Quantcast

PUBLIC OPINION > $1,000 a Week Can't Replace a Career

Living 2012/06/15 20:59:02
An 18-year-old student from New York won the lottery this week, and it will earn him around $1,000 a week for the rest of his life. That's about $48,000 a year for absolutely nothing. It isn't exactly a high roller salary, and if he wants to move up the ladder he'll have to supplement his income, but technically he'll never need to work a day in his life. Good Morning America asked if that was enough to keep people from working.



A grand a week would be amazing, but there are a couple of reasons most people would still prefer to work. First of all, it's not an enormous amount of money. It's definitely enough to live on, but it would leave most people lacking. A Princeton study found that $75,000 a year is the "happiest income," which means you'd need another $27,000 to really live it up. Not only that, but careers are fulfilling. Without work, life can get pretty boring. And a $1,000-a-week cushion will cut down on the stress, too.

Young People Need Work

Naturally, there had to be an age limit. Work is important, but eventually people retire. Based on our results, that cut-off age is about 55 years old. After that, the desire to keep working unnecessarily dropped an average of 28%. However, more than half of people over the age of 55 still said they'd keep working. Maybe retirement's not that great after all.

Unemployed Are So Over It

We also anticipated some correlation based on employment status, and again, the results were somewhat predictable. Full-time workers seem to love work, while the unemployed were less than enthusiastic about continuing to job search after landing a grand a year. But students were actually the most eager to work. They're still figuring out what they want to do, and they're going to pursue it, whatever it is.

Drinkers Need Jobs

Let's move away from the obvious for a minute, and take a look at one statistic that surprised us. Would you believe drinkers were 11% more likely than nondrinkers to want to continue working? It could be that workaholics enjoy their drink -- see "Mad Men" -- or it could be that drinkers need a little more to fuel their fire. Either way, it seems that drinks and jobs go hand-in-hand.

If you'd like to vote on this question, dig deeper into the demographics, or engage in existing discussion about the topic, visit our poll about working unnecessarily. We'd love to hear from you!
You!
Add Photos & Videos

Top Opinion

  • Lord Emperor of Dune 2012/06/15 21:13:58
    Lord Emperor of Dune
    +11
    That would get me the hell out of my job in about 3.6 seconds. It's not enough to live high on the hog, but it's enough to live modestly and fairly well.

    Now, I wouldn't quit working... I would train as a lion tamer, profession shooting competitor, fly fisherman, car painter, sculptor... I would work, but I wouldn't feel bad if a job didn't pan out. I would just move on to the next experience... Damn, I wish I could win that money...

Sort By
  • Most Raves
  • Least Raves
  • Oldest
  • Newest
Opinions

  • joan.sloane 2012/06/16 19:47:14
    joan.sloane
    +1
    That is not enough to live on long term but what freedom it would offer. The options are almost endless. Save it all and retire young; take a job you love even if it doesn't pay much; afford the house you always dreamed of, on and on and on.

