Quantcast

PUBLIC OPINION > $1,000 a Week Can't Replace a Career

Living 2012/06/15 20:59:02
An 18-year-old student from New York won the lottery this week, and it will earn him around $1,000 a week for the rest of his life. That's about $48,000 a year for absolutely nothing. It isn't exactly a high roller salary, and if he wants to move up the ladder he'll have to supplement his income, but technically he'll never need to work a day in his life. Good Morning America asked if that was enough to keep people from working.



A grand a week would be amazing, but there are a couple of reasons most people would still prefer to work. First of all, it's not an enormous amount of money. It's definitely enough to live on, but it would leave most people lacking. A Princeton study found that $75,000 a year is the "happiest income," which means you'd need another $27,000 to really live it up. Not only that, but careers are fulfilling. Without work, life can get pretty boring. And a $1,000-a-week cushion will cut down on the stress, too.

Young People Need Work

Naturally, there had to be an age limit. Work is important, but eventually people retire. Based on our results, that cut-off age is about 55 years old. After that, the desire to keep working unnecessarily dropped an average of 28%. However, more than half of people over the age of 55 still said they'd keep working. Maybe retirement's not that great after all.

Unemployed Are So Over It

We also anticipated some correlation based on employment status, and again, the results were somewhat predictable. Full-time workers seem to love work, while the unemployed were less than enthusiastic about continuing to job search after landing a grand a year. But students were actually the most eager to work. They're still figuring out what they want to do, and they're going to pursue it, whatever it is.

Drinkers Need Jobs

Let's move away from the obvious for a minute, and take a look at one statistic that surprised us. Would you believe drinkers were 11% more likely than nondrinkers to want to continue working? It could be that workaholics enjoy their drink -- see "Mad Men" -- or it could be that drinkers need a little more to fuel their fire. Either way, it seems that drinks and jobs go hand-in-hand.

If you'd like to vote on this question, dig deeper into the demographics, or engage in existing discussion about the topic, visit our poll about working unnecessarily. We'd love to hear from you!
You!
Add Photos & Videos

Top Opinion

  • Lord Emperor of Dune 2012/06/15 21:13:58
    Lord Emperor of Dune
    +11
    That would get me the hell out of my job in about 3.6 seconds. It's not enough to live high on the hog, but it's enough to live modestly and fairly well.

    Now, I wouldn't quit working... I would train as a lion tamer, profession shooting competitor, fly fisherman, car painter, sculptor... I would work, but I wouldn't feel bad if a job didn't pan out. I would just move on to the next experience... Damn, I wish I could win that money...

Sort By
  • Most Raves
  • Least Raves
  • Oldest
  • Newest
Opinions

  • LiveLuvnLaugh 2012/06/16 00:51:35
    LiveLuvnLaugh
    The obesity levels and health issues may go up for the couch potatoes.
  • bernadette. 2012/06/16 00:32:46
    bernadette.
    +1
    I'd be out of there in a NY minute!
  • Nonpartisan 2012/06/15 23:52:09
    Nonpartisan
    If I won any amount I would invest 100% of it in my On-Going Non-Partisan Presidential Campaign for the American People, and continue to work as hard as I can on my Campaign for the American People.

