubic hair removed...you need to work on your analogies. Not to mention that you compared being overweight to having body hair...do you really stand behind that?
  • Ashlea xcide13 2012/07/31 04:53:31
    Ashlea
    They weren't saying pubic hair.... This poll was actually referring to waxing in general ie legs, eyebrows......
  • xcide13 Ashlea 2012/07/31 05:26:45
    xcide13
    They said as an alternative to shaving...as far as i know, women don't shave their eyebrows...and they don't wax their legs...sooo?
  • Ashlea xcide13 2012/08/01 02:22:39
    Ashlea
    Most women don't shave their eyebrows, but some do, and a lot of women wax their legs.
  • xcide13 Ashlea 2012/08/01 14:41:23
    xcide13
    Let me be more specific...a 15 year old is a girl, a child....not a woman. And therefore shouldn't behave as such.
  • ilstarwars xcide13 2012/08/06 02:47:40
    ilstarwars
    A lot of girls wax their legs, it keeps your legs hair-free for much longer than shaving. And if you don't shave carefully, it can be more dangerous than waxing because you can get ingrown hairs/razor burn, which can be very painful. I don't know if you shave your face or not, but if you do, you should know how painful cuts from shaving are. And the poll was referring to legs: "it did seem that some male voters were under the impression that "waxing" is synonymous with "bikini wax," It is also required in most cases if you are modeling.
    Now if they were indeed talking about pubic hair, I would agree with you, at least at that age.
  • xcide13 ilstarwars 2012/08/06 19:41:44
    xcide13
    Yeah, they didn't specify...and i've never known a woman who waxed her legs. Not to mention that i disagree with a business advertising waxing services to minors.
  • ilstarwars xcide13 2012/08/06 19:45:20
    ilstarwars
    Do women really talk to you about their hair removal process? And it clearly stated that it was not the pubic area. Which leaves eyebrows and legs. Ponder it as you will.
  • xcide13 ilstarwars 2012/08/06 19:53:29
    xcide13
    No, when i first reponded there was no meniton of the area to which they were referring. And yes, if you spend any lengthy amount of time with an adult female they will ineveitably refer to shaving or waxing.
  • ilstarwars xcide13 2012/08/06 19:56:06
    ilstarwars
    That's weird.
  • xcide13 ilstarwars 2012/08/06 20:24:57
    xcide13
    I agree, but then again most women don't have acceptable boundries...
  • ilstarwars xcide13 2012/08/06 20:30:48
    ilstarwars
    Haha, true.
  • ComaAlp... xcide13 2012/08/07 21:41:10
    ComaAlpha15
    Your god damn right I do and if you thought about it for 2 seconds, you'd understand that it makes sense. Body hair is PHYSICAL APPEARANCE and being fat is PHYSICAL APPEARANCE. So explain to me how it does NOT make sense.
  • xcide13 ComaAlp... 2012/08/08 13:02:10
    xcide13
    It makes perfect sense. And i don't have to think about it at all.

    What i want you to think about is how you seem to place body hair and health on the same level. Body hair doesn't cause hypertension, diabetes, and heart disease. That is why i find it ASININE(see i can use all caps, too) that anyone would be as worried about their body hair(and/or personal appearance) as they were their physical health.

    Now maybe you can spend some time attempting to grasp my side of the argument intstead of acting appalled and missing the point entirely.
  • realityjunkie 2012/07/14 19:11:47
    realityjunkie
    Yes. My friend's daughter is 11 and very well into puberity. She cannot wear a bathing suit without "cleaning up" first. I advised my friend to take her to get waxed. If she gets waxed often enough her hair will become more sparse and may even stop growning in that area.

See Votes by State

The map above displays the winning answer by region.

Living

2014/10/22 22:30:52

Hot Questions on SodaHead
More Hot Questions

More Community More Originals