    I haven't played the lottery in years. Maybe I should buy a ticket.
  • JoshuaMeeks 2012/06/16 19:23:17
    JoshuaMeeks
    +2
    1000 a week isn't enough you say? Down here (In Jamaica) most teachers get payed less than that (20,000 USD a year) and many people are paid only 600 USD a MONTH, plus our electricity rates are 2.5 to 3 times more expensive than in the US ! 1000 USD is plenty if you learn to conserve and live modestly, you people have no clue what you are talking about.
  • Lakota ... JoshuaM... 2012/06/16 21:17:40
    Lakota Deviant
    Obviously this guy lives in the US. The price of living in the US vs Jamaica is totally different. Ok you stated electricity is less but in a developing country like Jamaica it would be significantly cheaper to live. For some people it might be enough for others it's not. I know I wouldn't be satisfied with just 48,000 a year living in America, sorry if I want better for myself.
  • RoseyRhod Lakota ... 2012/06/16 23:29:16
    RoseyRhod
    +1
    To me, $48,000 a year seems like a fortune. I don't even make $30,000 a year working full time.
  • TKramar RoseyRhod 2012/06/17 13:47:55
    TKramar
    Closer to 20K for me. Full time, and a seasonal job on top of that.
  • JoshuaM... Lakota ... 2013/10/07 21:53:55
    JoshuaMeeks
    Sorry this is a very, very late reply, but it really isn't cheaper. Almost everything is imported, import tax ranges from 25%-100% and general consumption tax is 17%. Gas is more expensive, cars are more expensive. Everything is more expensive.
  • HelmetGirl 2012/06/16 18:45:43
    HelmetGirl
    +1
    Not me. Just because I won a $1,000 per week, I would not choose to not work. It would be the extra to keep me from going under and to give my daughter a better life.
  • Nikki Zoe Salamander 2012/06/16 18:39:05
    Nikki Zoe Salamander
    +1
    Honestly. My mom recieves 1,400 a week and its not enough with all these bills she has to pay. Even my older sister who also has a job cant help her pay of all the bills and needs. That is not enough. Unless you live alone.
  • Ozymandias 2012/06/16 18:26:16
    Ozymandias
    +1
    If I got paid $1000 a week, I'd make $52,000 a-year which is plenty to live on.
  • Tony 2012/06/16 17:51:26
    Tony
    I'd at least find something I actually enjoy doing. How long do these "pay for life games" actually work. I mean if lives to be 90 they're not going to pay him THAT long are they? I'm pretty sure there is a cutoff point.
  • Mark 2012/06/16 17:37:53
    Mark
    +1
    At the moment, I am independently wealthy and only work 15 hours a day because I love my job so much.
    Only trouble with the typed word, it's hard to convey sarcasm.
  • RoseyRhod Mark 2012/06/16 23:30:26
    RoseyRhod
    +1
    I know, right? Sarcasm is my middle name, but in print it generally just makes me sound like a grade A a-hole.
  • Muver 2012/06/16 17:13:53
    Muver
    Yes, but it certainly would make life easier, and let you really do what you love....at 18 I doubt he has any idea what he would like to do with the rest of his life....and this might
    be more harmful for him at this point...most likely he will burn thru this on a weekly basis
    before he can put it to good use, like college, or developing a business...
    Hope he has a good tax attorney
  • LA-Certified 2012/06/16 16:47:11
    LA-Certified
    Travel as much as you can!!!!
  • 2012/06/16 15:17:37
    Congrats to him; it might be enough for an 18 tear old for a little while, but that's not enough to suppport anyone long-term.
  • ronbo 2012/06/16 14:47:26
    ronbo
    +1
    I,d probably keep working for something to do but it would still be nice to get that extra income and not always worry about bills.
  • stevegtexas@aol.com 2012/06/16 14:42:24
  • BOOGIE-WOOGIE-MUSIC-MAN-ROC... 2012/06/16 14:08:12
    BOOGIE-WOOGIE-MUSIC-MAN-ROCK-N-R
    LOl bar tenders license and change my profile. Lmao
  • Vision of Verve 2012/06/16 13:49:12
  • alanh 2012/06/16 13:23:55
    alanh
    +1
    I would help my children and grandchildren out. College funds etc...
  • EatonMichele 2012/06/16 13:13:55
  • rawrimamoocow 2012/06/16 07:56:21
    rawrimamoocow
    +2
    I wouldnt not work altogether but id definatly change careers. I be able to have a job that made me happy and not onebthat i only had cuz i needed the pay check
  • alanh rawrima... 2012/06/16 13:20:50
    alanh
    Agreed!
  • rosesvengeance BN-0 2012/06/16 07:45:01
    rosesvengeance BN-0
    +1
    I work full time and don't even make that much money. So hell yeah I would totally quit working if I got this.
  • Curmudgeon 2012/06/16 07:30:51
    Curmudgeon
    +1
    I could deal with this kind of cash, however for once I actually agree with a sodahead poll. $1,000 a week for the rest of my life would be great but I wouldn't quit my career in construction.
  • rph3636 2012/06/16 05:18:54
    rph3636
    Some people yes and some people no, if I were a young man I would work as if I hadn't won any thing, now that I'm retired it would certainly help.
  • Hirnungah Mancandy 2012/06/16 04:08:16
    Hirnungah Mancandy
    +1
    I COULD live as large as i wanted to and still save money . i'm more content in simpler surroundings .
  • nenenae 2012/06/16 03:59:52
    nenenae
    I would chill for a year or 2 or 3
  • Rebel [SHP] 2012/06/16 03:45:58
    Rebel [SHP]
    +1
    That's more than double my bi-weekly salary now...and I work my ass off in the military. Lucky SOB.
  • Metaldane 2012/06/16 03:02:54
    Metaldane
    +2
    I'd stop working where I am finish college and travel and maybe if I found a job I wanted to I'd go after itbut otherwise I'd keep traveling.
  • Steven Carr 2012/06/16 02:50:09
    Steven Carr
    I would at least have a part time job.
  • no1ymfan 2012/06/16 02:39:19
    no1ymfan
    +1
    Okay for me personally, I would keep my job. $52,000 is okay, but not enough to support a great lifestyle, big house, expensive car, but my normal $40,000 plus $52k will be alright for me. AND MOSTLY, AS LONG AS I DON'T PAY TAXES ON THAT $1,000 A WEEK!
  • Ben no1ymfan 2012/06/16 12:27:59
    Ben
    +1
    Unfortunately the IRS always gets their share.
  • Chris 2012/06/16 02:25:45
    Chris
    +1
    I'd do work that I wanted to do regardless of pay. Instead of being stuck in a job where I am miserable just for the decent pay.
  • Eyes See Wide North 2012/06/16 01:56:17
    Eyes See Wide North
    A 1000 a week and a career, cant go wrong
  • mblack 2012/06/16 01:41:48
    mblack
    a single person with no responsibilities could live pretty nice. I remember making about 44k/year when i was in my early 20's and I managed to have much fun with that. Not having bills helps too.
  • BB 2012/06/16 01:22:49
    BB
    I would only work a job that I like...
  • KingTez 2012/06/16 01:03:28
    KingTez
    I'd work part time like Hell.
  • William Waters 2012/06/16 01:01:39
    William Waters
    An 18 year old should invest in a couple of years of college education and do some kind
    of non stressful work (is that an oxymoron?) and start saving in various IRA's.........
    I am on SS Disability and only make half of what he is getting, and we seem to somehow
    get by living month to month......no frills but no bills either!! Watching a Netflix Movie is our
    entertainment, and picking up a pizza to go is our version of dining out!! lol

See Votes by State

The map above displays the winning answer by region.

Living

2014/07/30 19:17:10

Hot Questions on SodaHead
More Hot Questions

More Community More Originals