    http://www.myspace.com/dwight...
  • gcpajunen 2012/06/15 23:47:00
    gcpajunen
    No
  • SteveMarine- JLA 2012/06/15 23:45:50
    SteveMarine- JLA
    +1
    Of course a damn kid would win... While some one like me has three kids....workin all the damn time in public safety....and cant afford a gallon of milk. A grand a week might actually make it so I could enjoy life some.....I think I would keep working...but that extra grand a week would damn sure help..
  • Walter Harris 2012/06/15 23:24:08
    Walter Harris
    +1
    I would keep working but it would a nice cushion. Pocket the 48000 a year and live off my income.
  • RevBH Walter ... 2012/06/15 23:34:51
    RevBH
    Yeah. That would ensure a nice comfy retirement, and the ability to help out the Fam when necessary. A family of any size would have a very sparse living on $48K/year, and you couldn't save for retirement (or anything else).
  • Sybil 2012/06/15 23:15:18
    Sybil
    +3
    I could live quite happily on $48,000 a year thank you ver much!
  • L1 2012/06/15 23:03:01
    L1
    +2
    People need to feel useful. I know I'd keep working, at least part time. Yes, I am serious.
  • LucidLoon 2012/06/15 22:54:03
    LucidLoon
    Well, I sure as hell didn't go into music for the money.
  • Alexis 2012/06/15 22:45:31
    Alexis
    I'd get a job, I'd be too bored after awhile. 1,000$ a week isn't really all that much.
  • Taxman 2012/06/15 22:41:04
    Taxman
    It would be like making $10k more ($62K) considering no fica tax and commuting expenses. You would be responsible for own retirement and disability because government wouldn't give you anything since you have no wage earnings.
  • rustyshackelford 2012/06/15 22:33:00
  • lurch 2012/06/15 22:15:40
    lurch
    +3
    Man would end up further down the toilet than he already is. A career builds character while earning money. Money - alone - will destroy that character and turn most into a lump of fat sitting on their couch and eating potato chips.
  • brody 2012/06/15 21:56:01
    brody
    hell yea it cud... thats 52.000 a year and there r people out there who make under 50.000 and servive
  • Alexis brody 2012/06/15 22:44:58
    Alexis
    They are also on welfare and barely getting by. They are saying by having a job you could afford and experience the fun things in life.
  • Sybil Alexis 2012/06/15 23:16:57
    Sybil
    +3
    I have a job and the fun things in life are damn expensive lol
  • Alexis Sybil 2012/06/16 01:24:27
    Alexis
    Well, I was saying if you were getting the 50,000 plus you had a job. But, yeah very very expensive.
  • Sybil brody 2012/06/15 23:16:23
    Sybil
    That's right!
  • Phantom... brody 2012/06/16 00:58:37
    PhantomDream
    A family of six can survive for under 15000... believe it or not.
  • Sybil Phantom... 2012/06/16 14:57:38
    Sybil
    Oh I believe it!
  • tesmith47 Phantom... 2012/06/18 05:45:29
    tesmith47
    depends on where, mississippi or san francisco
  • dv 2012/06/15 21:47:28
    dv
    Hell no
  • SOUL4REAL 2012/06/15 21:27:47
    SOUL4REAL
    A thousand dollars is not enough money to live off of. I hope the young man continue to work with the cost of living,that thousand will only pay his rent and the other three thousand will pay car note,food,clothing and other expenses. It will help,don't get me wrong, but he still will need a job,everything is sky high today!
  • Mantic SOUL4REAL 2012/06/15 21:49:53 (edited)
    Mantic
    +8
    I don't make that much working (not even close). I live on far less. But I suppose you have higher standard of living and would expect to maintain that.
  • Sybil Mantic 2012/06/15 23:17:28
    Sybil
    +2
    I'm with you!
  • SOUL4REAL Mantic 2012/06/16 00:36:16
    SOUL4REAL
    No,I don't have higher standards,it's about the cost of living. I can remember when a dollar would go far,there's not much you can buy with a dollar today. I have a family to feed and take care of and yes I want the best for my family. If you want to say that's having high standard,oh well.
  • RevBH SOUL4REAL 2012/06/15 23:39:01
    RevBH
    +1
    Not to mention that his income won't be adjusted for inflation, and he's YOUNG. By the time he's 60, paying for his own health insurance, and a loaf of bread costs $75, he'll have to work at the Burger King to scrape by.
  • SteveMa... SOUL4REAL 2012/06/15 23:48:00
    SteveMarine- JLA
    +1
    I am livin off 1900 a month.....working in public safety....well I wouldnt call it living....we barely live.
  • SOUL4REAL SteveMa... 2012/06/16 00:38:36
    SOUL4REAL
    +1
    That's because the cost of living is so high today!
  • Lord Emperor of Dune 2012/06/15 21:13:58
    Lord Emperor of Dune
    +11
    That would get me the hell out of my job in about 3.6 seconds. It's not enough to live high on the hog, but it's enough to live modestly and fairly well.

    Now, I wouldn't quit working... I would train as a lion tamer, profession shooting competitor, fly fisherman, car painter, sculptor... I would work, but I wouldn't feel bad if a job didn't pan out. I would just move on to the next experience... Damn, I wish I could win that money...
  • Sybil Lord Em... 2012/06/15 23:18:57
    Sybil
    +1
    *sigh*....me too!
  • GLaDOS Lord Em... 2012/06/17 05:59:33
    GLaDOS
    That is exactly it! You could try pursuing something you really want to try, instead of finding a job you need to have to survive.
  • DS in Oak Ridge NC 2012/06/15 21:13:32
    DS in Oak Ridge NC
    +2
    I'd look for a job I would enjoy doing... Sure, a Grand a week sounds great, but when gas hits $8/gallon, and Burgers are $10 or more, he'll wish he had an income that kept pace - or gained ground - with inflation... a certainty for our national debt-burdened society.
  • Lord Em... DS in O... 2012/06/15 21:14:22
    Lord Emperor of Dune
    Well-said.
  • IndigoReb DS in O... 2012/06/17 02:16:27
    IndigoReb
    +1
    Hey, I'm here just wishing I had a job that paid $48k/year, and I have an advanced degree. With that money every year for free, you have the security to do what you love while still taking care of all the "responsibilities."
  • tesmith47 DS in O... 2012/06/18 05:47:24
    tesmith47
    if you dont HAVE to go to work you can afford the time too walk or bicycle, you also have the time to garden and cook healthy meals
  • HarleyCharley 2012/06/15 20:59:46
    HarleyCharley
    +1
    I agree...

See Votes by State

The map above displays the winning answer by region.

Living

2014/10/22 15:43:28

Hot Questions on SodaHead
More Hot Questions

More Community More Originals